SafeOunce
Product

IRA-Eligible Gold Coins: The 9-Coin List With Premiums and Custodian Rules (2026 Prices)

The law names only the American Gold Eagle; 8 more gold coins qualify at .995 purity. The 9-coin list, custodian rules and September 2026 premiums by size.

  • Reviewed
  • 44 sources
  • 36 min read

Key takeaways

  • Nine gold coin families are IRA-eligible: the American Gold Eagle by name, and 8 others because they are at least 99.5% gold and stay with your IRA custodian.
  • Gold coins below .995 purity, other than the Gold Eagle, are collectibles: an IRA that buys a Krugerrand, Sovereign or pre-1933 US coin is taxed like a withdrawal.
  • All 3 custodians we checked accept 7 gold coin families; they split on the Perth Lunar and proof Buffalos, and none names the gold Libertad.
  • On September 29, 2026, 1 oz IRA-eligible gold coins cost 2.02% to 5.71% over their gold value at one large dealer; 1/10 oz coins cost 13.82% to about 17.8%.
  • Only 2 of the 9 coins have a year trap: Britannias dated before 2013 and Libertads dated before 1991 are too low in gold to go in an IRA.

Nine gold coin families can go in an IRA: the American Gold Eagle, which the law names, and 8 coins that pass the .995 purity rule. The 8 include the Maple Leaf, the Philharmonic and the Kangaroo. "IRA-eligible" means an IRA can buy the coin without the purchase being taxed as a withdrawal. Which of the 9 costs the least, and which versions will your custodian actually accept?

On September 29, 2026, the cheapest was the Australian Kangaroo, at 2.02% over its gold value at a large online dealer. That same morning, ten 1/10 oz Gold Eagles cost $393.61 more than one 1 oz coin. Every gold coin on this page is also checked in our IRA-eligible precious metals database, coin by coin and bar by bar.

Which Gold Coins Are IRA-Eligible?#

Nine gold coin families are IRA-eligible: the American Gold Eagle by name, and 8 others because they are at least 99.5% gold and stay with your IRA custodian. They are IRA-eligible under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3), which opens 2 routes. SafeOunce calls them Route A (a coin the law names) and Route B (bullion that passes a purity test).

Fineness is the share of pure gold in a coin, so .995 means 99.5%. A custodian is the bank or trust company that holds your IRA and must approve each purchase. The table lists the 9 families, which people often call IRA-approved gold coins.

Coin Mint Gold fineness Sizes (troy oz) Legal route Custodian lists naming it (STRATA / GoldStar / Equity Trust) 1 oz premium over gold value, Sept. 29, 2026
American Gold Eagle US Mint .9167 (22 karat; 1 troy oz of gold in 33.931 g) 1, 1/2, 1/4, 1/10 A: named, 408(m)(3)(A)(i) 3 of 3 3.03% random year; 4.36% 2026-dated
American Gold Buffalo US Mint .9999 1 B: bullion 3 of 3 (bullion only) 5.71%
Canadian Gold Maple Leaf Royal Canadian Mint .9999 1/20 to 1 B: bullion 3 of 3 3.10%
Austrian Gold Philharmonic Münze Österreich .9999 1/25 to 1 B: bullion 3 of 3 2.03% (C)
Australian Gold Kangaroo (Nugget) Perth Mint .9999 1/20 oz to 1 kg B: bullion 3 of 3 2.02% (C)
British Gold Britannia, 2013 and later The Royal Mint .9999 (.917 before 2013) 1 (GBP 100); fractions GBP 50, 25, 10, 5 B: bullion 3 of 3 (Equity Trust: ".9999+") 2.57%
Chinese Gold Panda China's mints .999 1 oz to 2015; 30 g (0.9645 oz) from 2016 B: bullion 3 of 3 2.34% (1 oz, pre-2016); 2.40% (30 g, C)
Mexican Gold Libertad, 1991 and later Casa de Moneda de México .999 (.900 in 1981-1990) 1/20 to 1 B: bullion 0 of 3 (ask in writing) 4.23% (2024 coin, C)
Perth Mint Lunar gold coins Perth Mint .9999 1 oz (2026 Year of the Horse) B: bullion 2 of 3 (not named by Equity Trust) about 5.4% (2026 Horse, C)

Premium = dealer's wire price minus gold value, divided by gold value. One dealer (SD Bullion), one morning (September 29, 2026); (C) = read from a category listing. Sources: 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3); 31 U.S.C. 5112; custodian lists read September 29, 2026; mint specifications.

Any other gold coin of .995 or better also passes the law's purity test if the custodian holds it. The accredited-maker rule is custodian policy, not law. Examples are Royal Canadian Mint wildlife coins and the US Mint's American Liberty (.9999 gold, as reported by Coin World). None of the 3 custodian lists names them, so get your custodian's written approval first. SafeOunce lists the 9 families that pass the law and appear on dealer IRA lists.

The 2 routes explain results that look odd. A named coin needs no purity test at all, and a bullion coin needs no name, only fineness and custody. So why is a 22-karat Eagle allowed when a 22-karat Krugerrand is not?

Why the American Gold Eagle Is the Only Gold Coin the Law Names#

The Gold Eagle is named because Congress wrote it into the tax code by size, weight and gold content, so no purity test applies, even at 22 karat. Karat measures gold on a 24-point scale: 24 karat is pure gold, and 22 karat is 91.67% gold.

The tax code exempts "any gold coin described in paragraph (7), (8), (9), or (10) of section 5112(a) of title 31" (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A)(i)). Paragraph (7) reads as follows.

Paragraphs (8) to (10) describe the 1/2, 1/4 and 1/10 oz coins the same way. The Tax Reform Act of 1986 (Pub. L. 99-514, sec. 1144) added all 4 sizes, defined by weight, not purity. The coin's 4 sizes, proof rules and 2026 costs are covered on American Gold Eagle in an IRA.

How the Other 8 Gold Coins Qualify: The .995 Purity Rule#

The other 8 coins qualify as bullion: each is at least .995 gold, and each must stay in the physical possession of your IRA's custodian. Bullion is metal valued by its weight and purity.

A contract market is a regulated futures exchange, such as COMEX. So the gold IRA purity requirements are borrowed from a futures exchange, not set by the IRS. COMEX Rule 113101 requires gold delivered on its 100-ounce contract to have "a minimum of 995 fineness" (rule filing, April 17, 2025), which means at least 99.5% gold.

All 8 coins clear that bar: 6 are .9999 gold (Buffalo, Maple Leaf, Philharmonic, Kangaroo, Britannia and Lunar), and 2 are .999 (Panda and Libertad).

Custodians add their own maker test. GoldStar Trust wants a maker "accredited/certified by NYMEX, COMEX, NYSE/Liffe, LME, LBMA, LPPM, TOCOM, ISO 9000, or national government mint" (page dated April 3, 2026). In plain English: a national mint or an approved refiner must make the coin. How .995, .999 and .9995 were set is explained in gold IRA purity requirements.

Is the American Gold Buffalo a Named Coin?#

No: the Gold Buffalo is a US Mint coin, but the law names only the Eagle, so the Buffalo qualifies only as .9999 bullion held by your custodian. The coinage law describes the Buffalo in its own paragraph, 31 U.S.C. 5112(a)(11), as a coin that "contains 99.99 percent pure gold". The named-coin rule, 408(m)(3)(A), does not list that paragraph.

That is why GoldStar and Equity Trust accept Buffalo bullion coins but refuse proof Buffalos. GoldStar lists "U.S. Buffalo Proof" as unacceptable, and Equity Trust takes "U.S. Buffalo Gold Uncirculated coins (no Proofs)". GoldStar still accepts proof Eagles in original packaging, and Equity Trust excludes only slabbed Eagles.

Why the Buffalo rides the bullion route is explained on American Gold Buffalo in an IRA.

Is There an IRS List of Approved Gold Coins?#

No: the IRS keeps no list of approved gold coins, so "IRS-approved" is a sales phrase; a coin is eligible when it passes 1 of 2 legal tests. The IRS says so in its Retirement Plan Investments FAQs (updated April 8, 2026): "Although there is no list of approved investments for retirement plans..." IRAs "can invest in certain precious metals only if they meet specific requirements. (IRC Section 408(m))".

IRS Publication 590-A (2025) describes coins by size and metal, never by brand: "Your IRA can invest in one, one-half, one-quarter, or one-tenth ounce U.S. gold coins ... It can also invest in certain platinum coins and certain gold, silver, palladium, and platinum bullion." The only IRS approval list covers nonbank trustees, which had 73 names as of April 1, 2026.

So the accurate label is "IRA-eligible, not IRS-approved". The same 2 tests cover silver, platinum and palladium; see IRA-approved precious metals.

Why Maple Leafs and Philharmonics Were Not Allowed Before 1998#

Foreign gold coins became IRA-eligible only in 1998; from 1987 to 1997 the American Gold Eagle was the only gold coin the law named. The history of gold in IRAs turns on 4 dates in the tax code, listed below.

  1. 1981 collectibles rule: Pub. L. 97-34 taxes an IRA's purchase of coins or metal acquired after December 31, 1981.
  2. 1986 Eagle exception: the Tax Reform Act (Pub. L. 99-514, sec. 1144) exempts Gold and Silver Eagles acquired after December 31, 1986.
  3. 1988 state coins: Pub. L. 100-647 adds coins issued under state law.
  4. 1998 bullion clause: the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 (Pub. L. 105-34, sec. 304) adds bullion for tax years beginning after December 31, 1997.

Claims that Maple Leafs have been IRA-eligible "since 1986" are wrong. The full history of gold in IRAs starts with the 1974 law that created IRAs.

Before 1998 the rule began "In the case of an individual retirement account, paragraph (2) shall not apply to", followed by a list. Item (A) was "any gold coin described in paragraph (7), (8), (9), or (10) of section 5112(a)".

Which Gold Coins Are Collectibles an IRA Cannot Buy?#

Gold coins below .995 purity, other than the Gold Eagle, are collectibles: an IRA that buys a Krugerrand, Sovereign or pre-1933 US coin is taxed like a withdrawal. A collectible is anything the tax code bars an IRA from buying, including "any metal or gem" and "any stamp or coin" (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(2)). Every coin outside the 2 routes falls under the IRS collectibles rule in section 408(m).

The tax result is a deemed distribution: the purchase counts as a withdrawal of the coin's cost (408(m)(1)). IRS Publication 590-A (2025) adds that a 10% additional tax may apply if you are under 59 1/2. The amount taxed at purchase is not taxed again when the coins later leave the IRA.

Most failing gold coins are 22 karat or 90% gold. The table lists them with the custodian wording.

Coin Gold fineness Why it fails Custodian wording (Sept. 29, 2026)
South African Krugerrand: see Krugerrands in an IRA .9167 Not named; below .995 STRATA and GoldStar: unacceptable
British Sovereign: see Gold Sovereigns .9167 (0.2354 oz gold) Not named; below .995 STRATA: "British Sovereign" unacceptable
Pre-1933 US gold (Liberty and Saint-Gaudens $20): see pre-1933 gold coins in an IRA .900 Below .995; not a 5112(a)(7)-(10) coin "Rare or collectible" coins refused (STRATA, GoldStar)
British Britannia 1987-2012 .917 Below .995 "British Britannia (pre-2013)" unacceptable (STRATA, GoldStar)
Mexican Gold Libertad 1981-1990 .900 Below .995 Not named
Mexican 50 Peso .900 Below .995 GoldStar: unacceptable
Older foreign gold coins (Austrian Corona and Ducat, French 20 Franc, Swiss 20 Franc, Italian 20 Lira, Dutch 10 Guilder, Hungarian 100 Korona, Belgian 20 Franc, Chilean 100 Peso) Below .995 Below .995 Named on STRATA and GoldStar unacceptable lists (the Ducat on STRATA's only)
Any graded (slabbed) gold coin Any Custodian policy GoldStar and Equity Trust refuse

Sources: 26 U.S.C. 408(m); custodian lists read September 29, 2026.

The Krugerrand was the cheapest 1 oz gold coin on September 29, 2026, at 0.11% over its gold value. So $50,000 bought 12.016 oz of gold in Krugerrands against 11.681 oz in Gold Eagles. Yet in a traditional IRA that purchase would cost a 57-year-old in the 22% bracket about $16,000 in federal tax and additional tax.

The full list of coins you cannot hold in an IRA, silver and platinum included, is grouped by reason.

Which Custodians Accept Which Gold Coins?#

All 3 custodians we checked accept 7 gold coin families; they split on the Perth Lunar and proof Buffalos, and none names the gold Libertad. The 7 are the Gold Eagle, Buffalo bullion coins, Maple Leaf, Philharmonic, Kangaroo, 2013-and-later Britannia and Panda.

A custodian list is the written list of products a custodian lets settle into your IRA. It is contract policy, not tax law, but your custodian has the final say. The table compares 3 lists, read on September 29, 2026: STRATA Trust, GoldStar Trust and Equity Trust. GoldStar and Equity Trust refuse graded coins by name; STRATA excludes "any rare or collectible coin".

Coin or version STRATA Trust GoldStar Trust Equity Trust
Gold Eagle bullion (all sizes) Yes Yes Yes
Gold Eagle proof, ungraded, original box and certificate Yes ("bullion and/or proof") Yes Not excluded (only slabbed excluded)
Gold Eagle graded or slabbed Not named; "any rare or collectible coin" excluded No No ("including the American Eagle")
Gold Buffalo bullion Yes Yes Yes ("Uncirculated")
Gold Buffalo proof Not listed (bullion only) No ("U.S. Buffalo Proof") No ("no Proofs")
Maple Leaf Yes Yes Yes
Philharmonic Yes Yes Yes
Kangaroo/Nugget Yes Yes Yes
Britannia 2013 and later Yes Yes Yes (".9999+")
Britannia before 2013 No No Not listed
Panda Yes Yes Yes
Gold Libertad Not named Not named Not named
Perth Lunar Yes Yes Not named
Krugerrand No No Not listed
Sovereign No Not listed Not listed
Pre-1933 US gold Not named; "any rare or collectible coin" excluded Excluded ("rare or collectible"); "U.S. Liberty" also listed, meaning not stated Not listed

Custodian policy, not tax law. "Not named" means ask the custodian in writing before you buy. Pages read September 29, 2026 (GoldStar page dated April 3, 2026; Equity Trust page dated June 1, 2026); lists change without notice.

A coin the custodian refuses cannot settle into your IRA, even when the law allows it. Lists change without dates, so ask for the current list in writing before the dealer invoices. What these and other gold IRA custodians charge is compared side by side.

Proof, Graded and Damaged Gold Coins: The Custodian Condition Rules#

STRATA and GoldStar want proof gold coins in the original mint box with the certificate, and bullion coins undamaged. GoldStar and Equity Trust refuse graded (slabbed) coins by name. A proof coin is a collector version struck on polished blanks and sold in a box with a certificate of authenticity (COA). A graded, or slabbed, coin is sealed in plastic by a grading service with a score such as PF-70.

  • Proof coins: STRATA wants them "encapsulated in complete, original mint packaging, in excellent condition, and include the certificate of authenticity". GoldStar says: "Proof coins must be ungraded, complete with certificate of authenticity and in original mint packaging."
  • Graded (slabbed) coins: Equity Trust says: "Coins, including the American Eagle, that have undergone 'certification' (also known as 'slabbed' coins) are not acceptable in IRAs at this time." GoldStar refuses "certified or 'graded' coins".
  • Bullion coins: STRATA wants them "in brilliant uncirculated condition and free from damage". GoldStar wants them "uncirculated in excellent condition".

No IRS ruling or court case addresses proof coins; acceptance is custodian practice. The refused versions are not cheap either, at one large dealer on September 29, 2026:

  • 1 oz proof Buffalo: 8.43% over its gold value (random year), 2.7 points more than the bullion Buffalo, and refused by GoldStar and Equity Trust.
  • NGC PF-70 graded Eagle: about 7.10% (category listing), and refused by GoldStar and Equity Trust.
  • 1 oz proof Eagle "in capsule" without box or certificate: 4.81%. It looks cheap but misses the packaging rule at STRATA and GoldStar.

Why most of a proof's premium is lost at resale is covered in proof and graded coins in an IRA.

Gold Coins No Custodian List Names#

No custodian list we read names the 1991-and-later gold Libertad, even though it is .999 gold, so get a written yes from your custodian before an IRA buys one. GoldStar's silver list names the silver Libertad, but no gold list we read on September 29, 2026 names the gold one. STRATA's do-not-accept list includes "Mexican Peso and Onza". It does not say whether that entry covers gold Libertads.

American Liberty gold coins have the opposite problem. The US Mint's 2015-W High Relief coin holds 1 oz of .9999 gold with a $100 face value, as reported by Coin World. It passes the .995 test, but it is not one of the coins the law names. GoldStar's list, as read September 29, 2026, calls "U.S. Liberty" unacceptable without saying which coin that means.

The custodian's written answer decides whenever a coin passes the law but is missing from its list. Why custodians disagree is explained on American Liberty gold coins in an IRA.

Why a Dealer's "IRA Approved" Label Is Not a Custodian Decision#

A dealer's "IRA approved" label is marketing, not your custodian's decision: one large dealer's IRA gold category on September 29, 2026 listed 3 coins that custodian rules refuse. The 3 coins are listed below, each with the custodian rule it breaks.

  • "1 oz American Gold Buffalo Proof Coin with Box and COA": GoldStar lists "U.S. Buffalo Proof" as unacceptable, and Equity Trust takes "no Proofs".
  • "1/4 oz American Gold Eagle Coin (Cull/Damaged)": STRATA requires bullion coins "free from damage". A cull is a damaged or heavily worn coin.
  • "2015-W 1 oz American Liberty High Relief Gold Coin (no Box and COA)": GoldStar lists "U.S. Liberty" as unacceptable, and no list we read names the coin.

You can run the custodian's check yourself in 4 steps before you pay.

  1. Confirm the metal is gold and the coin is an American Gold Eagle, or at least .995 fine.
  2. Check the year for Britannias (2013 or later) and Libertads (1991 or later).
  3. Check the version: bullion, or proof in the original box with its certificate; never graded or damaged.
  4. Get your custodian's written yes before the dealer invoices.

What Do IRA-Eligible Gold Coins Cost Over Spot in 2026?#

On September 29, 2026, 1 oz IRA-eligible gold coins cost 2.02% to 5.71% over their gold value at one large dealer; 1/10 oz coins cost 13.82% to about 17.8%. Spot price is the live market price of 1 troy ounce of gold. Premium over spot is the first of the gold IRA markups and spreads a buyer pays.

Melt value, or gold value, is the gold inside the coin at spot. The premium is what you pay above melt value, as a percent of it. The wire price is the price for paying by bank wire, the lowest of the dealer's prices. Spot was read on the same page load ($4,153.88 to $4,157.09).

Coin and size Price Gold value (melt) Premium Read from
Kangaroo 1 oz, random year $4,240.68 $4,156.82 2.02% C
Philharmonic 1 oz, random year $4,241.37 $4,156.82 2.03% C
Panda 1 oz, pre-2016 $4,251.14 $4,153.88 2.34% P
Panda 30 g $4,105.64 $4,009.35 2.40% C
Britannia 1 oz, random year $4,260.68 $4,153.88 2.57% P
Gold Eagle 1 oz, random year $4,280.53 $4,154.51 3.03% P
Maple Leaf 1 oz, random year $4,282.45 $4,153.88 3.10% P
Libertad 1 oz, 2024 $4,332.46 $4,156.82 4.23% C
Gold Eagle 1 oz, 2026 $4,338.19 $4,157.09 4.36% C
Lunar 1 oz, 2026 Horse n/a n/a about 5.4% C
Gold Buffalo 1 oz, random year $4,391.80 $4,154.51 5.71% P
Gold Eagle 1/2 oz, 2026 $2,241.37 $2,078.55 7.83% C
Gold Eagle 1/4 oz, 2026 $1,151.82 $1,039.27 10.83% C
Gold Eagle 1/10 oz, 2026 $473.18 $415.71 13.82% C
Maple Leaf 1/10 oz, random year $477.38 $415.39 14.92% P
Kangaroo 1/10 oz, 2026 (lower confidence) n/a n/a about 17.8% C
For comparison, not IRA-eligible: Krugerrand 1 oz $4,161.14 $4,156.39 0.11% P

One dealer (SD Bullion), one morning (September 29, 2026); wire prices; sorted by premium, lowest first. P = product page, C = category listing (more risk of mismatch). Premium = (price minus melt) / melt.

Card prices at the same dealer ran about 4% above wire, and check prices about 1% above. Prices move daily, so the percentages travel better than the dollars. The term premium over spot always means a percent of the gold's value, not of the price.

What Is the Cheapest IRA-Eligible Gold Coin?#

The Australian Kangaroo was the cheapest IRA-eligible gold coin on September 29, 2026, at 2.02% over its gold value, a hair ahead of the Austrian Philharmonic at 2.03%. Both are 1 oz .9999 coins, and both prices come from category listings, so treat the gap as a tie. The table shows what $50,000 buys in gold with each choice.

Coin Premium Gold value you own Gold lost to premium
Kangaroo 1 oz 2.02% $49,010 $990
Philharmonic 1 oz 2.03% $49,005 $995
Britannia 1 oz 2.57% $48,747 $1,253
Gold Eagle 1 oz (random year) 3.03% $48,530 $1,470
Maple Leaf 1 oz 3.10% $48,497 $1,503
Gold Buffalo 1 oz 5.71% $47,299 $2,701
Gold Eagle 1/10 oz 13.82% $43,929 $6,071

Gold value = $50,000 / (1 + premium). Retail wire prices, one dealer (SD Bullion), September 29, 2026, before any IRA seller's spread or account fees.

The Gold Eagle cost about 1 point more (3.03%) and the Gold Buffalo about 3.7 points more (5.71%). On $50,000, that is $480 less gold in Eagles and $1,711 less in Buffalos than in Kangaroos. The 1/10 oz Eagle leaves $5,081 less gold than the Kangaroo. "Cheapest" changes week to week, so compare quotes on the same day.

The cheapest 1 oz gold coin of all that morning, the Krugerrand, is the one an IRA cannot buy. Large IRA-eligible gold bars cost less over melt than any IRA-eligible coin: 1.07% for a 100 g bar and 1.31% for a 10 oz bar. Small bars can cost more than the cheapest coins.

Is a 30-Gram Panda Really Cheaper?#

Only slightly: a 30-gram Panda holds 0.9645 troy ounce, so it looked $174.89 cheaper than a 1 oz Gold Eagle but only $23.87 cheaper per ounce of gold. Those are wire prices from September 29, 2026. China has struck the Panda in 30 grams since 2016, and a troy ounce is 31.1034768 grams.

Always compare coins per troy ounce, not per coin. Metric and troy sizes are compared on Chinese Gold Panda in an IRA.

Are Fractional Gold Coins a Good Idea for an IRA?#

Usually not: ten 1/10 oz Gold Eagles cost $393.61 more than one 1 oz Eagle for the same ounce of gold on September 29, 2026. A fractional coin is a 1/2, 1/4 or 1/10 oz version of a 1 oz coin. Ten 2026-dated 1/10 oz Eagles cost $4,731.80, against $4,338.19 for one 2026-dated 1 oz Eagle: 9.1% more for the same gold.

Two 1/2 oz coins cost $144.55 more than one 1 oz coin, and four 1/4 oz coins cost $269.09 more. The table shows the Gold Eagle by size and what $10,000 buys in each.

Size Mint's premium to its wholesalers (Jan. 2026) Wholesale secondary premium (Dec. 30, 2025) Retail premium Cost of 1 troy oz in this size Gold value bought with $10,000
1 oz (2026) 3% 3.45% 4.36% $4,338.19 $9,582
1 oz (random year) n/a n/a 3.03% $4,280.53 $9,706
1/2 oz (2026) 5% 5.45% 7.83% $4,482.74 $9,274
1/4 oz (2026) 7% 7.45% 10.83% $4,607.28 $9,023
1/10 oz (2026) 9% 9.45% 13.82% $4,731.80 $8,786

Mint and wholesale premiums as reported by Coin World (January 7, 2026 and December 30, 2025); retail wire prices, SD Bullion, September 29, 2026 (category listing).

On $10,000, random-year 1 oz coins buy $920 more gold than 1/10 oz coins, or 10.5% more. The penalty is built in at the Mint: it charged its Authorized Purchasers, the wholesalers it sells bullion coins to, 3% for a 1 oz Eagle and 9% for a 1/10 oz coin.

Which fractional gold coin is the best? On September 29, 2026, the 1/10 oz Gold Eagle (13.82%) cost less than the 1/10 oz Maple Leaf (14.92%) and the 1/10 oz Kangaroo (about 17.8%). That is the reverse of the 1 oz ranking, where the Kangaroo was cheapest. The Kangaroo figure comes from a category listing and carries lower confidence.

Fractional coins earn their cost in one case: they let you take gold out of the IRA in smaller pieces. These are in-kind distributions, coins sent to you instead of cash.

Round Trip: What You Lose Buying and Selling Back the Same Day#

Buying a 1 oz IRA-eligible gold coin and selling it back the same morning cost 5.21% to 7.44% on September 29, 2026. The Kangaroo lost the least and the Gold Buffalo the most. The round trip is what you lose if you buy and sell back at once.

The ask is what the dealer charges you, and the bid is what it pays you. The CFTC's metals advisory puts the gap plainly.

The table compares the dealer's wire ask with its own bid, lowest loss first.

Coin Ask (wire) Bid (dealer buys) Lost if sold back at once Rise needed to break even
Kangaroo (C) $4,240.68 $4,019.93 5.21% 5.49%
Philharmonic (C) $4,241.37 $4,019.93 5.22% 5.51%
Gold Eagle, random year $4,280.53 $4,049.93 5.39% 5.69%
Panda 30 g (C) $4,105.64 $3,874.03 5.64% 5.98%
Maple Leaf $4,282.45 $4,034.93 5.78% 6.13%
Britannia $4,260.68 $4,009.93 5.89% 6.25%
Libertad (2024 coin ask, generic bid) (C) $4,332.46 $4,064.93 6.18% 6.58%
Gold Buffalo $4,391.80 $4,064.93 7.44% 8.04%
Gold Eagle 1/2 oz (2026 ask) (C) $2,241.37 $2,004.97 10.55% 11.79%
For comparison, not IRA-eligible: Krugerrand $4,161.14 $4,019.93 3.39% 3.51%

SD Bullion buy pages and "sell to us" page, about 10:20 UTC, September 29, 2026; bids may lag the market; (C) = ask read from a category listing.

The Gold Eagle's higher buy price partly comes back, because the dealer also bids more for Eagles. An Eagle lost $230.60 per coin, only $9.85 more than a Kangaroo ($220.75), since its bid was $30 higher. The Buffalo's extra price does not come back: it lost $326.87, or $96.27 more than an Eagle.

Fractional coins lose about twice as much, 10.55% for a 1/2 oz Eagle. The ineligible Krugerrand lost only 3.39%, which is why cheap ineligible coins tempt buyers. This is one dealer on one morning, not a ranking.

The Premium Stack: What the Mint, Dealers and Gold IRA Companies Charge#

A new 1 oz Gold Eagle leaves the Mint at about 3% over spot, as reported by Coin World, and reaches online retail at 3.03% to 4.36%. Gold IRA companies' own contracts allow far wider spreads, up to 19.99% on bullion in one September 2026 agreement.

A spread is the seller's cut as a share of the price you pay. A markup is the price above the metal's value as a share of that value. The table follows the premium from the Mint to the contract caps of 3 gold IRA sellers.

Layer Premium or cap Markup equivalent Date Source
US Mint to wholesalers (1 oz Eagle, minimum order 1,000 oz) 3% 3% Jan. 2026 Coin World (as reported)
Wholesale secondary market 3.45% 3.45% Dec. 30, 2025 Coin World (as reported)
Online retail, random year 3.03% 3.03% Sept. 29, 2026 SD Bullion
Online retail, 2026-dated 4.36% 4.36% Sept. 29, 2026 SD Bullion
IRA seller bullion spread cap Up to 19.99% Up to 25.0% Sept. 2026 American Hartford Gold Shipping and Transaction Agreement
IRA seller IRA-transaction cap "Generally up to" 34.99% Up to 53.8% June 2025 Preserve Gold Shipping and Transaction Agreement
Seller spread range 2%-35% 2.0%-53.8% Dec. 2025 Lear Capital terms
IRA seller limited numismatic cap Up to 59.99% Up to 149.9% Sept. 2026 American Hartford Gold Shipping and Transaction Agreement

Contract figures are maximums the sellers allow themselves in their own agreements, not what every order costs. Markup = spread / (1 - spread).

Contract spreads look smaller than they are. A 19.99% spread equals a 25.0% markup, so $100,000 buys about $80,010 of gold, treating the dealer's cost as the metal's value. A 34.99% spread equals a 53.8% markup and leaves about $65,010.

The SafeOunce reading of the premium stack: on a 1 oz Eagle, anything far above about 5% is seller margin, not the coin's cost. Spreads, account fees and buyback terms are combined in gold IRA companies with the lowest total cost.

Break-Even: How Far Gold Must Rise to Cover the Premium#

Gold must rise by at least your premium before a sale returns your money: about 3% for a 1 oz Gold Eagle and 14% for a 1/10 oz Eagle. Those premiums are from September 29, 2026. Break-even is the rise in the gold price you need before selling gets your money back.

The rise equals the markup when the dealer buys back at spot. It is (1 + markup) / 0.99, minus 1, when the dealer pays 1% under spot.

Coin or cost Premium or markup Rise needed, sold at spot Rise needed, buyback 1% under spot
Kangaroo 1 oz 2.02% 2.0% 3.1%
Gold Eagle 1 oz, random year 3.03% 3.0% 4.1%
Gold Buffalo 1 oz 5.71% 5.7% 6.8%
Gold Eagle 1/10 oz 13.82% 13.8% 15.0%
Gold Eagle 1/10 oz proof, box and COA 34.89% 34.9% 36.3%
19.99% spread cap (25.0% markup) 25.0% 25.0% 26.3%
34.99% spread cap (53.8% markup) 53.8% 53.8% 55.4%
120% average markup alleged by the CFTC (Metals.com, 1/10 oz Polar Bear coins) 120% 120% 122.2%

Premiums: SD Bullion wire prices, September 29, 2026. Formula: (1 + markup) / 0.99 - 1 for a buyback 1% under spot. The 120% row is an allegation in a pending case.

Your statement will not show what you paid. Custodians value IRA metal at spot or at the bid; GoldStar statements show "estimated bid values". So a 1/10 oz Eagle bought at 13.82% over melt shows at about its gold value or less. Coins taken out in kind are taxed at their fair market value on the distribution date, reported on Form 1099-R, box 1 (26 U.S.C. 408(d)(1)), not at your purchase price.

The table shows only the rise needed; it is not a forecast of what gold will do. Enter your own quote and buyback bid in the gold IRA break-even calculator.

Which Gold Coin Years Fail the IRA Rules?#

Only 2 of the 9 coins have a year trap: Britannias dated before 2013 and Libertads dated before 1991 are too low in gold to go in an IRA. Both coins once had less gold in the mix.

A random-year order lets the dealer pick the year, so it can bring a failing coin. The 2 traps, and how random-year orders trigger them, are listed below.

  • British Gold Britannia: .917 gold from 1987 to 2012 and .9999 from 2013. STRATA and GoldStar list "British Britannia (pre-2013)" as unacceptable, and Equity Trust requires ".9999+". Dates, fineness and custodian wording are on British Gold Britannia in an IRA.
  • Mexican Gold Libertad: .900 gold from 1981 to 1990 and .999 from 1991. On September 29, 2026, a random-year listing at a large dealer read "Contains 1 oz of either 0.999 or 0.9..." The same page says "All Gold Libertads that are minted in 1991 and after are minted with 0.999 pure gold", and a 1981 Libertad page listed "Purity 0.90".
  • Random-year orders: a "random year" Britannia or Libertad can arrive as a failing coin. Your order needs the words "2013 or later" or "1991 or later".

The Gold Eagle, Buffalo, Maple Leaf, Philharmonic, Kangaroo, Panda and Lunar have no year that fails. For them, the year changes only the price. A 2026-dated Eagle cost 4.36% over its gold value, against 3.03% for a random-year coin (September 29, 2026).

That extra 1.33 points may not buy the exact coins back. In commingled (shared) storage you get "the weight and general type of metals you purchased but may not receive the same brand, year, or condition" (Equity Trust). Segregated storage returns your own coins but costs more, for example $160 a year against $110 at Equity Trust (fee schedule FS-0001-03, Rev. 081726).

Which IRA-Eligible Gold Coin Fits Your Situation?#

For most IRA buyers, a 1 oz .9999 coin such as the Kangaroo or Philharmonic buys the most gold per dollar. The 1 oz Gold Eagle cost about 1 point more on September 29, 2026, and suits readers who want the best-known US coin. The table matches 7 situations to a better fit. It is general information, not personal advice.

If you... Better fit Why (Sept. 29, 2026 unless noted)
Want the most gold per dollar 1 oz .9999 coins (Kangaroo, Philharmonic, Britannia 2013+) or large gold bars for an IRA 2.02%-2.57% premium; 5.21%-5.89% round trip; 10 oz bar 1.31%, 100 g bar 1.07%
Want the best-known US coin 1 oz Gold Eagle About 1 point more at purchase (3.03%), but its bid is higher too: 5.39% round trip
Plan to take coins out in kind to meet required minimum distributions (RMDs) 1 oz coins; fractionals only for pieces under about $4,300 Fractional Eagle premiums 7.83%-13.82%
Have a small account 1 oz coins still; a smaller size costs more per ounce $10,000 buys $920 less gold in 1/10 oz Eagles than in random-year 1 oz Eagles
Are offered proof, "exclusive" or "limited mintage" coins Ask for the price per coin, the melt value and the buyback bid in writing first 1/10 oz proof Eagle 34.89%; one seller's agreement allows spreads up to 39.99% on semi-numismatic and up to 59.99% on limited numismatic coins (American Hartford Gold, Sept. 2026)
Are offered a coin your custodian's list does not name (gold Libertad, American Liberty, wildlife coins) Get the custodian's written yes before paying No list we read names these coins
Already own gold coins at home Keep them outside the IRA; the IRA must buy its own Contributions must be cash (26 U.S.C. 408(a)(1))

Two rules run through every row: compare cost per ounce of gold, not per coin, and get the custodian's written yes before paying.

The Eagle's extra cost is smaller than it looks. The same dealer bid $30 more for it than for a Kangaroo, so the round trip differed by only 0.18 points. The Gold Buffalo's 5.71% premium did not come back at resale.

A proof or "exclusive" coin should face 3 written questions: price per coin, melt value and buyback bid. A seller who will not answer in writing has already answered.

How Sales Pitches Turn Eligible Gold Coins Into Upsells#

Eligibility says nothing about price: sellers use IRA-eligible coins to justify premiums far above the 2% to 6% a 1 oz coin cost at retail in September 2026. Numismatic coins are sold as collector items, and a switch from bullion to one of them is a numismatic coin upsell.

The pattern behind these numismatic coin upsells is documented case by case. Each pitch line below has a fact that answers it.

  • "IRS-approved coin": the IRS says "there is no list of approved investments" (FAQ updated April 8, 2026).
  • "Semi-numismatic" or "premium bullion": the CFTC, the federal commodity markets regulator, calls semi-numismatic "a made-up industry term that really has no special meaning" (2024 advisory).
  • "Rare 99.999% coin, only 1,500 made": the Royal Canadian Mint's "Our Purest" Maple Leaf (99.999% gold, face $200, mintage 1,500) cost CAD $8,409.95 on mint.ca on September 29, 2026. It passes the purity test at a collector's price.
  • "Only a small commission": ask for the markup. The CFTC's 2020 advisory put typical bullion premiums at 5% to 10% over spot and numismatic premiums at 40% to 200% (release 8215-20, August 4, 2020).

What Enforcement Cases Show About Eligible Gold Coins#

Two major recent metals IRA cases involved Royal Canadian Mint coins that pass the IRA purity tests; the harm came from the price, not the eligibility. Both are precious metals IRA enforcement actions brought by the CFTC. Every case is dated in our tracker of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.

Red Rock Secured, which now operates as American Coin Co. (SEC Litigation Release 25996, May 7, 2024), was charged on May 15, 2023. It told customers its markups were 4% to 29%, or 1% to 5%, on Royal Canadian Mint Red-Tailed Hawk coins. The CFTC's consent order of April 23, 2024 found markups of 91.89% to 129.97% over Red Rock's cost. At least 950 customers paid over $69 million for coins worth about $30 million, a 56.5% loss on day one (SafeOunce computation).

In the Metals.com case (N.D. Tex. 3:20-cv-02910, filed September 22, 2020), the CFTC alleges an average 120% markup over market price. The coins were 1/10 oz Royal Canadian Mint gold Polar Bear coins, 106,123 of them sold for over $31.2 million (complaint para. 51). The case is pending, so these are allegations.

In the table, restitution is money paid back to customers, and disgorgement is giving up profits.

Case Coins What customers were told What the record says Status
Red Rock Secured, now American Coin Co. (CFTC 8704-23; consent order 2024-04-23, release 8898-24) Royal Canadian Mint Red-Tailed Hawk Markups of 4%-29% or 1%-5% Markups 91.89%-129.97% over cost; over $69M paid for about $30M of coins Consent order: $38,984,313.90 restitution + $5.1M disgorgement + $12.25M penalty
Metals.com: CFTC and 30 states v. TMTE (CFTC 8254-20) 1/10 oz Royal Canadian Mint gold Polar Bear IRA spread "2% to 33%" (disclosed) Alleged average 120% markup over market price Pending; civil trial set for March 1, 2027

Allegations in the Metals.com case are unproven. Sources: CFTC releases 8704-23, 8898-24 and 8254-20; TMTE complaint, filed September 22, 2020.

How Do Gold Coins Fit Into the Rest of a Gold IRA?#

Choosing the coin settles what your IRA owns; the account rules for custody, contributions, reporting and withdrawals decide what that gold is worth to you. A gold IRA is an IRA that holds physical metal through a custodian. How a gold IRA works from opening to withdrawal is explained step by step.

The questions below cover the account rules that touch your coins most often. Custody, reporting and withdrawals follow the gold IRA rules for every metal.

Gold Coins or Gold Bars in an IRA?#

Large gold bars cost less over spot than any IRA-eligible coin on September 29, 2026, while 1 oz coins are easier to take out of the IRA one at a time. That day a 100 g bar cost 1.07% over its gold value, a 10 oz bar 1.31% and a 1 oz PAMP bar 1.79%. The 1 oz coins cost 2.02% to 5.71%. The trade-offs of gold coins vs gold bars in an IRA go beyond price.

Can You Put Gold Coins You Already Own Into an IRA?#

No: IRA contributions must be cash under 26 U.S.C. 408(a)(1), so gold coins you already own cannot be deposited, and selling them to your own IRA is a prohibited transaction (26 U.S.C. 4975(c)(1)(A)). A prohibited transaction is a deal between you and your IRA that the tax law forbids. You can deposit cash and let the IRA buy its own coins through the custodian.

For 2026, the gold IRA contribution limits are $7,500, plus $1,100 if you are 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67). Cash deposits count against the gold IRA contribution limits for the year.

Can You Keep IRA Gold Coins at Home?#

No: in McNulty v. Commissioner (2021), the Tax Court taxed an IRA owner on the $374,000 cost of 320 one-ounce Gold Eagles kept in a home safe. The court ruled on November 18, 2021 (157 T.C. No. 10, Docket 1377-19). The flush text is the closing sentence of the bullion rule. The court held that it "does not create an exception to the well-established rules that IRA assets must be held by a trustee".

IRS Publication 590-B agrees: "The coins must be in the possession of the custodian or trustee of the IRA." In plain English: IRA coins kept in your house count as a withdrawal. Every home storage gold IRA pitch fails the same custody test.

Can You Buy Gold Coins Inside the IRA You Already Have?#

Usually not: Fidelity is the one large broker that holds gold coins inside a regular IRA, and other gold coins need a self-directed IRA at a metals custodian. A self-directed IRA is one whose custodian lets you hold assets beyond stocks and funds, such as physical gold. Opening a self-directed IRA for gold takes a custodian that holds metals.

Fidelity holds Gold Eagles (1, 1/2, 1/4 and 1/10 oz) and the 1 oz Gold Buffalo. It offers them in 5 account types: traditional, Roth, rollover, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs (fee schedule FA-FEES-0926, as of September 29, 2026).

Its buy commission runs from 2.90% on orders under $10,000 to 0.99% at $100,000 and up. Storage costs 0.50% a year with a $15 minimum, the IRA minimum purchase is $1,000, and the dealer spread is not disclosed. The costs of a Fidelity gold IRA are compared with a specialist custodian.

Does the IRS Know About the Gold Coins in Your IRA?#

Yes: your custodian reports the IRA's year-end value to the IRS on Form 5498 and every withdrawal, cash or coins, on Form 1099-R (26 U.S.C. 408(i)). Form 5498 is the yearly value report, and Form 1099-R reports money or coins leaving the IRA. Each form is explained under does the IRS know about your gold.

Which Gold Coins Are Not Taxable?#

No gold coin is tax-free by itself: the account decides the tax, not the coin. Inside a traditional IRA the tax is deferred until you withdraw, and withdrawals are ordinary income. Qualified Roth IRA withdrawals are untaxed (26 U.S.C. 408A). Outside an IRA, gains on gold coins face a top 28% collectibles rate (26 U.S.C. 1(h)(4)-(5)). The rates for gold IRA vs taxable gold are compared with examples.

Is It Better to Buy Physical Gold or a Gold IRA?#

It depends on the trade-off you want: a gold IRA defers tax, while coins you own directly stay in your hands. The IRA adds custodian and storage fees and bars home storage (McNulty, 2021). Coins you own directly face up to a 28% collectibles rate on long-term gains (26 U.S.C. 1(h)(4)-(5)). Costs and control are weighed in gold IRA vs physical gold.

Which Silver and Platinum Coins Are IRA-Eligible?#

The same 2 routes apply: the 1 oz American Silver Eagle and the American Platinum Eagle are named in the law, and other coins need .999 silver or .9995 platinum. Every silver coin that qualifies is listed under IRA-approved silver.

Palladium works the same way at .9995, and the law names no palladium coin.

Platinum has its own list of IRA-eligible platinum coins and bars.