Goldco is an operating gold IRA seller, legally Goldco Direct LLC of Calabasas, California. It has an A+ grade from the Better Business Bureau (BBB), and SafeOunce found no action against it by a government regulator (September 29, 2026). It publishes its account fees, but not its coin prices or its markup, which is the part of the price that is not metal. So the real question is not whether Goldco exists, but what you pay and what the contract you sign promises.
A gold IRA is an individual retirement account that holds physical gold. A custodian, which is a trust company, holds the account for you. Gold IRA companies, such as Goldco, Augusta and Birch, are the dealers that set one up and sell you the metal. Goldco is one of the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks with the same records, fees and contract questions.
This Goldco review covers its legal name, record, contract, $25,000 minimum and $275 yearly fees (September 29, 2026). It also covers the spread Goldco does not publish: the share of your price that pays the dealer rather than buying metal. It then prices a $100,000 account, the free silver and the buyback wording, and says who Goldco suits. It covers Goldco Direct LLC (goldco.com), not Gold Co of Portland, Maine.
The 12 facts below come from Goldco's website, the BBB, Trustpilot (a public review website) and federal court files, each dated. The last row links to Goldco's own site.
| Quick fact | Goldco |
|---|---|
| Legal name | Goldco Direct LLC (federal courts); brand "Goldco Precious Metals" (website disclaimer) |
| Address | 24025 Park Sorrento Ste 210, Calabasas, CA 91302 (BBB) |
| Business started | October 26, 2011 per the BBB; the company says 2006 |
| Leaders (BBB) | Trevor Gerszt, Founder and CEO; JD Koehler, President |
| Gold IRA minimum | $25,000 (Goldco FAQ, September 29, 2026) |
| Account fees | $50 setup; $125 a year; storage $100 or $150 a year (cost page updated February 2025) |
| Coin prices and markup published | No (September 29, 2026) |
| Customer agreement public | No (September 29, 2026) |
| BBB | A+, accredited since December 9, 2011; 72 complaints in 3 years (September 29, 2026) |
| Trustpilot | 4.4 from 1,790 reviews; 3% one-star (September 29, 2026) |
| Court cases found | 2 class actions (group lawsuits) under the federal law on sales calls and texts (Summerton 2026, Judson reported 2021); 1 case Goldco filed (Goldco Direct v. Wilson, 2019) |
| Regulator actions found | 0 (SafeOunce searches, September 29, 2026) |
| Official site | goldco.com |
Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.
Our Goldco Verdict: An Established Seller With One Big Cost It Does Not Publish#
Goldco is a real, long-running company with a mid-range complaint record, published account fees and one large cost kept off its website: the markup on its coins. Goldco complaints at the BBB number 72 in three years (September 29, 2026), and two federal class actions over sales calls or texts name the company. The full case files and complaint categories are on the page about Goldco complaints.
The spot price is today's market price for one ounce of raw metal. Goldco charges more than spot for every coin, but it does not print how much more. What should a careful buyer ask Goldco before sending money? Ask for three things in writing: the price per coin with its percent over spot, the buyback formula, and the signed customer agreement.
Goldco gets three things right. Its fee page is dated, its minimum is clear, and its FAQ correctly says IRA gold must be stored at a depository, a professional vault.
Look elsewhere if you have less than $25,000 to move, or if Goldco will not put its prices and terms on paper. Its free silver applies only to its own "premium coins", collector-style coins that cost more than plain bullion, and its buyback promise has no published terms.
Who Is Goldco? Legal Name, Leaders and How It Works#
Goldco is a precious metals dealer that sells gold and silver coins and bars and arranges gold IRAs, operating legally as Goldco Direct LLC from Calabasas, California. It is a seller, not a bank, a fund or an adviser. Its homepage claims "over $3 Billion" placed in gold and silver and nine years on the Inc. 5000, Inc. magazine's list of fast-growing private companies (September 29, 2026). SafeOunce has not checked either claim.
Goldco Direct LLC and "Goldco Precious Metals": the names to check#
Goldco uses two names: federal courts list it as Goldco Direct LLC, and its website disclaimer calls it Goldco Precious Metals. Complaints, court cases and your contract use the legal name, not the brand. A different company's similar name also causes mix-ups. On September 29, 2026, the top Google result for "goldco complaints" was the BBB page of Gold Co, an unrelated investment adviser in Portland, Maine.
Search both Goldco names, plus "Goldco Direct", whenever you check a gold IRA company's record. Our guide shows how to check a gold IRA company by its legal name, step by step.
When was Goldco founded?#
The BBB lists Goldco's business start as October 26, 2011, while Goldco and several review sites say it was founded in 2006. SafeOunce has not found a record that settles the difference, so this review gives both dates.
Who runs Goldco?#
The BBB names Trevor Gerszt as Goldco's founder and CEO, JD Koehler as president and Jennifer Stearns as general counsel (September 29, 2026). Goldco Direct LLC, a limited liability company, does not publish who owns it, and no public record SafeOunce found gives ownership shares.
How a Goldco gold IRA works, step by step#
A Goldco gold IRA works in 5 steps, from opening a custodian account to metal arriving in a vault in your IRA's name. A self-directed IRA can hold assets other than funds, such as metal, and a depository is the vault that stores it. The 5 steps are listed below.
- Open a self-directed IRA at a custodian Goldco works with. Goldco's cost page lists a $50 setup fee.
- Move money by a direct transfer or a rollover. Goldco's FAQ (September 29, 2026) says this takes "a couple of days" to "one or two weeks".
- Choose coins or bars, and ask for the price per coin and the percent over spot.
- Sign the order, and the custodian pays Goldco from your IRA.
- Check that the metal reaches a depository and shows on your custodian statement.
The vault step is the law, not a Goldco choice. Under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B), IRA bullion must be in the "physical possession" of a trustee.
Step 2 works best as a gold IRA transfer, which moves money straight from one custodian to another. In a rollover, the money is paid to you first and you have 60 days to deposit it; IRA-to-IRA rollovers are limited to one per 12 months. A gold IRA transfer between custodians has no 60-day clock and no once-a-year limit, so ask Goldco to use one.
The table shows which retirement accounts can move to a gold IRA, and the rule to know for each (IRS rules, September 2026).
| Money coming from | Can it move to a gold IRA? | Rule to know |
|---|---|---|
| Traditional or Roth IRA | Yes, by transfer | A transfer has no 60-day clock, no yearly limit and no tax withheld |
| 401(k), 403(b) or TSP | Yes, by direct rollover | A check paid to you has 20% federal tax withheld (IRC 3405(c)); a direct rollover has none |
| Roth 401(k) or Roth TSP | Yes, only to a Roth IRA | The plan's Roth 5-year clock does not carry over |
| Governmental 457(b) | Yes | Once in an IRA, withdrawals before age 59½ face the 10% additional tax |
| Non-governmental 457(b) | No | It cannot be rolled to an IRA |
New money must go in as cash. Coins you already own cannot be contributed to an IRA (IRC 408(a)(1); IRS Publication 590-A).
Is Goldco a custodian?#
No: Goldco is the dealer that sells the metal, while a separate trust company is the custodian that holds your IRA. The SEC (the Securities and Exchange Commission, the federal investor-protection agency) warns that "self-directed IRA custodians generally do not evaluate the quality or legitimacy of any investment" (SEC investor alert).
Goldco's Complaint and Regulatory Record#
Goldco's record shows 72 BBB complaints in three years, two class actions over sales calls or texts, and no regulator action found, as of September 29, 2026. That puts it in the middle of ten well-known gold IRA sellers SafeOunce tracks. The table sums up each part of the record with its date and source.
| Record item | Goldco | Date and source |
|---|---|---|
| BBB grade and accreditation | A+, accredited since December 9, 2011 | BBB, September 29, 2026 |
| BBB complaints and reviews | 72 complaints closed in 3 years; 1,710 reviews | BBB, September 29, 2026 |
| Complaints per 100 BBB reviews | 4.2 | SafeOunce computation, September 29, 2026 |
| Trustpilot | 4.4 from 1,790 reviews; 89% five-star, 3% one-star | Trustpilot, September 29, 2026 |
| Class actions under the TCPA (the federal law on sales calls and texts) | Summerton: final approval March 26, 2026. Judson: final approval reported in 2021 | W.D. Wis. No. 3:23-cv-00238; C.D. Cal. No. 2:19-cv-06798 |
| Case Goldco filed | Goldco Direct v. Wilson: court orders in Goldco's favor (a preliminary, then a permanent injunction) | N.D. Ala. No. 4:18-cv-850, as recited in the opinion of March 27, 2019 |
| CFTC, SEC and state regulator actions | None found | SafeOunce searches, September 29, 2026 |
This record is a summary of Goldco complaints and lawsuits, not the full file. Each complaint category and court filing is summarized on Goldco complaints and lawsuits.
BBB and Trustpilot numbers, and their limits#
Goldco has 72 BBB complaints closed in the last three years and 1,710 BBB reviews, or 4.2 complaints for every 100 reviews (September 29, 2026). A closed complaint is one the BBB has finished handling, which is not the same as resolved in your favor. Goldco's grade is A+, and it has paid for BBB accreditation, a membership, since December 9, 2011.
How much does an A+ tell you? Less than you might think. In the BBB's own rating method, 90 of the 100 points relate to complaints, and customer reviews do not count.
A fairer test compares complaints with how many customers a company has. Sales figures are not public, so SafeOunce uses BBB reviews as a rough stand-in. The table ranks ten well-known gold IRA sellers by BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews (September 29, 2026).
| Company | BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews |
|---|---|
| Lear Capital | 22.1 |
| American Hartford Gold | 13.9 |
| Priority Gold | 5.9 |
| Goldco | 4.2 |
| Birch Gold Group | 4.0 |
| Preserve Gold | 1.6 |
| Noble Gold | 1.2 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | 0.7 |
| Patriot Gold Group | 0 |
| Advantage Gold | 0 (9 reviews) |
Counts grow with sales volume, and disputes settled in private arbitration (a private judge instead of a court) never reach the BBB. Source: BBB profiles, September 29, 2026.
On Trustpilot, Goldco scores 4.4 from 1,790 reviews: 89% five-star and 3% one-star (September 29, 2026). Trustpilot notes that Goldco has not recently asked customers for reviews, so most were written unprompted. The score has its own limit: Trustpilot adds seven 3.5-star reviews to every company's score, and all ten sellers above get 89% to 99% five-star reviews.
Two other badges appear on review sites. RetirementLiving cites a Business Consumer Alliance (BCA) "AAA", but the BCA is funded mainly by member dues and ignores complaints over a year old. TrustLink shows Goldco at 4.8 from 254 reviews (September 29, 2026), and TrustLink members pay for "preferential search listings".
What unhappy Goldco customers report about coins, statements and callbacks#
Goldco's one-star reviews repeat four complaints: coin steering, a large drop on the first statement, slow callbacks and unmet buyback or bonus promises. One-star reviews make up 3% of Goldco's 1,790 Trustpilot reviews, or about 54 reviews (September 29, 2026). The four patterns below are what reviewers say, not SafeOunce findings, and each comes with one step that protects you.
- Coin steering: reviewers say staff pushed "exclusive" limited-mintage coins, meaning small production runs sold at higher prices. Ask for plain bullion only.
- Statement shock: one reviewer reports losing about $38,000 on a $123,000 rollover, or 30.9% (reviewer statement, unverified). Ask for the percent over spot in writing before you buy.
- Slow callbacks: reviewers describe waiting about two weeks for a call back. Set deadlines by email so you have a record.
- Unmet promises: reviewers say buyback or promotion promises were not kept. Get the buyback terms written into your contract.
A drop on your first gold IRA statement is normal up to a point, because the statement shows market value, not what you paid. Why a gold IRA statement shows less than you paid is explained on our statement guide.
Court cases involving Goldco: texts, calls and a competitor#
Three federal cases name Goldco Direct LLC: two class actions over sales calls or texts, and one case Goldco itself brought against a competitor. Both class actions use the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA), the federal law that limits sales calls and texts.
Summerton v. Goldco Direct LLC (U.S. District Court, W.D. Wisconsin, No. 3:23-cv-00238) received final approval, the judge's last sign-off on the settlement, on March 26, 2026. It covers people on the National Do-Not-Call Registry who replied "stop" and were still texted more than once in 12 months. The court put that group at "approximately 19,280 persons" (preliminary approval order).
The settlement website lists a $2,000,000 fund, which also pays fees and costs. Split equally among about 19,280 people, that is an average of about $104 each before fees and costs, if every member claimed (SafeOunce computation). Any money left "shall be returned to Defendant", meaning Goldco, and Goldco "denies the allegations and any wrongdoing".
Summerton shows that gold IRA cold calls and texts fall under federal Do-Not-Call rules. How to stop gold IRA cold calls and texts is on our calls guide.
Judson v. Goldco Direct, LLC (U.S. District Court, C.D. California, No. 2:19-cv-06798) was an earlier TCPA class action. Other sources, not the approval order itself, report final approval in 2021; SafeOunce has not read that order.
Goldco Direct, LLC v. Wilson (U.S. District Court, N.D. Alabama, No. 4:18-cv-850) is the case Goldco brought; it was first filed as Goldco Direct v. Clackum. Goldco alleged that a competitor posed as "Bruce Clackum", using a Goldco customer's surname, and ran a "goldcosucks" website. As its opinion of March 27, 2019 recites, the court granted Goldco a preliminary and later a permanent injunction, an order telling the other side to stop (opinion).
No court ruled on Goldco's prices, and SafeOunce found no customer fraud judgment against Goldco.
Regulator actions: none found#
SafeOunce found no action against Goldco Direct LLC by the CFTC, the SEC or any state regulator in searches on September 29, 2026. The CFTC (Commodity Futures Trading Commission) is the federal agency that polices fraud in physical metals sales. Regulator actions can take years to become public, so check again before you buy.
Other sellers do appear in precious metals IRA enforcement actions. Every case SafeOunce tracks is in our list of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.
Awards, "best" labels and review sites#
Goldco's homepage shows a "Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service" award, but Money's editorial list dropped Goldco on May 29, 2026. On Money's September 25, 2026 page, Goldco appears only in a paid advertising box, not among the eight picks its editors chose.
Forbes Advisor labels Goldco "Best for Buyback Guarantees" (list captured August 17, 2026). Yet the same list ranks Goldco 10th of 10 on Transparency and Trust, a score built from online comments. It also reports that 91% of comments on Goldco's pricing and fees are negative, and it shows a $10,000 initial purchase, not the $25,000 minimum.
Other ranking reviews of Goldco repeat claims that the records do not support. The table sets six of them against the documents (September 29, 2026).
| Claim on a ranking review | Where | What the records show |
|---|---|---|
| "$0" account open fee and "$300" custodian fee | BestMoney (August 14, 2025) | $50 setup; $125 a year plus $100 or $150 storage (Goldco cost page, February 2025) |
| Setup "often waived"; "$180-$300" a year | Comparisun (June 23, 2026) | $50 setup; $275 or $325 in year one, $225 or $275 after |
| "The few complaints filed have all been resolved" | RetirementLiving (modified January 14, 2026) | 72 BBB complaints closed in 3 years; closed does not mean resolved in the customer's favor |
| No commission or no hidden fees | Business Insider (March 21, 2025); WireDaily release (December 16, 2024) | Goldco earns a spread it does not publish |
| No lawsuits in recent years | Business Insider (March 21, 2025) | Summerton v. Goldco Direct, final approval March 26, 2026 |
| Depositories described as approved by the IRS | Business Insider (March 21, 2025) | The IRS approves no depository; 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B) requires a trustee to hold the metal |
A "best" label from a site that earns a fee from the company is advertising. How gold IRA review sites are paid is explained on our reviews guide.
Goldco's Contract Terms: What Is Public and What Is Not#
Goldco publishes website terms but not the customer agreement you sign, so its cancellation window, arbitration rules and claim deadline cannot be checked before you call. Three large rivals do publish theirs, compared in the table from documents read on September 29, 2026. JAMS is a private arbitration company, and a claim deadline is how long you have to bring a dispute.
| Term | Goldco | American Hartford Gold (agreement, Sept. 2026) | Lear Capital (terms, Dec. 2025) | Preserve Gold (agreement, June 2025) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Customer agreement public | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Spread range stated | Not published | Bullion 1.00%-19.99%; other coins up to 39.99% or 59.99% | 2%-35% | Bullion up to 20%; IRA orders generally up to 34.99% |
| Cancellation window | Not published | 7 days, non-bullion only | 24 hours after invoice | 24 hours after invoice |
| Arbitration | None in website terms; agreement unknown | JAMS | JAMS, 30-day opt-out | JAMS |
| Claim deadline | Not public | 1 year | 1 year + 1 day | 1 year + 1 day |
| Buyback wording | "guaranteed at the highest price", no terms | Agreement says the law prohibits a guarantee | Agreement says the law prohibits a guarantee | Agreement says the law prohibits a guarantee |
Gold IRA company contracts differ most on spread caps, cancellation and claim deadlines. All ten sellers are compared on gold IRA company contracts.
The Goldco customer agreement is not published#
Goldco's promotion footnote refers buyers to "your customer agreement", but that agreement is not on goldco.com as of September 29, 2026. The footnote ends: "For additional details, please see your customer agreement." Goldco's website terms add: "we are not licensed financial advisors and do not give financial advice."
Ask Goldco to email the customer agreement and the invoice before you pay. The FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule requires sellers to tell you the total cost and quantity before you pay (16 CFR 310.3(a)(1)(i)). That rule covers precious metals sales even when you made the first call (16 CFR 310.6(b)(5)).
How long you have to cancel a Goldco order and get money back#
Goldco does not publish a cancellation window, and the one court record shows it refunded an order cancelled within 24 hours but not two earlier orders. The facts come from Goldco Direct v. Wilson, as recited by the federal court in Alabama on March 27, 2019. The table sets out the customer's three orders.
| Order | Dates | Amount | What happened |
|---|---|---|---|
| First and second orders | From October 2016 | More than $240,000 together (SafeOunce computation) | Goldco "did not agree to cancel or repurchase" them |
| Third (last) order | By March 2018 | $159,901.72 | Customer asked to cancel within 24 hours; Goldco refunded it |
| All three orders | October 2016 to March 2018 | More than $400,000 |
Goldco did honor the cancellation made within 24 hours.
Cancellation is one of three ways to get your money back from a gold IRA company. The others are arbitration and restitution, money a court or regulator orders a seller to repay. What each one can do is explained on how to get your money back from a gold IRA company.
Delivery time: 5 to 14 business days, or up to 45, and how to check delivery#
Goldco's website terms (read September 29, 2026) say orders ship "5-14 business days after receipt of good funds" and can take "up to 45 business days", about nine weeks. Good funds means money that has cleared.
Regulators draw a shorter line. The CFTC counts metal as truly delivered ("actual delivery") only if it arrives within 28 days of payment (CFTC release 8215-20, August 4, 2020). Washington's Department of Financial Institutions applied that 28-day test to another dealer, Rosland Capital, in 2022.
Noble Gold's terms use the exact same shipping sentence, so the 45-day wording looks like standard industry text, not a risk special to Goldco. Ask for the delivery date in writing, and check delivery on your custodian statement after 28 days. The steps to check delivery of IRA metal, and what to do if it never arrives, are on our delivery checklist.
Arbitration, claim deadlines and liability limits#
Goldco's website terms contain no arbitration clause, but whether its customer agreement has one, and how long you would have to bring a claim, is not public. Whether the agreement limits what Goldco would owe you (a liability cap) is also not public.
Every current dealer agreement SafeOunce has read contains an arbitration clause. American Hartford Gold allows 1 year to bring a claim, and Lear and Preserve allow 1 year and 1 day. As of September 2026, your share of consumer arbitration fees is capped at $225 by the American Arbitration Association (AAA) and $250 by JAMS.
Before you sign, ask whether there is arbitration, where it happens and who pays. Also ask whether you can opt out, and whether a one-year claim deadline applies.
Goldco Fees in 2026: Setup, Annual and Storage#
Goldco charges $50 to set up, $125 a year for administration, and $100 or $150 a year for storage (cost page updated February 2025). Those account fees are the small part of the cost; the markup on the coins, covered below, is the large part.
Segregated storage keeps your own coins apart and returns the same pieces. Non-segregated storage is shared: you get back the same type and amount, but maybe not the same pieces. Both are held in your name.
The table shows how much Goldco charges in year 1 and in each later year.
| Fee | Amount | Year 1 | Years 2-10 (each) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Setup | $50 one time | $50 | $0 |
| Administration | $125 a year | $125 | $125 |
| Storage, non-segregated | $100 a year | $100 | $100 |
| Storage, segregated | $150 a year | $150 | $150 |
| Total with segregated storage | $325 | $275 | |
| Total with non-segregated storage | $275 | $225 |
Source: Goldco cost page, updated February 2025, re-read September 29, 2026.
These Goldco gold IRA fees cover the account only. Goldco's account fees sit in the middle of the published range; every custodian and seller is compared on gold IRA fees.
Two different fee figures on Goldco's own site#
Goldco's own pages disagree. The cost page says the yearly administration fee is $125, while the FAQ still says "around $80". The FAQ reads: "Expect to pay about $50 for an account setup fee, around $80 for your annual account management fee, and between $100-150 for annual gold storage." The cost page was updated in February 2025, so its figure is the newer one.
Goldco fees vs the custodians' own fee schedules#
Goldco's $275 yearly total is $10 to $50 below the two custodians other sites link to it: $285 at Equity Trust and $325 at STRATA Trust. Goldco does not name its custodian on its website, and SafeOunce has not confirmed either one with Goldco. The table sets Goldco's page against the two custodians' schedules.
| Fee | Goldco page (Feb. 2025) | Equity Trust, metals-only schedule (revision 081726) | STRATA Trust (page modified Aug. 31, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Setup | $50 | $50 | $50 (waived with e-signature) |
| Annual administration | $125 | $125 | $150 |
| Storage, non-segregated | $100 | $110 | $115 |
| Storage, segregated | $150 | $160 | $175 |
| Yearly total, segregated | $275 | $285 | $325 |
That does not make Goldco's figure wrong, because a dealer can agree special prices with a custodian for its customers. Equity Trust fees also depend on which of its four schedules applies, as explained on our page about Equity Trust fees.
Fees Goldco does not list: selling, moving and closing#
Goldco's fee page lists no exit costs, but custodians charge to sell metal, move it or close the account. The table uses the same two schedules as above (Equity Trust revision 081726; STRATA page modified August 31, 2026).
| Exit cost | Equity Trust (metals-only schedule) | STRATA Trust |
|---|---|---|
| Selling metal | $30 per sale | $75 per trade ($40 plus $35 depository handling) |
| Taking the coins out (in-kind distribution) or transferring out | $125 | Not compared here |
| Closing the account | $250 | $250 |
| Selling everything and closing | $280 ($30 plus $250) | At least $325 (one trade plus closing; SafeOunce computation) |
Taking the coins out is also taxed. An in-kind distribution is ordinary income at the metal's fair market value that day, reported on Form 1099-R. Before age 59½, a 10% additional tax also applies unless an exception fits. Required minimum distributions start at 73 for people born 1951 to 1958, and at 75 for people born 1960 or later.
These gold IRA termination fees are not in Goldco's figures. Every custodian's exit charges are compared on gold IRA termination fees.
Goldco Minimum Investment: $25,000, Not $10,000#
Goldco's minimum for a gold IRA is $25,000, as of September 29, 2026. Its FAQ says "we generally require that you have at least $25,000 available to roll over into a gold IRA", and its cost page uses the same figure. Other well-known review sites show other numbers, listed in the table with their dates.
| Source | Minimum shown | Date |
|---|---|---|
| goldco.com FAQ and cost page | $25,000 | September 29, 2026 |
| RetirementLiving | $10,000 | Page modified January 14, 2026 |
| Business Insider | $10,000 | March 21, 2025 |
| Forbes Advisor table | $10,000 initial purchase (not a minimum) | Audited June 26, 2026 |
| BestMoney | $25,000 in its score, $0 in its fee box | August 14, 2025 |
Forbes' $10,000 is an initial-purchase figure, not the IRA minimum. CNBC Select's partner box shows both numbers side by side: an initial purchase of $10,000 and an account minimum of $25,000 (page modified September 1, 2026).
The IRS sets no minimum for a gold IRA. It sets a maximum instead: the 2026 IRA contribution limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 if you are 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67). One year of contributions cannot reach $25,000, so a Goldco account usually starts with a rollover or transfer from an existing IRA or 401(k).
Gold IRA minimums by company run from $5,000 at Birch Gold to $50,000 in Augusta's FAQ (September 23, 2026). Every published figure is compared on gold IRA minimums by company.
What $275 a year means for small investors at the $25,000 minimum#
At Goldco's $25,000 minimum, $275 a year in segregated account fees equals 1.10% of your balance every year, before any markup. Goldco's own cost page (February 2025) uses a lower figure, "the $225 in fees works out to an 0.90% annual fee", which assumes non-segregated storage. The table shows both fee levels as a share of three balances.
| Balance | $275 a year (segregated) | $225 a year (non-segregated) |
|---|---|---|
| $25,000 | 1.10% | 0.90% (Goldco's figure) |
| $50,000 | 0.55% | 0.45% (SafeOunce computation) |
| $100,000 | 0.275% | 0.23% (Goldco's figure) |
Small investors pay the most in percentage terms, because the fee is flat. Cheaper routes for balances under $25,000 are compared on best gold IRA companies for small investors.
The Cost Goldco Does Not Publish: the Spread on Its Coins#
Goldco does not publish its coin prices or its spread, so the largest cost of a Goldco IRA appears only on your invoice. The spread is the part of your price that is not metal: what you pay minus the metal's market value, as a percent of what you pay. On $100,000 at a 20% spread, $20,000 is markup and $80,000 is metal.
Dealers often quote the same gap as a "percent over spot", measured against the metal's value instead of your price. A 20% spread equals 25% over spot. Goldco quotes prices by phone; none are listed on goldco.com as of September 29, 2026.
Goldco is not alone. Of 15 operating sellers SafeOunce checked on September 29, 2026, only 4 publish a spread range in their contracts, and only 1 publishes live prices.
Gold IRA markups and spreads vary widely. The CFTC's 2024 guide with FINRA, the regulator of US brokerage firms, says some fraudulent dealers have charged spreads of "more than 300 percent". Other dealers may charge "less than 20 percent". Every published spread range is on gold IRA markups and spreads.
The bid is what a dealer pays you when you sell back. It sits below the dealer's own cost of the metal, so you lose a little more when you sell. How big is that hidden cost in dollars?
How much gold must rise before you break even#
At a 20% spread, gold must rise about 31% before a customer who sells back gets back to even. The extra rise is needed because a dealer's buyback price sits below its own cost. The table shows the rise needed at four spreads.
| Spread | Rise needed if you could sell at the dealer's cost | Rise needed at a typical buyback price |
|---|---|---|
| 5% | 5.3% | 10.4% |
| 10% | 11.1% | 16.6% |
| 20% | 25.0% | 31.1% |
| 30% | 42.9% | 49.9% |
Illustration. It assumes the buyback price is 4.69% below the dealer's cost, as in Lear Capital's terms (December 2025) and Preserve Gold's agreement (June 2025). Goldco's own spread and buyback price are not published.
A gold IRA break-even calculator runs this math for any spread. Test your own spread in the gold IRA break-even calculator.
Goldco's fee comparison leaves out the spread#
Goldco's cost page compares its fees with the expense ratios of 401(k) funds, but it never mentions the spread. An expense ratio is the yearly fee a fund takes as a percent of your money. Goldco says $225 "works out to an 0.90% annual fee" on $25,000, and 0.23% on $100,000. A 5% spread on $100,000 costs $5,000 on day one, more than 22 years of that $225 fee.
What a $100,000 Goldco Gold IRA Costs: Year 1 and 10 Years#
A $100,000 Goldco gold IRA with segregated storage costs $325 in account fees in year one and $2,800 over ten years. If you sell back, a spread of 5% to 30% adds $9,453 to $33,281 more. The first table shows the fixed fees from Goldco's cost page (February 2025).
| Cost | Year 1 | 10 years |
|---|---|---|
| Setup | $50 | $50 |
| Administration | $125 | $1,250 |
| Storage (segregated) | $150 | $1,500 |
| Dealer spread on purchase | Not published | Not published |
| Total published fees | $325 | $2,800 |
| Total with non-segregated storage | $275 | $2,300 |
| Exit fee | Not in Goldco's figures | Example: $280 to sell and close at Equity Trust's metals-only schedule |
The second table adds the spread and buyback gap to Goldco's published fees under those assumptions.
| Spread | What you could sell for on day one | Lost to spread and buyback price | 10 years of fees | 10-year total cost | Share of $100,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | $90,547 | $9,453 | $2,800 | $12,253 | 12.3% |
| 10% | $85,781 | $14,219 | $2,800 | $17,019 | 17.0% |
| 20% | $76,250 | $23,750 | $2,800 | $26,550 | 26.6% |
| 30% | $66,719 | $33,281 | $2,800 | $36,081 | 36.1% |
At a 5% spread, fees and spread take about 12% of $100,000 over ten years; at 30%, more than a third. Non-segregated storage saves only $500 over ten years, so the spread decides what you pay.
Is that expensive? The table compares three routes for $100,000 over ten years, with the same flat price and fees paid from outside (SafeOunce computations, September 2026).
| Route for $100,000 over 10 years | Total cost | Share of $100,000 |
|---|---|---|
| Low-cost gold ETF (GLDM, 0.10% a year) in an existing IRA | $1,035 | 1.0% |
| Low-cost gold IRA: Gold Eagles bought at a 3.03% premium, sold back at 99%, Equity Trust fees of $2,430 | $6,341 | 6.3% |
| Gold IRA at a 10% spread with Goldco's non-segregated fees ($2,300) | $16,521 | 16.5% |
A gold ETF gives you the gold price, not coins you can take out; for physical metal, the low-cost gold IRA row is the fair yardstick.
Equity Trust's disclosure says custodian statement values "do not include any markups, commissions or premiums from the precious metals dealer". At a 20% spread, $100,000 can show as about $80,000 of metal on your first statement.
Retail prices give a second yardstick. On September 29, 2026, buying and selling back a 1-ounce Gold Eagle the same day at SD Bullion, a large online dealer, cost 5.39% (one snapshot).
A gold IRA fee calculator lets you change the amount, the spread and the years. Run your own amount in the gold IRA fee calculator.
Goldco's Free Silver Offer, Costed#
At the 10% tier, Goldco's free silver leaves you ahead only if its "premium coins" carry a spread of about 13% or less. Goldco offers up to 5% in silver on $50,000 to $99,999 and 10% on $100,000 or more, only on those coins, and does not publish their prices or spread. The homepage footnote, read on September 29, 2026, sets the conditions.
What is the bonus worth on the day you buy? The table values each route at what a dealer would pay you that same day, with hypothetical spreads (20% plus the buyback gap for the bonus silver).
| Route | Spread assumed | Day-one value |
|---|---|---|
| Premium coins, $100,000 | 30% | $66,719 |
| Bonus silver, $10,000 | 20% | $7,625 |
| Premium route total | $74,344 | |
| Plain bullion, $100,000 | 5% | $90,547 |
| Difference | $16,203 against the bonus route |
Valued at metal content instead, the $10,000 of bonus silver holds about $8,613 of silver, because 1-ounce Silver Eagles sold at about 16.1% over their metal value in 2026.
Federal guidance speaks to this in the FTC's Guide Concerning Use of the Word "Free" (16 CFR 251.1(b)(1)). It says a seller should not recover the cost of a free item "by marking up the price of the article which must be purchased".
The bonus can still be real value: if the premium coins carry a spread at or below plain bullion, you gain the silver. Ask for the per-coin price before you accept. How other sellers fund free silver gold IRA promotions is explained on our promotions guide.
Goldco Buyback: What "Guaranteed at the Highest Price" Means#
"Guaranteed at the highest price" has no terms you can check: Goldco's homepage says it "offers a Buy Back program guaranteed at the highest price", but publishes no buyback terms. No price formula or payment time was on goldco.com as of September 29, 2026.
Contracts from other sellers say the opposite. American Hartford Gold's September 2026 agreement states that "applicable laws currently prohibit AHG from guaranteeing to repurchase". The agreements of Lear Capital, Preserve Gold, Oxford Gold and American Bullion carry the same point.
In the industry, a buyback usually pays a wholesaler's "highest list bid", the top price a large wholesaler lists to buy, which sits below its selling price. Forbes Advisor still labels Goldco "Best for Buyback Guarantees". On a 1-ounce bullion coin, a fair same-day buyback loses about 5% to 7% of what you paid. On a premium coin bought at a 30% spread, a buyback at metal value loses about a third.
If Goldco puts a buyback formula in writing, compare it with a large bullion dealer's bid on the same day. Gold IRA buyback programs differ in formula, timing and fees. What each contract says is on gold IRA buyback programs compared.
Goldco Products: Premium Coins vs Plain Bullion#
Goldco sells both plain bullion and its own category of "premium coins", and only the premium coins earn the free-silver bonus. The three product types below follow different IRA rules under 26 U.S.C. 408(m), and carry different markups.
- Bullion coins and bars: the tax law names the American Gold Eagle as eligible (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A)). Gold bars qualify if at least 99.5% pure (.995 fineness) under 408(m)(3)(B).
- Proof and limited-mintage coins: a proof coin has a specially struck collector finish, and a limited mintage is a small run sold at a higher price. Eligibility depends on the coin, custodians decide what they accept, and markups are higher.
- Silver: the tax law names the 1-ounce Silver Eagle, and silver bars qualify at 99.9% purity (.999 fineness).
BestMoney (August 14, 2025) lists rhodium among Goldco's metals. Rhodium cannot go in an IRA: the law names only gold, silver, platinum and palladium, so rhodium is a collectible in any form. Ask Goldco whether it offers platinum or palladium, and at what spread.
The American Gold Eagle is a special case. It is 91.67% gold, below the .995 rule for bars, but the statute names it. Why the American Gold Eagle in an IRA is allowed despite .9167 purity is explained on its product page.
Some sellers call coins "semi-numismatic", meaning half collector coin and half bullion. The CFTC calls that "a made-up industry term". Sellers use it for coins priced well above their metal value, and reviewers say Goldco staff steered them toward coins of this kind.
For an IRA, ask for 1-ounce bullion coins or bars and the percent over spot for each. Proof coins in an IRA often carry the largest markups. What custodians accept for proof coins in an IRA is on our proof coin page.
Goldco Custodians and Depositories#
Goldco's website names no custodian or depository, as of September 29, 2026. Other review sites name Equity Trust or STRATA Trust, and the Delaware Depository, Brink's or a Texas vault; Goldco has not confirmed these. The table shows who names what.
| Source | What it names |
|---|---|
| Comparisun (updated June 23, 2026) | Delaware Depository and Brink's |
| Business Insider (March 21, 2025) | Delaware Depository, and a Texas depository at $50 a year extra |
| Other review sites | Equity Trust or STRATA Trust as custodian |
Gold IRA custodians differ in charter (the state license that lets a trust company hold IRAs) and in fees. Every custodian's charter and fees are compared on gold IRA custodians.
The law requires a trustee to hold IRA bullion (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B)). FDIC insurance (for bank deposits) and SIPC protection (for brokerage accounts) never cover IRA metal, and vault insurance pays the metal's value, not the premium you paid. Ask Goldco the three questions listed below before you sign.
- Which custodian do you use, and may I choose another?
- Which depository, and is the metal held in the name of my IRA?
- Is storage segregated or non-segregated, and at what yearly price?
Gold IRA depositories differ in location and insurance cover. Vault insurance and locations are compared on gold IRA depositories.
Goldco Pros and Cons#
Goldco's strengths are dated account fees, a clear minimum and no regulator action found; its weaknesses are unpublished coin prices, a private contract and promotions without written terms. The table sets six of each side by side, as of September 29, 2026.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Publishes dated account fees; of ten well-known sellers, only Goldco, Birch, Noble and Augusta list fees on their own sites | No coin prices or spread published |
| Clear $25,000 minimum | Customer agreement not public |
| BBB A+, accredited since 2011 | Free silver only on its own premium coins |
| No regulator action found | "Guaranteed" buyback without published terms |
| Segregated storage offered | Two class actions over sales calls or texts (2021 reported, 2026) |
| FAQ correctly says IRA metal must be held at a depository | Shipping can take up to 45 business days |
Who Goldco Suits, and Who Should Walk Away#
Goldco suits a buyer moving $25,000 or more who buys plain bullion and gets prices, buyback terms and the contract in writing. It does not suit anyone below that $25,000 minimum (September 29, 2026), or anyone who wants the bonus without a written spread. The table gives a verdict for five reader situations.
| If you... | Verdict | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Have under $25,000 | Not eligible | Goldco's minimum is $25,000. A low-cost gold ETF in an existing IRA costs less: see gold IRA vs gold ETF |
| Move $25,000 to $50,000 | Workable if bullion only | The $275 in yearly account fees equals 0.55% to 1.10% of your balance |
| Move $50,000 or more and are offered free silver | Take the bonus only with the premium-coin price in writing | At the 10% tier, the break-even spread is about 13% |
| Want a written contract first | Ask for the agreement before any call ends | If Goldco will not send it, walk away |
| Need the money within 5 years | Think twice | At a 20% spread, gold must rise about 31% just to break even |
What separates a good deal from a costly one is the paperwork, not the account size. With the assumptions of the $100,000 example, $100,000 of coins at a 30% spread loses $33,281 on day one. By contrast, $30,000 of plain bullion at a 5% spread loses about $2,836. Only a written price per coin tells you which of these two cases you are in.
You should ask Goldco the 5 questions below before any money moves.
- Ask the price per coin and the percent over spot for each item.
- Ask what Goldco would pay for the same coins tomorrow.
- Ask for the customer agreement and invoice by email before paying.
- Ask how many days you have to cancel, and from when.
- Ask which custodian and depository Goldco uses, and for the fee schedule's revision date.
These five come from a longer checklist on how to choose a gold IRA company. The full list of 12 questions is on how to choose a gold IRA company.
How SafeOunce Rates Goldco#
Goldco's SafeOunce rating is pending: 55 of its 100 points need a written quote, the customer agreement or a test call (September 29, 2026). SafeOunce scores 7 criteria worth 100 points from documents and a written quote, and anything a company does not disclose scores zero. The rating card above is computed from methodology version 1.0, not written by hand. The five pending criteria are the bullion price (A1), price disclosure (A2), buyback terms (A3), contract fairness (C) and sales pressure (F).
The table lists each criterion, its points and Goldco's inputs as of September 29, 2026.
| Criterion (methodology v1.0) | Points | Goldco inputs (September 29, 2026) | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| A1 Measured bullion premium | 15 | No written quote yet for a $50,000 IRA order of 1-ounce Gold Eagles and Maple Leafs | Pending (unknown items score 0) |
| A2 Price disclosure | 10 | No live prices online; spread cap unknown (agreement not public) | Partly known |
| A3 Buyback terms | 5 | No written bid method, payment time or buyback fee; homepage says "guaranteed at the highest price" | Pending |
| B1 Published account fees | 4 | Published with a date (February 2025); FAQ shows an older conflicting figure | Known |
| B2 10-year account cost at $100,000 | 4 | $2,800 before exit fees; exit fee depends on the custodian | Partly known |
| B3 Promotions not tied to premium products | 2 | Free silver applies only to "Goldco premium coins" | Known |
| C1-C4 Contract fairness | 15 | Agreement not public; cancellation, disputes, claim deadline and any limit on what Goldco would owe you unknown | Pending |
| D Regulatory and legal record | 20 | No regulator action found; Summerton final approval March 26, 2026; Judson reported 2021 | Known |
| E Complaint record | 10 | 72 BBB complaints in 3 years; Trustpilot one-star reviews not yet sorted by topic | Partly known |
| F Product mix and sales pressure | 10 | Not yet tested: what Goldco recommends for a $50,000 IRA; premium-coin line exists | Pending |
| G Custody, delivery, disclosure | 5 | Custodians and depositories not named; shipping 5-14 or up to 45 business days; segregated storage offered | Known |
Goldco is not closed, not sanctioned by a regulator and not on SafeOunce's watch list, so none of the three automatic exclusions applies (September 29, 2026). If it does not send a written quote and its customer agreement within 10 business days of a documented request, it is listed as "Not rated: would not disclose". Weights and evidence rules for how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies are on how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.
How Does Goldco Compare With Other Gold IRA Companies?#
Goldco sits in the middle of its rivals: it publishes account fees but no spread limits, and its 4.2 complaints per 100 BBB reviews are mid-range. Its $25,000 minimum sits between Birch's $5,000 and Augusta's $50,000. The table compares Goldco with five rivals on the same four fields, as of September 29, 2026.
| Company | IRA minimum | Account fees published | Spread range published | BBB complaints per 100 reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goldco | $25,000 | Yes ($325 year 1, $275 after, segregated) | No | 4.2 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | $50,000 (Augusta FAQ, Sept. 23, 2026) | Yes, in its FAQ ($285 year 1, $235 after; the FAQ also says Augusta pays up to 10 years of these fees, conditions not stated) | No | 0.7 |
| American Hartford Gold | Not published | No | Yes: bullion up to 19.99%; other coins up to 39.99% or 59.99% | 13.9 |
| Noble Gold | $20,000 | Yes, but two pages disagree ($80 + $275 a year, or $50 + $285 a year) | No | 1.2 |
| Birch Gold Group | $5,000 | About $235 a year | No | 4.0 |
| Lear Capital | Not published | No | Yes: 2%-35% | 22.1 |
The best gold IRA companies are ranked on the same records, with the spread counted. Rankings by real cost are on best gold IRA companies.
Goldco vs Augusta Precious Metals#
Goldco's $25,000 minimum is half of Augusta's $50,000, but Augusta has fewer complaints: 0.7 per 100 BBB reviews against Goldco's 4.2 (September 29, 2026). Augusta's FAQ (updated September 23, 2026) lists $285 in year-one fees and a cancellation window of up to seven days. It says Augusta "cannot legally guarantee" to repurchase metal. The same FAQ also advertises a "24-hour Highest Buyback Price Guarantee window", so both companies use "guarantee" wording in their marketing.
The Augusta Precious Metals vs Goldco side-by-side table is on Augusta Precious Metals vs Goldco. Goldco appears in five other pairs: Goldco vs American Hartford Gold, Goldco vs Noble Gold, Goldco vs Lear Capital, Goldco vs Priority Gold and Goldco vs Birch Gold.
Goldco's celebrity spokespeople and endorsements#
Goldco's homepage features Sean Hannity, Donald Trump Jr., Lara Trump, Tom Selleck and Dennis Quaid, as of September 29, 2026. So if you ask which gold company Sean Hannity recommends, the answer is Goldco. These endorsement deals are marketing, and a famous name tells you nothing about prices.
The CFTC warns in general that fraudulent dealers "target their ads to political or religious programming just to gain your trust" (CFTC release 8881-24). This is a general warning, not an allegation against Goldco. Other sellers use celebrity gold IRA endorsements too, and who endorses which seller is tracked on celebrity gold IRA endorsements.
Does Goldco pay review sites?#
Yes: Goldco pays websites that send it customers, through an affiliate program, but it does not publish how much it pays per referral. The program runs on a platform called Everflow with a 90-day cookie, which credits a website for your purchase up to 90 days after you click its link. According to Goldco's affiliate page (September 29, 2026), payments go out by PayPal on the 15th of each month. Terms are signed after approval, and only visitors from the US count.
Review pages that link to Goldco can earn money when you call Goldco; SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page. To see who pays us, read who pays SafeOunce.
Does Goldco sell physical gold outside an IRA?#
Yes: Goldco also sells coins and bars for home delivery, per its website terms (September 29, 2026). They ship by registered, insured mail, UPS or FedEx within 5-14 business days after funds clear, and the terms allow up to 45 business days. Outside an IRA, the metal is yours to keep where you like.
Can you keep Goldco IRA gold at home?#
No: IRA bullion must be in the physical possession of a trustee, and Goldco's FAQ says gold IRA assets "will need to be stored at a bullion depository". The Tax Court applied this rule in McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021). Coins an IRA owner kept at home were treated as money taken out of the IRA, and taxed. A home storage gold IRA fails that test, as covered on home storage gold IRA.
Is Goldco a publicly traded company?#
No stock listing for Goldco was found: it operates as Goldco Direct LLC and publishes no financial statements. Searches for "goldco stock" also return the stock symbol of an unrelated company, so check the name before you act on any quote.
What is the downside of a gold IRA with Goldco?#
The main downside is cost: Goldco charges $275 a year in account fees plus a spread it does not publish, and gold pays no interest or dividends. Those fees come from Goldco's February 2025 cost page. Gold also has to rise before you break even: about 31% at a 20% spread.
Every gold IRA has pros and cons beyond Goldco's. The general case is on gold IRA pros and cons.