SafeOunce
Company review

Advantage Gold Review 2026: Is It Legit? Gold IRA Fees, Minimums, Pros and Cons

Advantage Gold checked Sept. 2026: 0 BBB complaints, 2 federal call lawsuits, a 2025 data breach, fair arbitration terms, and what $100,000 costs over 10 years.

  • Reviewed
  • 30 sources
  • 40 min read

Key takeaways

  • Advantage Gold is a real, BBB-accredited company with a thin complaint record and fair dispute terms, but it publishes none of its prices, fees, minimum or buyback terms.
  • Advantage Gold is a precious metals dealer that sells gold and silver coins and bars and arranges self-directed gold IRAs, operating as Advantage Gold LLC from Austin and Los Angeles.
  • Advantage Gold's record shows 0 BBB complaints in three years, two federal class actions under the sales-call law, one reported data breach and no regulator action found, as of September 29, 2026.
  • Advantage Gold's website terms give buyers the fairest dispute process of the ten sellers SafeOunce read.
  • Advantage Gold publishes no account fees, and STRATA, the custodian it recommends, charges $150 a year plus $115 or $175 for storage, as of September 29, 2026.

Advantage Gold is an operating gold IRA seller, legally Advantage Gold LLC of Austin, Texas and Los Angeles. It has a BBB A+, two federal class actions under the sales-call law and no regulator action found (September 29, 2026). It publishes no prices, fees or minimum, so its custodian's fee page holds the numbers. The real question is not whether Advantage Gold is real, but what you pay and what you sign.

A gold IRA is an IRA that holds physical gold through a custodian, the trust company that legally holds the account and sends your statements. Gold IRA companies sell the metal for these accounts, and Advantage Gold is one of the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks the same way. This Advantage Gold review covers its record, its terms, STRATA's fees, the missing minimum and spread, a $100,000 example and who it suits. It covers Advantage Gold LLC (advantagegold.com), not the Advanta IRA custodian, Century 21 Advantage Gold or American Airlines' AAdvantage Gold status.

The 14 facts below come from Advantage Gold's website, the BBB, Trustpilot, STRATA, federal court records and California's breach register, each dated. The last row links to Advantage Gold's own site.

Quick fact Advantage Gold
Legal name Advantage Gold LLC (website terms, read September 29, 2026)
Offices 3600 W Parmer Ln Ste 107, Austin, TX 78727 and 12100 Wilshire Blvd #1450, Los Angeles, CA 90025 (BBB); legal department 7600 Burnet Rd Ste 560, Austin (terms)
Business started June 5, 2014 (BBB)
Leader Kirill Zagalsky, Managing Director (BBB); co-founder and CEO (company site)
IRA minimum Not published by Advantage Gold (September 29, 2026)
Account fees Not published by Advantage Gold; STRATA charges $150 a year plus $115 or $175 storage and $75 per trade (page read September 29, 2026)
Prices and spread published No (September 29, 2026)
Buyback terms published No (September 29, 2026)
Arbitration AAA consumer rules, confidential, 30-day opt-out (website terms)
BBB A+, accredited since August 8, 2014; 0 complaints in 3 years; 9 reviews (September 29, 2026)
Trustpilot 4.8 from 1,920 reviews; under 1% one-star (September 29, 2026)
Court cases found 2 federal call-law class actions (2022 closed, 2025 open); 1 reported 2019 contract suit
Data breach September 5, 2025, reported to California's Attorney General March 29, 2026
Regulator actions found 0 (September 29, 2026)
Official site advantagegold.com

Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.

Is Advantage Gold Legit? Our Verdict#

Yes: Advantage Gold is a real, BBB-accredited company with a thin complaint record and fair dispute terms, but it publishes none of its prices, fees, minimum or buyback terms. The BBB lists its start as June 5, 2014, and shows 0 complaints in three years (September 29, 2026). Two federal class actions name it under the sales-call law, and a 2025 data breach exposed a limited number of Social Security numbers.

The spot price is today's market price for one ounce of raw metal. The spread is the share of your price that is not metal. What should a careful buyer ask Advantage Gold before sending money? Get three things in writing: the price per coin with its percent over spot, the buyback method, and the cancellation fee its terms leave blank. Then decide whether Advantage Gold stays your IRA's representative at STRATA.

Its strengths are real: consumer-friendly arbitration terms, a written 28-day delivery promise and no regulator action found. Its weakness is that nothing about price is public. Look elsewhere if you have under $10,000 to move.

Advantage Gold is a precious metals dealer that sells gold and silver coins and bars and arranges self-directed gold IRAs, operating as Advantage Gold LLC from Austin and Los Angeles. It says it has made "over $1 billion in sales over the last 8 years" (About page, September 29, 2026), a claim SafeOunce has not checked. Its site says its staff "are not licensed or registered investment advisers".

Advantage Gold LLC: one company, three addresses#

Advantage Gold lists its main office at 3600 W Parmer Lane, Suite 107, Austin, Texas. The BBB also lists a Los Angeles office at 12100 Wilshire Boulevard (September 29, 2026). A third address, 7600 Burnet Road, Suite 560, Austin, is the legal department in the website terms and on Trustpilot. Court filings from 2019 and 2022 describe the company as an Illinois limited liability company. SafeOunce has not confirmed where it is registered today.

Complaints, court cases, breach notices and your contract use the legal name, not the brand. Send any opt-out or complaint letter to the Burnet Road legal address by tracked mail. The step-by-step way to check a gold IRA company by its legal name and state records is on our verification guide.

When was Advantage Gold founded, and who runs it?#

Advantage Gold was founded in 2014: the BBB lists its business start as June 5, 2014, and the company says Kirill Zagalsky co-founded it that year. The BBB lists Mr. Zagalsky as Managing Director and Chelsey Jenkins as Operations Director (September 29, 2026); the About page calls him CEO. Advantage Gold does not publish its ownership.

Not the same as Advanta IRA, Century 21 Advantage Gold or AAdvantage Gold#

Four other businesses share the "Advantage Gold" name or sound like it, and search results mix them up. The four are listed below.

  • Advanta IRA: a self-directed IRA custodian (Advanta Trust Company, Nevada), not a metals dealer.
  • Century 21 Advantage Gold: a Pennsylvania real estate brokerage that appears in federal court records.
  • American Airlines AAdvantage Gold: an airline status tier that ranks for "advantage gold" on Google.
  • Medicare and BlueChoice "Advantage Gold" plans: health insurance products.

Add "LLC" and "gold IRA" to the name when you search court or complaint records. The custodian Advanta IRA is reviewed separately on our Advanta IRA page.

How an Advantage Gold IRA works, step by step#

An Advantage Gold IRA works in 5 steps, from opening an account at a custodian to metal arriving in a vault in your IRA's name. A self-directed IRA can hold assets other than funds, such as metal. A depository is the vault that stores it.

The vault is the law: under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B), IRA bullion must be "in the physical possession of a trustee".

Advantage Gold does not hold your self-directed IRA itself; it sells metal into a self-directed IRA for gold that a trust company holds. The 5 steps are listed below.

  1. Open a self-directed IRA at STRATA Trust or Equity Trust, the two custodians Advantage Gold's FAQ names.
  2. Check the account designation: Advantage Gold is your "designated representative" at STRATA unless you remove it.
  3. Move money by a direct transfer or a rollover.
  4. Choose coins or bars, and ask for the price per coin and the percent over spot.
  5. Confirm the order, and check the metal reaches Brink's or the Delaware Depository within 28 days of funds clearing.

A gold IRA transfer between custodians has no 60-day clock and no once-a-year limit, so ask for one.

Which accounts can you move? One ranking review (clutejournals.com, September 15, 2025) lists eight, including "certain annuities". The table shows what federal tax law allows and the trap in each.

Money you move Can it go into a gold IRA? Trap to avoid
Traditional, Roth, SEP or SIMPLE IRA Yes, by transfer A 60-day rollover counts toward the once-a-year limit; a transfer does not
401(k), 403(b) or TSP Yes, by direct rollover A check paid to you has 20% withheld (IRC 3405(c)); a direct rollover has 0%
Roth 401(k) or Roth TSP Only into a Roth IRA The plan's 5-year clock does not carry over
Governmental 457(b) Yes Once in an IRA, withdrawals before 59½ carry the 10% additional tax
Non-governmental 457(b) or nonqualified annuity No Cannot be moved into an IRA; only qualified annuities can

Is Advantage Gold a custodian?#

No: Advantage Gold is the dealer that sells the metal, while STRATA Trust or Equity Trust holds the IRA and a vault stores the coins. Advantage Gold's terms say STRATA "performs as a directed (passive) custodian". The SEC warns that these custodians "generally do not evaluate the quality or legitimacy of any investment."

Advantage Gold Complaints, Lawsuits and Regulatory Record#

Advantage Gold's record shows 0 BBB complaints in three years, two federal class actions under the sales-call law, one reported data breach and no regulator action found, as of September 29, 2026. No court has ruled against the company in any case SafeOunce found. The table sums up the Advantage Gold complaints, lawsuit and regulatory record.

Record item Advantage Gold Date and source
BBB grade and accreditation A+, accredited since August 8, 2014 BBB Austin profile, September 29, 2026
BBB complaints and reviews 0 complaints in 3 years; 9 reviews BBB, September 29, 2026
Trustpilot 4.8 from 1,920 reviews; under 1% one-star Trustpilot, September 29, 2026
Federal call-law class actions Daschbach (N.D. Ill., 2022, closed); Soto (E.D. Cal., 2025, open) CourtListener, September 29, 2026
State contract suit Levin (Los Angeles Superior Court, 2019), reported; outcome not found Trellis court-records listing
Data breach Incident September 5, 2025; reported March 29, 2026 California Attorney General register
CFTC, SEC and state regulator actions None found SafeOunce searches, September 29, 2026

BBB and Trustpilot numbers, and why 0 complaints is a small sample#

Advantage Gold has 0 BBB complaints in three years, but only 9 BBB reviews, against 1,920 reviews and a 4.8 score on Trustpilot, as of September 29, 2026. BBB accreditation is a paid membership, and the BBB grade mostly measures complaint handling: 90 of its 100 positive points relate to complaints. Trustpilot's TrustScore is its average after it adds seven 3.5-star reviews to every profile. Across the top ten gold IRA sellers, 89% to 99% of Trustpilot reviews are five-star.

The table lists the ten gold IRA sellers SafeOunce tracks most closely by BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews (September 29, 2026).

Company BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews
Lear Capital 22.1
American Hartford Gold 13.9
Priority Gold 5.9
Goldco 4.2
Birch Gold Group 4.0
Preserve Gold 1.6
Noble Gold 1.2
Augusta Precious Metals 0.7
Patriot Gold Group 0 (80 reviews)
Advantage Gold 0 (9 reviews)

Advantage Gold's Trustpilot profile is marked as having no recent history of asking for reviews. As of September 29, 2026, the company answers 66% of negative reviews, usually within two weeks.

Two ranking reviews also cite an "AAA" from the BCA (Business Consumer Alliance). The BCA is funded mainly by member dues and ignores complaints over a year old or in court. SafeOunce's rating method scores neither the BCA grade, TrustLink nor the TrustScore.

What BBB, BCA and Trustpilot ratings can and cannot tell you is explained on our ratings page.

What unhappy Advantage Gold customers report#

Advantage Gold's few one-star reviews report three problems: a premium of "30+%", a fast drop in account value, and trouble reaching a live person. One-star reviews are under 1% of 1,920 on Trustpilot (September 29, 2026). The three problems are listed below as reviewers state them, unverified.

  • High premium: a September 18, 2026 reviewer says she paid a "30+% commission/premium".
  • Fast loss: the same reviewer says her holdings "decreased in value well over 30% in less than 10 months".
  • No answer: a June 11, 2026 reviewer says "noone will answer" on any number.

Advantage Gold replied to both. A 30% premium alone can explain a 30% drop on your first statement, because custodians value IRA metal without the dealer's premium. Equity Trust says its statement values "do not include any markups, commissions or premiums from the precious metals dealer."

Advantage Gold lawsuits: two federal call cases and a 2019 contract suit#

Two federal class actions name Advantage Gold under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA), the federal sales-call law, 47 U.S.C. 227. A 2019 Los Angeles suit was over a contract, and no court has ruled against the company in any of them. A class action is one lawsuit for a whole group.

Daschbach v. Advantage Gold, LLC (N.D. Ill. No. 1:22-cv-03940) was filed on July 28, 2022. The New Hampshire plaintiff says his number was on the National Do-Not-Call Registry from February 23, 2019. He says he got five sales calls from four numbers from August 24 to September 16, 2021. He sought $500 per violation, up to three times that if willful (47 U.S.C. 227(c)(5)), for a proposed nationwide class. CourtListener lists the case as closed on February 23, 2023, without showing a ruling on the claims.

You have Do-Not-Call rights against gold IRA cold calls. How to stop gold IRA cold calls and use those rights is on our calls guide.

Soto v. Advantage Gold LLC (E.D. Cal. No. 2:25-cv-03140) was filed on October 28, 2025. It is a TCPA class action before Judge Sean C. Riordan, open as of September 29, 2026. SafeOunce has not read the complaint, so whether it concerns calls or texts is not established.

Levin v. Advantage Gold, LLC (Los Angeles County Superior Court No. 19STCV10484, 2019) is listed as a commercial breach-of-contract case by a court-records service. SafeOunce did not find its outcome.

Large sellers face the same suits: a $2,000,000 Goldco settlement fund, per the court-approved notice, received final approval on March 26, 2026 (Summerton v. Goldco Direct, W.D. Wis. 3:23-cv-00238); Goldco denies wrongdoing.

The 2025 data breach reported to California's Attorney General#

Advantage Gold reported a data breach to California's Attorney General on March 29, 2026, for an incident dated September 5, 2025. Its notice letter of March 27, 2026 says a weakness "in certain firewall software" was exploited "in the late third and early fourth calendar quarters of 2025". The data listed is "Name, address, contact information, limited number of SSNs, limited amount of custodian account numbers." The notice does not state the number of people affected.

Advantage Gold notified the state and offered 24 months of Experian IdentityWorks credit monitoring at no cost (833-918-1091). Credit monitoring alerts you when someone opens credit in your name. Three steps protect you after a breach letter.

  1. Enroll in the free monitoring if you got a letter.
  2. Ask your custodian to add a verbal password or an extra check on your IRA.
  3. Report any call claiming to be your custodian that asks you to move money.

You can report a gold IRA company to more than one agency. Which agency handles identity misuse or sales abuse is on how to report a gold IRA company.

Regulator actions: none found#

SafeOunce found no CFTC, SEC or state regulator action against Advantage Gold LLC in searches on September 29, 2026. Regulator actions can take years to become public, so check again before you buy. Every case SafeOunce tracks is in our list of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.

Awards, "#1" claims and "best" lists#

Advantage Gold calls itself "America's #1 Rated Gold Company", a claim that rests on TrustLink awards and review logos, not on a measured ranking. TrustLink is a review site spun out of the BBB in 2012. Money and Forbes Advisor list Advantage Gold with labels, and both disclose that partners can pay.

Source Label or claim Date
advantagegold.com TrustLink: "#1 Trusted Gold IRA Company 8 consecutive years in a row" (company claim) Read September 29, 2026
Money "Customer Satisfaction", #3 of 8; "Research and financial considerations may influence how brands are displayed" List of September 25, 2026 (label since January 2025, also worded "Customer Popularity")
Forbes Advisor "New Investors", #7, 4.5 stars, but 2.6 of 5 on Pricing and Fees Capture of August 17, 2026
LendEDU Tracked partner links to Advantage Gold 2026

Who ranks whom, and who pays, is compared on our page about gold IRA 'best of' lists.

Advantage Gold's Contract Terms: A Fair Dispute Clause and Three Catches#

Advantage Gold's website terms give buyers the fairest dispute process of the ten sellers SafeOunce read. They also name the company your IRA's representative, shift cancellation losses to you and cap its liability at $500. Clutejournals.com mentions a "15-page client agreement" SafeOunce has not seen; if one comes before you buy, its terms control, so ask for it.

The table compares gold IRA company contracts from five sellers, read on September 29, 2026 (Advantage Gold's terms were published August 1, 2024).

Term Advantage Gold (website terms, Aug. 1, 2024) American Hartford Gold (STA, Sept. 2026) Lear Capital (T&C, Dec. 2025) Preserve Gold (STA, June 2025) Goldco (website terms)
Terms public Yes Yes Yes Yes Website terms only; customer agreement not public
Spread range stated Not published Bullion 1%-19.99%; up to 39.99% and 59.99% for other coins 2%-35% Bullion up to 20%; IRA up to 34.99% Not published
Cancellation Market loss + blank fee after confirmation 7 days, non-bullion only 24 hours 24 hours Not published
Arbitration AAA consumer rules, 30-day opt-out JAMS JAMS; 30-day opt-out, but Lear may then rescind the sale JAMS None in website terms
Claim deadline Not stated 1 year 1 year + 1 day 1 year + 1 day Not public
Delivery promise 28 days of funds clearing Not recorded Not recorded 28 days of cleared funds "5-14 business days", "up to 45"
Buyback wording FAQ: "We'll never turn away a customer" Says the law prohibits a guarantee Says the law prohibits a guarantee Says the law prohibits a guarantee "guaranteed at the highest price" (marketing), no terms

All ten sellers are compared on gold IRA company contracts.

Arbitration under AAA consumer rules, with a 30-day opt-out#

Advantage Gold's terms send disputes to confidential arbitration under the American Arbitration Association's Consumer Arbitration Rules. They let you opt out within 30 days of buying. Arbitration is a private hearing instead of a court case. The terms call for "binding, final, and confidential arbitration before a single arbitrator ... under its Consumer Arbitration Rules" (capitals in the original).

A class waiver ("the arbitrator may not hear class or representative claims") means you give up joining a group lawsuit. Texas law applies. The opt-out is a letter sent "within 30 days of the date that you purchased" to Advantage Gold LLC, Attn. Legal Department, 7600 Burnet Rd., Ste. 560, Austin TX 78757.

Lear offers an opt-out but may then cancel your purchase; Advantage Gold's terms attach no such penalty. To keep your court rights, mail the opt-out by tracked mail within 30 days and keep a copy.

Cancellation, arbitration and restitution each recover different things, explained in our guide to cancellation, arbitration and restitution.

Advantage Gold becomes your "designated representative" at STRATA#

If you open your IRA at STRATA, Advantage Gold's terms appoint the company as your IRA's "designated ... representative" by default, which you can remove. A designated representative is a person or firm you allow to deal with your IRA's custodian for you. The clause reads: "Advantage Gold is initially appointed as your designated self-directed individual retirement account representative, subject to your removal and designation of another representative."

STRATA's forms page says designations "authorize third parties to access account information, receive communications, and, depending on the designation, integrate data". Its Account Designation form can "add, replace, or remove an Account Representative or Interested Party". The page does not list what each designation type allows.

Ask STRATA in writing: "What can my designated representative see and do?" and "How do I remove or limit it?" The clause says plainly that you can remove Advantage Gold, which most sellers never put in writing.

Cancelling an order: you carry the market loss, Advantage keeps any gain#

Once Advantage Gold issues a confirmation number, the price is locked. If you cancel, you owe any market loss plus a fee that the live terms leave blank. After a confirmation number, "the transaction price is set and any corresponding market risk is yours to bear". You then have "full responsibility and liability to Advantage Gold for any market loss, plus the greater of [$$$ or %%] of the order total".

The next line reads: "Any market gain on order cancellations shall vest in and remain the property of Advantage Gold." For website orders, the terms call the submitted price "the guaranteed price", which is the same price lock seen from your side.

U.S. Money Reserve, JM Bullion and the U.S. Gold Bureau also charge the market loss on a cancelled order. Advantage Gold's version differs by leaving the fee blank.

Delivery within 28 days, and a $500 liability limit#

Advantage Gold's terms promise delivery "within twenty-eight (28) days of funds clearing", the same 28-day line the CFTC uses for "actual delivery". That line is in the Commodity Exchange Act (sec. 2(c)(2)(D)), which the CFTC repeats in its advisory 8215-20 (August 4, 2020). Funds clearing is the day your money is available to spend. Report a lost package within 30 days of shipment and a damaged one within 2 days of delivery.

Goldco's terms allow up to 45 business days (read September 29, 2026), so Advantage Gold's promise is stricter. One ranking review (clutejournals.com, September 15, 2025) prints delivery in "2-3 days"; only the 28 days is in writing.

The same terms say "Advantage Gold's liability and your exclusive remedy will be limited to USD $500.00" (capitals in the original). SafeOunce has not confirmed whether this disclaimer covers metal purchases or only website use.

Check delivery on your custodian statement 28 days after your money clears. The steps to check delivery of IRA metal are on our delivery checklist.

Advantage Gold Fees in 2026: What Its Custodian STRATA Charges#

Advantage Gold publishes no account fees, and STRATA, the custodian it recommends, charges $150 a year plus $115 or $175 for storage, as of September 29, 2026. On top come $75 every time you buy or sell and $250 to close. Segregated storage keeps your own coins apart; STRATA's segregated rate "applies to gold, platinum, and palladium". Commingled storage is shared: you get back the same type and amount, not the same pieces.

The table shows STRATA's fees for year 1 and later years.

Fee STRATA amount Year 1 (segregated) Years 2-10 (each) Note
Setup $50 $0 $0 Waived for electronic setup
Annual IRA fee $150 $150 $150 Precious metals tier
Storage $115 commingled or $175 segregated $175 $175 Billed yearly
Purchase, sale or exchange $40 + $35 depository handling = $75 per trade $75 $0 unless you trade Charged on every trade
Closure $250 $0 At exit One time
Total, segregated $400 (with one purchase) $325
Total, commingled $340 (with one purchase) $265

STRATA's $325 is in the lower half of published custodian gold IRA fees ($215 to $656 a year at $50,000, as of September 29, 2026), but above GoldStar and Equity Trust's metals-only schedule. Every custodian and seller is compared on gold IRA fees.

Every line of STRATA Trust fees, including paper statements and wires, is on our STRATA review.

Why other review sites show different Advantage Gold fees#

Review sites print Advantage Gold fees that match neither STRATA's own page nor Equity Trust's schedule. Dealer channels can carry older or negotiated schedules. The table sets what two ranking reviews print against the custodians' own schedules.

Source (date) Setup Annual fee Storage Trade fee
goldiraguide.org (April 24, 2025) $50 "$95 flat" $100 or $150 Not stated
clutejournals.com (September 15, 2025) $50 "$95-$225" "$100-$150" Not stated
STRATA's own page (read September 29, 2026) $50, waived electronic $150 $115 or $175 $75 per trade
Equity Trust metals-only schedule (FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726) $50 $125 $110 or $160 $30 per sale

Ask Advantage Gold for the custodian's fee schedule, with its date, before you sign. Equity Trust fees differ across its four schedules, explained on our page about Equity Trust fees.

The $75 charge on every purchase and sale#

STRATA charges $40 plus $35 depository handling, $75 in all, each time metal is bought, sold or exchanged in your IRA (fee page read September 29, 2026). Equity Trust's metals-only schedule (Rev. 081726) charges $30 per liquidation, and GoldStar (Rev. 01/2026) charges no trade fee.

A required minimum distribution is the yearly amount you must take out from age 73 (75 if born in 1960 or later). A $4,000 metal sale to cover it costs $75 at STRATA, or 1.9%, every year you sell.

The $75 is one of the hidden gold IRA fees a headline annual fee leaves out. Wires, paper statements and other hidden gold IRA fees are listed on our charges page.

Fees to leave: closing and transfer-out#

Leaving STRATA costs $250 to close the account, plus $75 per sale, or handling and shipping if you take the metal out (fee page read September 29, 2026). The exit costs at STRATA are listed below, with Equity Trust's (Rev. 081726) for comparison.

  • Closure: $250 at STRATA; termination $250 at Equity Trust (metals-only schedule).
  • Sale: $75 per sale at STRATA; $30 per liquidation at Equity Trust.
  • In-kind shipping: $10 plus the depository's cost plus $35 handling at STRATA; $125 in-kind or transfer out at Equity Trust.
  • Re-registration: STRATA's page also lists a $100 asset re-registration fee; ask whether it applies to a metals transfer.

Gold IRA termination fees differ by custodian, and every exit charge is compared on gold IRA termination fees.

Advantage Gold Minimum Investment: Not Published#

Advantage Gold publishes no minimum investment on its website, FAQ or terms, as of September 29, 2026. Other sites print $5,000 or $10,000, and none cites an Advantage Gold document. The table shows who prints which minimum.

Source Minimum shown Date
advantagegold.com (homepage, FAQ, reviews page, terms) None September 29, 2026
Money $5,000 List of September 25, 2026
clutejournals.com $5,000 September 15, 2025
goldiraguide.org "~$5,000" April 24, 2025
Forbes Advisor $10,000 (initial purchase) Audited June 26, 2026

The IRS sets no minimum for a gold IRA. The 2026 IRA contribution limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at age 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67), so most gold IRAs start with a rollover or transfer. Ask for the minimum in writing.

Gold IRA minimums by company are set by each seller, and every published figure is compared on gold IRA minimums by company.

What $325 a year means for small accounts of $5,000 or $10,000#

At $5,000, STRATA's $325 a year for segregated storage equals 6.5% of the account every year, before any markup. The table shows the same fees as a share of four account sizes (computed from STRATA's page, September 29, 2026).

Balance Segregated ($325 a year) Commingled ($265 a year)
$5,000 6.5% 5.3%
$10,000 3.25% 2.65%
$25,000 1.3% 1.06%
$100,000 0.325% 0.265%

Gold has to rise 6.5% a year just to cover fees on a $5,000 account, so small investors pay the most. Cheaper routes are on best gold IRA companies for small investors.

The Cost Advantage Gold Does Not Publish: the Spread on Its Metals#

Advantage Gold publishes no coin prices and no spread, so the largest cost of its gold IRA appears only on your order confirmation. The spread is the dealer's price minus the metal's worth, as a share of what you pay. The bid is what a dealer pays you when you sell back.

Advantage Gold's risk page confirms a markup exists but not its size. It "makes no representation, that any metals purchased ... will appreciate ... above and beyond the mark up/commissions charged". Only 4 of 15 operating sellers SafeOunce checked publish a spread range.

The CFTC puts bullion at 5%-10% over spot and numismatic coins at 40%-200% (CFTC release 8215-20, 2020). One ranking review puts Advantage Gold's markups and spreads at "2-7%"; it gives no source, and one Trustpilot reviewer reports "30+%". Every published spread range is on gold IRA markups and spreads.

How much gold must rise before you break even#

At a 20% spread, gold must rise about 31% before a customer who sells back can break even. The extra rise is needed because a dealer's buyback bid sits below its own cost. The table shows the rise needed at four spreads.

Spread Rise needed to reach dealer cost Rise needed including the buyback gap
5% 5.3% 10.4%
10% 11.1% 16.6%
20% 25.0% 31.1%
30% 42.9% 49.9%

Test your own spread in the gold IRA break-even calculator.

Free gold and silver offers: what the terms say#

Advantage Gold's pages publish no free-metal thresholds, fee waivers or product conditions, as of September 29, 2026. One ranking review (clutejournals.com, September 15, 2025) prints a first-year fee waiver over $50,000 and free shipping over $25,000. At STRATA, a first-year waiver is worth about $400, or 0.4% of $100,000, so one extra point of spread ($1,000) more than erases it.

How sellers fund free silver gold IRA promotions is explained on our promotions guide.

What a $100,000 Advantage Gold IRA Costs: Year 1 and 10 Years#

A $100,000 Advantage Gold IRA at STRATA with segregated storage costs $400 in custodian fees in year one and $3,650 over ten years, including the sale and closing. If you sell back, a spread of 5% to 30% adds $9,453 to $33,281 more. The table lists the custodian fees for year one and ten years.

Cost Year 1 10 years (STRATA, segregated)
Setup (electronic) $0 $0
Annual IRA fee $150 $1,500
Storage $175 $1,750
Purchase $75 $75
Sale at the end $0 $75
Closure $0 $250
Dealer spread Not published Not published
Total custodian fees $400 $3,650
Commingled storage instead $340 $3,050
Equity Trust metals-only, segregated $335 $3,180 (with $30 liquidation and $250 termination)

The table adds the spread and buyback gap to STRATA's fees, with the metal price held flat.

Spread Day-one sale value of $100,000 Spread + buyback-gap loss + 10 years of STRATA fees 10-year total cost % of $100,000
5% $90,547 $9,453 $3,650 $13,103 13.1%
10% $85,781 $14,219 $3,650 $17,869 17.9%
20% $76,250 $23,750 $3,650 $27,400 27.4%
30% $66,719 $33,281 $3,650 $36,931 36.9%

Is that expensive? The table sets the same $100,000 over 10 years against two cheaper routes, on the same flat-price, fees-from-outside basis (SafeOunce computation, September 29, 2026).

Route for $100,000 over 10 years Total cost Share
Low-cost gold ETF (GLDM, 0.10% a year) in an existing IRA About $1,035 1.0%
Low-cost gold IRA: 1 oz Gold Eagles at 3.03% over spot, sold at 99% of spot, Equity Trust fees of $2,430 About $6,341 6.3%
Advantage Gold at STRATA, hypothetical 5% to 30% spread $13,103 to $36,931 13.1% to 36.9%

Your first custodian statement values metal at market value, not at what you paid. At a 20% spread, $100,000 shows as about $80,000 of metal before any buyback gap. For comparison, buying and selling a 1-ounce Gold Eagle the same day at a large online dealer, SD Bullion, cost 5.39% on September 29, 2026 (single snapshot).

Run your own amount in the gold IRA fee calculator.

Advantage Gold Buyback: What "We'll Never Turn Away a Customer" Means#

Advantage Gold's FAQ says "We'll never turn away a customer" who wants to sell back, but it publishes no buyback price formula, fee or payment time. Its website terms contain no buyback clause, as of September 29, 2026.

Industry buybacks usually pay the wholesaler's "highest list bid", below the wholesale ask. Contracts at American Hartford Gold, Lear, Preserve, Goldline and American Bullion say the law prohibits guaranteeing a repurchase. One affiliate review says Advantage Gold buys back "close to spot". Clutejournals.com (September 15, 2025) prints a "floor at current spot", payment "within a day or so" and a price match. None of these appears in the FAQ, terms or risk page SafeOunce read on September 29, 2026, so ask for each in writing.

How do you cash out a gold IRA? You ask the custodian to sell the gold, to Advantage Gold or another dealer, and the cash stays in the IRA; STRATA charges $75 per sale (fee page read September 29, 2026). Cash or coins taken out of a traditional IRA are ordinary income at fair market value on the distribution date (Form 1099-R), plus 10% before age 59½ unless an exception applies. The 28% collectibles rate never applies inside an IRA. A missed required minimum distribution costs 25%, or 10% if corrected in time (IRC 4974), not the "20%" one ranking review prints.

A fair same-day buyback of a 1-ounce bullion coin loses about 5%-7% of what you paid. On $50,000, bullion bought at a 5% spread and sold back the same day returns about $45,300; premium coins at a 35% spread return about $31,000 at a wholesale bid. Buyback prices, custodian fees and taxes are explained on how to sell gold in your IRA.

Advantage Gold Products: Bullion vs Proof and Premium Coins#

Advantage Gold sells gold and silver coins and bars for IRAs, and publishes no prices for any of them (September 29, 2026). Clutejournals.com also lists platinum and palladium among its options. The three product types, with the IRA rule for each, are listed below.

  • Bullion coins and bars: the American Gold Eagle is eligible by name under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A); gold bars need at least .995 fineness under 408(m)(3)(B).
  • Proof and limited-mintage coins: eligibility depends on the coin, custodians decide what they accept, and the CFTC puts numismatic coins at 40%-200% over spot.
  • Silver: the 1-ounce Silver Eagle is named in the law; silver bars need at least .999 fineness.

Platinum and palladium bars need .9995 fineness. Why the American Gold Eagle in an IRA is allowed despite .9167 purity is explained on its product page.

Clutejournals.com lists 13 products as Advantage Gold's options. The table checks four of them against the IRA rules and retail premiums over spot on September 29, 2026.

Product the review lists IRA status Cost note
South African Krugerrand Not IRA-eligible: 91.67% gold and not a named coin; STRATA and GoldStar do not accept it Buying it in an IRA is treated as a distribution
1/10 oz Gold Maple Leaf Eligible by fineness (.9999) 14.92% over spot, against 3.10% for 1 oz
1/3 oz platinum coins (Australian Whale, Leopard Seal, Sea Lion) Ask the custodian in writing Fractional: a 1/10 oz Platinum Eagle costs 87.5% over spot, against 11.4% for 1 oz
1 oz Gold Eagle Named coin under 408(m)(3)(A) About 3.03% over spot

Small coins buy less gold. At those premiums, $10,000 in 1/10 oz Gold Eagles (13.82% over spot) buys $8,786 of gold, and $10,000 in 1 oz Eagles buys $9,706, or $920 more. The IRS approves no coin, bar or dealer; the law sets eligibility.

A proof coin has a specially struck collector finish. A limited-mintage coin comes from a small production run sold at a higher price. The CFTC calls "semi-numismatic" "a made-up industry term". For an IRA, ask for 1-ounce bullion coins or bars and the percent over spot for each.

Proof coins cost more than bullion. What custodians accept for proof coins in an IRA is on our proof coin page.

Advantage Gold Custodians and Depositories#

Advantage Gold's FAQ names two custodians, STRATA Trust and Equity Trust, and two vault operators, Brink's and the Delaware Depository, as of September 29, 2026. Its terms, by contrast, carry a STRATA-only clause that appoints Advantage Gold as your IRA representative there.

FDIC and SIPC insurance never cover IRA metal. Vault insurance pays the metal's value, not the premium you paid.

Gold IRA custodians differ in charter and fees, and every one is compared on gold IRA custodians. The table lists the providers Advantage Gold's own pages name, with what each is.

Provider Role Where Advantage Gold names it SafeOunce page
STRATA Trust Company Custodian; "a subsidiary of Horizon Bank" in Advantage Gold's terms (not confirmed by SafeOunce) FAQ and terms STRATA Trust review
Equity Trust Company Custodian FAQ See the fees section above
Brink's Global Services USA, Inc. (Los Angeles or Salt Lake City) Depository FAQ Brink's IRA storage
Delaware Depository (Wilmington, DE) Depository FAQ Delaware Depository IRA storage

Three questions settle which gold IRA custodians and depositories hold your metal.

  • Which custodian, and may I choose another?
  • Which depository, and is the account titled to my IRA?
  • Segregated or commingled storage, and at what yearly price?

Vault insurance and locations are compared on gold IRA depositories.

Advantage Gold Pros and Cons#

Advantage Gold's six strengths are its dispute terms, delivery promise and clean complaint record; its six weaknesses are the prices, fees and terms it does not publish. The table sets the six Advantage Gold pros against the six cons (September 29, 2026).

Pros Cons
AAA consumer arbitration with a 30-day opt-out, the friendliest of ten sellers read No prices, spread, minimum or account fees published
Written delivery within 28 days of funds clearing Appointed your IRA representative at STRATA by default
0 BBB complaints in three years; A+; accredited since 2014 Cancellation after confirmation costs any market loss plus a blank fee, and gains are kept
No regulator action found $500 liability cap in the website terms
Designated-representative role removable in writing Two federal call-law class actions (2022, 2025) and a 2025 data breach
Answers 66% of negative Trustpilot reviews STRATA charges $75 on every trade

Who Advantage Gold Suits, and Who Should Walk Away#

Advantage Gold suits a buyer moving $25,000 or more who wants fair dispute terms, buys plain bullion and gets prices and fees in writing. It does not suit small accounts, or anyone who wants sole control of the IRA without checking the account designation. The table gives the verdict by reader situation.

Your situation Verdict Why
Under $10,000 Look elsewhere STRATA's fees alone take 3.25%-6.5% a year. A low-cost gold ETF in an existing IRA costs less (about $1,035 over 10 years on $100,000); see gold IRA vs gold ETF
$10,000-$50,000 Workable with care Only with bullion and a written percent over spot; fees run 0.65%-3.25% a year
$100,000 or more Spread decides Each 10 points of spread costs about $9,500 more on day one; get the spread in writing
Want to keep sole control You should act Remove Advantage Gold as designated representative at STRATA
Want to keep court rights You should act Mail the arbitration opt-out within 30 days
Might change your mind Wait Do not confirm until you have decided; cancellation costs any market loss plus a fee

You should ask Advantage Gold the 5 questions below before you move money.

  1. Ask the price per coin and the percent over spot for each item.
  2. Ask what Advantage Gold would pay for the same coins tomorrow.
  3. Ask the cancellation fee in dollars, since the terms leave it blank.
  4. Ask which custodian and depository, and for the custodian's fee schedule with its date.
  5. Ask what your "designated representative" can see and do at STRATA, and how to remove it.

The full list of 12 questions is on how to choose a gold IRA company.

How SafeOunce Rates Advantage Gold#

SafeOunce rates Advantage Gold on 7 criteria worth 100 points, from documents and a written price quote, and any item the company does not disclose scores zero. Its rating is pending until SafeOunce has the written quote and the client agreement (September 29, 2026). The rating card above will show the score computed under methodology version 1.0 once both are in; until then it reads "Rating pending". The table shows each criterion and its status.

Criterion (methodology v1.0) Points Advantage Gold inputs as of September 29, 2026 Data source Status
A1 Measured bullion premium 15 No written quote yet ($50,000 IRA order, 1 oz Gold Eagle and Maple Leaf) Mystery-shop quote vs logged spot Pending (unknown scores 0)
A2 Price disclosure 10 No live prices; no spread range advantagegold.com; mystery shop Partly known
A3 Buyback terms 5 No bid method, payment time or fee FAQ; terms Pending
B1 Published account fees 4 None from Advantage Gold; STRATA's public advantagegold.com; stratatrust.com Known (not published)
B2 10-year account cost at $100,000 4 $3,650 STRATA; $3,180 Equity Trust STRATA page; Equity Trust Rev. 081726 Known (custodian choice pending)
B3 Promotions not tied to premium products 2 Not published Terms; offer pages Pending
C1-C4 Contract fairness 15 Terms read; client agreement not seen Website terms (August 1, 2024) Partly known
D Regulatory and legal record 20 No regulator action; two TCPA cases, outcomes not shown CFTC, SEC, state sites; CourtListener Known (outcomes pending)
E Complaint record 10 0 BBB complaints (9 reviews); one-star texts to code; breach BBB, Trustpilot, California AG Partly known
F Product mix and sales pressure 10 Default pick not yet tested Mystery shop; site audit Pending
G Custody, delivery, disclosure 5 Custodians, vaults and 28-day delivery in writing FAQ; terms Known

Advantage Gold triggers none of the exclusion gates (closed, sanctioned, watch) as of September 29, 2026. Without a written quote and client agreement within 10 business days of a documented request, it is listed as "Not rated: would not disclose". No company can pay to change its rating or its place. Weights and evidence rules are on how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.

How Does Advantage Gold Compare With Other Gold IRA Companies?#

Advantage Gold has better dispute terms than most rivals, but publishes less about its costs than sellers that print fees or spread limits. On BBB complaints it sits at the bottom of the table, on the smallest sample. The table compares Advantage Gold with six other gold IRA companies, as of September 29, 2026.

Company IRA minimum Account fees published Spread range published Arbitration BBB complaints per 100 reviews
Advantage Gold Not published (others print $5,000-$10,000) No (STRATA $325 segregated) No AAA, 30-day opt-out 0 (9 reviews)
Goldco $25,000 Yes ($275 segregated) No None in website terms 4.2
Augusta Precious Metals $50,000 (Augusta FAQ, updated September 23, 2026) Yes, in its FAQ ($285 year 1, $235 later) Not readable Not read 0.7
American Hartford Gold Not published No Yes: up to 19.99% bullion, 39.99%, 59.99% JAMS, 1 year 13.9
Birch Gold Group $5,000 About $235 a year No JAMS Des Moines, fees split subject to minimums 4.0
Noble Gold $20,000 Yes, but two pages disagree ($80 + $275 or $50 + $285) No None visible 1.2
Lear Capital Not published No Yes: 2%-35% JAMS; opt-out lets Lear rescind 22.1

The best gold IRA companies are ranked on the same records, with the spread counted. Rankings by real cost are on best gold IRA companies.

Advantage Gold's celebrity endorsements: Benny Johnson and Jason Hanson#

Advantage Gold's website features commentator Benny Johnson, who it says "partners with Advantage Gold", and Jason Hanson. It does not say what either is paid, as of September 29, 2026. The FTC's Endorsement Guides (16 CFR Part 255, revised July 26, 2023) require paid ties to be disclosed clearly and conspicuously. This is not an allegation against Advantage Gold. Other sellers use celebrity endorsements too; who endorses which seller is tracked on celebrity gold IRA endorsements.

Does Advantage Gold pay review sites?#

Advantage Gold runs an affiliate program: it takes partner sign-ups on the Everflow platform for US traffic only, but publishes neither terms nor payouts. An affiliate is a website paid for sending customers. LendEDU routes readers to Advantage Gold through tracked links, and goldiraguide.org says "We are reader-supported". Review pages that link to Advantage Gold can be paid when you call the company. SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page. Readers can check who pays SafeOunce as well, on who pays SafeOunce.

Is Advantage Gold a scam?#

No court or regulator has found fraud by Advantage Gold in any record SafeOunce found (September 29, 2026); its risks are the costs and terms it does not publish. Gold IRA scams share 11 warning signs, listed on our page about gold IRA scams.

Can you keep Advantage Gold IRA metal at home?#

No: IRA bullion must be in the physical possession of a trustee, and Advantage Gold's FAQ names Brink's and the Delaware Depository for storage. Home storage of gold IRA metal is treated as a distribution (McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10, 2021), covered on home storage gold IRA.

Is physical gold or a gold IRA better?#

A gold IRA keeps the tax shelter but adds custodian fees, such as STRATA's $325 a year (September 29, 2026). Physical gold you hold yourself has no account fees but no IRA tax treatment. Costs, taxes and access are compared on gold IRA vs physical gold.

What is the downside of a gold IRA with Advantage Gold?#

The main downside is cost: STRATA's $325 a year and $75 per trade (September 29, 2026), plus a spread Advantage Gold does not publish, while gold pays no interest or dividends. The general case is on gold IRA pros and cons.

Why does Dave Ramsey say no to gold?#

Dave Ramsey's company says gold and silver "don't pay dividends, and they don't earn interest" (Ramsey Solutions, updated March 19, 2026). Warren Buffett made a similar case in his 2011 shareholder letter. Their points are weighed on why Dave Ramsey and Warren Buffett say no to gold.

Are Costco gold bars a cheaper route?#

Costco gold bars are bought outside an IRA, and bars you already own cannot be contributed to one, because IRA contributions must be cash (26 U.S.C. 408(a)(1)). See Costco gold bars and your IRA.

What did $1,000 in gold 10 years ago become?#

The answer depends on the start and end dates and on the markup you paid. Year-by-year figures, and what $10,000 became after IRA costs, are on gold IRA returns.

SafeOunce rating

Rating pending · How we rate

What you pay (price) 30 pts
pending
Account costs and fee transparency 10 pts
pending
Contract fairness 15 pts
pending
Regulatory and legal record 20 pts
pending
Complaint record 10 pts
pending
Product mix and sales pressure 10 pts
pending
Custody, delivery, disclosure 5 pts
pending

Advantage Gold has not been scored yet. Scores out of 100 come from contracts, fee schedules, regulator and court records and written quotes. Ratings are never for sale.

Quick facts

Status
Active
Legal name
Advantage Gold LLC

SafeOunce records, as of Sep 29, 2026.