SafeOunce
Guide

Gold IRA Comparisons: Companies Head to Head and Gold IRAs vs the Alternatives (39 Comparisons, 2026)

8 gold IRA companies and 6 dealers compared on the same dated facts (minimums, fees, spread caps, contracts, records), plus 13 alternatives in dollars.

  • Reviewed
  • 64 sources
  • 44 min read

Key takeaways

  • On the same 5 written facts, the 8 best-known gold IRA companies differ most in what they leave out: 4 publish fees, 2 publish spreads, and none publishes both.
  • Bullion dealers post prices but rarely IRA terms, and buying $100,000 of gold through a low-spread dealer can cost about $16,900 less than paying a 20% spread.
  • For most savers a low-cost gold ETF inside an existing IRA is the cheapest way to own gold, and a gold IRA fits mainly when owning physical metal matters.
  • Start with the comparison that matches your situation: small balances point to ETFs, large 401(k) rollovers point to company and dealer matchups, and income needs point to Treasuries.
  • Compare gold IRA offers by getting a written price and buyback price for the same coin on the same day, then adding 10 years of fees and reading the contract.

Gold IRA comparisons only work when every seller is measured on the same written facts, and on those facts none of the 8 companies here publishes both fees and markup. The markup hides in the spread: the part of your price above what the metal cost the dealer. So how do you compare what sellers leave out, and is a gold IRA even the cheapest way to own gold for retirement?

This page sets 8 gold IRA companies and 6 bullion dealers side by side on the same dated facts. Bullion means plain coins and bars priced by their metal content. The page also lists 26 company matchups and weighs a gold IRA against 13 alternatives in dollars.

Holding $100,000 of gold for 10 years costs about $936 to $1,035 in a low-cost gold ETF, a fund that holds gold bars and trades like a stock. It costs $6,341 in a low-cost gold IRA.

Not sure you want a gold IRA at all? Start with the alternatives.

A gold IRA company is a dealer: it sells you coins and bars an IRA may hold under 26 U.S.C. 408(m), and it sets up the account. It is not the custodian, the bank or trust company that holds your IRA and keeps its records. Every comparison here belongs to SafeOunce's guide to the precious metals IRA, and no company can pay for its place.

The table below sums up this page in 10 rows.

Item Value and source (as of September 29, 2026)
Gold IRA companies compared on the same facts 8: Augusta Precious Metals, Goldco, American Hartford Gold, Birch Gold Group, Noble Gold Investments, Lear Capital, Priority Gold, Goldline
Bullion dealers compared for IRA use 6: APMEX, JM Bullion, SD Bullion, Monex, U.S. Gold Bureau, Texas Precious Metals
Companies that publish account fees 4 of 8 (Augusta, Goldco, Birch, Noble)
Companies that publish a spread range 2 of 8: American Hartford Gold and Lear Capital
Widest published spread cap (the most the contract allows) Up to 59.99% for "limited numismatic" collector coins (American Hartford Gold agreement, September 2026)
Lowest published IRA minimum among the 8 $5,000 (Birch Gold Group FAQ)
Cheapest way to hold $100,000 of gold in a retirement account for 10 years About $936 (IAUM, with its fee waiver to June 30, 2027) to $1,035 (GLDM) in a low-cost gold ETF inside an existing IRA, vs $6,341 in a low-cost gold IRA
Pages in this section 26 company matchups and 13 alternatives; 3 pages are online today, the rest go online over the next 30 days
Overall winner None named: no company has a SafeOunce score yet
Can a company pay for its place here? No. The order and every fact follow the documents

How Do Gold IRA Companies Compare? 8 Companies Side by Side#

On the same 5 written facts, the 8 best-known gold IRA companies differ most in what they leave out: 4 publish fees, 2 publish spreads, and none publishes both. Where published, IRA minimums run from $5,000 to $50,000. The table below shows which facts each company prints, so you can check them before you call.

These 8 gold IRA companies are the names most buyers meet in ads and search results. Every one of the gold IRA companies we track, including those that failed, has its own review, linked from its name in the table.

Four terms help with the table. The IRA minimum is the smallest account the company will open. Account fees are the setup fee plus yearly fees for the custodian and for storage in a vault (the depository), set by the custodian's fee schedule. The cancellation window is how long you have to cancel a metals order, and arbitration means a private judge, not a court, hears a dispute.

Company IRA minimum Account fees Spread range Cancellation window Disputes and claim deadline
Augusta Precious Metals $50,000 (Augusta FAQ, updated Sept 23, 2026) $50 setup; $285 year one, $235 after; "up to 10 years" of custodian and depository fees paid by Augusta, conditions not stated (FAQ) Not published Up to 7 calendar days after the transaction is confirmed, all transactions (FAQ) Agreement not public (its old agreement page says "This form is no longer available")
Goldco $25,000 (goldco.com FAQ and cost page) $50 setup; $125 a year; storage $100 non-segregated or $150 segregated (cost article, updated Feb 2025) Not published Not published Customer agreement not public
American Hartford Gold Not published Not published Bullion 1.00% to 19.99%; "exclusive" and semi-numismatic up to 39.99%; limited numismatic up to 59.99% (agreement, Sept 2026) 7 days, non-bullion orders only Arbitration by JAMS (a private arbitration company) at the nearest office; claims within 1 year
Birch Gold Group $5,000 (FAQ) $50 setup; about $235 a year (about $125 + $110); first-year fees paid on accounts over $50,000 (FAQ) Not published Not published (returns only for counterfeit coins within 90 days) JAMS, Des Moines; costs split 50/50, but JAMS consumer rules cap your filing fee at $250 where they apply; confidential
Noble Gold Investments $20,000 (IRA) Two Noble pages disagree: $80 setup + $275 a year (support FAQ) or $50 setup + $285 a year (gold IRA page) Not published Not published Not published
Lear Capital Not published Not published 2% to 35% of the quoted price (terms, Dec 2025); Lear's own 2022 average 23.4%, highest 33% (its bankruptcy plan filed in court, Doc 694, June 5, 2023) 24 hours after the invoice (longer in some states) JAMS, Los Angeles; 30 days to opt out in writing, but Lear may then cancel the sale; claims within 1 year + 1 day
Priority Gold Not published ("minimum qualifying investment") Not published Not published; collector coins held 60 months or more can be sold for you on consignment for an 18% fee 3 business days to 8 days, by state; returns only for counterfeit coins within 90 days Not published
Goldline Not published Not published Spread formula, no ranges (Account Agreement Ver. 20220601) 7 calendar days, first order only JAMS mediation, then confidential arbitration in Los Angeles; 1-year claim bar

Read on each company's own pages and agreements, September 29, 2026 (Augusta FAQ updated September 23, 2026; Goldline agreement version June 2022, the latest readable). "Not published" means we could not find it on the company's public pages.

In the spread column, numismatic and semi-numismatic coins are collector coins priced above their metal value. Lear's 23.4% is Lear Capital's own 2022 average, stated in its court-filed Chapter 11 plan; it is not an industry average.

Three of the 8 name a custodian on the pages SafeOunce read, and the table below lists them.

Company Custodian and vault named (as of September 29, 2026)
Augusta Precious Metals Equity Trust; Delaware Depository is "the depository Augusta recommends" (FAQ, September 23, 2026)
Birch Gold Group Equity Trust and GoldStar Trust; vaults Delaware, Brink's, Texas Precious Metals Depository, IDS and Texas Bullion Depository
Noble Gold Investments Equity Trust (Equity Institutional); IDS, segregated storage only
Goldline None named in its 2022 Account Agreement
Goldco, American Hartford Gold, Lear Capital, Priority Gold Not confirmed by SafeOunce; ask in writing (step 5 below)

Two company pages conflict with IRS rules as of September 29, 2026. Noble's gold IRA page offers to "store your gold at home," but IRA metal must stay with a trustee (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B)). Birch's IRA page says required withdrawals start at 72; the age is 73 for people born 1951 to 1958.

Ranking pages also feature 7 other sellers; the table below shows what each one publishes.

Other seller on ranking pages What its own pages and agreements show (as of September 29, 2026)
Allegiance Gold $10,000 minimum as reported by Money.com (September 2026); fees "typical" $225 to $275 a year; custodian STRATA Trust; no spread published; all sales final except a 15-day replacement; BBB 0 complaints / 90 reviews
Preserve Gold Spread caps: bullion up to 20%, IRA transactions generally up to 34.99% (agreement, June 2025); 24 hours to cancel; JAMS; claims within 1 year + 1 day; BBB 2 / 123 (1.6 per 100 reviews)
GoldenCrest Metals $10,000 minimum (homepage); no spreads published; custodian Entrust; AAA arbitration and a 1-year claim limit (website terms)
American Bullion Spread typically 7% to 23% (agreement, October 2024), the only operating seller found that publishes both fees and a spread range; STRATA plans $160 to $275 a year; JAMS, with JAMS consumer standards stated not to apply
Advantage Gold Custodian STRATA Trust: $150 a year + $115 commingled or $175 segregated storage + $40 per purchase or sale (STRATA fee page updated August 31, 2026); AAA consumer rules with a 30-day opt-out; cancelling after confirmation costs market loss plus a fee; spreads not published
Orion Metal Exchange Posts live prices: 1 oz Gold Eagle 5.90% and 1 oz Proof Eagle 13.38% over spot ($4,143.60) on September 29, 2026 (one snapshot); custodian not named; AAA arbitration, no opt-out
Patriot Gold Group Minimum not published; advertises "No Fees for Life on Qualifying IRAs" (qualifying amount not published); its About page offers help "keeping their gold metals at home" (fine for metal owned outside an IRA, never for IRA metal)

Which costs do gold IRA companies publish, and which do they leave out?#

Four of the 8 companies publish account fees and 2 publish a spread range, but none publishes both, so no page here can give one company's full price. SafeOunce checked 15 sellers still in business. Only one, American Bullion, publishes both: its October 2024 agreement puts the spread at typically 7% to 23%. The 5 cost layers of a gold IRA are listed below, largest first on $100,000 held 10 years.

  • Dealer spread: the part of your price above what the metal cost the dealer.
  • Buyback gap: when you sell back, the dealer pays its bid, which sits below its own cost. A worked example in Lear Capital's terms (December 2025) and Preserve Gold's agreement (June 2025) puts the bid at $30.50 on a $32 cost. That is about 95.31%, a gap of about 4.69%.
  • Yearly custodian and storage fees: $235 to $285 a year on Equity Trust's metals-only schedule (Rev. 081726).
  • Exit fees: $30 per sale, $125 per in-kind distribution (taking the coins out instead of cash) and $250 to close the account (same schedule).
  • Setup fee: a one-time charge, usually $50.

Most companies print only their account fees, not the spread or the buyback gap. Every layer, for every company and custodian, is compared in gold IRA fees.

Break even is the rise gold needs before you get back what you paid. The table below shows that rise, and the day-one value of $100,000, at each published spread.

Spread Whose document Worth at the dealer's bid on day one Rise gold needs to break even
5% Low end of the CFTC's 5% to 10% bullion range (2020) $90,547 10.4%
19.99% American Hartford Gold's bullion cap (Sept 2026) $76,260 31.1%
23.4% Lear Capital's own 2022 average (Chapter 11 plan, 2023) $73,009 37.0%
35% Lear Capital's cap (terms, Dec 2025) $61,953 61.4%
39.99% American Hartford Gold "exclusive" coin cap (Sept 2026) $57,197 74.8%
59.99% American Hartford Gold limited numismatic cap (Sept 2026) $38,135 162.2%

Assumes a dealer bid of 95.31% of its cost (the Lear and Preserve Gold worked example), a flat gold price and no account fees.

Markups and spreads, not yearly fees, cause most of that loss. Why the spread is the largest cost is explained in gold IRA markups and spreads.

Spot is the market price of pure metal. On August 4, 2020, the CFTC, the federal commodities regulator, said bullion usually sells 5% to 10% over spot and collector coins 40% to 200% over spot. In fraud cases it has seen spreads of "30 to 300 percent or more" (2024).

Yearly fees are easier to see, so many offers target them.

How do their contracts compare on cancelling, selling back and disputes?#

Cancellation windows run from 24 hours at Lear Capital to 8 days in some states at Priority Gold, and no contract SafeOunce read promises a set buyback price. Every live agreement SafeOunce read also sends disputes to private arbitration. Goldco, Birch and Noble publish no cancellation window. The 3 contract terms that matter most are listed below.

  • Cancelling: Lear allows 24 hours after the invoice (terms, December 2025). American Hartford Gold allows 7 days on non-bullion orders only, and Goldline 7 calendar days on a first order only (2022 agreement).
  • Selling back: Lear's terms say it pays the highest bid on a wholesaler list, which sits below the wholesale asking price. You get that day's bid, not a fixed price.
  • Disputes: your filing fee is capped at $225 with the AAA (American Arbitration Association) or $250 with JAMS. The claim deadline, the last day you can bring a dispute, is 1 year at American Hartford Gold and Goldline and 1 year plus 1 day at Lear. Lear lets you opt out of arbitration within 30 days by written notice, which keeps your right to go to court, but Lear may then cancel the sale.

Contracts also change. American Hartford Gold's 2023 agreement (V323) capped numismatic and IRA spreads at 34.99%. Its September 2026 version allows up to 59.99% on limited numismatic coins and narrows the 7-day window to non-bullion orders. Ask for the version and date of the agreement you sign; every clause, company by company, is in gold IRA company contracts compared.

American Hartford Gold's agreement (SafeOunce earns nothing from this link.) (September 2026) says: "applicable laws currently prohibit AHG from guaranteeing to repurchase" its metal.

A separate federal rule lets you cancel the new IRA account itself. Under Treas. Reg. 1.408-6, you have at least 7 days to revoke a new IRA. The refund comes "without adjustment for such items as sales commissions, administrative expenses or fluctuation in market value."

How to cancel a gold IRA in writing, and which clock applies, is explained step by step.

What do complaints and court records show?#

BBB complaints per 100 reviews range from 0.7 at Augusta to 22.1 at Lear Capital, and Lear has paid the most in public cases: $14.25 million, with no admission. The BBB is the Better Business Bureau. A consent order, also called a consent decree, is a settlement a court or agency signs, often with no admission of wrongdoing, and restitution is money paid back to customers. The table below lists each company's BBB count, Trustpilot score and the records SafeOunce found.

Company BBB complaints closed in 3 years / BBB reviews Per 100 reviews Trustpilot stars (reviews) Court or regulator record (dated)
Lear Capital 33 / 149 22.1 4.7 (3,282) 3 settlements, $14.25 million in all, no admission (listed below). Chapter 11 case 22-10165 (D. Del., filed March 2, 2022); Lear emerged and operates
American Hartford Gold 111 / 798 13.9 4.8 (1,901) Mathys v. The Hartford Gold Group (N.D. Ill. 20 C 3927) alleges an 83-year-old paid $604,331.83 for metal; the court sent the case to private arbitration on December 7, 2020. No regulator action found
Priority Gold 38 / 641 5.9 4.9 (380) Not BBB accredited. No case found (limited search)
Goldco 72 / 1,710 4.2 4.4 (1,790) Summerton v. Goldco Direct LLC (W.D. Wis. 3:23-cv-00238): alleged texts to about 19,280 people after they replied "STOP"; $2,000,000 settlement fund, final approval March 26, 2026; Goldco denies wrongdoing. No regulator action found
Birch Gold Group 9 / 227 4.0 4.7 (326) No customer or regulator case found (Birch is the plaintiff in a 2025 trademark suit)
Noble Gold Investments 3 / 242 1.2 4.9 (796) No customer or regulator case found (Noble was a plaintiff in Golden Bull v. Elliott, dismissed September 5, 2023)
Augusta Precious Metals 1 / 135 0.7 4.8 (371) No customer-fraud or regulator case found (two business disputes on court-record websites)
Goldline No BBB profile found n/a 4.9 (9,707) CFTC order (September 22, 2022, release 8588-22) over its Collateral Finance Program, which lent customers money against their coins (about April 2018 to July 2019): over 230 customers, $627,801.78 restitution + $450,000 penalty

BBB counts and Trustpilot scores as of September 29, 2026; they change daily.

Lear's $14.25 million came from 3 sources, listed below.

  • New York Attorney General: a $6 million consent decree (about December 30, 2021, announced January 3, 2022).
  • Los Angeles City Attorney: $2.75 million (December 30, 2021).
  • Bankruptcy customer fund: $5.5 million (plan confirmed June 12, 2023). It refunded the spread a customer paid minus 12 points, shared in proportion to each claim, so Lear kept at least the first 12 points of markup.

Star ratings do not separate these sellers. Every one with a Trustpilot score sits between 4.4 and 4.9 stars, while BBB complaint density varies more than 30 times. Trustpilot also shows that 4 of them (Augusta, Noble, Lear and Priority) invite customers to review.

The BBB links 90 of its 100 grade points to complaints, including 15 for how many a company gets. It does not score reviews, and companies pay to be BBB accredited. Complaint counts also rise as a company sells more, and "per 100 reviews" is SafeOunce's own ratio, not a BBB measure.

Court records and regulator enforcement actions weigh more than any score. The 38 government actions filed since 2010 are tracked in precious metals IRA enforcement actions.

"No regulator action found" means SafeOunce found none in the CFTC, SEC and court records it searched by September 29, 2026. It is not a clean bill of health. Do not count on your custodian to catch a high price either: custodians do not check what dealers charge (SEC Initial Decision 1030, June 27, 2016).

Why do these comparisons name no overall winner?#

SafeOunce names no overall winner between two companies until both have a SafeOunce score, and a score needs documents most gold IRA companies do not publish. A winner picked from marketing pages would reward the companies that disclose least.

SafeOunce rates companies with one public method: 7 criteria worth 100 points in all. Price carries 30 of them because the spread is the largest cost, and a missing document scores 0. A company that does not answer within 10 business days is marked "Not rated: would not disclose." The 7 criteria and the document rule are in how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.

As of September 29, 2026, no company has a score yet, so each head-to-head ends with a verdict by situation, not a winner.

Until scores exist, the best gold IRA companies page orders companies by what they disclose and their legal record.

How Do Bullion Dealers Compare for a Gold IRA? 6 Dealers Side by Side#

Bullion dealers post prices but rarely IRA terms, and buying $100,000 of gold through a low-spread dealer can cost about $16,900 less than paying a 20% spread. A dealer's bid/ask is its pair of prices: the ask is what you pay, and the bid is what it pays you. A round trip means buying and selling back the same day, so it measures the full spread. Market loss is the drop in price you pay if you cancel an order.

Price is the easy part to check. On the morning of September 29, 2026, the same 1 oz Gold Eagle cost $4,259.61 at Blanchard and $4,508.06 at Texas Precious Metals, a gap of $248.45 (5.8%).

IRA terms are harder to find. Three of the 6 dealers name a custodian, and only APMEX publishes an IRA minimum ($2,000). The first table below shows IRA terms as of September 29, 2026, unless another date is shown.

Dealer Owner IRA custodian named IRA minimum Cancellation cost
APMEX Not verified (a 2023 investment by MKS PAMP, a metals group; stake not disclosed) Equity Trust $2,000 IRA purchase; $1,000 sell-back minimum (archived page, Aug 17, 2026) Not captured
JM Bullion Gold.com (100% since 2021) New Direction Trust Company None ($100 on any order) No cancellation after confirmation; "Market Loss Fee" on any default
SD Bullion Independent (per BBB) Not named (a "3-in-1" IRA with its own SD Depository) "Call" Not captured
Monex Gold.com (since Jan 2, 2026) Not named Not published Not published; Monex may cancel up to 10 business days after acceptance
U.S. Gold Bureau Lone Star Tangible Assets (on the IRS list of non-bank IRA trustees since Nov 30, 2023; runs the Texas Bullion Depository) Not named on IRA pages Not published Market loss + $50
Texas Precious Metals Not verified GoldStar, Digital Trust, STRATA, Horizon Trust Not published Market loss + $350

The second table shows prices and records for the same 6 dealers.

Dealer Prices online? Round trip or price test BBB complaints (3 yrs) / reviews Record
APMEX Yes Not tested 266 / 214 No regulator action found
JM Bullion Yes Not tested 195 / 596 No regulator action found; its IRA FAQ still calls First State Depository safe, although that vault company failed
SD Bullion Yes 1 oz Gold Eagle round trip 5.39% (ask $4,280.53, bid $4,049.93, Sept 29, 2026) 104 / 608 Vickery false-advertising suit: allegations, pending as of the January 2026 order
Monex Posts both buy and sell prices; commissions not published Gold Eagle 3.92% before commission (Aug 12, 2026) 2 / 0 CFTC consent order entered Dec 19, 2022, announced Dec 21, 2022: $33 million restitution + $5 million penalty over Atlas accounts that let customers buy metal with borrowed money, not IRAs; no admission
U.S. Gold Bureau No ("Call For Prices") Not tested 18 / 15 Mugg v. Hutmacher: the case was dropped by agreement in 2019, with no finding of fault
Texas Precious Metals Yes Gold Eagle $4,508.06, 8.68% above the $4,148.10 spot bid shown by Kitco, a metals price website, that morning: highest in the test (lowest: Blanchard, +2.69%) 0 complaints Trademark disputes only (preliminary injunction denied May 26, 2026); no regulator action found

Prices are single-day snapshots (SD Bullion and Texas Precious Metals on September 29, 2026; Monex on August 12, 2026). BBB counts as of September 29, 2026.

The table below compares the two routes for $100,000 in 1 oz Gold Eagles over 10 years at a flat gold price.

Route What it costs Share of $100,000
Dealer route (Monex bid/ask, Aug 12, 2026, plus Equity Trust segregated fees) About $6,842 over 10 years 6.8%
Gold IRA company route at a 20% spread (bid at 95.31% of dealer cost) $23,750 lost on day one, even with every fee waived 23.8%
Gap About $16,900

Monex does not publish its commissions, so the real dealer cost is at least $6,842 and probably more.

Sometimes one group of companies can sell the metal, act as IRA trustee and run the vault. U.S. Gold Bureau sells; its parent, Lone Star Tangible Assets, has been on the IRS list of non-bank IRA trustees since November 30, 2023 and runs the Texas Bullion Depository. That is legal, but ask who sets the price and who checks it. Dealer-owned vaults, such as SD Depository and the Texas Precious Metals Depository, are not independent of the seller.

Which Gold IRA Company Head-to-Heads Can You Read? 26 Matchups#

SafeOunce compares 26 pairs of gold IRA companies and dealers on the same dated fields, and the table below names the one fact that separates each pair. Find your pair, read the deciding fact, then open the full matchup.

Pairs 1 to 22 set gold IRA companies against each other, and pairs 23 to 26 set bullion dealers against each other. Goldline, JM Bullion and Monex all belong to one company, Gold.com, Inc. (NYSE: GOLD), formerly A-Mark. So 4 rows compare a Gold.com brand with another seller.

The table below lists all 26 matchups; facts are as of September 29, 2026 unless another date is shown.

# Matchup The fact that separates them Online from
1 Augusta Precious Metals vs Goldco Minimum $50,000 (Augusta FAQ) vs $25,000; account fees after year one $235 vs $225 non-segregated Launch + 23 days
2 Augusta Precious Metals vs American Hartford Gold Augusta publishes fees but no spreads; AHG publishes spread caps (bullion up to 19.99%) but no fees; 0.7 vs 13.9 BBB complaints per 100 reviews Launch + 17 days
3 Augusta Precious Metals vs Birch Gold $50,000 vs $5,000 minimum; both quote about $235 a year after year one Launch + 28 days
4 Augusta Precious Metals vs Noble Gold $50,000 vs $20,000 minimum; Noble's two fee pages disagree ($275 or $285 a year) Launch + 29 days
5 Augusta Precious Metals vs Lear Capital Up to 7 calendar days vs 24 hours to cancel; Lear's $14.25 million in public settlements and a bankruptcy fund, no admission Launch + 28 days
6 Augusta Precious Metals vs Priority Gold Augusta: "no separate liquidation fee" (FAQ); Priority: 18% consignment fee on collector coins after 60 months Launch + 29 days
7 Goldco vs American Hartford Gold Goldco publishes fees, not spreads; AHG publishes spread caps up to 59.99%, not fees; 4.2 vs 13.9 complaints per 100 reviews Launch + 23 days
8 Goldco vs Birch Gold $25,000 vs $5,000 minimum; both publish account fees Launch + 30 days
9 Goldco vs Noble Gold $25,000 vs $20,000 minimum; Noble stores segregated only Launch + 23 days
10 Goldco vs Lear Capital No published cancellation window vs 24 hours; Lear publishes a 2% to 35% spread range Launch + 22 days
11 Goldco vs Priority Gold Goldco publishes its minimum and fees; Priority publishes neither but gives 3 business days to 8 days to cancel Launch + 28 days
12 American Hartford Gold vs Birch Gold AHG publishes spread caps up to 59.99%, no minimum; Birch publishes a $5,000 minimum, no spreads Launch + 29 days
13 American Hartford Gold vs Noble Gold 13.9 vs 1.2 BBB complaints per 100 reviews Launch + 29 days
14 American Hartford Gold vs Lear Capital The only two of the 8 that publish spread ranges: bullion 1.00% to 19.99% vs 2% to 35% Launch + 26 days
15 American Hartford Gold vs Priority Gold 7 days, non-bullion only vs 3 business days to 8 days by state Launch + 30 days
16 Birch Gold vs Noble Gold $5,000 vs $20,000 minimum; about $235 vs $275 or $285 a year Launch + 19 days
17 Birch Gold vs Lear Capital Confidential JAMS arbitration in Des Moines vs JAMS Los Angeles with a 30-day opt-out that lets Lear cancel the sale Launch + 23 days
18 Birch Gold vs Priority Gold Birch publishes its minimum and fees, Priority neither; both take returns only for counterfeit coins within 90 days Launch + 30 days
19 Noble Gold vs Lear Capital Noble publishes flat fees (two versions); Lear publishes a spread range and a net profit margin (share of sales left as profit) of 2.51% to 2.77% (2020-2021, bankruptcy filings) Launch + 30 days
20 Noble Gold vs Priority Gold 1.2 vs 5.9 complaints per 100 reviews; Priority is not BBB accredited Launch + 29 days
21 Lear Capital vs Priority Gold 24 hours vs 3 business days to 8 days to cancel Launch + 30 days
22 Lear Capital vs Goldline 24 hours vs 7 days (first order only) to cancel; claims 1 year + 1 day vs 1 year; Goldline is owned by Gold.com Launch + 23 days
23 APMEX vs Monex APMEX names Equity Trust and a $2,000 IRA minimum; Monex posts buy and sell prices (Gold Eagle 3.92% before commission, Aug 12, 2026) and settled a 2022 CFTC case over borrowed-money accounts, not IRAs Launch + 20 days
24 APMEX vs JM Bullion Equity Trust and $2,000 vs New Direction Trust Company and a $100 order minimum; JM Bullion is owned by Gold.com Launch + 5 days
25 JM Bullion vs SD Bullion Gold.com vaults vs SD Bullion's own SD Depository; SD Bullion Gold Eagle round trip 5.39% Launch + 2 days
26 U.S. Gold Bureau vs Texas Precious Metals Cancelling costs market loss + $50 vs + $350; USGB posts no prices; TPM's Gold Eagle was 8.68% above the spot bid Launch + 30 days

How Does a Gold IRA Compare With the Alternatives? 13 Comparisons#

For most savers a low-cost gold ETF inside an existing IRA is the cheapest way to own gold, and a gold IRA fits mainly when owning physical metal matters. An IRA can own shares of a gold trust fund, and the shares do not count as a "collectible." The IRS took that view in a 2007 private letter ruling, a ruling written for one taxpayer (PLR 200732026).

A gold IRA holds the coins or bars themselves, through a custodian and a vault. Named U.S. coins such as the Gold Eagle (.9167) qualify by name. Other bullion must be at least .995 fine for gold, .999 for silver and .9995 for platinum and palladium (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)). The IRS keeps no list of approved coins. What a gold IRA is, and the IRS rules it follows, is covered on its own page.

The 13 alternatives fall into 4 types, shown in the table's Type column: other ways to own metal, other accounts, another kind of seller and other assets. The table below gives each one's deciding fact as of September 29, 2026.

# Comparison Type The fact that decides it Online from
1 Gold IRA vs Physical Gold Metal Cashing out $100,000 cost $19,920 of extra federal tax and bought $77,724 of gold, vs $97,059 kept in a low-cost gold IRA (2026 example) Live
2 Gold IRA vs Gold ETF Metal $100,000 for 10 years at a flat price: about $1,035 in GLDM vs $6,341 in a low-cost gold IRA Live
3 Gold IRA vs Stocks: gold vs the S&P 500 since 1971 Other asset 1971-2025: gold 9.0% a year, S&P 500 with dividends 11.1%; gold beat the S&P in 13 of 45 ten-year windows (1972-2025) Live
4 Gold IRA vs Roth IRA Account The real question is traditional vs Roth. $100,000 that doubles to $200,000 nets $156,000 from a traditional IRA taxed at 22%, and you still have the $22,000 a conversion would have cost. A Roth nets $200,000 after $22,000 of conversion tax paid from other money. At the same 22% rate both come to $178,000; a Roth pulls ahead if your later rate is higher, and it has no required withdrawals in your lifetime Launch + 7 days
5 Gold IRA vs 401(k) Account Rolling a 401(k) out gives up the age-55 withdrawal exception, the delay on required withdrawals while you still work there, plan loans, and federal (ERISA) protection from creditors outside bankruptcy (IRAs depend on state law). In bankruptcy, rolled-over money stays outside the $1,711,975 IRA cap Launch + 4 days
6 Gold IRA vs Traditional IRA Account Usually the same account with a metals custodian: same 2026 limit ($7,500, or $8,600 at 50+) and required withdrawals from 73 (75 if born in 1960 or later). Extra: custodian fees of $215 to $656 a year on $50,000 at four 2026 schedules (as of September 29, 2026) Launch + 22 days
7 Gold vs Silver IRA Metal $100,000 buys about 1,630 oz of silver (about 112 lb) vs about 24 oz of gold; silver fell 48.2% from its record LBMA price ($118.45, January 29, 2026) to September 28, 2026, gold 23.3% Launch + 23 days
8 Bullion Dealer vs Gold IRA Company Seller On $100,000: dealer route about $6,842 over 10 years vs $23,750 lost on day one at a 20% spread Launch + 6 days
9 Gold Coins vs Gold Bars in an IRA Metal Monex spreads on August 12, 2026, before commission: 1 oz Gold Eagle 3.92%, 1 oz bar 3.57%, 10 oz and kilo bars 3.15% Launch + 22 days
10 Gold and silver ETFs for your IRA: every physical metal fund compared Metal Stated yearly fees: IAUM 0.09% (0.07% after a voluntary fee waiver through June 30, 2027), GLDM 0.10%, IAU 0.25%, GLD 0.40%, SLV 0.50%; PHYS 0.35% management fee (total expense ratio, or MER, 0.40% for 2025) Launch + 23 days
11 Gold IRA vs Annuity Other asset A $200,000 annuity in year 3 of a 7-year surrender period (a penalty for cashing out early): $10,000 surrender charge, then a 10% spread takes $19,000, leaving $171,000 of metal (14.5% gone on day one) Launch + 22 days
12 Gold IRA vs CDs, Treasuries and TIPS Other asset September 28, 2026: average 12-month CD 1.73%, 1-year Treasury 4.59%, 10-year TIPS (Treasury bonds that adjust for inflation) 2.90% above inflation; gold pays no income Launch + 30 days
13 Gold IRA vs Gold Mining Stocks Other asset GDX, a fund of gold-mining stocks, lost 76.8% in 2011-2015 while gold lost 24.6%, then rose 155.57% in 2025 vs gold's about 65% (IAU annual report, LBMA AM basis) Launch + 28 days

Row 1 assumes a married couple aged 62 with $80,000 of other taxable income (2026). Metal prices are LBMA daily benchmarks. Row 3 uses LBMA PM year-end gold prices and NYU professor Aswath Damodaran's S&P 500 data; row 13 names its own basis. Fund fees come from each fund's latest annual report.

What does $100,000 cost over 10 years in each way to own gold?#

Holding $100,000 of gold for 10 years costs from about $936 in the cheapest gold ETF to $29,293 in a gold IRA bought at a 23.4% spread. An expense ratio is a fund's yearly fee as a share of your money: 0.10% is $100 a year on $100,000. The table below lists 8 ways to hold gold in a retirement account, at a flat gold price and with gold rising 5% a year.

Way to hold gold (in a retirement account) 10-year cost, flat gold price 10-year cost, gold +5% a year
IAUM ETF (0.09% stated expense ratio) $936 Not computed
GLDM ETF (0.10%) $1,035 $1,686
IAU ETF (0.25%) $2,511 Not computed
GLD ETF (0.40%; PHYS's 2025 MER is also 0.40%) $3,967 $6,462
Fidelity bullion bought inside a Fidelity IRA $6,990, not counting the dealer spread Not computed
Low-cost gold IRA (Gold Eagles bought 3.03% over the metal's value) $6,341 $8,801
Gold IRA at a 10% spread (plus the 4.69% buyback gap and Goldco-level fees of $2,300) $16,521 $25,465
Gold IRA at a 23.4% spread (Lear Capital's own 2022 average, not an industry average) $29,293 $46,268

The low-cost gold IRA row assumes coins sold at 99% of spot and Equity Trust metals-only fees with non-segregated storage ($50 + $235 x 10 + $30).

The table assumes you pay the yearly fees with other money, so no gold is sold to cover them. It also assumes an ETF trading cost of 0.04% for buying and selling, with prices and fees as of September 29, 2026. The +5% column is an illustration, not a forecast. To change any number, use the gold IRA fee calculator.

Our main gold IRA page shows higher 10-year totals (about $8,580 vs $6,341) because it assumes segregated storage, where your own coins are kept apart.

Fidelity also sells bullion inside its own IRAs. It charges 2.90% down to 0.99% to buy and 2.00% down to 0.75% to sell, by the tiers in its fee schedule (FA-FEES-0926, September 2026). An IRA purchase starts at $1,000, and storage costs 0.125% a quarter, or $125 every 3 months on $100,000. Buying bullion inside a Fidelity gold IRA is its own route, with its own fees.

Which gold belongs in which account?#

Where your money sits today decides the cheapest home for gold: money already in an IRA can buy a gold ETF there, while bank cash can buy bullion directly. A brokerage window is a 401(k) option to buy funds outside the plan menu, and an in-service rollover moves 401(k) money to an IRA while you still work there. A grantor-trust ETF, such as GLD or IAU, holds the metal for its owners, so the IRS taxes it like the metal itself.

The table below maps 5 starting points to the cheapest way to hold gold and the costly mistake to avoid.

Where your money is now Cheapest way to hold gold What to avoid
Old 401(k) or IRA at a broker A low-cost gold ETF (IAUM, GLDM) in the same IRA; physical metal through Fidelity's in-IRA bullion (Fidelity customers) or a self-directed gold IRA Cashing out ($19,920 of tax on $100,000 in the 2026 example); an indirect rollover (20% withheld from a 401(k), 60 days to redeposit, one IRA-to-IRA rollover per 12 months), where a direct rollover or transfer avoids all three
401(k) at your current job A gold fund in the plan menu or a brokerage window; physical metal only through an in-service rollover at 59 1/2 if the plan allows Expecting coins inside a 401(k)
Roth IRA A gold ETF in the Roth, or a Roth gold IRA (no required withdrawals in your lifetime; the 28% rate never applies) None specific
Cash in the bank Bullion bought at about 3% over spot at large dealers (September 29, 2026), or PHYS (a Canadian gold trust) with a QEF tax election Forgetting that grantor-trust ETFs and coins are taxed as collectibles, at up to 28%
Maturing CD or annuity Compare Treasuries and TIPS first (1-year Treasury 4.59%, 10-year TIPS 2.90% above inflation, September 28, 2026) Surrendering an annuity inside its surrender period

Whether you can hold gold in a 401(k) depends on the plan: you need a gold fund on the menu or a brokerage window that reaches one.

The QEF election applies only to PHYS bought outside an IRA; ask a tax preparer before you rely on it. With the election, a sale is taxed at 15% or 20%, but yearly QEF income can be taxed at up to 28%. Form 8621 is due each year in a taxable account, not in an IRA (IRS Form 8621 instructions, December 2025).

Outside an IRA, gains on coins, bars and grantor-trust ETFs are taxed as collectibles at up to 28% (IRC 1(h)(4)-(5)). Inside an IRA, traditional IRA withdrawals are taxed as ordinary income, like wages, and qualified Roth withdrawals are tax-free. In short, the 28% collectibles rate applies only to gold held outside an IRA.

What do you give up with each choice?#

Each way to own gold gives up something: a gold IRA gives up possession and speed, an ETF gives up the coins, and every gold holding gives up income. The 5 trade-offs are listed below, each with its number.

  • Possession: IRA metal must stay with the trustee, the bank or trust company that holds the IRA (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B)). A "home storage" gold IRA puts the coins in your hands. The Tax Court treats that as taking the money out of the IRA, which is taxed (McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10, November 18, 2021). Every home storage gold IRA pitch fails the same test.
  • Speed: a gold IRA sale goes through the custodian and costs fees: $30 per sale and $125 per in-kind distribution at Equity Trust (Rev. 081726). An ETF sells on any trading day.
  • Protection: FDIC and SIPC, the federal bank and brokerage protections, never cover metal, and vault insurance pays metal value, not the premium you paid. In bankruptcy, IRA money is protected up to $1,711,975 for cases filed from April 1, 2025 (11 U.S.C. 522(n)). Money rolled over from an employer plan does not count toward that cap, so it stays protected beyond it.
  • Income: gold pays no interest or dividends. On September 28, 2026, a 1-year Treasury paid 4.59%.
  • 401(k) features: rolling a 401(k) into an IRA gives up 3 plan features. The first is the age-55 exception: no 10% additional tax on withdrawals after you leave the job in or after the year you turn 55. The second is the delay on required minimum distributions (RMDs, the yearly withdrawals the law requires) while you still work there. The third is plan loans: up to half your vested balance (the part that is fully yours), capped at $50,000, with a $10,000 floor (26 U.S.C. 72(p)(2)(A)).

Which Gold IRA Comparison Fits Your Situation?#

Start with the comparison that matches your situation: small balances point to ETFs, large 401(k) rollovers point to company and dealer matchups, and income needs point to Treasuries. The table below matches 9 common situations to the comparison that decides each one.

If you... Read this comparison The fact that decides it
Have under about $10,000 for gold Gold IRA vs gold ETF (above), and how much money you need to start a gold IRA A $235 yearly fee is 2.35% of $10,000; GLDM costs 0.10% a year
Are moving $50,000 or more from an old 401(k) or IRA and want physical metal The company and dealer matchups above One spread point on $100,000 = $1,000
Are still working, with money in your current 401(k) Gold IRA vs 401(k) (above) Rolling out loses plan loans and the still-working RMD delay
Retired at 55 to 59 1/2 and draw on the 401(k) Gold IRA vs 401(k) (above) Rolling out loses the age-55 exception (10% additional tax)
Want the metal in your own hands Gold IRA vs physical gold (above) $19,920 of tax to cash out $100,000 (2026 example)
Are already talking to two sellers Their matchup in the 26-pair table, then the 7 steps below Cancellation windows run from 24 hours to 8 days
Were offered free silver or years of paid fees The spread math in the FAQ below A 10% bonus pays off only if the premium-coin spread is 13% or less
Want income or safety Gold IRA vs CDs, Treasuries and TIPS (above) 1-year Treasury 4.59% (September 28, 2026); gold 0%
Are deciding between a dealer and a gold IRA company Bullion dealer vs gold IRA company (above) About $16,900 apart on $100,000

Balance size decides the first 2 rows: a $235 fee is only 0.235% of $100,000, where each spread point costs $1,000.

None of these rows is advice for your situation; each names the fact to check first.

How Do You Compare Gold IRA Offers Yourself? 7 Steps#

Compare gold IRA offers by getting a written price and buyback price for the same coin on the same day, then adding 10 years of fees and reading the contract. A spoken quote leaves nothing to compare later.

Once you have written quotes, the gold IRA company comparison tool puts two of them side by side on these same fields.

The 7 steps below work for any gold IRA company or bullion dealer.

  1. Ask each seller for a written price per coin and its buyback price, on the same day and for the same product, such as a 1 oz Gold Eagle. American Hartford Gold's agreement says "The Spread may be negotiable," so ask for a lower one.
  2. Work out the round trip: price minus buyback, divided by price. A large dealer's Gold Eagle round trip was 5.39% on September 29, 2026. The CFTC's 5% to 10% over spot for bullion (advisory 8215-20, August 4, 2020) measures only the markup on the way in.
  3. Add 10 years of account fees from the named custodian's schedule and its revision date. Equity Trust's metals-only schedule costs $285 a year with segregated storage (Rev. 081726), or $2,930 over 10 years with the $50 setup and one $30 sale fee. GoldStar costs $215 a year with commingled storage (Rev. 01/2026).
  4. Read the spread cap, cancellation window and claim deadline in the agreement, as in the 8-company table above.
  5. Confirm the custodian and depository names, and whether storage is commingled or segregated. Commingled (also called non-segregated) means your metal sits with the same products of other owners, still allocated to you; segregated means your exact bars and coins are kept apart.
  6. Search the seller's exact legal name in BBB complaint texts, CFTC and SEC releases, your state securities regulator and court records. Each source is explained step by step in how to check a gold IRA company.
  7. Compare the total against a low-cost ETF in the IRA you already have: $1,035 on $100,000 over 10 years in GLDM.

For 12 questions to ask a seller, and the answers that should make you walk away, see how to choose a gold IRA company.

Why Do Gold IRA Comparison Sites Disagree?#

Gold IRA comparison sites disagree largely because many rankings are paid for: 3 of the top 5 results for "gold IRA comparison" were paid press releases (September 29, 2026). A paid placement is a ranking or article that someone pays to publish. All 3 releases came from one publisher and put Augusta first, while Money.com's own list has named Allegiance Gold "Best Overall" since its May 29, 2026 update.

In SafeOunce's September 2026 sample of 90 searches, publishers with partner offers, sponsored content or paid releases took 175 of the 752 top-10 results (23.3%), almost 1 in 4. Who ranks whom, and who pays, is laid out in gold IRA best-of lists compared.

Ranking pages also repeat claims that the documents contradict. The table below sets 6 of them against the record as of September 29, 2026.

What ranking pages say What the documents say
"Bullion markups run 2% to 5%" American Hartford Gold's own agreement allows bullion spreads up to 19.99% (September 2026); the CFTC puts bullion at 5% to 10% over spot (2020)
A company labeled "Best Prices" That company's own 2022 average spread was 23.4%, stated in its court-filed Chapter 11 plan (Lear Capital, 2023)
Birch Gold Group "since 2003," "$10,000 minimum" Founded 2011; minimum $5,000 (Birch FAQ)
Minimums printed for American Hartford Gold, Lear Capital and Patriot Gold None of the three publishes an IRA minimum
"IRS-approved" depositories and custodians The IRS keeps no list of depositories; its non-bank trustee list (73 entities, April 1, 2026) holds one metals business, Lone Star Tangible Assets
A company still recommended as a pick Rosland Capital filed a liquidating Chapter 11 on July 2, 2026 (Bankr. C.D. Cal. 2:26-bk-16650-BB)

Who pays for the rankings you see?#

Gold IRA companies pay review sites per lead and per sale, and one company's terms pay 41 times more on a premium-coin order than on the same amount of bullion. An affiliate is a site paid for each lead or sale it sends, and premium coins are higher-markup coins sold as rare or special. Augusta Precious Metals publishes its affiliate terms (apmaffiliates.com, read September 29, 2026). The table below shows what they pay.

Augusta affiliate tier Pays on premium coins ("Premium Trade Value") Pays on bullion
Prime 8%, plus $200 per qualified lead with at least $50,000 to roll over 0%
VIP 10% 1%

Salespeople can earn more on costly coins too. Goldline's 2022 Account Agreement says its commissions are "usually greatest on products with a higher spread." The New York Attorney General's 2021 petition alleged Lear commissions of up to 33%.

So are gold IRA reviews paid? Often they are, and the pay can rise with the coin's markup. How to spot a paid ranking is explained in are gold IRA reviews paid.

The FTC's rules on endorsements and reviews treat a ranking set by payments as deceptive, even with a general disclosure (16 CFR 255.4(b), Example 3). In plain English: a site that sells its top spot cannot fix that with one line saying it may earn money.

One paid-ranking fight is in court. In Orion Precious Metals v. Money Group (C.D. Cal. 2:26-cv-07092, filed June 29, 2026), Orion alleges that rankings were sold; the case is pending, with no ruling known.

Which gold IRA company is best?#

No company is best for everyone: the right one is the company whose written price, contract and record hold up for your amount and your coin. None of the 8 here has a SafeOunce score yet, so none is named best.

What is the downside of a gold IRA?#

The biggest downside for most buyers is the dealer's spread: at 20%, gold must rise about 31% before the metal is worth what you paid. Gold also pays no income. Its LBMA PM price, the London afternoon benchmark, fell 23.3% from a record $5,405.00 on January 29, 2026 to $4,144.55 on September 28, 2026. All 8 downsides are weighed, with a verdict by situation, in the real downsides of a gold IRA.

Is it better to have physical gold or a gold IRA?#

Keeping IRA or 401(k) money inside the account usually costs less: cashing out $100,000 to buy coins cost $19,920 of extra federal tax in our 2026 example. If you are under 59 1/2, add another $10,000, the 10% additional tax for early withdrawal. Physical gold outside an IRA fits after-tax cash you want in your own hands, and row 1 of the alternatives table links to the full comparison.

What if you invested $1,000 in gold 10 years ago?#

$1,000 of gold bought on September 28, 2016 was worth about $3,134 on September 28, 2026 at the LBMA PM price, before any costs. Inside a gold IRA, the same $1,000 would have been used up by fees by September 28, 2020 (SafeOunce computation). That assumes a $50 setup fee, a 5% premium (the markup over the metal's value) and $250 a year in fees. A $250 yearly fee is 25% of a $1,000 balance, so small accounts and flat fees do not mix. Larger amounts, and every year since 1971, are in gold IRA returns since 1971.

Gold IRA comparison FAQ#

The 6 answers below give the short fact first on buyback promises, free silver, failed companies, custodians, payments and updates.

Does any gold IRA company guarantee its buyback price?#

No: 5 dealer contracts SafeOunce read say the law prohibits a promise to repurchase, even where ads use the word "guaranteed." They are the agreements of American Hartford Gold, Lear, Preserve Gold, Goldline and American Bullion. Goldco's homepage and Noble's who-we-are page use "guaranteed" buyback wording, and neither publishes terms. Augusta's FAQ says it "cannot legally guarantee" a repurchase, yet also names a "24-hour Highest Buyback Price Guarantee window," so go by the signed agreement. What each contract promises is in gold IRA buyback programs compared.

Is a free silver offer worth more than a lower price?#

Usually not: a 10% silver bonus pays off only if the coins it comes with carry a spread of 13% or less. The table below prices a hypothetical $100,000 order on day one, with the dealer buying back at 95.31% of its cost.

Offer on $100,000 Spread on the coins Sell-back value on day one
Premium coins plus a 10% silver bonus (bonus silver at a 20% spread) 30% About $74,344 ($66,719 + $7,625)
Plain bullion, no bonus 5% About $90,547

Four companies here advertised bonus offers on September 29, 2026. Goldco's 5% to 10% free silver comes only with "Goldco premium coins." American Hartford Gold and Priority Gold each advertise up to $15,000 in free silver, and Lear up to $15,000 in free coins. Lear's free setup and storage tiers apply only to Limited Mintage coins. The "free" silver is paid for through the spread, as free silver gold IRA promotions explains.

Which gold IRA companies have failed?#

At least 6 have, most recently Rosland Capital, which filed a liquidating Chapter 11 on July 2, 2026, owing about $60.8 million to about 617 customers. A liquidating Chapter 11 winds a company down (Bankr. C.D. Cal. 2:26-bk-16650-BB). Creditors filed to force Oxford Gold Group into Chapter 7 on August 28, 2024. Regal Assets, Metals.com and Safeguard Metals failed, and Gold Alliance closed on June 24, 2024. Each case, and what happens to your account, is in failed gold IRA companies.

Is a gold IRA company the same as a custodian?#

No: the company sells you the metal, while the custodian, a bank or trust company, holds the IRA and does not check the dealer's price. An SEC judge dismissed charges against custodian Equity Trust in 2016 (Initial Decision 1030). Big metals custodians qualify as banks under 26 U.S.C. 408(n), most as state-supervised trust companies, so they do not appear on the IRS non-bank trustee list. What each one charges is in gold IRA custodians.

Do the companies on this page pay SafeOunce?#

No company can buy a place, a changed fact or a link on this page. SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page. The company names in the tables are dated, attributed data, not recommendations.

How often is this comparison updated?#

Prices, fees and BBB counts are rechecked when the page is published and then every quarter; IRS limits change when the IRS announces them. The 2027 IRA limits were not announced as of September 29, 2026. Until then the 2026 limits of $7,500, or $8,600 at 50 or older, apply (IRS Notice 2025-67). Every change is dated in the corrections log.

Browse Gold IRA Comparisons

How Does a Gold IRA Compare With the Alternatives? 13 Comparisons

Comparison

Gold IRA vs Physical Gold

Gold IRA vs physical gold, checked September 2026: yearly costs at 3 sizes, the $19,920 tax of cashing out $100,000, the 28% rate, theft cover and access.

Comparison

Gold IRA vs Gold ETF

Gold IRA vs gold ETF, checked September 2026: $100,000 costs about $1,000 over 10 years in a low-fee ETF and $6,300+ in a gold IRA. Taxes, GLD, verdict.

Comparison

Gold IRA vs Stocks

Gold vs the S&P 500 since 1971: 9.0% vs 11.1% a year, gold ahead in 14 of 46 ten-year periods, 31 vs 12 years to recover after inflation, and IRA costs.