Augusta Precious Metals is an operating gold IRA seller based in Beverly Hills, California, with 1 BBB complaint in three years and no regulator action found (September 29, 2026). It publishes its account fees, but not its coin prices or its markup, the dealer's share of the price you pay. So the real question is not whether Augusta is real, but what you pay above the metal's value and what you get in writing.
A gold IRA is an individual retirement account that holds physical gold through a custodian, the trust company that holds the account for you. Gold IRA companies are the dealers that set up the account and sell you the metal. Augusta is one of the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks with the same records, fees and contract questions.
This Augusta Precious Metals review covers its record, contract, $50,000 minimum, fees, markup and buyback, and says who Augusta suits. It covers augustapreciousmetals.com, not Augusta Gold Corp., a mining company, or coin shops in Augusta, Georgia.
The 12 facts below come from Augusta's FAQ and website, the BBB, Trustpilot and SafeOunce's regulator searches, each dated.
| Quick fact | Augusta Precious Metals |
|---|---|
| Name | Augusta Precious Metals (BBB: corporation) |
| Offices | 8484 Wilshire Blvd #515, Beverly Hills, CA 90211 (BBB); 5830 East 2nd Street, Casper, WY 82609 (site footer) |
| Founded | January 2012 (BBB business start January 1, 2012; Augusta FAQ) |
| Founder and CEO | Isaac Nuriani (BBB; Augusta FAQ) |
| Minimum | $50,000 for cash and IRA orders (Augusta FAQ, last updated Sept. 23, 2026) |
| Account fees | $50 setup; $125 a year custodian; $110 a year storage and insurance (Augusta FAQ, Sept. 23, 2026) |
| Yearly fees paid by Augusta | "Up to 10 years" of custodian and depository fees (Augusta FAQ, Sept. 23, 2026; conditions not stated) |
| Coin prices and markup published | No (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Transaction Agreement public | No (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| BBB | A+, accredited since Feb. 17, 2015; 1 complaint in 3 years; 135 reviews (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Trustpilot | 4.8 from 372 reviews; 1% one-star; invites reviews (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Regulator actions found | 0 (SafeOunce searches, Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Official site | augustapreciousmetals.com |
Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.
Our Augusta Verdict: A Clean Record, a $50,000 Entry Point and a Markup It Does Not Publish#
Augusta Precious Metals has 1 BBB complaint in three years and publishes its account fees, but it keeps its largest cost off its website: the coin markup. That complaint sits against 135 BBB reviews, as of September 29, 2026, a very low rate. The full court index and complaint details are on the page about Augusta Precious Metals complaints.
The spot price is today's market price for one ounce of raw metal. Augusta charges more than spot for every coin, and its website does not say how much more. What should you ask before sending money? Get three things in writing before the recorded confirmation call. They are the price per coin with its percent over spot, the buyback method and the Transaction Agreement, the contract for your order.
Augusta gets four things right. Its FAQ fees are dated, and its FAQ admits that no dealer may legally guarantee a buyback. It offers up to seven days to cancel at least first-time premium-coin orders, and SafeOunce found no regulator action against it.
Look elsewhere if you have less than $50,000 to move, or if Augusta will not put its prices and the Transaction Agreement on paper. The verdict also turns on one number. Its "up to 10 years" of paid fees is worth up to $2,350, which a markup just 2.35 points higher cancels on $100,000.
Who Is Augusta Precious Metals? Founder, Offices and How It Works#
Augusta Precious Metals is a precious metals dealer that sells coins and bars by phone and arranges self-directed IRAs to hold them, with Equity Trust as custodian. Its FAQ says it offers gold, silver, platinum and palladium products. It is a seller, not a bank, a fund or an adviser.
Augusta Precious Metals: the name, two offices and the firms it is not#
Augusta Precious Metals lists two offices: 8484 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills, California, on its BBB profile, and 5830 East 2nd Street in Casper, Wyoming, in its website footer. The BBB lists the company as a corporation, and court indexes list it as "Augusta Precious Metals, Inc." Its affiliate contract, the agreement with websites that send it customers, uses Wyoming law and Wyoming courts.
Search "Augusta Precious Metals" in quotation marks, so results for Augusta Gold Corp. or shops in Augusta, Georgia, drop out. The steps to check a gold IRA company by its registered name are on our verification guide.
When was Augusta Precious Metals founded?#
Augusta Precious Metals was founded in January 2012: the BBB lists its business start as January 1, 2012. Its FAQ says the company was "formed in January 2012 by founder and CEO Isaac Nuriani". That makes Augusta about 14 years old as of 2026.
Who runs Augusta Precious Metals?#
Isaac Nuriani is the founder and CEO of Augusta Precious Metals, and the BBB lists him as both the principal and the customer contact, as of September 29, 2026. Augusta does not publish its ownership, and SafeOunce has not yet read a state business record that shows who owns the company.
How an Augusta gold IRA works, step by step#
An Augusta gold IRA works in 6 steps, from a long education call to metal arriving in a vault in your IRA's name. A self-directed IRA is an IRA that can hold assets other than funds, such as metal. The custodian legally holds the IRA and sends your statements, and the depository is the vault.
- Talk with an Augusta representative. Augusta calls its staff "salaried, non-commissioned" educators, a company claim SafeOunce has not tested.
- Open a self-directed IRA at Equity Trust, with a $50 setup fee per Augusta's FAQ (September 23, 2026).
- Move money by a direct transfer or a rollover. Augusta's FAQ says opening the account "typically takes one to two weeks".
- Choose coins or bars, and ask the price per coin and the percent over spot.
- Confirm the order on a recorded call. Augusta's FAQ says the price is "locked in once your order is confirmed via phone and payment is received".
- Check that the metal appears on your Equity Trust statement, held at the depository.
Step 6 follows the law: under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B), IRA bullion must be in the physical possession of a trustee. For step 3, a gold IRA transfer between custodians has no 60-day clock and no once-a-year limit (IRS Publication 590-A). Ask for one instead of a check made out to you.
Is Augusta a custodian?#
No: Augusta is the dealer that sells the metal, Equity Trust is the custodian that holds your IRA, and a separate vault stores the coins. An investor alert from the SEC and NASAA, the group of state securities regulators, warns that "self-directed IRA custodians generally do not evaluate the quality or legitimacy of any investment".
Augusta's Complaint and Regulatory Record#
Augusta's record shows 1 BBB complaint in three years, two business lawsuits in court indexes and no regulator action found, as of September 29, 2026. Among the ten gold IRA sellers SafeOunce tracks most closely, only Patriot Gold Group and Advantage Gold (9 BBB reviews) show fewer complaints per review, with none. The BBB, or Better Business Bureau, is a nonprofit that grades how businesses handle complaints. A court index is a database that lists lawsuits by the names of the parties.
The table sums up the record, with the date and source of each line.
| Record item | Augusta | Date and source |
|---|---|---|
| BBB grade and accreditation | A+; accredited since February 17, 2015 | BBB, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| BBB complaints (3 years) and reviews | 1 complaint closed; 135 reviews | BBB, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| Complaints per 100 BBB reviews | 0.7 | SafeOunce computation, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| Trustpilot | 4.8 from 372 reviews; 1% one-star; "Asks customers to review" | Trustpilot, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| Lawsuits in court indexes | 2 business disputes (Westwood One, 2024; Orion Precious Metals, 2024) | Docket aggregators (secondary), Sept. 29, 2026 |
| Customer class actions found | None | SafeOunce searches, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| CFTC, SEC or FTC actions | None found | Agency case lists, Sept. 29, 2026 |
Each item is explained on Augusta Precious Metals complaints and lawsuits.
BBB and Trustpilot numbers, and their limits#
Augusta has 1 BBB complaint closed in three years against 135 BBB reviews, or 0.7 complaints per 100 reviews, as of September 29, 2026. BBB accreditation, which Augusta has held since February 17, 2015, is a paid membership, separate from its A+ grade. On Trustpilot, a public review website, Augusta scores 4.8 from 372 reviews, with 93% five-star and 1% one-star (September 29, 2026).
Augusta's FAQ prints older figures. As of August 4, 2026, it claims a BBB score of 4.93 from 133 reviews and 4.8 on both Trustpilot (356) and ConsumerAffairs (186).
The table ranks the ten gold IRA sellers SafeOunce tracks most closely by BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews (September 29, 2026).
| Company | BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews |
|---|---|
| Lear Capital | 22.1 |
| American Hartford Gold | 13.9 |
| Priority Gold | 5.9 |
| Goldco | 4.2 |
| Birch Gold Group | 4.0 |
| Preserve Gold | 1.6 |
| Noble Gold | 1.2 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | 0.7 |
| Patriot Gold Group | 0 |
| Advantage Gold | 0 (9 reviews) |
Counts grow with sales volume, and disputes sent to private arbitration never reach the BBB.
Both scores have limits. The BBB grade rests on complaints: 90 of its 100 points depend on how many there are and how they are handled, and reviews do not count. Trustpilot adds seven 3.5-star reviews to every company's score, and all ten sellers show five-star shares between 89% and 99%. Augusta's Trustpilot profile says it asks customers to review, so its 372 reviews include invited ones.
Some review pages cite two other raters. TrustLink, founded by the BBB in 2008 and spun out in 2012, shows Augusta at 4.9 from 322 reviews (September 29, 2026). BCA is a private nonprofit funded mainly by member dues, and it does not publish its grading formula.
What unhappy Augusta customers report: transfers, callbacks and long calls#
Augusta has few low ratings, about 4 one-star reviews on Trustpilot, and they mention slow account transfers, unwanted calls and a long education process before buying. Trustpilot's own summary of the reviews (September 29, 2026) names three patterns, listed below with one way to protect yourself.
- Account transfers: the summary notes "occasional difficulties experienced during account transfers". Ask for a direct transfer, not a check, and a written timeline.
- Communication and callbacks: the summary notes "communication challenges and contract handling issues reported by a few clients". LendEDU's review (August 31, 2026) adds that negative reviews mention "unsolicited communications", calls and messages the customer did not ask for. Put your questions by email, so the answers are on record.
- Long calls: the summary puts the up-front education calls at 4 to 6 hours and says this phase "requires a significant time commitment". Ask for the Transaction Agreement before the education call ends.
LendEDU also reports "frustration with the company's minimum order requirements". Reviewers report these problems; SafeOunce has not tested them.
Court cases involving Augusta: two business disputes, no customer case found#
Court indexes list two lawsuits naming Augusta Precious Metals, Inc., both business disputes, and SafeOunce found no customer class action or fraud case, as of September 29, 2026. A class action is a group lawsuit filed for many customers at once.
A docket aggregator, a website that copies court filings, lists Westwood One, LLC v. Augusta Precious Metals, Inc. in New York Supreme Court, filed July 10, 2024. It is a commercial contract dispute. It also lists Orion Precious Metals, Inc. v. Augusta in Los Angeles Superior Court, filed March 18, 2024, a dispute between two sellers over names and advertising. SafeOunce has not read either docket, so neither outcome is established here.
A third case names Augusta, but not as a party: Orion Precious Metals v. Money Group, LLC (C.D. Cal. No. 2:26-cv-07092, filed June 29, 2026). Orion alleges that money.com is "paid by these companies to rank their businesses as a top choice". The complaint names American Hartford Gold, Priority Gold, Thor Metals Group, Augusta and Goldco. These are allegations; the case is pending, with no ruling known as of September 29, 2026.
Pages ranking for "augusta precious metals lawsuit" include Augusta's own article on the "lawsuit narrative". Review pages from LendEDU, Money and MoneyCrashers say Augusta has no BBB complaints, although the BBB shows 1. The two business cases do exist, but neither involves a customer.
Regulator actions: none found#
SafeOunce found no CFTC, SEC or FTC action against Augusta Precious Metals in searches on September 29, 2026. These are the federal regulators for commodities, securities and consumer protection. State searches found none, though not every state was checked. Regulator actions can take years to become public, so check again before you buy.
Every case SafeOunce tracks is in our list of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.
Awards, "best" labels and the Money switch#
Augusta's homepage calls it "America's Best Overall Gold IRA Company 2022-2026, Money Magazine", but Money has named Allegiance Gold its Best Overall since May 29, 2026. On Money's September 25, 2026 list, Augusta is the second editorial pick. On September 29, 2026, it appears fourth in Money's paid "Partner" block.
Investopedia labels Augusta "Best for Transparency" (April 2025 capture; still in its search title in September 2026), and Augusta's homepage cites Investopedia's "Most Transparent Gold IRA Company (2022-2026)". Yet Augusta publishes no spread. As of September 29, 2026, Augusta appears on 8 of the 9 "best" lists SafeOunce compared. The exception, Forbes Advisor, leaves out companies whose first purchase must exceed $20,000.
The nine lists name five different #1 picks. Augusta is #1 on CBS News, Clute Journals and TipRanks, but TipRanks labels its list "Sponsored Content", and Clute's roster is identical to it. RetirementLiving (September 17, 2026) rates Augusta highest, at 4.8, yet lists it 8th.
One ad shows why such labels need checking. SafeOunce holds a June 9, 2026 capture of a partner ad on Money's page. It read "Named 'Best Overall' Gold IRA by Money ... 0 Complaints With the BBB ... 100% Buyback Success Rate, Never Denied Since 2012". SafeOunce has not confirmed which company placed that ad.
Who ranks whom, and who pays, is compared on gold IRA best-of lists.
Augusta's Contract Terms: What Is Public and What Is Not#
Augusta publishes an FAQ with its fees, cancellation and buyback rules, but not the Transaction Agreement you sign, so you cannot check the binding terms before you call. The contract decides what happens in a dispute. Arbitration, in the table, means a private judge instead of a court.
The table compares the contract terms of four sellers, from documents read on September 29, 2026.
| Term | Augusta | Goldco | American Hartford Gold (agreement, Sept. 2026) | Lear Capital (terms, Dec. 2025) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agreement public | No ("This form is no longer available") | No | Yes | Yes |
| Markup range stated | Not published | Not published | Bullion 1%-19.99%; other coins up to 39.99% and 59.99% | 2%-35% |
| Cancellation | FAQ: 7 calendar days, all transactions; BBB text: first-time premium-coin orders only | Not published | 7 days, non-bullion only | 24 hours |
| Arbitration | Website Terms of Use Sec. 17 "Arbitration and Class Action Waiver" (search result only); agreement unknown | None in website terms; agreement unknown | JAMS | JAMS, 30-day opt-out |
| Deadline to bring a claim | Not public | Not public | 1 year | 1 year + 1 day |
| Buyback wording | "the law doesn't allow any dealer to guarantee future repurchases" | "guaranteed at the highest price", no terms | Law prohibits a guarantee | Law prohibits a guarantee |
All ten sellers are compared on gold IRA company contracts.
The Augusta Transaction Agreement is not published#
Augusta's FAQ says "Before any purchase, Augusta provides a written Transaction Agreement", but its old web address reads "This form is no longer available" (September 29, 2026). SafeOunce could not read the agreement at that address or as a downloadable file. So its terms on prices, disputes and deadlines are not public.
Ask Augusta to email the Transaction Agreement and the itemized invoice before the recorded confirmation call, so you have your own copy. The FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule requires sellers to tell you the total cost and quantity before you pay (16 CFR 310.3(a)(1)(i)).
How long you have to cancel an Augusta order: two Augusta texts disagree#
Augusta's FAQ offers up to seven calendar days to cancel any order, but the policy text on its BBB profile limits that window to first-time buyers of premium coins. Premium coins are collector-style coins sold well above their metal value. Both texts come from Augusta, and they are set side by side below.
| Source | Text | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Augusta FAQ | "For all transactions, Augusta offers a 100% 7-day money-back guarantee"; "a cancellation period of up to seven calendar days after the date a transaction is confirmed", longer where state law requires | Last updated Sept. 23, 2026 |
| Augusta's policy text on its BBB profile | "For first-time customers, Augusta extends the cancellation period for premium gold and silver coin transactions ... for up to seven calendar days ... All subsequent orders are final upon completion of the recorded confirmation call." | Read Sept. 29, 2026 |
The IRS rules add a separate right. Under 26 CFR 1.408-6, you may revoke a new IRA for at least 7 days after it is established, and get back the full amount. That right runs against the custodian, not the dealer. Either Augusta version is longer than the 24 hours Lear Capital and Preserve Gold allow.
How the 7-day revocation right differs from a dealer's terms is explained on whether you can cancel a gold IRA.
When your Augusta price is locked, and the 7-Day Price Protection Program#
Augusta locks your price once the order is confirmed on a recorded phone call and payment is received, according to its FAQ. Mintage means how many coins were made, and low-mintage coins are made in small numbers.
For low-mintage products, the FAQ says "you have a one-time option to revise your order to a lower price within seven days". It calls this its "7-Day Price Protection Program", and it covers only that product group.
Arbitration, claim deadlines and the custodian's contract#
Augusta's website terms have a section on "Dispute Resolution, Arbitration and Class Action Waiver", and its custodian, Equity Trust, requires individual arbitration unless you opt out within 65 days. SafeOunce saw that section title (Section 17 of Augusta's Terms of Use) only in a search result, not the full text. A class action waiver means you give up joining a group lawsuit. An opt-out is a written notice that takes you out of the clause.
Equity Trust's Custodial Account Agreement (Art. XVIII) sets the 65-day window from the day you open the account, and the clause is on record in Clark v. Equity Trust (D.N.M., October 29, 2024). Under consumer rules, your filing fee is capped at $225 at the AAA and $250 at JAMS, two arbitration groups. The Transaction Agreement's own dispute terms are not public.
Ask Augusta three questions before you sign.
- Does the Transaction Agreement require arbitration, where, and who pays?
- Is there an opt-out, and by what date?
- Is there a deadline to bring a claim?
What cancellation, arbitration and restitution can do is explained on how to get your money back from a gold IRA company.
Augusta Fees in 2026: Setup, Annual and Storage#
Augusta's FAQ lists three account fees: $50 to set up, $125 a year for the custodian and $110 a year for storage and insurance (last updated September 23, 2026). That is $285 in the first year and $235 a year after. Augusta says it pays the yearly custodian and depository fees for "up to 10 years" (costed below), and the markup on the coins is the larger cost.
The storage and insurance fee is the vault charge, paid through the custodian. Augusta's $110 matches Equity Trust's rate for non-segregated storage, where coins are allocated to you but stored with others of the same type. The table lists the Augusta fees for year one and each later year.
| Fee | Amount | Year 1 | Years 2-10 (each) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Setup fee | $50 once | $50 | $0 |
| Custodian fee | $125 a year | $125 | $125 |
| Storage fee (storage and insurance) | $110 a year | $110 | $110 |
| Total | $285 | $235 |
Flat fees do not rise with your balance, so they weigh less on a larger account. Augusta's $235 a year sits near the low end of published custodian fees ($215 to $656 a year at $50,000, as of September 29, 2026). Every custodian and seller is compared on gold IRA fees.
Augusta's fees match Equity Trust's metals-only schedule line for line#
Augusta's three fees are the same as Equity Trust's precious-metals-only fee schedule for non-segregated storage: $50, $125 and $110. Segregated storage, where your own coins are kept apart, costs more on that schedule. Augusta's FAQ says metals are "held fully allocated", but it does not say whether segregated storage is available or what it costs.
The table sets Augusta's FAQ against Equity Trust's own schedule (FS-0004-05, Rev. 081726).
| Fee | Augusta FAQ (Sept. 23, 2026) | Equity Trust metals-only schedule |
|---|---|---|
| Setup | $50 | $50 |
| Annual custodian fee | $125 | $125 |
| Storage, non-segregated | $110 | $110 |
| Storage, segregated | Not listed | $160 |
| Liquidation, per transaction | "No separate liquidation fee" (about Augusta's own buyback) | $30 |
| Transfer out or in-kind distribution | Not listed | $125 |
| Full termination | Not listed | $250 |
All four Equity Trust schedules are explained on our page about Equity Trust fees.
Fees Augusta does not list: selling, moving and closing#
Augusta's FAQ lists no exit costs, but Equity Trust's metals-only schedule charges to sell metal, move it or close the account. The four exit costs on that schedule (Rev. 081726) are listed below.
- Liquidation: $30 per sale of metal.
- In-kind distribution or transfer out: $125 each time.
- Full termination: $250 to close the account.
- Delivery of metal: shipping cost plus $10, with a $50 minimum.
The FAQ does not say whether Augusta's fee coverage includes these exit fees. Its "no separate liquidation fee" is about Augusta's own buyback, not the custodian's $30 charge.
Every custodian's exit charges are compared on gold IRA termination fees.
What review sites get wrong about Augusta's fees#
Three review sites print three different Augusta fee sets, and none matches Augusta's own FAQ in full. The table lists what each page says, next to Augusta's FAQ.
| Source | Setup | Yearly | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Augusta FAQ | $50 | $235 ($125 + $110) | Last updated Sept. 23, 2026 |
| Money review | $250 | $200 | Modified Apr. 14, 2026 |
| JPost sponsored review | $50 | $200 ($100 + $100) | Nov. 4, 2025 |
| LendEDU review | Not given | "Account management fees: Zero"; custodian fees "not specified" | Aug. 31, 2026 |
The same pages also get three other facts wrong, shown in the second table (read September 29, 2026).
| Claim | What the review page says | The record |
|---|---|---|
| BBB complaints | None: LendEDU (Aug. 31, 2026), Money (Apr. 14, 2026), MoneyCrashers "zero complaints" (Jan. 20, 2026) | 1 complaint closed in 3 years (BBB, Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Metals offered | "Gold and silver only" (MoneyCrashers) | "gold, silver, platinum, and palladium products" (Augusta FAQ, Sept. 23, 2026) |
| IRA contribution limits | 2025 limits of $7,000 and $8,000 shown as current (LendEDU) | 2026: $7,500, plus $1,100 from age 50 (IRS Notice 2025-67) |
Augusta Minimum Investment: $50,000 for Cash and IRA Orders#
Augusta's minimum is $50,000, per its FAQ (last updated September 23, 2026, read September 29, 2026). The FAQ says Augusta "requires a minimum initial purchase of $50,000 for both cash (non-IRA) and IRA purchases", with no maximum. It gives the reason as "one-on-one education and hands-on account assistance rather than operating as a high-volume transaction dealer".
The IRS sets no minimum for a gold IRA; the $50,000 minimum is Augusta's own rule. Augusta's affiliate contract points the same way: its $200 lead fee is paid only for leads with "at least $50,000 that can be rolled over".
Among published minimums, Augusta's is the highest of these sellers, as of September 29, 2026: Birch Gold $5,000, GoldenCrest $10,000, Noble Gold $20,000, Goldco $25,000 and Augusta $50,000. Every published figure is compared on gold IRA minimums by company.
What $50,000 means if you save through contributions#
At the 2026 IRA limit, $50,000 equals 5.8 years of maximum contributions for savers 50 and older ($8,600 a year) or 6.7 years below 50 ($7,500). The limits come from IRS Notice 2025-67: $7,500, plus a $1,100 catch-up from age 50.
At $50,000, Augusta's $235 a year is 0.47% of the account, and $285 in year one is 0.57%, before any markup and before the fee coverage.
Options for balances under $50,000 are on best gold IRA companies for small investors.
The Cost Augusta Does Not Publish: the Markup on Its Coins#
Augusta does not publish its coin prices or its markup, so the largest cost of an Augusta IRA appears only on your invoice. In this review, "markup" means the spread: the dealer's price minus its own cost, as a share of your price. A 20% spread equals a 25% markup over cost. "Percent over spot" measures a similar gap against the spot price, and the bid is what a dealer pays you when you sell back.
Outside sources give only rough answers. Money's review, modified April 14, 2026, reports margins "as high as 14.5%" on common bullion and "generally 29%" on premium products. These figures are not on Augusta's pages, and SafeOunce has not confirmed them.
Augusta is not alone in keeping prices private. Of 15 operating gold IRA sellers SafeOunce checked, only 4 publish a spread range in their contracts, and only 1 publishes live prices. The CFTC, the federal commodities regulator, says bullion typically sells 5% to 10% over spot and collector coins 40% to 200% over spot (CFTC advisory 8215-20, 2020). Its 2024 "10 Things" guide says legitimate dealers' spreads are often under 20%, while fraudulent ones can run over 300%.
Every published spread range is on gold IRA markups and spreads.
How much gold must rise before you break even#
At a 20% markup, gold must rise about 31% before a customer who sells back gets back to even. The extra rise is needed because a dealer's buyback bid sits below its own cost. The table shows the rise needed at four markups, first to reach the dealer's cost and then to cover the buyback gap too.
| Spread | Rise needed to reach dealer cost | Rise needed including the buyback gap |
|---|---|---|
| 5% | 5.3% | 10.4% |
| 10% | 11.1% | 16.6% |
| 20% | 25.0% | 31.1% |
| 30% | 42.9% | 49.9% |
Test your own markup in the gold IRA break-even calculator.
"No additional commission": what the phrase does and does not cover#
Augusta's FAQ says "No additional commission is added to prices listed by Augusta", which means no fee on top of the quoted price, not that the price contains no markup. The same FAQ says prices are "determined and controlled by Augusta in its sole discretion". It also calls them "transparent, upfront, and documented".
Ask for the price of each coin, the spot price at that moment and the percent difference, in writing.
What a $100,000 Augusta Gold IRA Costs: Year 1 and 10 Years#
A $100,000 Augusta gold IRA carries $285 in published fees in year one and $2,400 over ten years, or about $50 if Augusta's fee coverage applies in full. If you sell back, a markup of 5% to 30% costs $9,453 to $33,281 more. The first table shows the fixed fees from Augusta's FAQ (September 23, 2026).
| Cost | Year 1 | 10 years |
|---|---|---|
| Setup | $50 | $50 |
| Custodian | $125 | $1,250 |
| Storage and insurance | $110 | $1,100 |
| Total published fees | $285 | $2,400 |
| Fee coverage by Augusta (conditions not stated) | Up to -$235 | Up to -$2,350 |
| Dealer markup on purchase | Not published | Not published |
| Exit fee | Not in Augusta's figures | Example: $280 to sell and close at Equity Trust's metals-only schedule |
The second table adds the markup and buyback gap to Augusta's published fees, with the metal price held flat.
| Spread | Day-one sale value of $100,000 | Markup + buyback-gap loss | 10-year total with full fee coverage ($50 fees) | 10-year total without coverage ($2,400 fees) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | $90,547 | $9,453 | $9,503 (9.5%) | $11,853 (11.9%) |
| 10% | $85,781 | $14,219 | $14,269 (14.3%) | $16,619 (16.6%) |
| 20% | $76,250 | $23,750 | $23,800 (23.8%) | $26,150 (26.2%) |
| 30% | $66,719 | $33,281 | $33,331 (33.3%) | $35,681 (35.7%) |
The markup decides the total. Each 5 points of markup moves it by about $4,800. Going from a 5% to a 10% markup costs $4,766 more, about twice what the whole fee coverage is worth.
In coins, the gap is easy to see. At SD Bullion's asking price of $4,280.53 for a 1-ounce Gold Eagle on September 29, 2026 (a single snapshot), $100,000 buys about 23.4 coins. At a 20% spread, about $20,000 of the order, worth about 4.7 of those coins, is the dealer's margin.
Your first custodian statement values metal at market value, not at what you paid. Equity Trust's disclosure says statement values "do not include any markups, commissions or premiums from the precious metals dealer". Augusta's FAQ says custodians use "standardized melt-value calculations". At a 20% markup, $100,000 can show as about $80,000 of metal before any buyback gap. Why a gold IRA statement shows less than you paid is explained on our statement guide.
Change the amount, the markup and the years in the gold IRA fee calculator.
Augusta's "Up to 10 Years" of Paid Fees, Costed#
Augusta's FAQ says "Every account also receives up to 10 years of custodian and depository fees paid by Augusta", but not who qualifies or what ends the coverage early. At Augusta's published rates, the coverage is worth up to $2,350 ($235 x 10).
The table converts the fee coverage into points of markup.
| Balance | Coverage worth (10 x $235) | Equal to this many markup points |
|---|---|---|
| $50,000 | $2,350 | 4.7 |
| $100,000 | $2,350 | 2.35 |
| $250,000 | $2,350 | 0.94 |
The coverage is real money on small balances and small money on large ones, because the fees are flat. One markup point on $100,000 is $1,000, so a markup just 2.35 points higher than a bullion seller's cancels the whole coverage.
The wording leaves four things open. "Up to" means the coverage can run fewer than 10 years. The FAQ does not say whether the $50 setup, segregated storage or exit fees ($30, $125 and $250 at Equity Trust) are covered. It also does not say what happens if you transfer out or sell before 10 years. If segregated storage were covered at Equity Trust's $160 rate, the coverage would be worth up to $2,850, or $2,900 counting the $50 setup.
Before you rely on the coverage, ask Augusta the three questions below.
- Ask whether the coverage is written into your Transaction Agreement.
- Ask what ends it early, such as a sale, a transfer or a balance below a set amount.
- Ask whether exit fees and segregated storage are included.
Augusta at least dates the offer, while LendEDU and the JPost sponsored review print "zero" fees. How other sellers' fee waivers compare is explained on no-fee gold IRA offers.
Augusta Buyback: "Never Declined", but Not Guaranteed#
Augusta's FAQ says it "has never declined a buyback", but the same sentence adds that "the law doesn't allow any dealer to guarantee future repurchases". It also says Augusta's buyback policy "is subject to change without notice". A buyback is the dealer buying your metal back from you.
The FAQ adds three details. Augusta charges "no separate liquidation fee", and payment takes "about three weeks". A bid "can land above, near, or below melt value", meaning the value of the metal content alone.
The FAQ also describes a sale window: "that call also opens your 24-hour Highest Buyback Price Guarantee window, during which you can request cancellation if another dealer offers more."
How do you cash out a gold IRA? You sell the metal through the custodian, to Augusta or another dealer, and the cash stays in the IRA until you take a taxable distribution. Taxes and custodian steps to sell gold in your IRA are on our selling guide.
Augusta targets buyers aged 55 to 75, so required minimum distributions (RMDs) matter. An RMD is the yearly amount you must take from a traditional IRA from age 73 (born 1951-1958) or 75 (born 1960 or later), under 26 U.S.C. 401(a)(9). At 73 the IRS divisor is 26.5 (Publication 590-B), so a $100,000 metals IRA must pay out about $3,774.
You meet it by selling metal ($30 per sale at Equity Trust) or taking coins in kind ($125 plus shipping and $10). Either way, the amount is ordinary income at fair market value. A missed RMD costs 25%, or 10% if corrected in time (26 U.S.C. 4974).
Augusta's wording is more careful than Goldco's "guaranteed at the highest price", because it admits the legal limit. Five dealer contracts say the law prohibits a repurchase guarantee: American Hartford Gold (agreement, Sept. 2026), Lear Capital (terms, Dec. 2025), Preserve Gold (agreement, June 2025), Goldline and American Bullion. Money's review (April 14, 2026) agrees that Augusta "does not guarantee that it will accept your gold or silver".
The markup sets what a buyback returns. On a 1-ounce bullion coin, a fair same-day buyback loses about 5% to 7% of what you paid (SD Bullion snapshot, September 29, 2026). On a coin bought at a 30% markup, a buyback at the template bid loses about a third.
A buyback promise without a written bid method is marketing, not a price. What each contract says is on gold IRA buyback programs compared.
Augusta Products: Bullion, Low-Mintage Coins and What the IRA Rules Allow#
Augusta sells high-mintage bullion coins such as the American Gold Eagle and pricier low-mintage coins, and its FAQ says it offers gold, silver, platinum and palladium products. A proof coin is a coin with a special collector finish, and proof and low-mintage coins carry higher markups. The IRA rule for each product type is below.
- Bullion coins and bars: the American Gold Eagle is IRA-eligible by name under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A). Bars and foreign coins qualify only at gold .995, silver .999, or platinum and palladium .9995 fineness under 408(m)(3)(B).
- Low-mintage and proof coins: custodians decide which ones they accept, and the markups are higher. The CFTC calls "semi-numismatic" "a made-up industry term that really has no special meaning".
- Silver coins: the American Silver Eagle, 1 ounce only, is named in the statute.
Why the American Gold Eagle in an IRA is allowed despite .9167 purity is explained on its product page.
Augusta's FAQ uses a shortcut on eligibility: "Generally, IRS rules allow you to purchase coins minted by the US government as legal tender ..." It goes on: "... along with certain coins minted by other nations as legal tender." Legal tender is money a government issues. The real test is in 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3): named US coins, or bullion at the purity levels above.
What custodians accept for proof coins in an IRA, and the markup problem, is on our proof coin page.
Augusta's FAQ is candid about low-mintage coins. It says they "carry higher acquisition costs and their resale value depends partly on product-specific demand, not just underlying spot price". It also lists "products priced far above metal value" among warning signs to watch for.
For an IRA, ask for high-mintage 1-ounce coins or bars and the percent over spot for each.
Augusta Custodian and Depository: Equity Trust and Delaware Depository#
Augusta's FAQ names Equity Trust as the custodian it works with and the Delaware Depository as "the depository Augusta recommends", as of September 23, 2026. It lists vaults in Los Angeles, Salt Lake City, Las Vegas, Dallas and Wilmington, "among others", and says metals are "held fully allocated". Fees, insurance and audits are on our page about the Delaware Depository.
The same FAQ says: "Augusta works with an IRS-approved custodian and an IRS-compliant depository." In plain English, that label does not fit. Equity Trust is a South Dakota trust company (license TC.022-2), and the IRS list of 73 approved nonbank trustees, as of April 1, 2026, does not include it. What the law requires is that a qualified trustee holds the metal (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B)).
The Delaware Depository carries $1 billion of all-risk insurance plus $100 million of contingent cover (Delaware Depository FAQ, September 29, 2026). It pays the metal value, not the premiums you paid, and it excludes war, terrorism, cyber events and government confiscation. FDIC and SIPC insurance never cover IRA metal.
Three questions settle where your metal sits.
- May I choose another depository, and is the account titled to my IRA?
- Is segregated storage available, and at what yearly price?
- Which vault will hold my metal?
Every custodian's charter and fees are compared on gold IRA custodians.
Augusta Pros and Cons#
Augusta's six strengths are about its record and its written policies; its six weaknesses are about prices, contract access and a high entry point. The table sets the Augusta pros and cons side by side, as of September 29, 2026.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Lowest BBB complaint rate (0.7 per 100 reviews) of the ten sellers SafeOunce tracks most closely that have any complaints on file | $50,000 minimum |
| Publishes dated, flat account fees | No coin prices or markup published |
| Says in writing that the law does not allow a guaranteed buyback | Transaction Agreement not public |
| 7-day cancellation, at least for first-time premium-coin orders | Two Augusta texts disagree on who gets the 7-day cancellation |
| FAQ correctly says IRA metal cannot be stored at home and explains statement values | Fee coverage conditions not stated |
| No regulator action found | FAQ calls Equity Trust "IRS-approved" and uses a legal-tender shortcut for eligibility |
Who Augusta Suits, and Who Should Look Elsewhere#
Augusta suits a buyer moving $50,000 or more who wants plain bullion and a low complaint rate, and who gets the markup and the Transaction Agreement in writing. It does not suit anyone below Augusta's $50,000 minimum (FAQ, September 23, 2026), or anyone who would buy low-mintage coins without a written price per coin. The table gives a verdict by reader situation.
| Your situation | Verdict | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Under $50,000 | Not eligible | Below the minimum; a low-cost gold ETF in an existing IRA costs less |
| $50,000-$100,000, bullion only | Workable | Fees are 0.47% a year at $50,000 before coverage; coverage worth 4.7 markup points at $50,000 |
| $100,000 or more | Compare the markup first | Coverage is worth 2.35 points or less |
| Wants premium or low-mintage coins | Get prices in writing | Expect higher markups (CFTC: collector coins 40%-200% over spot); get the per-coin price and buyback method in writing |
| Wants the contract first | Ask before you commit | Ask for the Transaction Agreement before the confirmation call; if Augusta will not send it, walk away |
| Needs the money within 5 years | Look elsewhere | At a 20% markup, gold must rise about 31% just to break even |
For balances under $50,000, see gold IRA vs gold ETF.
Ask five questions before you commit.
- Ask the price per coin and the percent over spot for each item.
- Ask what Augusta would pay for the same coins tomorrow.
- Ask for the Transaction Agreement and invoice by email before the confirmation call.
- Ask how many days you have to cancel this order, and from when.
- Ask what ends the fee coverage early and whether exit fees are included.
The full list of 12 questions is on how to choose a gold IRA company.
How SafeOunce Rates Augusta#
SafeOunce rates Augusta on 7 criteria worth 100 points, from documents and a written price quote, and any item Augusta does not disclose scores zero. Augusta's rating is pending: three criteria worth 40 points (the measured bullion price, contract fairness and sales pressure) wait on a written quote and the Transaction Agreement. The rating card above is computed from methodology version 1.0, not written by hand.
The table lists each criterion, its points and Augusta's inputs as of September 29, 2026.
| Criterion (methodology v1.0) | Points | Augusta inputs (Sept. 29, 2026) | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 Measured bullion premium | 15 | No written quote yet for a $50,000 IRA order of 1-ounce Gold Eagles and Maple Leafs (equal to Augusta's minimum) | Test quote vs logged spot | Pending (unknown items score 0) |
| A2 Price disclosure | 10 | No prices online; spread cap unknown; FAQ says prices are "transparent, upfront, and documented" and "locked in" on the recorded call | Augusta website; test quote | Partly known |
| A3 Buyback terms | 5 | No guarantee ("the law doesn't allow"); "never declined"; policy "subject to change without notice"; no separate liquidation fee; about three weeks to pay; 24-hour cancel-the-sale window; bid method not published | Augusta FAQ | Partly known |
| B1 Published account fees | 4 | Published with a date (FAQ, Sept. 23, 2026); equal to Equity Trust's metals-only schedule | Augusta FAQ | Known |
| B2 10-year account cost at $100,000 | 4 | $2,400 at list; up to $2,350 covered by Augusta (conditions not stated); exit fees $280 at Equity Trust | Augusta FAQ; Equity Trust schedule | Partly known |
| B3 Promotions not tied to premium products | 2 | Fee coverage applies to "every account" per the FAQ; conditions not stated | Augusta FAQ | Partly known |
| C1-C4 Contract fairness | 15 | Agreement not public; cancellation texts conflict; website terms Sec. 17 arbitration and class waiver (search result); claim deadline and liability cap unknown | Agreement (requested) | Pending |
| D Regulatory and legal record | 20 | No regulator action found; two business lawsuits in court indexes, no customer case found | CFTC, SEC, FTC sites; docket aggregators | Known (court data secondary) |
| E Complaint record | 10 | 1 BBB complaint (3 years), 135 reviews; Trustpilot 1% one-star of 372 | BBB, Trustpilot | Known |
| F Product mix and sales pressure | 10 | Default recommendation for a $50,000 IRA not yet tested; low-mintage line with a 7-Day Price Protection Program; FAQ home-storage and statement answers correct; "IRS-approved custodian" and legal-tender wording incorrect | Test call; site audit | Pending |
| G Custody, delivery, disclosure | 5 | Equity Trust and Delaware Depository named; "fully allocated" storage; segregated option not stated; IRA delivery time not published | Augusta FAQ | Partly known |
Augusta triggers none of the exclusion gates (closed, sanctioned, watch) as of September 29, 2026. If it does not send a written quote and its Transaction Agreement within 10 business days of a documented request, it is listed as "Not rated: would not disclose". Weights and evidence rules are on how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.
How Does Augusta Compare With Other Gold IRA Companies?#
Augusta has the highest published minimum and the lowest complaint rate of the six sellers compared here, and like most of them it publishes account fees but no markup range. The table compares Augusta with five rivals on the same four fields, as of September 29, 2026.
| Company | IRA minimum | Account fees published | Spread range published | BBB complaints per 100 reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Augusta Precious Metals | $50,000 (Augusta FAQ) | Yes ($285, then $235; "up to 10 years" of yearly fees paid by Augusta) | No | 0.7 |
| Goldco | $25,000 | Yes ($325, then $275, segregated) | No | 4.2 |
| American Hartford Gold | Not published | No | Yes: bullion up to 19.99%; other coins up to 39.99% or 59.99% | 13.9 |
| Noble Gold | $20,000 | Yes, but two pages disagree ($80 + $275 or $50 + $285) | No | 1.2 |
| Birch Gold Group | $5,000 | About $235 a year | No | 4.0 |
| Lear Capital | Not published | No | Yes: 2%-35% | 22.1 |
Augusta and Goldco both name the vaults they use. Vault insurance and locations are compared on gold IRA depositories.
Which company is the best for a gold IRA? No company is best for everyone; SafeOunce ranks them by total cost, contract terms and legal record on best gold IRA companies.
Augusta vs Goldco and the other pairs#
Augusta's minimum is twice Goldco's ($50,000 vs $25,000), its complaint rate is far lower (0.7 vs 4.2 per 100 BBB reviews) and their yearly fees differ by $10. These figures are as of September 29, 2026. With non-segregated storage, Goldco charges $225 a year after year one ($125 + $100, Goldco cost page) against Augusta's $235. The side-by-side table is on Augusta Precious Metals vs Goldco.
Augusta appears in five other pairs.
- Augusta Precious Metals vs American Hartford Gold
- Augusta Precious Metals vs Birch Gold
- Augusta Precious Metals vs Lear Capital
- Augusta Precious Metals vs Noble Gold
- Augusta Precious Metals vs Priority Gold
Augusta's spokesman: Joe Montana#
Augusta named Hall of Fame quarterback Joe Montana a brand ambassador in February 2020 and "Augusta Gold IRA Ambassador" in July 2020, according to its own press releases. The February 14, 2020 release quotes Montana: "I'm really excited to partner with Augusta Precious Metals". It says he became a customer after his advisors chose Augusta. The releases do not say whether he is paid, and SafeOunce has not confirmed his role after 2023.
The same 2020 release calls Devlyn Steele Augusta's "Senior Economic Analyst". Who endorses which seller is tracked on celebrity gold IRA endorsements.
Does Augusta pay review sites?#
Yes: Augusta's published affiliate contract pays review sites $200 per qualified lead, plus 8% of "Premium Trade Value" and 0% on bullion. Those are the rates for its standard ("Prime") affiliates in the apmaffiliates.com terms, read September 29, 2026. Its VIP tier pays 10% on premium products and 1% on bullion. "Premium Trade Value" is "determined by Augusta", and pay may change "at any time". Its program page says, "Our ideal customer is between the ages of 55 and 75."
The pay gap is large. Assume the Premium Trade Value equals the order amount. A $100,000 order of premium coins then pays a standard affiliate $8,200, against $200 for bullion, 41 times more. At the $50,000 minimum, it is $4,200 against $200. Per new customer, Augusta's pay runs from $200 to $10,200 on $100,000, against $4 to $28 at APMEX and $25 at JM Bullion.
The program page also offers a 90-day cookie and lifetime commissions on referrals, such as a spouse. The contract limits claims to those Augusta supplies, and it bars affiliates from "any technique that generates organic or paid search results" on Augusta's name without approval.
That shows up in search. On September 29, 2026, the #4 result for "augusta precious metals reviews" is a paid GlobeNewswire release on Yahoo Finance (April 24, 2025). An affiliate marketer, "Affiliate Credo", issued it. It ranks Augusta first, and its disclaimer sits only at the bottom.
As of September 29, 2026, Augusta is one of only 2 of 12 gold IRA sellers SafeOunce checked that publish their affiliate pay with amounts. How gold IRA review sites are paid is explained on our reviews guide. SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page. To see how SafeOunce is paid, read who pays SafeOunce.
Why do free gold IRA kit sites send you to Augusta?#
The two top-ranking "free gold IRA kit" sites both rank Augusta first (Google US, September 29, 2026). One says its kit links are "fulfilled by our featured partner, Augusta Precious Metals". Augusta's own site also ranks for "free gold ira kit" in search tools. What is inside, and who calls next, is on free gold IRA kits.
Can you keep Augusta IRA gold at home?#
No: IRA bullion must be held by a trustee, and Augusta's own FAQ says gold IRA metals "generally can't be stored at home or kept in your personal possession". The law, 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B), requires the trustee's physical possession. The Tax Court applied this rule in McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021), and treated coins kept at home as taxable withdrawals. The court case is covered on home storage gold IRA.
Is Augusta Precious Metals a publicly traded company?#
No stock listing for Augusta Precious Metals was found as of September 29, 2026, and the BBB lists it as a corporation. Searches for "augusta precious metals stock" also return Augusta Gold Corp., a different company.
What is the downside of a gold IRA with Augusta?#
The main downsides are cost and entry point: $50,000 to start, $235 a year once any fee coverage ends and a markup Augusta does not publish. The minimum and fees come from Augusta's FAQ (September 23, 2026). Gold also pays no interest or dividends. At a 20% markup, gold must also rise about 31% before you break even. The general case is on gold IRA pros and cons.