Yes. The American Gold Eagle is IRA-eligible because Congress named it in the tax code, 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A)(i), even though the coin is only 91.67% gold. "IRA-eligible" means an IRA can buy the coin without the purchase being taxed as a withdrawal. The coin is 22 karat, which means 22 parts gold out of 24. Most other gold must be at least 99.5% pure (".995") to qualify.
That purity test is for bullion: coins and bars valued for their metal alone. It never applies to the Eagle, so the real question is what can still go wrong inside an IRA.
Six terms come up again and again on this page:
- Custodian (or trustee): the bank or trust company that holds your IRA's assets.
- Spot price: the live market price of 1 troy ounce of gold.
- Premium over spot: what you pay above the gold value, as a percent of that value.
- Ask and bid: the ask is the dealer's selling price; the bid is what it pays you.
- Proof: a mirror-finish collector version of the coin, sold in a box with a certificate.
- Random-year: the dealer picks which year's coin you get. These coins come from the resale market, not new from the Mint.
Beyond eligibility, the custodian decides which versions of the Gold Eagle it accepts, and the price decides how much gold you actually own.
As of September 29, 2026, a random-year 1 oz Eagle cost 3.03% over its gold value at SD Bullion, a large online dealer. A 1/10 oz proof Eagle cost 34.89%. The Eagle is one of the coins checked in our database of IRA-eligible coins.
Is the American Gold Eagle IRA-Eligible?#
Yes: the American Gold Eagle is IRA-eligible under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A)(i), and it is the only US Mint gold coin the law names. Most coins count as collectibles. If an IRA buys a collectible, the tax code treats the cost as if you withdrew that money (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(1)).
The law makes 2 exceptions to the collectibles rule, which SafeOunce calls Route A and Route B. Route A covers coins the law names. Route B covers bullion that passes a purity test.
Both routes still need a custodian to hold the metal. The table below compares the 2 routes.
| Route | Statute | What qualifies | Purity test | Custody condition | Examples |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A: named coin | 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A) | US coins described in the law, plus coins a US state issues under its own law | None | A trustee must still hold them (408(a); McNulty v. Commissioner, 2021) | Gold Eagle 1, 1/2, 1/4 and 1/10 oz; Silver Eagle 1 oz; Platinum Eagle |
| B: bullion | 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B) | Gold, silver, platinum and palladium bullion | Exchange purity standard: gold .995, silver .999, platinum .9995, palladium .9995 | "In the physical possession of a trustee" | Gold Buffalo, Maple Leaf, Philharmonic, gold bars |
Sources: 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3); COMEX Rule 113101 (gold, "a minimum of 995 fineness").
The Gold Eagle sits on Route A. No purity test applies to it, but the custody rule still does. Sellers often call these metals "IRA-approved". The full list of IRA-approved precious metals, coin by coin and bar by bar, follows the same 2 routes.
Why Is a 22-Karat Coin Allowed When the Purity Rule Says .995?#
Because the .995 purity test applies only to bullion. Congress described the Gold Eagle by its size, weight and gold content, not by its purity, so the .995 rule never reaches it. The Eagle does not pass the .995 test, and it needs no waiver.
Fineness is the share of pure metal in a coin or bar, so .995 means 99.5% pure. Karat measures the same thing on a 24-point scale: 24 karat is pure gold, and 22 karat is 22/24 gold, or 91.67%.
The .995 number is not written in the tax code at all. It comes from COMEX, a regulated US exchange where traders buy and sell gold for later delivery (a futures exchange, or "contract market" in the law's words). Gold delivered on its 100-ounce contract must have "a minimum of 995 fineness" (COMEX Rule 113101). The tax code borrows that standard for bullion only (408(m)(3)(B)).
So the purity rule stops at the bullion door. The .995, .999 and .9995 thresholds are explained with the exchange rules on gold IRA purity requirements.
What Does 31 U.S.C. 5112(a)(7) Actually Say?#
It describes the 1 oz Gold Eagle as a $50 coin, 32.7 mm wide, that weighs 33.931 grams and holds one troy ounce of fine (pure) gold, with no purity figure at all.
Paragraphs (8), (9) and (10) describe the smaller coins the same way. They are the $25, $10 and $5 coins, holding one-half, one-quarter and one-tenth of a troy ounce of fine gold.
The law has one purity-type rule, 5112(b), and it binds the Mint, not your IRA. The Mint must use "alloys that vary not more than 0.1 percent from the percent of gold required." In plain English: the Mint must keep each coin's gold share very close to the target.
The tax code then takes "a gold coin described in paragraph (7), (8), (9), or (10) of section 5112(a)" out of the collectibles class (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A)(i)).
Is the Gold Eagle "IRS-Approved"?#
No: the IRS keeps no list of approved coins, so no coin is "IRS-approved"; the Gold Eagle is eligible because the statute describes it. The IRS says so itself: "Although there is no list of approved investments for retirement plans..." (IRS Retirement Plan Investments FAQs, updated April 8, 2026).
The IRS does not review coins, dealers or vaults. The only list it keeps is of approved nonbank trustees: companies other than banks that may hold IRA assets. It had 73 names as of April 1, 2026 (Treas. Reg. 1.408-2(e)). "IRA-eligible, not IRS-approved" is the accurate label for the Gold Eagle.
One IRS summary can mislead you. Publication 590-A (2025) says: "Your IRA can invest in one, one-half, one-quarter, or one-tenth ounce U.S. gold coins." Read quickly, that sounds like any US gold coin of those sizes qualifies. It does not: the statute covers only the coins described in 5112(a)(7)-(10), which are the 4 Gold Eagle sizes.
Everything outside the exceptions falls under the IRS collectibles rule in 408(m).
Gold Eagle vs Krugerrand: Same Purity, Opposite Answer#
The South African Krugerrand holds the same 1 troy ounce of 22-karat gold as the Eagle, yet an IRA cannot own it. No US law names it, and it fails the .995 test. STRATA Trust and GoldStar Trust both list the Krugerrand as unacceptable (pages read September 29, 2026). Buying Krugerrands in an IRA is a tempting mistake, because the coin costs less.
On September 29, 2026, a 1 oz Krugerrand cost 0.11% over its gold value at SD Bullion, and a random-year 1 oz Eagle cost 3.03%. The worked example below assumes a traditional IRA, a 57-year-old owner in the 22% federal income tax bracket, and federal tax only.
| Line | 1 oz Gold Eagle | 1 oz Krugerrand |
|---|---|---|
| Price over gold value (Sept 29, 2026, SD Bullion) | 3.03% | 0.11% |
| Gold bought with $50,000 | 11.681 oz (about $48,530 of gold) | 12.016 oz (about $49,945 of gold) |
| Tax status in an IRA | Eligible (named coin) | Collectible: the $50,000 counts as a distribution (408(m)(1)) |
| Federal income tax at 22%, age 57 | None | $11,000 |
| 10% additional tax on early withdrawals (under age 59 1/2) | None | $5,000 |
| Total first-year tax cost | $0 | $16,000, plus any state tax |
The Krugerrand's lower price saves about $1,416 of gold and costs about $16,000 in tax: roughly 11 times the saving.
IRS Publication 590-A adds one detail: the amount taxed at purchase is not taxed again when the coins later leave the IRA. That does not undo the first-year bill. The full tax math for Krugerrands in an IRA, including the silver Krugerrand, has its own page.
What Are the Gold Eagle's Specifications?#
The Gold Eagle comes in 4 sizes, from the 1/10 oz $5 coin to the 1 oz $50 coin, and each holds exactly the stated weight of pure gold. The table below gives the statute's figures for all 4 sizes.
| Size | Face value | Diameter | Total weight | Fine gold | Gold share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz | $50 | 32.7 mm (1.29 in) | 33.931 g | 1 troy oz (31.1035 g) | 91.67% |
| 1/2 oz | $25 | 27.0 mm (1.06 in) | 16.966 g | 1/2 troy oz (15.552 g) | 91.67% |
| 1/4 oz | $10 | 22.0 mm (0.87 in) | 8.483 g | 1/4 troy oz (7.776 g) | 91.67% |
| 1/10 oz | $5 | 16.5 mm (0.65 in) | 3.393 g | 1/10 troy oz (3.110 g) | 91.67% |
Source: 31 U.S.C. 5112(a)(7)-(10). Gold share computed: fine gold divided by total weight.
A troy ounce is the unit for precious metals: 31.1035 grams, about 1.1 ordinary kitchen ounces. The face value is the legal-tender dollar amount stamped on the coin, far below its gold value. The US Mint strikes the coins under the Gold Bullion Coin Act of 1985. It launched the program in 1986, as the Tax Court's 2021 McNulty decision recounts (page 18).
The Mint sells bullion Eagles only to Authorized Purchasers, the wholesalers who then sell to dealers.
Face value plays no part in IRA eligibility: being legal tender (money that must be accepted to pay debts) is not a test in 408(m). Foreign coins "are not legal tender for debts" in the US (31 U.S.C. 5103), yet the Maple Leaf and the Philharmonic qualify as bullion.
How Much Gold Is in a Gold Eagle?#
A 1 oz Gold Eagle weighs 33.931 grams and holds exactly 31.1035 grams (1 troy ounce) of gold. The other 2.83 grams are silver and copper, which make the coin harder. The whole coin weighs about 1.2 ordinary ounces.
The rest is about 1.018 grams of silver (3% of the coin's weight) and 1.809 grams of copper (5.33%). These figures are the US Mint's specifications as reported by other sources; the Mint's own page could not be read directly on September 29, 2026.
What is the silver in the alloy worth? The 1.018 grams equal 0.0327 troy ounces. At the LBMA silver price (the daily London benchmark) of $61.33 on September 28, 2026, that is about $2.01 per coin. No dealer pays for it: dealers price the Eagle on its gold alone.
Which Versions Exist: Bullion, Burnished and Proof?#
The Mint strikes the Gold Eagle in 3 versions: bullion coins for investors, and burnished and proof coins for collectors.
- Bullion: no mint mark, sold through Authorized Purchasers, priced near the gold value.
- Burnished ("uncirculated"): a satin collector finish with a W mint mark (a small W showing the coin was struck at West Point). It first appeared in 2006, according to Wikipedia's summary of the Mint's history.
- Proof (W mint mark): a mirror-finish collector coin, sold by the Mint in a box with a certificate of authenticity (COA), the Mint's paper confirming the coin's origin. STRATA and GoldStar treat a proof coin of this series as a Gold Eagle; the finish is what costs extra.
The Mint prices its proof and burnished gold coins weekly, based on the weekly average of the LBMA gold price (Federal Register, February 27, 2026). The reverse (back) design changed to an eagle's head in 2021 (same Wikipedia summary). The statute's specs did not change, so all designs qualify.
Which Gold Eagles Will an IRA Custodian Accept?#
All 3 custodians we checked accept bullion Gold Eagles, and 2 of them, STRATA Trust and GoldStar Trust, accept proofs only ungraded in the original mint box with the certificate. GoldStar and Equity Trust refuse graded coins in writing. STRATA excludes "any rare or collectible coin", which SafeOunce reads as covering graded coins.
A graded, or slabbed, coin is one sealed in a plastic holder by a grading service such as NGC or PCGS, with a score like PF-70. Each gold IRA custodian publishes its own product list; the table compares 3, read on September 29, 2026.
| Version | STRATA Trust | GoldStar Trust | Equity Trust |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bullion Eagle (lists do not name sizes) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Proof Eagle, ungraded, original box and COA | Yes | Yes | Not refused in writing (its list refuses only slabbed coins) |
| Proof Eagle in a capsule only, no box or COA | No (packaging rule) | No (packaging rule) | Not addressed |
| Burnished (W) Eagle | Not named: ask in writing | Not named: ask in writing | Not named: ask in writing |
| Graded or slabbed Eagle | Not named; excludes "any rare or collectible coin" (our reading: refused) | No ("certified or 'graded' coins") | No (its no-slab rule names "the American Eagle") |
| Damaged or cull Eagle | No (must be "free from damage") | Must be "uncirculated in excellent condition" | Not addressed |
Custodian policy is contract terms, not tax law. GoldStar page dated April 3, 2026; Equity Trust page dated June 1, 2026; all 3 read September 29, 2026.
If the custodian refuses a coin, your IRA cannot buy it. The custodian's list, not the seller's, decides what you can order. No list we read names burnished Eagles, so get a written answer before buying one.
Fees and storage at all the gold IRA custodians we profile are compared side by side.
Are Proof Gold Eagles Allowed in an IRA?#
Generally yes: STRATA and GoldStar accept proof Gold Eagles that are ungraded and still in the original mint box with the certificate. But no IRS ruling or court case has addressed proofs. STRATA wants proofs "encapsulated in complete, original mint packaging, in excellent condition", with "the certificate of authenticity". GoldStar says: "Proof coins must be ungraded, complete with certificate of authenticity and in original mint packaging."
Why do custodians accept them? The coinage law mentions proof versions. It covers "any coin authorized under paragraph (7), (8), (9), or (10) of subsection (a) ... including any proof version of any such coin" (31 U.S.C. 5112(j)(1)).
The legal question is the smaller risk; the price is the bigger one. A 1/10 oz proof Eagle with box and COA cost 34.89% more than its gold on September 29, 2026 (SD Bullion). At a second dealer, Orion, a 1 oz proof cost 13.38% over spot, against 5.90% for a 1 oz bullion coin (same-day snapshot).
Dealers themselves split on proofs. Gainesville Coins writes that "the only collector coin presently eligible for your IRA is the American Proof Gold and Silver Eagle". Money Metals says the exemption "also includes those scandalously priced 'proof' Eagles" (IRA pages read September 2026). How proof and graded coins are priced, and why most of the premium is lost at resale, is covered on proof coins in an IRA.
Proof Eagle vs Proof Buffalo: Why Custodians Treat Them Differently#
GoldStar and Equity Trust accept proof Eagles but refuse proof Buffalos, because the 2 coins qualify by different routes. The Eagle is named in the law. The Buffalo is not, so it must qualify as plain bullion. The .9999 Gold Buffalo is described in a different paragraph of the coinage law, 5112(a)(11), and the named-coin rule, 408(m)(3)(A), does not list that paragraph.
GoldStar lists "U.S. Buffalo Proof" as unacceptable, and Equity Trust accepts "U.S. Buffalo Gold Uncirculated coins (no Proofs)".
So the Buffalo qualifies only on Route B, and these custodians accept it only in its plain bullion finish, not as a proof. Why the Buffalo rides the bullion route is explained on American Gold Buffalo in an IRA.
Why Graded (Slabbed) Gold Eagles Are Refused#
Graded Gold Eagles are refused because custodians treat a coin sealed and scored by a grading service as a collector item. Equity Trust even names "the American Eagle" in its no-slabs rule: "Coins, including the American Eagle, that have undergone 'certification' (also known as 'slabbed' coins) are not acceptable in IRAs at this time." GoldStar refuses "certified or 'graded' coins" as well.
In plain English: the holder and the grade turn a bullion coin into a collector product. Sellers still offer them. On September 29, 2026, a random-year 1 oz Eagle sealed by NGC with the grade PF-70 cost 7.10% over its gold value at SD Bullion. A 2000-dated one with the same grade cost 35.97% (both prices read from the dealer's product list page).
Condition, Packaging and Segregated vs Commingled Storage#
A coin the law allows can still be refused if it is damaged, is a proof missing its packaging, or is a version the custodian does not list. How it is stored also decides whether you get the same coins back.
- Damage: STRATA requires bullion coins "in brilliant uncirculated condition and free from damage". Yet one large dealer's "IRA approved gold" category listed a "1/4 oz American Gold Eagle Coin (Cull/Damaged)" on September 29, 2026. A cull is a damaged or heavily worn coin.
- Capsule-only proofs: a 1 oz proof sold in a plastic capsule without box or COA cost only 4.81% over its gold value that day. It fails the packaging rule at STRATA and GoldStar.
- Dealer labels: "IRA approved" on a dealer page is marketing. The statute decides eligibility; the custodian decides whether it will accept the coin.
Commingled storage means your coins sit with other owners' coins of the same type. Segregated storage means they sit apart, under your name. Equity Trust's Precious Metals Risk and Fee Disclosure sets out what each returns.
| Storage at Equity Trust | What you get back | Yearly cost (fee schedule FS-0004-05, Rev. 081726, as of Sept 29, 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Commingled (non-segregated) | "the weight and general type of metals you purchased but may not receive the same brand, year, or condition" | $110 |
| Segregated | "the exact metals that your dealer sent" | $160 |
This matters most for proofs, because a boxed proof is worth its extra price only if you get that same coin back. Proof buyers can compare segregated vs commingled storage.
How Much Does a Gold Eagle Cost Over Spot in 2026?#
As of September 29, 2026, a random-year 1 oz Gold Eagle cost 3.03% over its gold value at a large online dealer, and the smaller sizes cost 7.83% to 13.82%. Those figures are SD Bullion's prices for payment by bank wire. They are measured against the gold price the dealer showed at the same moment, which moved between $4,154.51 and $4,157.09 an ounce while we read the pages.
The melt value is the coin's gold content times spot. The premium is what you pay above melt value, as a percent of it. The table shows each size and version; it is one day's snapshot.
| Product (SD Bullion, Sept 29, 2026) | Price | Melt value | Premium over spot |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, random year | $4,280.53 | $4,154.51 | 3.03% |
| 1 oz, 2026-dated (C) | $4,338.19 | $4,157.09 | 4.36% |
| 20 x 1 oz sealed tube, per coin (C) | $4,389.35 | $4,157.09 | 5.59% |
| 1/2 oz, 2026-dated (C) | $2,241.37 | $2,078.55 | 7.83% |
| 1/4 oz, 2026-dated (C) | $1,151.82 | $1,039.27 | 10.83% |
| 1/10 oz, 2026-dated (C) | $473.18 | $415.71 | 13.82% |
| 1 oz proof, capsule only (refused by STRATA and GoldStar packaging rules) | $4,356.43 | $4,156.39 | 4.81% |
| 1/10 oz proof, box and COA | $560.63 | $415.63 | 34.89% |
| 1 oz NGC PF-70, random year (refused by custodians) (C) | $4,452.45 | $4,157.09 | 7.10% |
Wire prices, one dealer, one morning. (C) = read from the dealer's product list page rather than the product page.
How you pay changes the price too, as the next table shows for the same coin.
| Payment method (SD Bullion, Sept 29, 2026) | Price | Compared with wire |
|---|---|---|
| Bank wire | $4,280.53 | Base price |
| Check | $4,323.77 | About 1% more |
| Card | $4,458.89 | About 4% more |
Premium over spot is only one of the gold IRA markups and spreads a buyer pays.
The Premium Stack: US Mint, Wholesalers, Retail#
A new 1 oz Gold Eagle leaves the Mint at about 3% over spot (as reported by Coin World in January 2026) and reaches retail at about 3% to 4.4%. Anything far above that inside an IRA is the seller's margin, not the coin's cost.
The table below follows one 1 oz coin from the Mint to a retail buyer. The first 2 layers are as reported by Coin World, a trade paper, not taken from a Mint document.
| Layer | Premium over spot | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mint to Authorized Purchasers | 3% (minimum order 1,000 oz) | January 2026 | Coin World, January 7, 2026 |
| Authorized Purchasers to dealers (wholesale resale market) | 3.45% | December 30, 2025 | Coin World, January 7, 2026 |
| Retail, random year | 3.03% | September 29, 2026 | SD Bullion |
| Retail, 2026-dated | 4.36% | September 29, 2026 | SD Bullion |
A random-year coin can sell at or below the Mint's new-coin premium because it comes from the resale market. A normal price for a bullion Eagle is within about 5% of spot.
Fractional Gold Eagles: What the 1/2, 1/4 and 1/10 oz Sizes Cost#
The smaller the Eagle, the more you pay per ounce: on September 29, 2026, the premium ran from 3.03% (1 oz) to 13.82% (1/10 oz). The table below shows what $10,000 buys in each size.
| Size | Mint premium to wholesalers (Jan 2026, Coin World) | Retail premium (Sept 29, 2026, SD Bullion) | Gold value bought with $10,000 | Gold lost to premium |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, random year | 3% | 3.03% | $9,706 | $294 |
| 1 oz, 2026-dated | 3% | 4.36% | $9,582 | $418 |
| 1/2 oz, 2026-dated | 5% | 7.83% | $9,274 | $726 |
| 1/4 oz, 2026-dated | 7% | 10.83% | $9,023 | $977 |
| 1/10 oz, 2026-dated | 9% | 13.82% | $8,786 | $1,214 |
Computed: $10,000 divided by (1 + premium). Wholesale resale premiums on December 30, 2025 were 3.45%, 5.45%, 7.45% and 9.45% (Coin World).
The gap between the largest and smallest coin is $920 on $10,000, so the 1 oz size buys 10.5% more gold. The penalty starts at the Mint. As reported by Coin World in January 2026, it charged its wholesalers 3% for a 1 oz coin and 9% for a 1/10 oz coin.
Small coins also cost more to sell. On September 29, 2026, SD Bullion bid $2,004.97 for a 1/2 oz Eagle of any year, against its $2,241.37 ask for a 2026-dated one. That is a round trip of about 10.5% (gold must rise about 11.8% to break even), against 5.39% for a 1 oz coin; bids on that page may lag.
Fisher Precious Metals' price sheet dated September 28, 2026 priced fractional Eagles at 12% to 19% over spot. Fractionals earn their cost in one case: taking coins out of the IRA in smaller pieces for required minimum distributions (RMDs, see the example below). Premiums for every size of IRA-eligible gold coins are ranked on the group page.
Round-Trip Cost and Break-Even: Gold Eagle vs .9999 Coins#
Buying a 1 oz Gold Eagle and selling it straight back cost 5.39% on September 29, 2026, about 0.2 percentage points more than a .9999 Philharmonic. The gap is small because dealers also pay more for Eagles when they buy them back. This buy-and-sell-back loss is the round trip. The break-even rise is how far gold must climb before you get your money back.
| Product (1 oz, SD Bullion, Sept 29, 2026) | Ask | Bid | Round-trip loss | Rise needed to break even |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Gold Eagle | $4,280.53 | $4,049.93 | 5.39% | 5.69% |
| Australian Kangaroo | $4,240.68 | $4,019.93 | 5.21% | 5.49% |
| Austrian Philharmonic | $4,241.37 | $4,019.93 | 5.22% | 5.51% |
| PAMP Suisse bar | $4,230.68 | $4,009.93 | 5.22% | 5.51% |
| Canadian Maple Leaf | $4,282.45 | $4,034.93 | 5.78% | 6.13% |
| British Britannia | $4,260.68 | $4,009.93 | 5.89% | 6.25% |
| American Gold Buffalo | $4,391.80 | $4,064.93 | 7.44% | 8.04% |
Asks at about 10:20 UTC; bids from the dealer's sell page, which may lag. Kangaroo and Philharmonic asks read from the dealer's product list pages.
The Eagle's ask was $39.16 above the Philharmonic's, but its bid was $30 higher. So the round-trip gap was only $9.16 per coin. Because that finding rests on one bid page, the table below checks it at 3 other dealers.
| Dealer buyback check | Eagle | Other 1 oz coins | What it shows |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fisher "Sell to Us" price sheet (dated Sept 28, 2026) | Spot -3% | Maple Leaf -3.5%; Philharmonic, Kangaroo, Britannia, Krugerrand -4.5% | Eagle bid is higher |
| Pacific Precious Metals product page (Sept 29, 2026) | $4,278.56 price, $4,038.69 buyback: 5.6% round trip | Not captured | Eagle round trip close to SD Bullion's |
| Monex live prices (Aug 12, 2026) | 3.92% round trip | Buffalo, Maple Leaf, Philharmonic: 3.92% each | No Eagle advantage; buy and sell charges not published |
The Eagle's bid advantage shows up at SD Bullion and Fisher but not at Monex, so it is not universal. For example, if you pay 3.03% over spot and a dealer later buys the coin back at 1% under spot, gold must rise about 4.1% before you break even.
The dealer matters more than the coin. The table below shows the same 1 oz Eagle at 5 dealers on the same morning, against a gold bid of $4,148.10 on Kitco, a widely used price website.
| Dealer (Sept 29, 2026, 10:16-10:41 UTC unless noted) | Check or wire price | Over spot | Card price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blanchard | $4,259.61 | 2.69% | $4,430.00 |
| Pacific Precious Metals | $4,278.56 | 3.15% | $4,449.70 |
| Summit Metals | $4,351.02 | 4.89% | $4,533.76 |
| Fisher (price sheet dated Sept 28, 2026: COMEX spot + $204) | about $4,352.10 | 4.92% | Not shown |
| Texas Precious Metals (payment type not labeled) | $4,508.06 | 8.68% | Not shown |
Single morning. Not an endorsement or ranking.
The gap for the identical coin was $248.45, or 5.8%. Run your own premium and bid through the gold IRA break-even calculator.
What Gold IRA Sellers' Contracts Allow Them to Charge#
A seller's contract can allow a far higher price than the 3% a large dealer charged. One September 2026 contract allows a bullion spread of up to 19.99%, which equals a 25% markup. A spread is the seller's cut as a share of the price you pay. A markup is the price above the metal's value as a share of that value.
The contract is American Hartford Gold's Shipping and Transaction Agreement (September 2026). It allows bullion spreads from 1.00% to 19.99%, "exclusive" or semi-numismatic spreads up to 39.99% and limited numismatic spreads up to 59.99%. Numismatic coins are sold as collector items, priced above their metal value. These are caps, not the price every buyer pays.
| Source | Spread (share of price) | Markup over metal value | Gold value left from $100,000 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retail 1 oz Gold Eagle, SD Bullion (Sept 29, 2026) | 2.94% | 3.03% | $97,056 |
| AHG agreement, bullion cap (Sept 2026) | Up to 19.99% | 25.0% | $80,010 |
| Lear Capital's own 2022 average (from its Chapter 11 bankruptcy plan, Doc 694, June 5, 2023) | 23.4% | 30.5% | About $76,600 |
| AHG agreement, semi-numismatic cap | Up to 39.99% | 66.6% | $60,010 |
| AHG agreement, limited numismatic cap | Up to 59.99% | 149.9% | $40,010 |
Computed: markup = spread divided by (1 - spread). Treats the seller's cost as the metal value. Lear's 23.4% is its own figure, not an industry average.
The table below splits SafeOunce's 10-year scenario for $100,000 into its parts.
| Cost over 10 years on $100,000 | At the 19.99% bullion spread cap | Low-cost bullion route |
|---|---|---|
| Day-one loss (spread plus buyback gap) | About $23,700 (23.7%) | About $5,400 (5.4% round trip) |
| Account and storage fees, including exit | About $1,800 | $3,180 (Equity Trust segregated) |
| Total | About $25,500 | About $8,580 |
Sellers' spreads, account fees and buyback terms are combined on gold IRA companies with the lowest total cost.
Gold Eagles, .9999 Coins or Gold Bars: Which Fits Your IRA?#
For most IRA buyers the 1 oz bullion Gold Eagle is a sound choice that costs slightly more, while .9999 (99.99% pure) coins and 10 oz bars buy more gold per dollar.
The table matches common situations to a product. It is general information, not personal advice.
| If you... | Better fit | Why (SD Bullion, other dealers and custodian pages, Sept 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Want a well-known US coin and a simple sale later | 1 oz bullion Gold Eagle | Round trip 5.39%, close to .9999 coins; Fisher's sheet also bids more for Eagles |
| Want the lowest cost per ounce | 1 oz .9999 coins or larger IRA-eligible gold bars | Philharmonic 2.03%, Kangaroo 2.02%, 10 oz bar 1.31%, 100 g bar 1.07% |
| Plan to take yearly required withdrawals as coins (in-kind RMDs) | 1 oz coins rather than bars. Use smaller coins only for amounts under one 1 oz coin (about $4,150 of gold on Sept 29, 2026) | A 1/10 oz coin costs 13.82% vs 3.03% for 1 oz; the 1/2 oz round trip was about 10.5% |
| Are offered proof, "exclusive" or "limited mintage" Eagles | Ask for the price per coin and the buyback bid in writing first | 1/10 oz proof 34.89%; seller caps up to 39.99%-59.99% |
| Are offered graded (PF-70 or MS-70) Eagles | Decline them for an IRA | Equity Trust and GoldStar refuse slabbed coins |
| Already own Eagles at home | Keep them outside the IRA | Contributions must be cash (26 U.S.C. 408(a)(1)) |
The 1 oz Eagle's extra cost is small and often comes back at sale, because SD Bullion and Fisher bid more for it. Bars win on price per ounce; coins win when you want to split a distribution later.
The trade-offs of gold coins vs gold bars in an IRA go beyond price: storage, resale and how easily you can split them.
What Year and Version Traps Apply to Gold Eagles?#
No Gold Eagle is ineligible because of its year, which makes it simpler than the Britannia or the Libertad, whose older coins fall below .995. But the year still changes what you pay and, at one custodian, your fees.
- Current-year premium: a 2026-dated 1 oz Eagle cost 4.36% over its gold value, against 3.03% for a random-year coin (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026). On $100,000 that is about $1,200 less gold.
- Asset-type fees: at Entrust, each product-year counts as a separate asset type (Entrust fees page, read September 29, 2026). So 1998 Eagles and 2019 Eagles count as 2 asset types, which adds $110 a year (see the table below).
- Design change: the 2021 reverse redesign does not change eligibility, because the specs in 5112(a)(7)-(10) stayed the same.
| Entrust fee item (Master Account Fee Schedule, Rev. 01/09/2026) | Amount |
|---|---|
| 1 asset type | $219 a year |
| 2 or more asset types | $329 a year |
| Value above $50,000 | Adds 0.17% of the excess |
| Yearly cap | $2,299 total |
One edge case remains. Section 5112(i)(4)(A) lets the Treasury change "the fineness of the gold in the alloy" after notice. Whether a future 24-karat Eagle would still count as a named coin is untested, but it would pass the .995 bullion test anyway.
The 1986 Start Date and the History of Gold in IRAs#
The Gold Eagle has been IRA-eligible since January 1, 1987, because the 1986 law covered coins bought after December 31, 1986. That was 11 years before any Maple Leaf, Philharmonic or gold bar was allowed. The full history of gold in IRAs, from the 1981 ban to the 1997 bullion rule, has its own timeline.
- 1981: the collectibles rule is enacted (Pub. L. 97-34), and IRA purchases of gold become taxable withdrawals.
- 1986: the Tax Reform Act (Pub. L. 99-514, sec. 1144) adds Gold and Silver Eagles, for coins acquired after December 31, 1986.
- 1997: the Taxpayer Relief Act (Pub. L. 105-34, sec. 304) adds bullion, for tax years beginning after December 31, 1997.
From 1987 to 1997, the Eagle was the only gold an IRA could hold. Eagles an IRA bought during 1986 did not count; the exception starts with coins bought on or after January 1, 1987.
How Sales Pitches Misuse the Gold Eagle#
Sellers use the Gold Eagle's trusted name to open the door to higher-margin coins such as proof, "exclusive" and "limited mintage" coins. The Eagle itself has a low markup, which is exactly why it works as bait.
A typical pitch starts with a bullion Eagle and ends with a numismatic coin. The pattern behind numismatic coin upsells is documented case by case. Each pitch line below has a fact that answers it.
- "The Gold Eagle is IRS-approved": the IRS says "there is no list of approved investments". The coin is eligible because a statute describes it.
- "The Eagle is officially numismatic": the "numismatic items" label is a Mint sales-law term, not a tax status (31 U.S.C. 5112(i)(3)).
- "No dealer markup on these small Eagles": according to Coin World, a 2011 Texas case involved "no dealer mark-up" 1/10 oz Gold Eagles. They were reportedly used as bait for proof coins.
- "Keep your IRA Eagles at home": the Tax Court taxed the full cost of home-stored Eagles in McNulty v. Commissioner (2021).
Some dealer and affiliate pages also print 3 errors about the Eagle's rules, answered below.
| Claim printed on some pages | What the documents say |
|---|---|
| The Eagle exception comes from the 1997 Taxpayer Relief Act | The 1986 Tax Reform Act (Pub. L. 99-514, sec. 1144) added it for coins acquired after December 31, 1986; 1997 added bullion |
| Proof Eagles are not covered by the statute, or Congress made a special exemption for proofs | Neither: 5112(j)(1) refers to "any proof version" of the coins; no IRS ruling exists; STRATA and GoldStar accept proofs with box and COA |
| Taking possession disqualifies your entire IRA | McNulty taxed the coins' cost as a distribution; losing the whole IRA is the prohibited-transaction rule (26 U.S.C. 408(e)(2)) |
The "Numismatic Items" Line in the Statute#
The law does call every Gold Eagle a "numismatic item", but only for the Mint's own sales rules, not for taxes and not for value.
Tax status comes from 408(m)(3)(A)(i) alone. Sellers who stretch the label further usually move on to "semi-numismatic" coins. The CFTC, the federal regulator for commodity markets, calls that "a made-up industry term that really has no special meaning". The quote is from its 2024 advisory "10 Things to Ask Before Buying Physical Gold, Silver, or Other Metals".
What Enforcement Cases Show About Eligible Coins#
Three large metals IRA cases involved coins that were legal to hold in an IRA; the harm came from the price, not the eligibility. Every case is dated in our tracker of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.
| Case | Coins | Markup | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| CFTC v. Red Rock Secured (charged May 15, 2023) | Royal Canadian Mint Red-Tailed Hawk and other premium silver and gold coins | 91.89% to 129.97% over Red Rock's cost | Consent order April 23, 2024: $38,984,313.90 restitution, $5.1 million disgorgement, $12.25 million penalty (CFTC release 8898-24) |
| CFTC and 30 states v. TMTE (Metals.com), N.D. Tex. 3:20-cv-02910 | 1/10 oz Royal Canadian Mint gold Polar Bear coins | The CFTC alleges a 120% average markup over market price (complaint para. 51) | Pending as of September 29, 2026; civil trial set for March 1, 2027 |
| Texas Attorney General and U.S. Money Reserve (2011) | "No dealer mark-up" 1/10 oz Gold Eagles, reportedly used as bait for proof and commemorative coins | Not reported | Assurance of voluntary compliance with $5 million restitution, no admission, according to Coin World's report |
Restitution is money paid back to customers; disgorgement is giving up profits; a penalty is a fine. A consent order and an assurance of voluntary compliance are settlements the company agrees to.
The Red Rock consent order found that at least 950 customers paid over $69 million for coins worth about $30 million: a 56.5% loss on day one. They paid with money from IRAs, 401(k) plans and the Thrift Savings Plan (CFTC release 8704-23).
The U.S. Money Reserve row rests on a trade-press report; the agreement itself was not retrieved.
Red Rock later took the name American Coin Co., according to the SEC (litigation release LR-25996, May 2024). What Red Rock Secured customers can still recover is tracked on its case page.
How long would gold need to rise to cover such a markup? The table assumes 5% a year, an illustration, not a forecast.
| Markup paid | Years for gold to break even at +5% a year |
|---|---|
| 5% | 1.0 |
| 23% | 4.2 |
| 71% | 11.0 |
| 100% | 14.2 |
| 130% (Red Rock high end) | 17.1 |
Computed: ln(1 + markup) divided by ln(1.05), the number of years of 5% growth needed to earn back the markup.
For scale, the CFTC's 2020 advisory put normal bullion premiums at 5% to 10% over spot, and numismatic premiums at 40% to 200% (CFTC release 8215-20, August 4, 2020).
How Do Gold Eagles Fit Into the Rest of a Gold IRA?#
The Gold Eagle's eligibility is settled by one line of the tax code, but the account rules around it decide what the coin is worth to you. How a gold IRA works from opening to withdrawal is explained step by step. Custody, statements and withdrawals follow the gold IRA rules for every metal.
Can You Keep IRA Gold Eagles at Home? The McNulty Case#
No: in McNulty v. Commissioner (2021), the Tax Court taxed an IRA owner on the full $374,000 cost of 320 Gold Eagles she kept in her home safe. She bought the coins in 2015 through an LLC (a limited liability company) owned by her IRA, which works out to $1,168.75 per coin. Every home storage gold IRA pitch fails the same custody test.
The court ruled on November 18, 2021 (157 T.C. No. 10, Docket 1377-19). The case turned on the "flush text", the closing sentence of the eligibility rule, added in 1997. The court held that it "does not create an exception to the well-established rules that IRA assets must be held by a trustee".
An owner who takes possession "receives a taxable distribution", the court added. It also upheld 20% accuracy penalties (a penalty for understating tax). So home storage is treated as a withdrawal.
In 1986, Senator McClure said the coins "would have to be held by a trustee and could not be held by the individual investor" (132 Cong. Rec. 14537). IRS Publication 590-B (2025) agrees: "The coins must be in the possession of the custodian or trustee of the IRA."
The dealer valued her Eagles at $347,680 at year end, 7.0% below cost four months after purchase. The facts and holdings of McNulty v. Commissioner are explained page by page.
Why Your Gold IRA Statement Shows Less Than You Paid for Eagles#
Your first statement values your Gold Eagles at the gold price, not at what you paid, so $100,000 of Eagles bought on September 29, 2026 would show about $97,056. Custodians value metal at spot or bid and leave out dealer premiums. Equity Trust says its value "does not include any markups, commissions or premiums".
Proofs show a bigger drop: a hypothetical $50,000 proof purchase at a 30% premium would show about $38,500. Each line of a gold IRA statement is explained with the custodian's valuation rule.
Taking Gold Eagles Out: RMDs and In-Kind Distributions#
You can take Gold Eagles out of the IRA as coins instead of cash, and the coins' market value on the processing day counts as ordinary income. This is called an in-kind distribution. The custodian reports it on Form 1099-R, the form for money or coins leaving the IRA.
Required minimum distributions (RMDs) start at age 73 for people born 1951-1958 and at 75 for people born in 1960 or later. For people born in 1959, the age is 73 only under proposed IRS regulations, which are not final. Ages, divisors and deadlines for gold IRA required minimum distributions apply to coins too.
The example below shows why whole coins rarely match the amount due.
- Balance: 60 one-ounce Eagles at $4,300 on December 31 = $258,000. The owner is 75, and the IRS life-expectancy divisor for that age is 24.6.
- RMD: $258,000 divided by 24.6 = $10,487.80. The coins are valued on the day the custodian processes the withdrawal, not on December 31. That is 2.44 oz if gold is still $4,300, but 2.53 oz if gold has fallen to $4,150.
- Whole coins: you cannot take part of a coin, so you take 3 coins = $12,450 of taxable income, $1,962 more than required.
- Mixed sizes: 2 one-ounce coins, 1 half-ounce and 1 tenth-ounce (2.6 oz = $10,790 at $4,150) overshoot by only $302.
The mix keeps about $1,660 more inside the IRA this year. But those small coins cost 7.83% and 13.82% over spot on September 29, 2026, and the 1/2 oz round trip ran about 10.5%. Custodians also charge to ship coins out.
| In-kind fee (as of Sept 29, 2026) | Equity Trust (FS-0004-05, Rev. 081726) | GoldStar (Rev. 01/2026) |
|---|---|---|
| In-kind distribution fee | $125 | $75 |
| Shipping | Shipping cost plus $10 (minimum $50) | Shipping cost plus $10 |
| Typical total for the example | About $175 | $85 plus shipping cost |
The steps and fees for gold IRA distributions in kind differ by custodian.
Buying Gold Eagles in a Fidelity IRA#
Fidelity is the one large broker that buys and stores Gold Eagles inside an ordinary IRA. It holds all 4 Eagle sizes in Traditional, Roth, Rollover, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs.
| Fidelity cost item (fee schedule FA-FEES-0926, as of Sept 29, 2026) | Amount |
|---|---|
| Buy commission | 2.90% (orders under $10,000) down to 0.99% ($100,000 and up) |
| Sell commission | 2.00% down to 0.75%, $44 minimum per trade |
| Storage at FideliTrade, Delaware | 0.50% a year, $15 yearly minimum |
| IRA minimum purchase | $1,000 |
| Dealer spread | Not disclosed |
The costs of a Fidelity gold IRA are compared with a specialist custodian.
Can You Put Gold Eagles You Already Own Into an IRA?#
No. IRA contributions must be cash under 26 U.S.C. 408(a)(1), so you cannot deposit coins you already own. Selling them to your own IRA is also a prohibited transaction: a deal between you and your IRA that the tax law forbids.
You can deposit cash and let the IRA buy coins through its custodian, including secondhand random-year Eagles from a dealer. For 2026 the limit is $7,500, plus an extra $1,100 catch-up amount if you are 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67).
Cash deposits count against the gold IRA contribution limits for the year.
Are American Gold Eagles Tax-Exempt in an IRA?#
No: the exception only stops an Eagle from being taxed when the IRA buys it. Money or coins you take out of a traditional IRA are still taxed as ordinary income. Qualified Roth IRA withdrawals (generally after 5 years and age 59 1/2) are untaxed (26 U.S.C. 408A).
The 28% top tax rate on collectibles gains applies only to Eagles held outside an IRA (26 U.S.C. 1(h)(4)-(5)).
Basis (what the coins count as having cost you) and the 28% rate after withdrawal are covered under taxes on taking physical gold out of an IRA.
Does the IRS Know About the Gold Eagles in Your IRA?#
Yes: your custodian reports the account's value to the IRS every year and reports every distribution, cash or coins (26 U.S.C. 408(i)).
Form 5498 is the yearly value report. Form 1099-R reports money or coins leaving the IRA.
Form 5498 values follow the rules on how gold IRA metals are valued.
Which Other Coins Does the Law Name, and Which Gold Coins Fail?#
The law names only 2 other US coin families, the 1 oz Silver Eagle and the Platinum Eagle; the Gold Buffalo and the Palladium Eagle qualify only as bullion. Coins a US state issues under its own law form a third named category.
The Silver Eagle qualifies in the 1 oz size only. The 1 oz-only rule is explained on American Silver Eagle in an IRA.
Other gold coins of 22 karat or 90% gold, which no US law names, fail both routes. The British Sovereign (.9167) and pre-1933 US gold coins (.900) are 2 examples.
The tempting one is the pre-1933 $20 Saint-Gaudens Double Eagle. It cost only 1.10% over melt at SD Bullion on September 29, 2026 (product list page), less than any eligible Eagle, yet it fails. The full list of coins you cannot hold in an IRA groups them by reason.