Priority Gold is an operating gold IRA seller, legally Priority Gold LLC of Dallas, Texas. It holds an A+ grade from the Better Business Bureau (BBB), and SafeOunce found no regulator action against it as of September 29, 2026. It publishes its buyback fee, but not its coin prices or a fee schedule. So the real question is not whether Priority Gold exists, but what you pay and what you give up in writing.
A gold IRA is an individual retirement account that holds physical gold through a custodian, a trust company that holds the account for you. Priority Gold is one of the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks with the same records, fees and contract questions.
This Priority Gold review covers its legal names, record, contract, four minimums, custodian fees and markup (the part of the price that is not metal). It prices a $100,000 account, the 18% consignment fee and the free silver. It covers Priority Gold LLC (prioritygold.com), not Sky Priority Gold, Citi Priority Gold or Priority Wealth Advisors.
The 13 facts below come from Priority Gold's website, the BBB, Trustpilot (a public review website), two published reviews and a court record, each dated.
| Quick fact | Priority Gold |
|---|---|
| Legal name | Priority Gold LLC (refund page); the BBB lists "Priority Gold, LLC"; one state notice names "Priority Gold Group, LP" |
| Address | 5005 Lyndon B. Johnson Fwy., Suite 300, Dallas, TX 75244 (refund page); the BBB also lists 9777 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 718, Beverly Hills, CA |
| Business started (BBB) | November 27, 2001 |
| Leaders (BBB) | Michael Anderson, COO; Jennifer Warner, Director of Operations |
| IRA minimum | $10,000 per Priority's FAQ (September 29, 2026); $25,000 per Forbes Advisor (July 20, 2026) |
| Account fees published | No; the custodian's fees apply |
| Coin prices published | No; premium ranges only (September 29, 2026) |
| Customer agreement public | No (September 29, 2026) |
| Cancellation window | 3 business days to 14 days in 37 listed states and Guam; 13 states not listed |
| Buyback | Wholesale bid, open market, or 18% consignment after 60 months for non-bullion coins |
| BBB | A+; Dallas profile accredited since December 18, 2023, Beverly Hills profile not accredited; 38 complaints in 3 years (September 29, 2026) |
| Trustpilot | 4.9 from 380 reviews (September 29, 2026) |
| Court and regulator record | 1 case found (sent to arbitration February 19, 2026, per the Collin County docket as summarized by Trellis); 0 regulator actions found (September 29, 2026) |
| Official site | prioritygold.com |
Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.
Our Priority Gold Verdict: Clear Exit Terms, Unclear Entry Costs#
Priority Gold is a real, long-running seller that publishes more about selling back than most rivals, but it keeps its coin prices, fees and customer agreement off its website. Priority Gold complaints at the BBB number 38 in three years (September 29, 2026). A Texas court sent one lawsuit to private arbitration on February 19, 2026, according to the docket as summarized by Trellis. The full complaint categories and the court filing are on the page about Priority Gold complaints.
The spot price is today's market price for one ounce of raw metal. Priority's catalog says bullion coins "typically run 4-7% over spot", but it prints no price for any coin (September 29, 2026). What should a careful buyer ask Priority Gold before sending money? Get three things in writing: the price per coin with its percent over spot, the custodian's fee schedule and the signed customer agreement.
Priority does publish an 18% consignment fee, cancellation notices for 37 states and Guam, and premium ranges for bullion. Look elsewhere if you have less than $10,000, want collector coins in an IRA or cannot get prices on paper. Its catalog also labels the Krugerrand "IRA ELIGIBLE" (read September 29, 2026), a coin the tax code does not allow in an IRA.
Who Is Priority Gold? Legal Name, Address and Leaders#
Priority Gold is a precious metals dealer that sells gold, silver, platinum and palladium coins and bars and arranges IRAs, operating legally as Priority Gold LLC from Dallas, Texas. It calls itself "America's Precious Metals Dealer". Its About page claims No. 1,006 on the 2026 Inc. 5000, a list of fast-growing private companies; SafeOunce has not checked that claim. Author Robert Kiyosaki appears on its site as its "Official Partner". Why does the legal name matter? Your contract, complaints and court cases use it, not the brand.
Priority Gold LLC, Priority Gold, LLC and "Priority Gold Group, LP": the names to check#
Priority Gold's refund page gives its legal name as Priority Gold LLC; the BBB lists "Priority Gold, LLC"; one state notice names "Priority Gold Group, LP". The third name appears once, in the Montana notice: "notice of cancellation to the seller (legal name Priority Gold Group, LP)". SafeOunce has not confirmed how the two entities relate. Priority Wealth Advisors, Inc., which has a consent order from California's financial regulator (DFPI), is a different firm. Sky Priority and Citi "priority gold" tiers are unrelated brands.
Check which name is on your customer agreement and invoice, and search that exact name when you check a gold IRA company's record. The step-by-step way to check a gold IRA company by its legal name is on our verification guide.
Where is Priority Gold located? Dallas, Beverly Hills and Sherman Oaks#
Priority Gold is located in Dallas, Texas, at 5005 Lyndon B. Johnson Freeway, Suite 300, according to its refund page (September 29, 2026). The BBB also lists 9777 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 718, in Beverly Hills, California, and the Dallas BBB page calls that address the headquarters. LendEDU mentions offices in Sherman Oaks, California, and Trustpilot shows Suite 350 in Dallas.
When was Priority Gold founded?#
The BBB lists Priority Gold's business start as November 27, 2001, while Priority's own pages say "more than a decade" and "almost 20 years". The first phrase is on its About page; the second is its company text on Trustpilot. Forbes Advisor (July 20, 2026) says "established in 2001" and "about 25 years". SafeOunce has not found a record that settles the difference.
Who runs Priority Gold?#
The BBB names Michael Anderson as Priority Gold's chief operating officer and Jennifer Warner as director of operations, as of September 29, 2026. Priority Gold LLC does not publish who owns it, and SafeOunce has not confirmed ownership from a state filing. So this review names no owner.
How a Priority Gold IRA works, step by step#
A Priority Gold IRA works in 5 steps, from a phone consultation to metal arriving in a vault in your IRA's name. A self-directed IRA is an IRA that can hold assets other than funds, such as metal. The custodian is the trust company that holds that IRA and sends statements; the depository is the vault. The 5 steps are listed below.
- Call a Priority specialist; the catalog shows no prices and asks you to call for a quote.
- Open a self-directed IRA at a custodian Priority works with.
- Move money by a direct transfer or a rollover.
- Get the price per coin in writing, then sign the customer agreement.
- Wait for delivery to a depository, which Priority's FAQ says is "generally completed within 10 to 14 business days after account setup".
The vault is the law: under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B), IRA bullion must be in the "physical possession" of a trustee.
Step 3 works best as a gold IRA transfer. A gold IRA transfer between custodians has no 60-day clock and no once-a-year limit, so ask for one instead of a check.
Is Priority Gold a custodian?#
No: Priority Gold is the dealer that sells the metal, while a separate trust company is the custodian that holds your IRA and a vault stores the coins. The SEC warns that "self-directed IRA custodians generally do not evaluate the quality or legitimacy of any investment" (SEC investor alert). Priority's disclaimer adds that its help "does not create a fiduciary relationship", meaning no legal duty to put your interests first.
Priority Gold's Complaint and Regulatory Record#
Priority Gold's record shows 38 BBB complaints in three years, one court case sent to arbitration and no regulator action found, as of September 29, 2026. Every closed complaint was answered or resolved. Arbitration means a private judge decides a dispute instead of a court. The table sums up the complaint record and regulatory record with dates and sources.
| Record item | Priority Gold | Date and source |
|---|---|---|
| BBB grade | A+ on both profiles | BBB, September 29, 2026 |
| BBB accreditation | Dallas: accredited since December 18, 2023; Beverly Hills: not accredited | BBB, September 29, 2026 |
| BBB complaints | 38 closed in 3 years; 13 in the last 12 months | BBB, September 29, 2026 |
| Complaint status | 32 resolved, 6 answered, 0 unanswered | BBB, September 29, 2026 |
| Complaints per 100 BBB reviews | 5.9 (38 complaints, 648 reviews) | SafeOunce computation, September 29, 2026 |
| Trustpilot | 4.9 from 380 reviews; Priority invites reviews | Trustpilot, September 29, 2026 |
| Court cases found | Hamilton v. Priority Gold, LLC: arbitration compelled February 19, 2026 | Collin County, Texas, docket as summarized by Trellis |
| CFTC, SEC and state regulator actions | None found | SafeOunce searches, September 29, 2026 |
This is a summary of Priority Gold complaints and lawsuits, not the full file. Each complaint category and the court filing are summarized on Priority Gold complaints and lawsuits.
Two BBB profiles: one accredited, one not#
The BBB shows two Priority Gold profiles: the Dallas profile says "BBB Accredited" since December 18, 2023; the Beverly Hills profile says "Not BBB Accredited" (September 29, 2026). BBB accreditation is a paid membership that commits a business to BBB standards. Both profiles show an A+ grade, 38 complaints, 648 reviews and a business start of November 27, 2001. Earlier third-party snapshots showed accreditation since February 14, 2018, for a Sherman Oaks profile.
Priority's reviews FAQ calls it "a fully accredited business with an A+ rating from the BBB". The BBB does not say why the two profiles differ. In the BBB's rating method, 90 of the 100 points relate to complaints, and customer reviews do not count.
What the 38 BBB complaints are about#
Nearly half of Priority Gold's 38 BBB complaints, 17 of them, are filed as product issues (September 29, 2026). Service issues follow with 8, then sales and advertising with 5. The table sorts Priority Gold's 38 BBB complaints from the last three years by the BBB's own category labels.
| BBB category | Complaints | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Product issues | 17 | 44.7% |
| Service or repair issues | 8 | 21.1% |
| Sales and advertising issues | 5 | 13.2% |
| Customer service issues | 3 | 7.9% |
| Delivery issues | 3 | 7.9% |
| Billing issues | 1 | 2.6% |
| Order issues | 1 | 2.6% |
BBB Dallas complaints page, read September 29, 2026. 32 resolved, 6 answered. The BBB shows the text of only a part of the complaints.
One complaint the BBB published (July 15, 2024) shows how the price question plays out. The customer says they rolled over $48,912.34 in December 2021 and bought proof Silver Eagles, the collector version of the coin, at $143.95 each. The customer says the coins later sold for an average of $72.91. That is $71.04, or 49.4%, less per coin (SafeOunce computation from the customer's figures).
The customer also says a proof Gold Eagle 4-piece set bought for $7,392.13 had a market value "in the low $4,000.00s". The BBB marks the complaint resolved, and the customer later wrote, "This case has been successfully resolved". The same proof set is in Priority's catalog today with an "IRA ELIGIBLE" badge.
Two other visible complaints were also resolved: a July 2024 package "missing half the order", and an October 2024 product complaint "resolved ... without the need for a refund". Trustpilot one-star reviews mention missed callbacks.
Ask for bullion, not proofs, in an IRA; get the quantity and the percent over spot in writing; and set callback deadlines by email. Your gold IRA statement shows metal value, so an overpayment shows there first. Why a gold IRA statement can show far less than you paid is explained on our statement guide.
Trustpilot's 4.9 and what it cannot tell you#
Priority Gold scores 4.9 on Trustpilot from 380 reviews, with 93% five-star and 2% one-star, as of September 29, 2026. Trustpilot notes that Priority invites customers to write reviews. Priority's own pages quote 4.8 and 4.9, and USA Today (updated May 15, 2026) printed 4.7. Trustpilot adds seven 3.5-star reviews to every score, and all ten sellers below show 89% to 99% five-star reviews.
A fairer test compares complaints with customer numbers. The table ranks ten gold IRA sellers by BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews (September 29, 2026).
| Company | BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews |
|---|---|
| Lear Capital | 22.1 |
| American Hartford Gold | 13.9 |
| Priority Gold | 5.9 |
| Goldco | 4.2 |
| Birch Gold Group | 4.0 |
| Preserve Gold | 1.6 |
| Noble Gold | 1.2 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | 0.7 |
| Patriot Gold Group | 0 |
| Advantage Gold | 0 (9 reviews) |
Counts grow with sales volume, and disputes sent to private arbitration never reach the BBB. Source: BBB profiles, September 29, 2026.
Court cases: one arbitration order found#
SafeOunce found one court case naming Priority Gold, LLC: Hamilton v. Priority Gold, LLC and Bayside Metal Exchange, which a Texas court sent to private arbitration on February 19, 2026. The case was filed on October 28, 2025, in a Collin County, Texas, district court as No. 493-08644-2025, according to the court docket as summarized by Trellis. Priority Gold, LLC asked the court to compel arbitration. The order granting it is dated February 19, 2026, and the case was abated, meaning paused.
The claims are not public in what SafeOunce could read. Bayside Metal Exchange describes itself as a Los Angeles wholesale precious metals dealer. No court judgment against Priority Gold was found.
Regulator actions: none found#
SafeOunce found no CFTC, SEC or state regulator action against Priority Gold LLC in searches on September 29, 2026. The CFTC (Commodity Futures Trading Commission) is the federal agency that polices fraud in physical metals sales. Regulator actions can take years to become public, so check again before you buy.
Other sellers do appear in precious metals IRA enforcement actions. Every case SafeOunce tracks is in our list of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.
"Best" lists, paid placements and review sites#
On money.com's best gold IRA page of September 25, 2026, Priority Gold appears only in paid spots, not among the eight editorial picks. It sits third in an "Our Partner" ad block and second in a paid table. LendEDU links to Priority through tracked links and says "Many or all companies we feature compensate us". Forbes Advisor carries an affiliate disclosure.
A pending federal case targets paid rankings. Orion Precious Metals v. Money Group (C.D. Cal. No. 2:26-cv-07092) was filed on June 29, 2026. Orion alleges money.com is "paid by these companies to rank their businesses as a top choice", naming Priority Gold among five companies (complaint).
Who ranks whom in gold IRA 'best of' lists, and who pays, is compared on our page about gold IRA 'best of' lists.
Priority Gold's Contract Terms: What Is Public and What Is Not#
Priority Gold publishes its state cancellation notices, a buyback policy and a disclaimer, but not the customer agreement you sign. Its markup limits and dispute rules therefore cannot be checked before you call.
JAMS is a private arbitration company, and a claim deadline is how long you have to bring a dispute. The table compares the written terms of four sellers, from documents read on September 29, 2026.
| Term | Priority Gold | American Hartford Gold (agreement, Sept. 2026) | Lear Capital (terms, Dec. 2025) | Preserve Gold (agreement, June 2025) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Customer agreement public | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Spread range stated | No; premium ranges for bullion only | Bullion 1.00%-19.99%; other coins up to 39.99% or 59.99% | 2%-35% | Bullion up to 20%; IRA orders up to 34.99% |
| Cancellation window | 3 business days to 14 days by state; 13 states not listed | 7 days, non-bullion only | 24 hours after invoice | 24 hours after invoice |
| Arbitration | Not published; a court compelled arbitration in 2026 | JAMS | JAMS, 30-day opt-out | JAMS |
| Claim deadline | Not public | 1 year | 1 year and 1 day | 1 year and 1 day |
| Buyback wording | "We cannot promise you a set price"; 18% consignment | Law prohibits a buyback guarantee | Law prohibits a buyback guarantee | Law prohibits a buyback guarantee |
Priority's column has more blanks than the other gold IRA company contracts. All ten sellers are compared on gold IRA company contracts.
The Priority Gold Customer Agreement is not published#
Priority Gold's refund page refers to "Priority's Customer Agreement" and says you owe nothing "unless you sign the Customer Agreement". The agreement itself is not on prioritygold.com as of September 29, 2026. The refund page adds: "Neither Priority's Customer Agreement nor these State-specific policies disclaim oral representations."
Priority's website terms choose "the laws of the State of California" and California courts, but only for claims about the website. Ask Priority Gold to email the customer agreement and the invoice before you pay. The FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule requires telemarketers to tell you the total cost and quantity before you pay (16 CFR 310.3(a)(1)(i)).
How long you have to cancel: 3 business days to 14 days, by state#
Priority Gold's refund page lists cancellation windows for 37 states and Guam, ranging from 3 business days to 14 days, and lists nothing for the other 13 states. The table shows the range of cancellation windows on Priority's refund page, read September 29, 2026.
| Window | Example wording on Priority's refund page |
|---|---|
| 3 business days | "within 3 business days from the delivery* of the merchandise" |
| 3 days, excluding Sundays and holidays | "prior to midnight of the third day, excluding Sundays and holidays" |
| 3 business days from the invoice (first-time buyers, such as in Idaho and New Mexico) | "within three (3) business days of the date on which you receive the written invoice" |
| 7 days | "within 7 days after the customer's receipt*" |
| 8 days | "WITHIN 8 DAYS AFTER YOUR RECEIPT*" |
| 14 days (Kentucky, sales from an unsolicited phone call) | "KENTUCKY LAW GIVES YOU FOURTEEN (14) DAYS" |
The star (*) marks the IRA delivery rule explained in the next section.
Thirteen states have no section on the page: Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Washington. Texas is missing even though Priority is based in Dallas. Publishing state-by-state notices is more than most gold IRA sellers do. Your IRA also carries its own right to cancel a gold IRA account. What the IRA's own 7-day revocation right covers, and what it does not, is on our page about how to cancel a gold IRA.
When the IRA cancellation clock starts#
For IRA purchases, Priority Gold starts the cancellation clock on "the date that Priority issues a notice of transfer to Customer (regardless of when Customer obtains actual knowledge of receipt)". That rule sits behind the star in each state window above.
Ask Priority to email the transfer notice the day it is issued, and read your email daily until the window closes.
Refunds and liability limits: when you can get money back#
Outside the cancellation window, Priority Gold's disclaimer says it will not accept returns "other than counterfeit coins returned in their original holders within ninety (90) days of purchase". The disclaimer calls coin grades "opinions only" and disclaims liability for "direct, indirect" damages. It also advises holding metal for "at least a three to five-year period, and preferably five to ten years".
In the states whose notices include it, the refund page gives a full refund when goods are "defective, not as represented, or not received as promised".
To get your money back from a gold IRA company after that, you need cancellation, arbitration or restitution. What each can do is explained on how to get your money back from a gold IRA company.
Delivery time: 10 to 14 business days, and how to check delivery#
Priority Gold's FAQ says IRA deliveries are "generally completed within 10 to 14 business days after account setup" (September 29, 2026). Cash orders "typically ship within 5 to 10 business days". The CFTC treats delivery within 28 days of payment as "actual delivery" (CFTC release 8215-20, August 4, 2020).
Ten to fourteen business days is within the 28-day line regulators use. Check your custodian statement after 28 days; it should list each coin you bought. The steps to check delivery of IRA metal, and what to do if it never arrives, are on our delivery checklist.
Calls, texts and ringless voicemail: what the consent box allows#
Priority Gold's contact forms ask you to agree to marketing by "pre-recorded message, ringless voicemail, or automated telephone technology", and its text program sends up to 4 messages a month. Those are its terms as read on September 29, 2026. Ringless voicemail drops a recorded message into your voicemail without the phone ringing.
Priority's terms say to "Text the single keyword command STOP to 24999". Use a separate email address on web forms, and say "stop" in writing if gold IRA cold calls continue.
How to stop gold IRA cold calls and texts under the Do-Not-Call rules is on our calls guide.
Priority Gold Minimum Investment: Four Different Answers#
Priority Gold's own FAQ says its minimum is "typically $5,000 for cash purchases and $10,000 for IRAs" (September 29, 2026). A Priority spokesperson, however, told Forbes Advisor the IRA minimum is $25,000. The table lists every minimum SafeOunce found for Priority Gold, with its source and date.
| Source | Minimum shown | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Priority reviews page FAQ | $10,000 for IRAs, $5,000 for cash purchases ("may vary based on product selection and account type") | September 29, 2026 |
| Priority catalog FAQ | Direct purchases: "no fixed minimum"; IRA: "we generally recommend a minimum funding amount" (no figure) | September 29, 2026 |
| Priority special-offers page | Free silver and free storage need a "minimum qualifying investment" (no figure) | September 29, 2026 |
| Forbes Advisor | $25,000 IRA rollover, $10,000 non-IRA, "according to a Priority Gold spokesperson" | July 20, 2026 |
| LendEDU | "No stated minimum" | February 9, 2026 |
The IRS sets no minimum for a gold IRA. The 2026 IRA contribution limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at age 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67), so larger accounts usually start with a rollover or transfer.
Ask for the minimum, and the amount that unlocks any promotion, in writing. Other sellers publish gold IRA minimums by company from $5,000 (Birch Gold) to $50,000 (Augusta's FAQ), as of September 2026. Every published figure is compared on gold IRA minimums by company.
Priority Gold Fees in 2026: What the Custodian Charges#
Priority Gold publishes no fee schedule, so your yearly account fees are whatever the IRA custodian charges. At the two custodians reviewers name, that is $235 to $325 a year (September 29, 2026). Those account fees are the small part of the cost; the markup on the coins, covered below, is the large part.
USA Today's figures ("$50 ... $125 per year ... $100 to $175 per year") are "based on publicly available information", not a Priority fee schedule.
What are typical gold IRA fees? Published metals custodian fees run from about $215 (GoldStar, commingled storage) to $656 (Madison Trust) a year on a $50,000 account, as of September 29, 2026, before the dealer's markup. Every custodian and seller is compared on gold IRA fees.
Which custodian? Equity Trust or STRATA#
Priority Gold's website names no custodian: Forbes says Equity Trust is Priority's preferred custodian, while LendEDU names STRATA Trust. Those reviews are dated July 20, 2026, and February 9, 2026. The table shows the published fees of both custodians, from their own current schedules.
| Fee | Equity Trust metals-only (FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726) | STRATA Trust (fee page modified August 31, 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Setup | $50 | $50 (waived with e-signature) |
| Annual administration | $125 | $150 |
| Storage, non-segregated | $110 | $115 |
| Storage, segregated | $160 | $175 |
| Per trade | None listed | $75 ($40 plus $35 depository handling) |
| Sale (liquidation) | $30 | Per-trade fee |
| Transfer out or in-kind distribution | $125 | See schedule |
| Full closing | $250 | $250 |
| Total a year | $235 non-segregated / $285 segregated | $265 non-segregated / $325 segregated |
Equity Trust fees depend on which of its four schedules applies; the figures above are the metals-only schedule. Those four schedules are explained on our page about Equity Trust fees.
Ask Priority Gold which custodian it will use for your account, and ask for that custodian's schedule with its revision date.
STRATA Trust fees add $75 on every purchase and every sale.
The per-trade and closing charges are on our page about STRATA Trust fees.
First-year fee waivers and "complimentary storage"#
Priority Gold offers "complimentary shipping and fully insured storage" to qualifying new IRA clients, but its offer page does not say for how many years or at what size. That is the page as read on September 29, 2026. Its footnote says offers "require a minimum qualifying investment" and to "Call for full terms and details". Vault insurance pays the metal's value, not the premium you paid, and has exclusions.
Forbes says first-year IRA fees are waived at the $25,000 minimum. LendEDU says first-year administration is covered, and first-year storage at $50,000 or more. LendEDU (February 9, 2026) also reports price protection on orders of $250,000 or more; ask for it in writing. USA Today suggests asking about waivers at $50,000 or more.
Segregated storage keeps your own coins apart; non-segregated storage returns the same type and amount, and both are allocated to you.
No-fee gold IRA offers from other sellers work the same way. What waivers are really worth is shown on our page about no-fee gold IRA offers.
What yearly fees mean for small investors at $10,000 or $25,000#
At Priority's own $10,000 IRA figure, $285 a year in custodian fees equals 2.85% of your balance every year, before any markup. The three lines below show the yearly range at both custodians ($235 to $325) as a share of the balance.
- $10,000 balance: $235 to $325 a year = 2.35% to 3.25%
- $25,000 balance: 0.94% to 1.30% a year
- $100,000 balance: 0.24% to 0.33% a year
Flat fees hit small investors hardest, because the charge stays the same at any balance. Cheaper routes for small balances are on best gold IRA companies for small investors.
Fees Priority Gold does not list: selling, moving and closing#
Priority Gold's pages list no exit costs, but custodians charge to sell metal, move it or close the account. These gold IRA termination fees and exit costs apply at Equity Trust or STRATA, as listed below.
- Sale: $30 per liquidation at Equity Trust; $75 per sale at STRATA ($40 plus $35 depository handling).
- In-kind distribution (coins shipped to you): $125 at Equity Trust.
- Transfer out to another custodian: $125 at Equity Trust.
- Full closing: $250 at Equity Trust and $250 at STRATA.
Priority's article on required minimum distributions (yearly withdrawals the tax code requires) says sales take "several business days to two weeks", so request a year-end sale by early December.
Every custodian's exit charges are compared on gold IRA termination fees.
The Cost Priority Gold Does Not Publish: Its Markup on Each Coin#
Priority Gold shows no prices on its catalog and asks you to "Call us for a live quote", so the largest cost appears only on your invoice. The markup is the share of your price that is not metal. The spread is the dealer's price minus its cost, as a share of your price. The premium over spot is the price above raw metal, and the bid is what a dealer pays you back.
Priority's reviews page promises "Live spot prices, plainly stated spreads", yet no per-product price or spread appears on its site (September 29, 2026). Industry-wide, only 4 of 15 operating sellers SafeOunce checked publish a spread range, and only 1 publishes live prices.
The CFTC says legitimate dealers' spreads are often under 20%, while fraudulent sellers have charged more than 300% (CFTC "10 Things" advisory, 2024). Gold IRA markups and spreads therefore vary widely. Every published spread range is on gold IRA markups and spreads.
Priority's own premium ranges: 2% to 7% over spot for bullion#
Priority Gold's catalog says gold bars "usually" carry 2%-4% over spot and bullion coins "typically run 4-7% over spot", while proofs and limited issues carry "significantly higher premiums". These are general statements in its catalog FAQ, not a quote for your order. The table converts Priority's stated premium ranges into metal value for a $100,000 order.
| Product type | Premium stated by Priority | Metal value at spot for $100,000 |
|---|---|---|
| Gold bars | 2%-4% | $96,154-$98,039 |
| Bullion coins (Eagles, Maple Leafs) | 4%-7% | $93,458-$96,154 |
| Proofs, graded coins, limited issues | "Significantly higher", no figure | Not computable |
prioritygold.com/precious-metals/gold FAQ, read September 29, 2026. Ranges are Priority's general statements, not a quote.
Stating a range is more than most gold IRA sellers publish. It is not a price, so ask for the quote per coin in writing.
How much gold must rise before you break even#
At a 20% spread, gold must rise about 31% before a customer who sells back gets back to even. The extra rise is needed because a dealer's buyback bid sits below its own cost. The table shows the rise needed at four spreads.
| Spread | Rise needed to reach dealer cost | Rise needed including the buyback gap |
|---|---|---|
| 5% | 5.3% | 10.4% |
| 10% | 11.1% | 16.6% |
| 20% | 25.0% | 31.1% |
| 35% | 53.8% | 61.4% |
| 59.99% (hypothetical ceiling) | 149.9% | 162.2% |
Illustration using the industry buyback template (bid 4.69% below dealer cost; Lear Capital terms, December 2025; Preserve Gold agreement, June 2025). The 59.99% row is the top of the range American Hartford Gold's agreement (September 2026) allows on some non-bullion coins. Priority's own spread and bid are not published.
A gold IRA break-even calculator runs this math for any spread. Test your own spread in the gold IRA break-even calculator.
What a $100,000 Priority Gold IRA Costs: Year 1 and 10 Years#
A $100,000 Priority Gold IRA at Equity Trust's metals-only schedule costs $335 in account fees in year one and $3,180 over ten years, including the fees to sell and close. If you sell back, a spread of 5% to 35% adds $9,453 to $38,047 more. The table shows account fees at the two custodians reviewers name, with segregated storage.
| Cost | Equity Trust (segregated) | STRATA Trust (segregated) |
|---|---|---|
| Year 1 account fees | $335 | $325 (+ $75 purchase trade) |
| 10 years, including exit | $3,180 | $3,650 |
| 10 years if year 1 is waived (as Forbes reports) | $2,845 | $3,325 |
| Dealer markup | Not published | Not published |
The total cost adds the spread. The table adds the spread and buyback gap to Equity Trust's 10-year fees, with the metal price held flat.
| Spread | Day-one sale value of $100,000 | Spread and buyback-gap loss | 10 years of fees | 10-year total cost | Share of $100,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | $90,547 | $9,453 | $3,180 | $12,633 | 12.6% |
| 20% | $76,250 | $23,750 | $3,180 | $26,930 | 26.9% |
| 35% | $61,953 | $38,047 | $3,180 | $41,227 | 41.2% |
Your first custodian statement values metal at market value, not at what you paid. Equity Trust says its statement values "do not include any markups, commissions or premiums from the precious metals dealer". At a 20% spread, $100,000 shows as about $80,000 of metal.
For comparison, buying and selling a 1-ounce Gold Eagle the same day at a large online dealer cost about 5% to 7% (single SD Bullion snapshot, September 29, 2026). A gold IRA fee calculator shows the total for your own numbers. Run your own amount and custodian in the gold IRA fee calculator.
Priority Gold Buyback: Wholesale Bid, Open Market or 18% Consignment#
Priority Gold offers three ways to sell back: the open market, its "current wholesale bid price", or consignment for an 18% fee. Consignment covers only non-bullion coins held at least 60 months. The buy-back policy (re-read September 29, 2026) opens with this line: "While we cannot promise you a set price, we can promise you a market."
The three avenues are listed below in Priority's own order.
- Open market: you sell to the public or at auction at your own price.
- Immediate liquidation: Priority buys at "the current wholesale bid price" and sells to "a national wholesaler". It calls this "usually the best avenue for bullion products", with "a lower price" for investment-grade and numismatic coins.
- Consignment: only for "Investment Grade and or Numismatic products" bought from Priority and "held for 60 months or longer". It is "not available for bullion products" and carries a "consignment fee of 18%".
Among the gold IRA buyback programs compared by SafeOunce, Priority is the only top-ten seller that publishes a concrete fee for selling collector coins back.
What each seller's written terms say is on gold IRA buyback programs compared.
The 18% consignment fee on numismatic coins, costed#
If you pay $100,000 for numismatic coins at a 35% spread, consignment after five years returns $82,000 if the retail price is unchanged, while a wholesale bid returns about $61,953. Numismatic coins are valued as collector items, not just for their metal. Consignment means the dealer sells for you and keeps a fee. The 35% spread is an assumption, because Priority publishes no spread for these coins.
The table compares three ways to sell $100,000 of coins, with the metal price flat.
| Route | Sale value | Condition |
|---|---|---|
| Plain bullion at a 5% spread, wholesale bid | $90,547 | Any time |
| Collector coins at a 35% spread, wholesale bid | About $61,953 | Any time; Priority says a "lower price" |
| Collector coins, consignment | $82,000 | Only after 60 months, only if a buyer is found, retail price unchanged |
For consignment to return your full $100,000, the coins' retail price must rise 21.95% first ($100,000 divided by 0.82 = $121,951). Bullion is excluded from consignment, so it always takes the wholesale bid.
The 35% row is the cost of a numismatic coin upsell, a sale of collector coins in place of bullion. Why sellers push collector coins is explained on our page about numismatic coin upsells.
Selling back: "buy-back commitment" vs "we cannot promise you a set price"#
Priority Gold's pages describe its buyback four different ways, from "we cannot promise you a set price" to a "standing buyback commitment". The policy pays "the current wholesale bid price" under its second avenue. The About page says "our standing buyback commitment means there's always a clear path back to cash". The catalog FAQ says "Pricing is based on the current spot price plus a competitive bid premium".
Five dealer contracts SafeOunce has read, including those of American Hartford Gold, Lear Capital and Preserve Gold, say the law prohibits guaranteeing repurchase. Priority's policy fits that pattern: it promises a market, not a price.
When you sell gold in your IRA, custodian sale fees and taxes also cut what you keep. Both are covered on how to sell gold in your IRA.
Priority Gold's Free Silver Offer: Up to $15,000, Costed#
Priority Gold offers new IRA clients "up to $15,000 in free silver" (September 29, 2026), but it does not publish the investment needed for each amount. The amount "scales with the size of your investment", and the footnote requires "a minimum qualifying investment". It does not say which products qualify.
The table shows when a $15,000 silver bonus beats buying plain bullion, for two hypothetical order sizes.
| Order size (hypothetical) | Bonus value at a buyback bid (20% spread assumed on the silver) | Break-even spread on the coins you buy |
|---|---|---|
| $100,000 | $11,438 | About 17.0% |
| $250,000 | $11,438 | About 9.8% |
Baseline: plain bullion at a 5% spread sold at the template bid. Priority does not publish its tiers or prices.
The bonus leaves you ahead only if the coins you must buy carry a spread of about 17% or less on a $100,000 order. On a $250,000 order, the line is about 10%. The bonus is worth about $11,438 at a buyback bid, not $15,000, because the silver itself carries a spread.
The FTC's Guide Concerning Use of the Word "Free" (16 CFR 251.1(b)(1)) addresses this. A seller should not recover a free item's cost "by marking up the price of the article which must be purchased". Priority does not publish the price of the coins that come with the bonus, so buyers cannot check this.
If the coins you buy are plain bullion at Priority's stated 4%-7% premium, a silver bonus is real value. Ask for the per-coin price and the bonus amount in writing before you accept.
Free silver is paid for somewhere in the price. How other sellers fund free silver gold IRA promotions is explained on our promotions guide.
Priority Gold Products: Bullion, Proofs and a Krugerrand Labelled "IRA Eligible"#
Priority Gold sells bullion coins, bars, proof coins, private-mint issues and pre-1933 US gold, and its catalog marks most of them "IRA ELIGIBLE" (September 29, 2026). One of those labels is on a coin the tax code does not allow. The three product types, each with its own IRA rule, are listed below.
- Bullion coins and bars: the American Gold Eagle is eligible by name (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A)); the Gold Buffalo, Maple Leaf and .995+ gold bars qualify as bullion (408(m)(3)(B)).
- Proof and limited issues: proof Gold Eagles, the private-mint "Defender of Liberty" and quarter-ounce Royal Mint and Perth Mint issues, at "significantly higher" premiums.
- Pre-1933 US gold: Liberty and Saint-Gaudens coins, which Priority correctly marks "not IRA-eligible".
IRA-eligible precious metals must pass one of two tests. A named coin is a US coin the statute lists by name; fineness is the share of pure metal (.995 means 99.5%). Priority's catalog FAQ gives the correct fineness: .995 gold, .999 silver, .9995 platinum and palladium. The full rule is on our page about IRA-eligible precious metals the tax code allows.
Why the Krugerrand does not qualify for an IRA#
Priority Gold's catalog showed an "IRA ELIGIBLE" badge on the 1 oz South African Krugerrand on September 29, 2026, a coin that fails both routes to IRA eligibility. The Krugerrand is 91.67% gold and is not a US coin named in the tax code. Route A covers named US coins (408(m)(3)(A)); Route B covers bullion of at least .995 gold held by a trustee (408(m)(3)(B)).
The catalog FAQ says "every product showing the gold IRA Eligible badge meets these requirements" and names "Krugerrands" in that list. It also says American Eagles qualify "because they are produced by the U.S. Mint". In fact they qualify because the statute names them.
This review documents the label, not any sale of Krugerrands into an IRA. The full explanation, and why the silver Krugerrand is a different case to confirm with your custodian in writing, is on our page about Krugerrands in an IRA.
Proof coins and private-mint issues#
Proof American Gold Eagles are accepted by many custodians because the statute names the Gold Eagle, but no IRS ruling addresses proofs, and their premiums are far higher than bullion. Custodian practice, not an IRS decision, lets them in.
Proof coins in an IRA cost more going in and can sell for far less coming out. In the BBB complaint above, the customer says proof Silver Eagles bought at $143.95 each sold for an average of $72.91. What custodians accept for proof coins in an IRA is on our proof coin page.
Private-mint and quarter-ounce issues qualify only as .995+ bullion, and they carry higher premiums per ounce than 1-ounce coins.
Priority Gold Custodians and Depositories#
Priority Gold's catalog says IRA metals are "typically" stored at Delaware Depository, Brink's or International Depository Services, and it names no custodian, as of September 29, 2026. Forbes names Equity Trust and five depositories; LendEDU names STRATA and Delaware Depository. Priority's pages call these "IRS-approved" and "government-approved" facilities. The IRS approves no depository; the law requires a trustee to hold the metal (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B)).
FDIC and SIPC insurance never cover IRA metal, and vault insurance pays metal value, not the premium you paid. So the choice of gold IRA custodians and vaults matters. Every custodian's charter and fees are compared on gold IRA custodians.
Ask the three questions below before you sign.
- Which custodian, and may I choose another?
- Which depository, and is the account titled to my IRA?
- Segregated or non-segregated, and at what yearly price after any free period?
Gold IRA depositories differ in insurance limits and locations. Vault insurance and locations are compared on gold IRA depositories.
Priority Gold Pros and Cons#
Priority Gold's six strengths are about written exit and cancellation terms; its six weaknesses are about prices, fees and labels it does not get right or does not publish. The table sets them side by side, as of September 29, 2026.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Publishes an 18% consignment fee and a three-route buyback policy | No coin prices, fee schedule or customer agreement online |
| Publishes cancellation notices for 37 states and Guam | Four different minimums on record ($10,000, $25,000, "no fixed minimum", unpublished) |
| States premium ranges for bullion (2%-7% over spot) | Catalog labels the Krugerrand "IRA ELIGIBLE" |
| A+ on both BBB profiles; every closed complaint answered or resolved | Accreditation differs between its two BBB profiles |
| No regulator action found | 13 states, including Texas, missing from the cancellation page |
| IRA delivery stated as 10 to 14 business days | Free silver without published tiers or product rules |
Who Priority Gold Suits, and Who Should Walk Away#
Priority Gold suits a buyer moving $25,000 or more into plain bullion who gets the price per coin, the custodian's fees and the customer agreement in writing. It does not suit anyone who wants collector coins in an IRA or a bonus without a written price. The table gives a verdict for six reader situations.
| Your situation | Verdict | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Under $10,000 | Look elsewhere | Below Priority's own IRA figure; custodian fees alone are 2.35%-3.25% a year, and a low-cost gold ETF in an existing IRA costs less. For balances under $10,000, see gold IRA vs gold ETF |
| $10,000 to $25,000 | Workable only with bullion | Fees are 0.94%-3.25% a year |
| $25,000 to $100,000, bullion only | Best fit | Priority's stated 4%-7% bullion-coin premium sits inside the 2.69%-8.68% over bid that five retail dealers charged for a 1 oz Gold Eagle on September 29, 2026, but above the cheapest |
| Offered free silver, proofs or "limited issues" | Only with per-coin prices in writing | The bonus breaks even at about 17% or less on $100,000 |
| Lives in an unlisted state (13 states, including Texas) | Ask first | Ask what cancellation right the agreement gives before signing |
| Wants the contract first | Ask before the call ends | If Priority will not send the customer agreement, walk away |
Priority's own article on gold IRAs versus gold ETFs (September 15, 2026) says flat IRA fees are cheaper at scale. SafeOunce's check finds that true against GLD (0.40% a year) only after about 11 to 25 years, and false against GLDM (0.10%) and IAUM (0.09%). Priority's tables also leave out exit costs. Holding $100,000 in GLDM for 10 years, gold flat, costs about $1,035, against $3,180 in Equity Trust segregated fees alone, before any spread.
You should ask Priority Gold the 5 questions below before any money moves.
- Ask the price per coin and the percent over spot for each item.
- Ask what Priority would pay for the same coins tomorrow.
- Ask for the customer agreement and invoice by email before paying.
- Ask how many days you have to cancel, and when the clock starts.
- Ask which custodian and depository, and the fee schedule's revision date.
These five come from a longer checklist on how to choose a gold IRA company. The full list of 12 questions is on how to choose a gold IRA company.
How SafeOunce Rates Priority Gold#
SafeOunce rates Priority Gold on 7 criteria worth 100 points, from documents and a written price quote, and any item Priority does not disclose scores zero. The rating card above is computed at build from methodology version 1.0, not written by hand. Until the written quote and the customer agreement arrive, the card shows the rating as pending. The table lists each criterion, its points and Priority Gold's inputs as of September 29, 2026.
| Criterion (methodology v1.0) | Points | Priority Gold inputs (September 29, 2026) | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| A1 Measured bullion premium | 15 | No written quote yet for a $50,000 IRA order of 1 oz Gold Eagles and Maple Leafs; catalog states "4-7% over spot" (not a quote) | Pending (unknown items score 0) |
| A2 Price disclosure | 10 | No prices online; general premium ranges published; spread cap unknown | Partly known |
| A3 Buyback terms | 5 | Three avenues published; 18% consignment after 60 months for non-bullion; no bid formula; wordings conflict | Known (formula pending) |
| B1 Published account fees | 4 | None published by Priority | Known (not published) |
| B2 10-year account cost at $100,000 | 4 | $3,180 (Equity Trust) or $3,650 (STRATA), including exit; custodian unconfirmed | Partly known |
| B3 Promotions not tied to premium products | 2 | Free silver up to $15,000; qualifying products and tiers not stated | Pending |
| C1-C4 Contract fairness | 15 | Agreement not public; cancellation windows by state, 13 states unlisted; arbitration apparently present; claim deadline and liability cap unknown | Pending |
| D Regulatory and legal record | 20 | No regulator action found; one private case sent to arbitration (February 19, 2026), no judgment | Known |
| E Complaint record | 10 | 38 BBB complaints in 3 years, 13 in 12 months; 32 resolved, 6 answered; Trustpilot one-star reviews not yet sorted by topic | Partly known |
| F Product mix and sales pressure | 10 | Default recommendation for a $50,000 IRA not yet tested; Krugerrand labeled "IRA ELIGIBLE" | Partly known |
| G Custody, delivery, disclosure | 5 | Custodian not named; depositories named in catalog FAQ; IRA delivery 10 to 14 business days | Known |
Priority Gold triggers none of the exclusion gates (closed, sanctioned, watch) as of September 29, 2026. If it does not send a written quote and its customer agreement within 10 business days of a documented request, it is listed as "Not rated: would not disclose".
These gates are part of how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies. Weights and evidence rules are on how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.
How Does Priority Gold Compare With Other Gold IRA Companies?#
Priority Gold publishes more about selling back than most rivals, but less about its fees and prices than sellers that print fee pages or spread limits. On complaints, it sits in the middle. The table compares Priority Gold with five rivals, as of September 29, 2026.
| Company | IRA minimum | Account fees published | Spread range published | Buyback terms published | BBB complaints per 100 reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Priority Gold | $10,000 (own FAQ) or $25,000 (Forbes) | No | No (premium ranges only) | Yes, 18% consignment | 5.9 |
| Goldco | $25,000 | Yes ($275 a year, segregated) | No | No | 4.2 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | $50,000 (Augusta FAQ, updated September 23, 2026) | Yes, per its FAQ ($285 year 1, $235 after) | No | "Cannot legally guarantee" | 0.7 |
| American Hartford Gold | Not published | No | Up to 19.99% bullion; 39.99% or 59.99% other coins | Law prohibits a guarantee | 13.9 |
| Birch Gold Group | $5,000 | About $235 a year | No | No | 4.0 |
| Lear Capital | Not published | No | 2%-35% | Law prohibits a guarantee | 22.1 |
No single company is "most reputable" for everyone; SafeOunce ranks sellers by real cost, contract terms and legal record. The best gold IRA companies are ranked on those records, with the spread counted. Rankings by real cost are on best gold IRA companies.
Priority Gold vs Goldco#
Goldco publishes its account fees and a $25,000 minimum, while Priority Gold publishes its buyback fee and state cancellation notices; neither publishes coin prices. Goldco charges $50 to set up, $125 a year and $100 or $150 a year for storage (Goldco cost page, February 2025). Goldco has 4.2 complaints per 100 BBB reviews against Priority's 5.9 (September 29, 2026). The side-by-side table is on Goldco vs Priority Gold.
Priority Gold appears in the five other pairs listed below.
- Augusta Precious Metals vs Priority Gold
- Noble Gold Investments vs Priority Gold
- American Hartford Gold vs Priority Gold
- Birch Gold Group vs Priority Gold
- Lear Capital vs Priority Gold
Is Robert Kiyosaki paid by Priority Gold?#
Priority Gold does not say: it calls Robert Kiyosaki its "Official Partner" and "A real financial voice, not a paid actor", which does not say he is unpaid. That wording was on its site on September 29, 2026. Its Kiyosaki page is titled "Priority Gold Is Robert Kiyosaki's Only Gold Partner". Priority's website terms say testimonialists "MAY be affiliated with COMPANY as Marketing Affiliates", with a connection "in the form of Commissions".
The CFTC warns in general that fraudulent dealers "target their ads to political or religious programming just to gain your trust" (CFTC release 8881-24). This is not an allegation against Priority Gold. Who endorses which seller is tracked on celebrity gold IRA endorsements.
Does Priority Gold pay review sites?#
Yes: Priority Gold runs an affiliate program on the Everflow platform that pays partners commissions "on a Net 30 basis", but it does not publish how much it pays. Gold IRA review sites in such programs earn money when readers call. How gold IRA review sites are paid is explained on our reviews guide.
The partner terms are dated "05.01.2026". Partner emails must say they come from "an independent marketing partner promoting a Priority Gold offer".
SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page. How this site is funded is explained on who pays SafeOunce.
Does Priority Gold sell gold outside an IRA?#
Yes: Priority Gold sells coins and bars for home delivery, and its FAQ says cash orders "typically ship within 5 to 10 business days" (September 29, 2026). Its catalog FAQ says direct purchases have "no fixed minimum", while its reviews FAQ says $5,000, as the minimum section above shows.
Can you keep Priority Gold IRA metals at home?#
No: IRA bullion must be in the physical possession of a trustee, and Priority's own FAQ says IRA metals must be "stored in an approved, secure depository". In McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021), the Tax Court treated IRA coins kept at home as taxable distributions. A home storage gold IRA fails that test, as covered on home storage gold IRA.
Is Priority Gold a publicly traded company?#
No stock listing for Priority Gold was found: it operates as Priority Gold LLC, a limited liability company, and publishes no financial statements. Searches for "priority gold stock" also return unrelated mining companies, so check the name before you act on any quote.
What is the downside of a gold IRA with Priority Gold?#
The main downside is cost: you pay a custodian about $235 to $325 a year plus a markup Priority does not publish, and gold pays no interest or dividends. Gold must also rise about 31% at a 20% spread before you break even. The general case is on gold IRA pros and cons.
Why does Dave Ramsey say not to invest in gold?#
Dave Ramsey's objection is that gold has earned less than stocks over the long run and pays no income; our critics page tests that claim with the numbers. The numbers are on why Dave Ramsey and Warren Buffett say no to gold.