A platinum IRA is an individual retirement account whose custodian buys and vaults platinum: American Platinum Eagle coins, or coins and bars at least 99.95% pure (.9995). The custodian is the trust company or bank that legally holds the account. The metal sits in its depository (a private vault), never at your home.
The tax rules match a gold IRA's, but platinum costs more to trade. A Platinum Eagle bought and sold back the same day lost 10.8% at SD Bullion on September 29, 2026, about twice what a Gold Eagle lost. So which platinum qualifies, and what does it really cost?
This guide covers the coins and bars that qualify, the 8 IRS rules, the costs, platinum's record since 1971 and 7 checks on a seller.
The table below sums up a platinum IRA in 10 facts as of September 29, 2026.
| Item | 2026 value and source |
|---|---|
| What it holds | American Platinum Eagles, which the law names, or platinum bullion (bars and coins valued for their metal) at least .9995 fine (99.95% pure); 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3) |
| Allowed since | Tax years beginning after December 31, 1997 (Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997) |
| Who holds it | A custodian; the metal is stored in a depository, never at home |
| Yearly contribution limit | $7,500; $8,600 at 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67), shared with all your IRAs |
| Moving an IRA or 401(k) | Transfers and direct rollovers (money moves straight from the old plan to the new custodian): no dollar limit and no tax. A 401(k) check paid to you has 20% held back for tax (IRC 3405(c)) |
| Dealer price over spot (the market price of pure metal), 1 oz products | 5.5% for a 1 oz bar to 11.4% for a Platinum Eagle (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026) |
| Buy and sell back the same day | Lose 8.1% on a 1 oz bar and 10.8% on a Platinum Eagle; 5.39% on a Gold Eagle (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026) |
| LBMA (London Bullion Market Association) platinum PM price, the London afternoon benchmark | $1,731.85 on September 28, 2026; record $2,811.00 on January 26, 2026 |
| Required minimum distributions (the yearly amount you must withdraw) | From age 73; 75 if born in 1960 or later |
| IRS list of approved platinum? | None exists (IRS Retirement Plan Investments FAQs) |
The 5 terms below appear throughout this guide.
| Term | Meaning |
|---|---|
| Spot price | Today's market price for one troy ounce of pure platinum |
| Troy ounce | The ounce used for precious metals: 31.1034768 grams |
| Premium | What a dealer charges above spot |
| Ask and bid | The ask is what a dealer charges you; the bid (buyback price) is what it pays you |
| Round trip | What you lose if you buy and sell back the same day: the premium plus the gap between spot and the bid |
What Is a Platinum IRA?#
A platinum IRA is an IRA whose custodian buys and holds platinum that the tax code allows, stored in a depository for you. The rule is in 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3). The tax code treats metal as a collectible, like art or stamps. If your IRA buys a collectible, the tax code treats the price as money paid out to you, and you owe tax on it (408(m)(1)).
Two exceptions let platinum in: one named U.S. coin, and bullion of high purity. The same exceptions cover gold, silver and palladium, so a platinum IRA is one kind of precious metals IRA.
A platinum IRA can be any of the 4 IRA types listed below.
- Traditional IRA: pre-tax money in, taxed withdrawals out.
- Roth IRA: taxed money in, tax-free qualified withdrawals out.
- SEP IRA (Simplified Employee Pension): for the self-employed.
- SIMPLE IRA: a small-employer plan.
An IRA that can hold assets most brokerage IRAs do not, such as bars, is a self-directed IRA; see self-directed IRA.
A specialist is not always needed: Fidelity sells the 1 oz Platinum Eagle inside its ordinary IRAs and stores it at FideliTrade in Delaware (fee schedule, September 29, 2026).
A platinum ETF (a fund that owns metal and trades like a stock), such as PPLT, is not a platinum IRA: your IRA owns fund shares, not metal.
Is "IRS-approved platinum" a real thing?#
No. The IRS publishes no list of approved platinum coins, bars, dealers or vaults. "IRS-approved platinum" is a sales phrase for platinum that meets the tax code's rules. The IRS Retirement Plan Investments FAQs say: "there is no list of approved investments for retirement plans." The correct phrase is "IRA-eligible under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)."
The IRS approves only nonbank trustees, companies allowed to hold IRAs although they are not banks (Treas. Reg. 1.408-2(e)). Its nonbank trustee list had 73 entities on April 1, 2026. Only one is a metals business: Lone Star Tangible Assets, LP, approved on November 30, 2023.
The large metals custodians are not on that list, and that is normal. They hold IRAs as trust companies supervised by a state, or as parts of banks. How to check a custodian's license (its charter) is on "IRS-approved" gold IRA custodians.
What is the history of platinum in IRAs? Allowed since 1998#
Platinum has been allowed in IRAs since January 1, 1998, when a 1997 tax law added platinum coins and bullion to the metals an IRA may own. The table below shows the 4 laws and rulings that shaped platinum IRAs.
| Year | Law or ruling | What changed for platinum |
|---|---|---|
| 1981 | Economic Recovery Tax Act of 1981 (Pub. L. 97-34) | Metals become collectibles in IRAs, for property bought after December 31, 1981 |
| 1986 | Tax Reform Act of 1986 | Gold and silver American Eagles allowed for purchases after December 31, 1986; no platinum |
| 1997 | Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997, sec. 304 (Pub. L. 105-34, approved August 5, 1997) | Platinum coins and gold, silver, platinum and palladium bullion allowed for tax years beginning after December 31, 1997 |
| 2021 | McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 | The Tax Court confirms that the trustee, not the owner, must hold IRA metal |
State coins followed in 1988, and the first Platinum Eagle came out in 1997. Gold shares this history, and the full history of gold in IRAs quotes each law.
Which Platinum Coins and Bars Are IRA-Eligible? The 2 Legal Routes#
Platinum qualifies for an IRA in 2 ways: as an American Platinum Eagle, which the law names, or as bullion at least 99.95% pure held by the custodian.
The same two-route test sorts gold, silver and palladium, and the list for all four metals shows exactly which platinum the tax code allows.
The Platinum Eagle is .9995 pure with a $100 face value (US Mint specifications, per secondary sources). The Royal Canadian Mint's 2025 page lists the Platinum Maple Leaf at "99.95% pure platinum," 31.11 grams and C$50.
A proof is a collector coin; a burnished coin has a satin finish from the Mint's West Point facility. The table below lists 12 platinum products, then 2 items that do not qualify, with SD Bullion prices from September 29, 2026. GoldStar, STRATA, Equity Trust and Fidelity are the four custodians we checked.
| Product | Purity | Route | Eligible? | Price (over spot) | Custodian notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Platinum Eagle in an IRA, 1 oz bullion | .9995 | A | Yes | $1,900.69 (11.4%) | Named by GoldStar, STRATA and Fidelity |
| American Platinum Eagle, proof | .9995 | A | Yes: named as "proof platinum coins" | $2,050.89 (20.2%) | GoldStar: ungraded, with certificate, in original packaging; STRATA accepts proofs |
| American Platinum Eagle, burnished | .9995 | Not established | Ask the custodian in writing | $2,500.89 (46.5%) | No custodian page names it |
| 1/10 oz Platinum Eagle, bullion | .9995 | A | Yes, but costly | $320.06 (87.5%) | Fractional bullion ended in 2008 (secondary sources); the premium is the problem |
| Canadian Platinum Maple Leaf, 1 oz (Canadian Platinum Maple Leaf in an IRA) | .9995 (mint) | B | Yes | $1,890.69 (10.8%) | Named by GoldStar and STRATA |
| Australian Platinum Koala | Not captured | B | Named by 2 custodians; purity not captured | No price captured | Named by GoldStar and STRATA |
| Australian Platinum Kangaroo | .9995 † | B | Yes on purity | $1,890.69 (10.8%) | On no named custodian list: ask |
| Isle of Man Platinum Noble | .9995 † | B | Yes | No price captured | Named by STRATA |
| Austrian Platinum Philharmonic, British Platinum Britannia | .9995 † | B | Yes on purity | No price captured | On no named custodian list: ask |
| 1 oz platinum bar from an accredited (exchange- or mint-approved) refiner | .9995 | B | Yes | $1,800.69 (5.5%) | Accepted as .9995 bars |
| 10 oz platinum bar | .9995 | B | Yes | $17,606.90, or $1,760.69 an ounce (3.2%) | Accepted as .9995 bars |
| 1 gram PAMP bar | .9995 | B | Yes | $94.67 (72.5%) | Legal but costly |
| Not eligible: graded ("slabbed") coins of any kind | Any | None in practice | Custodians refuse them | n/a | Refused by GoldStar and Equity Trust |
| Not eligible: rhodium, iridium, ruthenium, osmium | Any | None | No: collectibles | n/a | No route in the statute |
† Purity from secondary sources. "Yes on purity" means it meets the .9995 test, but no custodian we checked names it: ask first.
Premiums are measured against SD Bullion's spot of $1,706.80 at about 05:50 EDT on September 29, 2026. The LBMA price used elsewhere ($1,731.85, September 28, 2026) is a different series taken at a different time.
Every product, with its premium history, is in IRA-eligible platinum coins and bars.
Why must platinum be .9995 pure when gold needs only .995?#
Platinum must be .9995 pure because the tax code copies the purity rule of a futures exchange. That exchange, NYMEX (the New York Mercantile Exchange), set 99.95% platinum for delivery after October 1992. NYMEX is regulated by the CFTC (Commodity Futures Trading Commission), and its delivery grade is the purity metal needs to settle a contract.
Gold's .995 and silver's .999 come from COMEX Rules 113101 and 112101 (COMEX is the gold and silver futures exchange; CFTC filing, 2024). All three numbers, with sources, are in .9995 platinum purity requirements.
The London Platinum and Palladium Market (LPPM) also requires 99.95% for its large "Good Delivery" plates and ingots of 1 to 6 kg. GoldStar, STRATA and Equity Trust all write .9995 or 99.95%. We could not access the current rulebook of CME Group (NYMEX's owner), so the grade rests on these sources and the archived NYMEX sheet.
A futures contract settled in cash, with no metal delivered, cannot move the line. The 10 oz Coinbase Derivatives platinum contract, filed with the CFTC on January 8, 2026, sets no purity grade. The law counts only metal "which may be delivered."
Are proof Platinum Eagles allowed in an IRA?#
Yes. Proof Platinum Eagles are the one proof coin the IRA law names, because the coin law authorizes "platinum bullion coins and proof platinum coins."
GoldStar requires proofs to be "ungraded, complete with certificate of authenticity and in original mint packaging." Graded means sealed in a plastic holder with a grade.
SD Bullion charged $2,050.89 for a proof Eagle (20.2% over spot) on September 29, 2026, about $150 more than a bullion Eagle. A burnished Eagle cost $2,500.89 (46.5%); its IRA status is not established, so ask the custodian in writing. The markup problem with proof coins in an IRA has its own page.
Check the date too. According to secondary sources, no 1 oz bullion Eagle was struck in 2009-2013 or 2015. A 1 oz Eagle dated 2011 is therefore not a bullion coin: ask which version it is before paying a proof price.
Which platinum products do custodians accept?#
The American Platinum Eagle is named by three of the four custodians we checked. Their lists differ on other coins, so get a written yes before you buy. The table below shows what each custodian's own page says, read September 29, 2026.
| Custodian (page) | Platinum coins named | Bars | Proofs | Graded coins |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GoldStar Trust | Eagle, Koala, Maple Leaf | "Various bars .9995" | Ungraded, with COA (certificate of authenticity), in original mint packaging | Refused |
| STRATA Trust | "American Eagle bullion and proof coins, Australian Koala coins, Canadian Maple Leaf coins, Isle of Man Noble coins" | Not stated on the page ("Minimum 99.95% pure" for all platinum) | Accepted | Not stated |
| Equity Trust | None listed by name | "Platinum .9995+" from an accredited maker | Not stated | Refused, "including the American Eagle" |
| Fidelity (its own IRAs) | 1 oz Platinum Eagle only | "Bullion Quality Bars" | Not listed | Not listed |
Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.
The refiner rule is custodian policy, not law. Equity Trust wants bars from makers "accredited by Nymex/Comex, LME, LBMA, LPPM, TOCOM, NYSE/Liffe/CBOT, and ISO-9000 or a national mint."
The fees and charters of all gold IRA custodians are compared on one page, and the same custodians hold platinum.
Can you put rhodium or other platinum group metals in an IRA?#
No. Rhodium, iridium, ruthenium and osmium are platinum group metals, but the tax code lets only platinum and palladium from that group into an IRA. Section 408(m)(3)(B) names only "gold, silver, platinum, or palladium bullion," so the other four are collectibles in any form.
Rhodium sits with graded coins and Krugerrands among the coins and bars you cannot hold in an IRA.
What IRS Rules Apply to a Platinum IRA? 8 Rules for 2026#
A platinum IRA follows the same IRS rules as any IRA, plus 2 rules for metal. Only eligible platinum may be bought, and the custodian, not you, must hold it.
A transfer moves your IRA straight from one custodian to another. A rollover pays the money to you first and gives you 60 days to put it back. The table below lists the 8 rules for 2026 with their legal source.
| # | Rule | Source | In plain English |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Eligible platinum only | 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3); 408(m)(1) | Anything else counts as a withdrawal of its cost: the IRS collectibles rule |
| 2 | The trustee holds the metal | 408(m)(3)(B); McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021) | No home storage, not even through an LLC (a small company you set up and control) |
| 3 | Contributions are cash only | 408(a)(1); IRS Notice 2025-67 | $7,500 for 2026, $8,600 at 50 or older; you need earned income (pay from work or self-employment); 2027 limits not announced as of September 29, 2026. Moving existing savings uses transfers or rollovers instead |
| 4 | Transfers are unlimited | IRS Publication 590-A | Custodian-to-custodian moves are not rollovers: no 60-day clock, no yearly limit; see IRA to gold IRA transfer |
| 5 | One 60-day IRA-to-IRA rollover per 12 months | Bobrow; Announcement 2014-15; Estate of Caan, 161 T.C. No. 6 (2023) | The limit counts all your IRAs together. What goes back must be what came out: the same coins for coins, cash for cash |
| 6 | Withdrawals are taxed as income | IRS Publication 590-B; IRC 1(h)(4)-(5) | Traditional: ordinary income, whether you take cash or coins. Qualified Roth: tax-free. The 28% collectibles rate does not apply inside an IRA, only to metal held outside one; see gold IRA taxes |
| 7 | Required minimum distributions from 73 (75 if born 1960 or later) | 26 U.S.C. 401(a)(9); IRC 4974 | Missing one costs a 25% excise (penalty) tax on the amount not taken, or 10% if fixed in time |
| 8 | 7-day right to revoke a new IRA | Treas. Reg. 1.408-6 | Cancel within 7 days of opening for a full refund from the custodian |
Each of these IRS rules, with worked examples, is in the full gold IRA rules; they apply to platinum word for word.
Can you keep platinum IRA coins at home?#
No. IRA platinum kept at home, by you or by an LLC you control, counts as withdrawn. The U.S. Tax Court confirmed this in McNulty v. Commissioner (2021).
The same home storage rules cover gold and platinum, and the red flags are in home storage gold IRA.
Where is platinum IRA metal stored, and can it be kept separate?#
Platinum IRA metal sits in a private vault such as the Delaware Depository. Keeping your own coins apart (segregated) costs about $50 to $100 a year more, depending on the custodian. Segregated means your exact coins sit on their own shelf. Commingled means they sit with identical coins of other owners but are still allocated to you.
The main gold IRA depositories hold platinum too. The table below shows four storage schedules, read September 29, 2026.
| Custodian (schedule) | Commingled a year | Segregated a year | Extra for segregated |
|---|---|---|---|
| GoldStar Trust (GTC Rev. 01/2026) | $125 | $225 minimum | $100 or more |
| Equity Trust metals-only (Rev. 081726) | $110 | $160 | $50 |
| STRATA Trust (fee page, August 31, 2026) | $115 | $175 | $60 |
| Entrust with the Delaware Depository (Rev. 3/7/2024) | $100 | $150 | $50 |
Segregated storage at the Delaware Depository, through STRATA and Entrust, covers gold, platinum and palladium only, not silver. Which vaults offer segregated vs commingled storage for each metal has its own page.
Neither FDIC (bank deposit insurance) nor SIPC (brokerage account protection) covers IRA metal. The Delaware Depository carries $1 billion of all-risk insurance plus $100 million of backup (contingent) cover (FAQ, September 29, 2026). A claim pays metal value, not your premium, unless a higher value was declared; war, terrorism, cyber events and confiscation are excluded.
At the September 29, 2026 spot, $100,000 of platinum is 58.6 troy ounces, about 1.82 kg or 4 lb.
What happens at 73? Required minimum distributions from platinum#
From age 73 (75 if born in 1960 or later) you must withdraw a minimum amount each year. With platinum, the size of your coins and bars decides whether you can take out close to that exact amount.
This required minimum distribution (RMD) is last year's December 31 balance divided by an IRS life-expectancy factor. For people born in 1959, proposed IRS rules (REG-103529-23, not final) set 73. The gold IRA required minimum distributions rules apply to platinum unchanged.
At 75 the factor is 24.6, so a $100,000 platinum IRA owes $4,065 (IRS Publication 590-B). The table below shows three ways to take it at the LBMA platinum PM price of $1,731.85 on September 28, 2026.
| How you take a $4,065 RMD at 75 | What happens |
|---|---|
| Sell platinum inside the IRA and take cash | The dealer buys it at its bid (buyback) price, which is below spot |
| Take two 1 oz Eagles plus cash | $3,463.70 of coins plus $601.34 in cash |
| Take one 10 oz bar | $17,318.50 goes out: 4.26 times the RMD, and all of it is taxable that year |
Taking metal instead of cash is an in-kind distribution. It is taxed at its fair market value (its market price) on the day it leaves, reported on Form 1099-R (the custodian's tax form). It works like other gold IRA distributions.
The IRS lets you add up the RMDs of all your traditional IRAs and take the total from any one of them (Publication 590-B). Roth IRAs have no RMDs in your lifetime.
How Much Does a Platinum IRA Cost?#
A platinum IRA costs $215 to $656 a year in account fees on $50,000 (2026 schedules). Buying and selling back 1 oz products costs another 8% to 11%, up to twice a Gold Eagle's round trip (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026).
Sellers' contracts call the dealer's share of the round trip a "spread." A platinum IRA has the 5 cost layers listed below.
- Dealer premium: 5.5% on a 1 oz bar and 11.4% on an Eagle (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026).
- Buyback gap: paid when you sell, because the bid sits below spot.
- Custodian fees: setup and yearly fees, the same for every metal.
- Storage fees: the vault's yearly charge.
- Exit fees: charges to sell, ship coins out or close the account.
The first two layers are where platinum differs from gold. Every layer is compared in gold IRA fees. A "SafeOunce estimate" or "computation" is our own math on the dated prices and fees named.
The table below shows four published custodian fee schedules, read September 29, 2026.
| Custodian (schedule) | Setup | Annual fee | Storage: commingled / segregated | Yearly total (annual fee + commingled storage) | Close account |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GoldStar Trust (GTC Rev. 01/2026) | $50 | $90 | $125 / $225 minimum | $215 | $150 |
| Equity Trust metals-only (FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726) | $50 | $125 | $110 / $160 | $235 | $250 (plus $30 per sale) |
| STRATA Trust (fee page, August 31, 2026) | $50, waived online | $150 | $115 / $175 | $265 | $250 (plus $75 per trade) |
| Madison Trust (effective January 1, 2026) | Not captured | $556 | $100 minimum | $656 | $225 |
Fees as published on each schedule, read September 29, 2026. The same fees apply to gold, silver, platinum and palladium.
Flat fees weigh more on small accounts: Equity Trust's $125 fee plus $160 segregated storage is $285 a year, 2.85% of $10,000 but 0.29% of $100,000. Per-trade and wire charges are in gold IRA custodian fees.
What do platinum coins and bars cost over spot?#
Platinum costs 3.2% over spot for a 10 oz bar and 11.4% for a 1 oz Eagle, but 87.5% for a 1/10 oz Eagle (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026). Melt value (metal content times spot) was $1,706.80 for a 1 oz Eagle. The table below lists 7 products from the lowest premium to the highest.
| Product | Price | Over spot |
|---|---|---|
| 10 oz platinum bar | $17,606.90 ($1,760.69 an ounce) | 3.2% |
| 1 oz platinum bar | $1,800.69 | 5.5% |
| Canadian Platinum Maple Leaf, 1 oz | $1,890.69 | 10.8% |
| American Platinum Eagle, 1 oz | $1,900.69 | 11.4% |
| American Platinum Eagle, proof | $2,050.89 | 20.2% |
| 1 gram PAMP bar | $94.67 | 72.5% |
| 1/10 oz Platinum Eagle | $320.06 | 87.5% |
A bar is not always cheaper. A Valcambi 1 oz bar cost $1,910.69 (11.9% over spot) the same day, more than an Eagle, so compare the price per ounce, not the form.
Small pieces cost the most at both dealers we checked: JM Bullion's "from" prices for 1/10, 1/4 and 1/2 oz Eagles that day were 90.5%, 39.7% and 20.2% over the same spot.
The table below shows what $50,000 bought at SD Bullion on September 29, 2026, and what the dealer paid back the same day.
| $50,000 purchase | Ounces | Cost | Same-day bid | You lose |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26 Platinum Eagles | 26 | $49,417.94 (11.4% over spot) | $44,070.00 | $5,347.94 (10.8%) |
| 27 one-ounce bars | 27 | $48,618.63 (5.5%) | $44,685.00 | $3,933.63 (8.1%) |
| Two 10 oz bars plus seven 1 oz bars | 27 | $47,818.63 ($1,771.06 an ounce, 3.8%) | Not captured | Not captured |
Choosing bars over Eagles saved $1,414.31 on the round trip alone. Ten 1 oz Eagles cost $19,006.90 and one 10 oz bar $17,606.90: the same 10 oz for $1,400 (7.4%) less.
How dealers set markups and spreads is in gold IRA markups and spreads.
Why is platinum harder to sell than gold, and what rise do you need to break even?#
Platinum is harder to sell because dealers charge more and pay back less. An Eagle resold the same day lost 10.8% at SD Bullion, so platinum had to rise 12.1% to break even. The table below shows same-day round trips from SD Bullion's asks and bids on September 29, 2026.
| Product | Buy (ask) | Sell back same day (bid) | You lose | Rise needed to break even |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gold Eagle, 1 oz | $4,280.53 | $4,049.93 | 5.39% | 5.7% |
| 1 oz platinum bar | $1,800.69 | $1,655.00 | 8.1% | 8.8% |
| Platinum Eagle, 1 oz | $1,900.69 | $1,695.00 | 10.8% | 12.1% |
| Platinum Maple Leaf, 1 oz | $1,890.69 | $1,685.00 | 10.9% | 12.2% |
| Palladium Maple Leaf, 1 oz | $1,644.72 | $1,121.73 | 31.8% | 46.6% |
SD Bullion's bids come from a static sell page that may lag live prices; ask for a live quote before you trade.
Monex's prices of August 12, 2026 implied round trips of 4.88% on a Platinum Eagle and 5.86% on a 1 oz bar. Monex quotes coins in lots of 10, and its prices exclude its commission, which it does not publish, so the true cost is higher.
Test your own quote in the gold IRA break-even calculator; it works for platinum.
Premiums also move with supply. The World Platinum Investment Council's Platinum Quarterly for Q1 2026 blames "elevated platinum lease rates, which for some manufacturers made it prohibitively expensive to manufacture small bars and coins." A lease rate is what makers pay to borrow metal.
JM Bullion's Eagle premium was 19.7% on August 5, 2026, against SD Bullion's 11.4% on September 29: a hint that premiums fell, not a measure.
What does a platinum IRA cost over 10 years?#
Over 10 years, a $100,000 platinum IRA costs about $11,271 in 1 oz bars and $14,002 in Platinum Eagles, against $8,580 in Gold Eagles (2026 prices and fees). The table below shows each route after 1, 5 and 10 years at a flat platinum price.
| Account | Route | 1 year | 5 years | 10 years (share of the starting amount) | Rise needed to break even (10 years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $50,000 | 1 oz platinum bars | $4,660 | $5,800 | $7,225 (14.5%) | 15.7% |
| $50,000 | Platinum Eagles | $6,026 | $7,166 | $8,591 (17.2%) | 19.3% |
| $50,000 | High-markup seller (23.4% spread) | $14,110 | $15,250 | $16,675 (33.4%) | 45.7% |
| $100,000 | 1 oz platinum bars | $8,706 | $9,846 | $11,271 (11.3%) | 12.3% |
| $100,000 | Platinum Eagles | $11,437 | $12,577 | $14,002 (14.0%) | 15.7% |
| $100,000 | High-markup seller (23.4% spread) | $27,606 | $28,746 | $30,171 (30.2%) | 41.3% |
| $100,000 | Gold Eagles, for comparison | $6,015 | $7,155 | $8,580 (8.6%) | 9.1% |
The 23.4% rows use Lear Capital's own 2022 average spread, stated in its court-filed Chapter 11 plan (Doc 694, June 5, 2023); it is not an industry average. That spread means an instant loss of about 27% (26.99%), so the first year costs $27,606 on $100,000.
SafeOunce computation. Fees follow Equity Trust's metals-only schedule with segregated storage (FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726): $50 setup, $285 a year and $280 to sell and close. The price stays flat, fees are paid from outside the IRA, and the gold row uses a 5.4% round trip.
You can change these fee numbers in the gold IRA fee calculator.
Why does your platinum IRA statement show less than you paid?#
Your statement shows less than you paid because the custodian values platinum at the metal price. It leaves out the dealer's premium of 5% to 11% on 1 oz products. Equity Trust statements use "the previous day's metal type value ... received from third-party sources used by depositories." They exclude "any markups, commissions or premiums from the precious metals dealer."
The 26 Eagles in the $50,000 example cost $49,417.94 but held $44,376.80 of platinum at spot: 89.8% of the price. A proof bought at 20.2% over spot shows about 83% of its price at an unchanged spot (SafeOunce computation). The same gap appears on any gold IRA statement, explained there line by line.
How Has Platinum Performed Since 1971? Returns, Recessions and Drawdowns#
Platinum returned 5.3% a year from 1971 to 2025, less than gold's 9.0% and the S&P 500's 11.1%. It also swung more than either. The S&P 500 is an index of 500 large U.S. stocks. These are compound returns: the steady yearly rate that turns the start value into the end value. Volatility is how much the price swings in a typical year. The table below compares the three on 7 measures.
| Measure | Platinum | Gold | S&P 500 (with dividends) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yearly return, 1971-2025 | 5.3% | 9.0% | 11.1% |
| Yearly return, 2000-2025 | 6.4% | 11.0% | 8.0% |
| Yearly return, 2016-2025 | 9.9% | 15.2% | 14.7% |
| Volatility, 1971-2025 | 31.2% | 27.1% | 16.9% |
| Down years out of 55 | 23 | 19 | 11 |
| Best year | 2025: +143.8% | 1979: +126.5% | 1995: +37.2% |
| Worst year | 2008: -41.3% | 1981: -32.6% | 2008: -36.6% |
LBMA PM year-end prices from 1991; platinum before 1991 uses World Bank December averages. Returns before any dealer premium, IRA fees or taxes.
Every year for gold is in gold IRA returns since 1971.
A drawdown is a fall from a high, and "real" means after inflation. The 4 risk facts below come from LBMA and World Bank prices.
- Recessions: platinum rose in 1 of 8 US recessions since 1969 (+9.0% in 1973-75) and was flat in 1969-70. Each is measured on monthly average prices from the recession's first month to its last. In 2007-2009 platinum fell 18.0% while gold rose 17.7%; all eight are in gold and silver during recessions.
- Long recoveries: the March 4, 2008 LBMA peak of $2,273 was not regained until January 6, 2026, 17.8 years later. In real terms, platinum was still 51.4% below that peak on September 28, 2026.
- Deep falls: from the 2008 peak to its March 19, 2020 low of $593, platinum fell 73.9%.
- 2026: from the January 26 record of $2,811 to $1,567 on June 30, platinum fell 44.3%. At $1,731.85 on September 28, 2026 it stood 38.4% below the record and 22.2% below its 2025 year-end fixing of $2,226.00. Gold fell 23.3% and silver 48.2% from their records by the same date; compare these crashes in gold and silver crashes.
What if you had put $10,000 into platinum 20 years ago?#
$10,000 of platinum bought on September 28, 2006 was worth $15,060 at spot 20 years later. Inside a low-cost platinum IRA, after fees and dealer costs, it was worth only about $6,040. The table below follows $10,000 and $100,000 by five routes (LBMA PM prices).
| Route, September 28, 2006 to September 28, 2026 | $10,000 became | $100,000 became |
|---|---|---|
| Platinum at spot, no costs | $15,060 | $150,596 |
| Low-cost platinum IRA, 1 oz bars | About $6,040 | About $129,529 |
| Platinum IRA, Platinum Eagles | About $5,626 | About $125,368 |
| High-markup route (30% premium, sold 10% under spot) | About $2,642 | About $95,392 |
| Gold at spot, for comparison | $68,732 | About $687,300 |
SafeOunce estimate. Setup is $50. Fees of $250 a year ($285 on $100,000) are paid by selling platinum each September 28. The bid gaps of September 29, 2026 are assumed for every sale; prices are LBMA PM.
Since platinum became IRA-eligible, its record trails gold's. The table below compares both metals before costs (LBMA PM, to September 28, 2026).
| Period | Platinum | Gold |
|---|---|---|
| Price since January 2, 1998 | $367.50 to $1,731.85: 4.71 times, 5.5% a year | $288.00 to $4,144.55: 14.39 times, 9.7% a year |
| $10,000 over 10 years | $17,012 | $31,339 |
| $10,000 over 30 years | $45,130 | $108,867 |
Do platinum and gold move in opposite directions? What the correlation shows#
No. Platinum and gold usually move the same way: their yearly returns have a correlation of +0.65 since 1971. They went opposite ways in only 14 of 55 years. Correlation runs from -1 (always opposite) to +1 (always together). The table below shows it over three periods (SafeOunce computation on LBMA PM year-end prices, World Bank before 1991).
| Period | Correlation with gold | Years moving opposite |
|---|---|---|
| 1971-2025 | +0.65 | 14 of 55 |
| 1991-2025 | +0.72 | 10 of 35 |
| 2006-2025 | +0.81 | 5 of 20 |
So platinum adds little protection when gold falls. It helped in one bad year for stocks: in 2022 the S&P 500 fell 18.0% and 10-year Treasury bonds 17.8%, while gold rose 0.4% and platinum 7.5%. One year is not a pattern, and gold's correlation with stocks and bonds is covered with its limits.
Is a Platinum IRA a Good Idea? Who It Fits and How Much to Hold#
A platinum IRA fits people who already hold metals in an IRA and want a small slice of platinum bars. Below about $10,000 of platinum, its costs are too high. The table below matches 6 reader situations to what the numbers say; it is general information, not personal advice.
| Your situation | What the numbers say | Where to read next |
|---|---|---|
| You already have a gold or silver IRA and want a small platinum slice | Same account; flat fees do not change at GoldStar, Equity Trust or STRATA. Bars cost 3.2% to 5.5% over spot, Eagles 11.4% (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026). Check for asset-type fees: Entrust's own example rises from $240 to $350 a year | "Adding platinum to a gold or silver IRA" below |
| You have under about $10,000 for platinum | A $10,000 low-cost platinum IRA from 2006 to 2026 ended at about $6,040 while spot rose 50.6%. A platinum ETF such as PPLT (0.60% a year) in an IRA you already have costs far less | "Platinum IRA vs a platinum ETF" below |
| You want the named coin and a higher buyback price | 1 oz Platinum Eagle: bid 0.7% under spot against 3.0% for a bar, but about $100 more per coin (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026) | The eligible products table above |
| You may need the money within about 5 years | Round trip of 8% to 11%, and a price that fell 44.3% in five months of 2026 | "How Has Platinum Performed Since 1971?" above |
| You expect platinum to protect you in a recession | It rose in 1 of 8 US recessions since 1969 | The 4 risk facts above |
| A seller urges you to swap gold into platinum, or to move most of your savings into metals | Each swap adds a new spread. In Patterson v. Lear, a customer alleged a 62.5% loss in 14 months after a swap into platinum. The CFTC lists "Putting all your retirement savings in precious metals is safe and secure" as a lie (2024) | "Best Platinum IRA Companies" below |
The same fees, spreads and time decide whether metal pays off; the pros and cons are weighed in is a gold IRA a good investment.
How much platinum to hold has no sourced rule. An allocation is the share of your savings in one asset, and no law, regulator or study we found sets one for platinum.
The closest research is a 2017 study by Bredin, Conlon and Potì in the International Review of Financial Analysis (volume 49). It found that gold, silver and platinum reduce the risk of big losses over short periods. But silver and platinum "may result in increased long horizon portfolio risk."
For gold, 55 years of data and the research are set out in how much gold should you hold in an IRA.
Best Platinum IRA Companies: 7 Checks Before You Buy (and the Swap Warning Sign)#
No company is best for platinum in general. The best one for you is the one whose written price per ounce and buyback price sit closest to spot. SafeOunce does not rank sellers by metal, and no company can pay for its place.
September 2026 online lists of "best platinum IRA companies" ranked gold sellers without one platinum price. The record of all gold IRA companies, including those that failed, applies to platinum. Ask each seller for the 7 things below in writing.
- Get a written price per ounce and divide it by that day's spot. At SD Bullion on September 29, 2026, one 1 oz bar cost 5.5% over spot, a Valcambi bar 11.9%.
- Get the same-day buyback price. The round trip on 1 oz products was 8.1% to 10.8% there.
- Read the spread terms. American Hartford Gold's September 2026 agreement allows a bullion spread of up to 19.99%; Lear Capital's December 2025 terms say its spreads "generally range between 2% and 35%."
- Refuse fractional coins (under 1 oz) and gram bars, which cost 20% to 90% over spot.
- Ask which custodian and fee schedule you will use, and confirm it accepts your exact product.
- Read the cancellation terms: Lear allows 24 hours, American Hartford Gold 7 days for non-bullion products only. Any new IRA can be revoked (canceled for a full refund) within 7 days (Treas. Reg. 1.408-6).
- Check the CFTC, the SEC, your state regulator and court records. Read BBB (Better Business Bureau) complaint texts: 90 of a BBB grade's 100 positive points relate to complaints, not prices.
Sellers are compared on published criteria in best gold IRA companies.
In Patterson v. Lear Capital (D. Utah, 2:20-cv-251), a customer alleged he liquidated $412,340.27 of retirement savings in October 2017. He alleged $377,375 of coins became platinum bars worth about $197,000 on September 14, 2018, and about $141,527 by December 31: 62.5% less in 14 months. He also alleged he was told the contract was "just a shipping agreement."
The court's order of October 15, 2020 sent the claims to JAMS arbitration (a private judge instead of a court) and made no finding.
The New York Attorney General's 2021 petition (paragraph 62) alleged that a Lear customer was overcharged on a swap. It says he "was charged an additional 14% for the purchase of platinum," although he had been promised "no fees for this exchange." Lear settled for $6 million without admitting wrongdoing. This pitch is one of the warning signs in gold IRA scams.
Platinum IRA vs Gold, Silver and Palladium IRAs and Platinum ETFs#
A platinum IRA is one of 4 metal IRAs under the same rules. A platinum ETF held in the IRA you already have is the main low-cost alternative. The sections below compare them on returns, trading costs and fees.
Every head-to-head for gold is in gold IRA comparisons.
Is platinum a better investment than gold?#
On the record, no: from 1971 to 2025 platinum earned less than gold and swung more. Since 2015 it has also cost less than gold at every year-end, but a lower price is not a better buy. The three differences below are history, not a forecast.
- Returns: 5.3% a year against 9.0% for gold, 1971-2025.
- Swings: volatility of 31.2% against 27.1%, and 23 down years out of 55 against gold's 19.
- Price ratio: platinum cost more than gold at 38 of 55 year-ends to 2025, and both were $1,206 at the end of 2014. On September 28, 2026 gold cost 2.39 times as much ($4,144.55 vs $1,731.85, LBMA PM).
The full gold IRA guide covers the same rules for gold.
Adding platinum to a gold or silver IRA#
You can add platinum to the gold or silver IRA you already have without opening a new account. Check first whether your custodian charges more for each extra type of product (asset type).
408(m)(3) lets one IRA hold all four metals, so one account can be a silver IRA and a platinum IRA at once. Flat-fee custodians such as GoldStar and STRATA charge the same for any mix, and 1 oz or 10 oz bars keep the premium at 3.2% to 5.5%.
Platinum vs palladium in an IRA#
Platinum is cheaper to trade than palladium: a 1 oz platinum bar lost 8.1% on a round trip, a palladium bar 21.6% (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026). The table below compares the two metals on 4 points.
| Item | Platinum | Palladium |
|---|---|---|
| Named US coin | American Platinum Eagle | None (the Palladium Eagle qualifies only as bullion) |
| Minimum purity | .9995 | .9995 |
| 1 oz bar round trip (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026) | 8.1% | 21.6% |
| Volatility, 1991-2025 | 31.6% | 44.7% |
Palladium cost less per ounce: $1,219.25 against $1,731.85 for platinum (LBMA PM, September 28, 2026). Why palladium costs the most to trade is in palladium IRA.
Platinum IRA vs a platinum ETF in the IRA you already have#
A platinum ETF such as PPLT, held in the IRA you already have, costs about $5,841 over 10 years on $100,000. Platinum bars in a platinum IRA cost $11,271, but with the ETF you own fund shares, not metal.
PPLT (the fund's stock symbol) is a grantor trust, a fund that simply holds metal, vaulted by ICBC Standard Bank Plc in London or Zurich. Its expense ratio (the yearly fee taken from the fund) is 0.60% (10-K for 2025).
| Route ($100,000, 10 years, flat price) | 10-year cost | What you own |
|---|---|---|
| PPLT in an IRA you already have (0.60% a year, taken from a balance that shrinks slightly each year) | About $5,841, before the fund's trading spread | Fund shares |
| Platinum IRA, 1 oz bars | $11,271 | Physical platinum |
| Platinum IRA, Platinum Eagles | $14,002 | Physical platinum |
A flat $285 a year costs less than 0.60% only on balances above $47,500, and even then the dealer round trip usually decides. The cost math for gold is in gold IRA vs gold ETF.
Outside an IRA, PPLT gains are taxed as collectibles, at up to 28%. Its palladium twin, PALL, also charges 0.60%.
Every physical metal fund is listed in ETFs for your IRA.
Platinum IRA frequently asked questions#
The 9 short answers below cover opening, funding and costs.
How do you open a platinum IRA?#
You open a platinum IRA like a gold IRA: pick a custodian that accepts platinum, fund it by transfer or rollover, then choose a dealer and products. Setup costs $0 to $50 (2026 schedules), and it takes about 2 to 6 weeks (SafeOunce estimate). See how to open a gold IRA.
Can you roll over a 401(k) into a platinum IRA?#
Yes. A direct rollover from a 401(k) to a custodian that holds platinum is not taxed. A check paid to you has 20% held back for federal tax (IRC 3405(c)). 401(k) plans rarely hold coins, so the money moves to an IRA first; see gold IRA rollover.
| Way to move money | Tax | Limit |
|---|---|---|
| Transfer, IRA custodian to IRA custodian | None | No 60-day clock, no yearly limit |
| Direct rollover, 401(k) to IRA custodian | None | No dollar limit |
| 401(k) check paid to you | 20% held back (IRC 3405(c)) | n/a |
| 60-day IRA-to-IRA rollover | None if completed in 60 days | One per 12 months across all your IRAs |
Can you hold platinum in a Roth IRA?#
Yes. A Roth IRA can hold IRA-eligible platinum, and qualified withdrawals, in cash or coins, are tax-free. Qualified means 5 tax years since your first Roth contribution or conversion, plus age 59 1/2, disability, death or a first home (up to $10,000) (26 U.S.C. 408A(d)(2)). More in Roth gold IRA.
Can you contribute platinum you already own to an IRA?#
No. IRA contributions must be cash (408(a)(1)), so platinum you own must be sold and the cash contributed within the yearly limit. Selling your coins to your own IRA is a prohibited transaction, a deal the law bans (26 U.S.C. 4975). See gold IRA contribution limits.
How much money do you need to start a platinum IRA?#
The IRS sets no minimum, but fixed fees of about $215 to $656 a year make a platinum IRA costly below about $10,000. Among companies we checked that publish one, minimums ran from $5,000 (Birch Gold) to $25,000 (Goldco) as of September 29, 2026. Some publish none. Every company is in how much money you need to start a gold IRA.
Can you buy platinum in a Fidelity IRA?#
Yes. Fidelity sells the 1 oz American Platinum Eagle and bullion bars inside its traditional, Roth, rollover, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs. The table below shows its charges from the fee schedule (SafeOunce earns nothing from this link.) (FA-FEES-0926, September 29, 2026). More on Fidelity gold IRA.
| Fidelity charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Commission to buy | 2.90% to 0.99% |
| Commission to sell | 2.00% to 0.75% |
| Minimum commission | $44 |
| Storage | 0.125% a quarter (0.5% a year), $3.75 minimum |
| IRA minimum purchase | $1,000 |
Should you swap your gold for platinum inside your IRA?#
A swap adds a second dealer cost: you sell gold at the dealer's bid and buy platinum at its ask. At SD Bullion on September 29, 2026, that locked in gold's 5.39% round trip and started platinum's 8.1% to 10.8%. See how to sell gold in your IRA.
What will platinum be worth in 5 years?#
Nobody knows, and SafeOunce publishes no forecasts. In the 5 years to September 28, 2026, the LBMA platinum PM price ranged from $831 on July 14, 2022 to $2,811 on January 26, 2026. That is the past, not a guide.
What do spot price, premium and round trip mean?#
Spot is today's market price for one troy ounce (31.1034768 grams) of pure platinum, and the premium is what you pay above it. The round trip is what you lose buying and selling back the same day. More terms are in the precious metals IRA glossary.