SafeOunce
Company review

U.S. Money Reserve Review 2026: Gold IRA Fees, Minimums, Pros and Cons

U.S. Money Reserve checked Sept. 2026: Gold Eagles at 12% over spot, a $200,000 fee offer tied to proof coins, 29 BBB complaints, and what $100,000 really costs.

  • Reviewed
  • 32 sources
  • 41 min read

Key takeaways

  • U.S. Money Reserve is a real, 25-year-old dealer with public cash prices, but its 1 oz Gold Eagle cost about 12% over spot on September 29, 2026.
  • U.S. Money Reserve is a private precious metals dealer in Austin, Texas that sells gold, silver and platinum coins and bars and arranges gold IRAs through Equity Trust Company.
  • U.S. Money Reserve's record shows 29 BBB complaints in three years, one state settlement from 2011 and no regulator action found since, as of September 29, 2026.
  • U.S. Money Reserve publishes a full User Agreement for cash purchases, but it excludes the IRA program, whose purchase terms appear only in the IRA application.
  • U.S. Money Reserve does not publish its gold IRA fees; the yearly account fees are Equity Trust's, and USMR's own charge is the markup built into each coin's price.

U.S. Money Reserve, Inc. of Austin, Texas is a gold dealer with a Better Business Bureau (BBB) grade of A+ and one regulator settlement, from 2011 (September 29, 2026). It also has 29 BBB complaints in three years. That day, its website sold a 1 oz Gold Eagle for about 12.4% over the spot price, which is the market price of one ounce of raw gold. So the real question is what its coins and IRA offers cost you.

A gold IRA is an individual retirement account that holds physical gold through a custodian, a trust company that holds the account for you. Gold IRA companies, such as U.S. Money Reserve (USMR), Goldco and Augusta, sell the metal and help set up the account. USMR is one of the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks with the same records, prices and contract questions. This review covers U.S. Money Reserve, Inc. (usmoneyreserve.com), a private company, not the U.S. Mint, the Federal Reserve or any government reserve.

Each quick fact below is dated and comes from USMR's own documents, the BBB, Trustpilot or court files.

Quick fact U.S. Money Reserve
Legal name U.S. Money Reserve, Inc.; former assumed name United States Rare Coin & Bullion Reserve (2011 Texas case)
Address P.O. Box 170340, Austin, TX 78717 (BBB)
Business started September 21, 2001 (BBB)
Leaders (BBB) Angela Roberts, CEO; Philip N. Diehl, President (35th Director of the U.S. Mint)
Ownership Owners not published; described as privately held in business listings
IRA custodian Equity Trust Company
Preferred depository A-M Global Logistics (AMGL), per USMR
IRA minimum None published; $200,000 rollover for "Fees for Life" (since April 1, 2026)
IRA fees published No (September 29, 2026)
Online price, 1 oz Gold Eagle (wire, 1-9 coins) $4,664.94, about 12.4% over spot (12:46 p.m. Eastern, September 29, 2026)
BBB A+, accredited since April 21, 2020; 29 complaints in 3 years; 119 reviews (September 29, 2026)
Regulator actions found 1: Texas Attorney General, 2011, $5 million restitution (as reported by Coin World and KUT), no admission
IRA purchase agreement public No; cash-purchase User Agreement: Yes (last updated March 27, 2026)
Official site usmoneyreserve.com

Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.

Our U.S. Money Reserve Verdict: A Long-Running Dealer Whose IRA Perks Point to Costlier Coins#

U.S. Money Reserve is a real, 25-year-old dealer with public cash prices, but its 1 oz Gold Eagle cost about 12% over spot on September 29, 2026. Its BBB file shows 29 complaints in three years, and the only regulator action found is a 2011 Texas settlement. The case files and complaint categories are on the page about U.S. Money Reserve complaints.

Both of its IRA perks, "Fees for Life" and the "IRA Buyback Advantage", depend on proof coins. A proof coin has a mirror-like collector finish and costs more than the plain bullion version of the same coin. Before you send money, get three things in writing: the price per coin and percent over spot for every IRA item, the IRA purchase agreement, and the buyback terms.

USMR gets three things right. It posts live cash prices online, which is rare among gold IRA sellers. Its User Agreement lets you opt out of forced arbitration within 30 days. And it names its custodian and vault.

Look elsewhere if you want the lowest price per ounce: the same day, six other dealers sold the same coin for 2.7% to 8.7% over spot. Walk away if USMR will not put its IRA prices and terms on paper.

U.S. Money Reserve is a private precious metals dealer in Austin, Texas that sells gold, silver and platinum coins and bars and arranges gold IRAs through Equity Trust Company. In a September 16, 2026 press release, the company says it has served "more than 1 million" clients and handled "over $4.4 billion" in transactions. SafeOunce has not checked these company claims.

U.S. Money Reserve, Inc. and its former name#

The company's legal name is U.S. Money Reserve, Inc., and in the 2011 Texas case it traded as United States Rare Coin & Bullion Reserve. The BBB lists its business start as September 21, 2001. Settlements, court cases and your contract use the legal name, and a search under the new name alone can miss a record filed under the old one.

Search both names. Our guide shows how to check a gold IRA company under every name it has used.

Who owns and runs U.S. Money Reserve?#

The BBB names Angela Roberts as U.S. Money Reserve's CEO, Philip N. Diehl as president and Francine Breckenridge as chief compliance officer, as of September 29, 2026. Diehl was the 35th Director of the U.S. Mint. The company's website lists Edmund C. Moy, the 38th Mint Director, as its "Senior IRA Strategist". USMR does not publish who owns it, and SafeOunce found no ownership record; business listings describe it as privately held.

Is U.S. Money Reserve part of the government or the U.S. Mint?#

No: U.S. Money Reserve is a private company, and its own User Agreement says "USMR is not affiliated with the U.S. Government and the U.S. Mint." Coin World reported that the 2011 Texas settlement required the company to disclose this.

How a U.S. Money Reserve gold IRA works, step by step#

A U.S. Money Reserve gold IRA works in 5 steps, from an IRA application at Equity Trust to coins arriving in a vault in your IRA's name. It is a self-directed IRA, meaning an IRA that can hold assets such as metal. The custodian, Equity Trust, legally holds the account and sends your statements. A depository is the vault that stores the coins. The 5 steps are listed below.

  1. Complete the IRA application; USMR's IRA terms come with it.
  2. Move money by a direct transfer or rollover from your current IRA or workplace plan.
  3. Choose coins or bars, and ask for the price per coin and the percent over spot.
  4. Approve the purchase, and Equity Trust pays USMR from your IRA.
  5. Check that the metal reaches a depository (USMR prefers AMGL) and shows on your Equity Trust statement.

Under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B), IRA bullion must be in the "physical possession" of a trustee (26 U.S.C. 408).

For step 2, ask for a gold IRA transfer, which moves money straight from one custodian to another. A gold IRA transfer has no 60-day clock and no once-a-year limit.

Is U.S. Money Reserve a custodian?#

No: U.S. Money Reserve is the dealer that sells the metal, while Equity Trust Company is the custodian that holds your IRA. Equity Trust is a South Dakota trust company (charter TC.022-2), not an "IRS-approved" custodian. The SEC and state regulators warn that "self-directed IRA custodians generally do not evaluate the quality or legitimacy of any investment" (SEC investor alert).

U.S. Money Reserve's Complaint and Regulatory Record#

U.S. Money Reserve's record shows 29 BBB complaints in three years, one state settlement from 2011 and no regulator action found since, as of September 29, 2026. The table sums up the record with dates and sources.

Record item U.S. Money Reserve Date and source
BBB grade and accreditation A+, accredited since April 21, 2020 BBB, September 29, 2026
BBB complaints and reviews 29 complaints closed in 3 years; 119 reviews BBB, September 29, 2026
Complaints per 100 BBB reviews 24.4 SafeOunce computation, September 29, 2026
Trustpilot 2.9 from only 2 reviews Trustpilot, September 29, 2026
Texas Attorney General settlement $5 million restitution (reported), no admission Coin World and KUT (2011); Travis County No. D-1-GV-11-001818, filed November 15, 2011 (settlement text not read)
U.S. Money Reserve, Inc. v. Kagan Magistrate judge recommended denying arbitration (January 29, 2019); jointly dismissed April 17, 2019 W.D. Tex. No. 1:18-cv-00577
Other federal dockets Stux (2015), Dow (2019), Labertew (2020), Faber (2021), Young (2022); outcomes not public except where noted below CourtListener, September 29, 2026
CFTC, SEC and other state actions None found SafeOunce searches, September 29, 2026

This is a summary, not the full file. Each complaint category and court filing is covered on U.S. Money Reserve complaints and lawsuits.

BBB and Trustpilot numbers, and their limits#

U.S. Money Reserve has a BBB A+ grade and 29 complaints closed in three years against 119 reviews: 24.4 complaints per 100 reviews (September 29, 2026). That is the highest rate of the 11 sellers in the table below. Failed firms run far higher: Oxford Gold shows 177 complaints against 38 reviews. BBB accreditation is a paid membership, and USMR has held it since April 21, 2020.

The table ranks 11 gold IRA sellers by BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews (September 29, 2026).

Seller BBB complaints per 100 reviews
U.S. Money Reserve 24.4 (29 complaints, 119 reviews)
Lear Capital 22.1
American Hartford Gold 13.9
Priority Gold 5.9
Goldco 4.2
Birch Gold Group 4.0
Preserve Gold 1.6
Noble Gold 1.2
Augusta Precious Metals 0.7
Patriot Gold Group 0
Advantage Gold 0 (9 reviews)

Counts grow with sales volume, few reviews make a rate jumpy, and disputes sent to private arbitration never reach the BBB.

What does an A+ grade tell you? In the BBB's rating method, 90 of the 100 points relate to complaints, and customer reviews do not count (BBB rating overview). So an A+ mostly means USMR answers the complaints it gets. By count, its 29 complaints are fewer than Lear's 33.

The 2011 Texas Attorney General settlement over coin upsells#

In 2011, U.S. Money Reserve settled with the Texas Attorney General by setting aside $5 million in restitution, Coin World and KUT reported, without admitting wrongdoing. Restitution is money paid back to customers. The deal, agreed on October 11, 2011, is an assurance of voluntary compliance: a settlement in which a company agrees to change how it sells. It was filed November 15, 2011, in Travis County District Court (No. D-1-GV-11-001818), under the former name.

The restitution covers purchases from May 1, 2005, to December 31, 2010. The State alleged that ads for tenth-ounce Gold Eagles with "no dealer mark-up" drew calls, and that sales staff then sold higher-priced proof and commemorative coins. The State also said that "a higher percentage of the complaints come from older consumers", as quoted in a 2018 federal court filing.

The settlement's 3 main commitments, as reported, are listed below.

  • Disclosure that USMR has no affiliation with the government or the U.S. Mint.
  • Disclosure that coin markets are unregulated and that prices can fall.
  • Calls to consumers over 65 only between 9 a.m. and 9 p.m. local time.

SafeOunce has not read the settlement itself. These terms come from Coin World and KUT reports and a 2018 federal court filing that quotes it.

Coin upsells follow one pattern: a cheap bullion coin first, costlier proof coins after. Both 2026 IRA perks reward that shift: the fee offer needs 60% proof coins, and the RMD buyback floor covers only proof and exclusive coins. How coin upsells work, and how to refuse one, is explained on our upsell guide.

Court cases involving U.S. Money Reserve: an elderly buyer, calls and a closed 2015 case#

The best-documented case, U.S. Money Reserve, Inc. v. Kagan (W.D. Tex. No. 1:18-cv-00577), involved a 94-year-old customer's family. They alleged she paid more than $250,000 for 59 coins and coin sets.

Kagan (W.D. Tex. 2018-2019). USMR sued first. The family's counterclaim of July 11, 2018 alleged sales calls "four or five times in a single day" and coins worth "around a quarter" of the price (counterclaim, Doc 8). These are allegations. Magistrate Judge Mark Lane found that "USMR has failed to show that [the customer] ever affirmatively agreed to be bound to an arbitration agreement" (report, Doc 27). The clause sat on a packing slip and in website terms. His report of January 29, 2019 recommended denying arbitration, and the parties jointly dismissed the case on April 17, 2019, on terms that are not public.

Stux v. U.S. Money Reserve (C.D. Cal. No. 2:15-cv-05955). This case was filed on August 6, 2015, and closed on November 4, 2015; its outcome is not public (docket).

Four other federal dockets name the company: Dow (W.D. Tex. 2019, voluntarily dismissed July 12, 2019), Labertew (D. Utah 2020, a fraud claim, closed August 2020), Faber (E.D. Tex. 2021, under the federal law on sales calls) and Young (S.D.N.Y. 2022, website accessibility). The outcomes of Labertew, Faber and Young are not public. Two cases, Kagan and Faber, involve sales calls, a common thread in gold IRA cold calls. How to stop gold IRA cold calls is on our calls guide.

No court judgment against U.S. Money Reserve over customer fraud was found.

Regulator actions since 2011: none found#

SafeOunce found no CFTC, SEC or state regulator action against U.S. Money Reserve after the 2011 Texas settlement, in searches on September 29, 2026. The CFTC is the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, which polices fraud in metals sales. Regulator actions can take years to become public, so check again before you buy.

Every case SafeOunce tracks, including the 2011 Texas matter, is in our list of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.

The "#1 ranked" claim and review-site labels#

U.S. Money Reserve calls itself "The #1 ranked precious metals dealer in the U.S." on its IRA page (read September 29, 2026), but that ranking counts only new IRA accounts at one custodian. The footnote says it is "Based on the number of new IRA accounts opened and funded, 2024 and 2025, at Equity Trust Company."

Review sites also use labels such as "best" and "top rated", and many are paid when you contact a company. How gold IRA review sites earn money is on our reviews guide.

U.S. Money Reserve's Contract Terms: What Is Public and What Is Not#

U.S. Money Reserve publishes a full User Agreement for cash purchases, but it excludes the IRA program, whose purchase terms appear only in the IRA application. The agreement was last updated on March 27, 2026, and its cash terms show what to ask for in the IRA version.

The table compares contract terms at four sellers, from documents read on September 29, 2026.

Term U.S. Money Reserve (User Agreement, Mar. 27, 2026) American Hartford Gold (agreement, Sept. 2026) Lear Capital (terms, Dec. 2025) Goldco
Agreement public Cash: yes. IRA: no Yes Yes No
Spread range stated Not stated Bullion 1.00%-19.99%; up to 39.99% and 59.99% for other coins 2%-35% Not published
Cancellation 3 business days 7 days, non-bullion only 24 hours Not published
Arbitration Federal Arbitration Act, class waiver, 30-day opt-out, hearing in your metro area JAMS JAMS; 30-day opt-out, but Lear may cancel the sale None in website terms
Claim deadline None stated 1 year 1 year + 1 day Not public
Liability cap Amount paid minus fair market value Amount paid Not stated here Not public
Delivery Bullion "typically" within 28 calendar days 4-8 weeks after good funds Within 28 days of cleared funds (non-IRA) 5-14 business days, up to 45

Among these four gold IRA company contracts, only USMR's offers a 30-day arbitration opt-out with no catch, and only Lear and American Hartford Gold state a price range. All ten sellers are compared on gold IRA company contracts.

The IRA purchase agreement is not published#

USMR's User Agreement "does not cover the purchase of precious metals for USMR's Self Directed IRA program", so IRA terms are not on its website (September 29, 2026). The agreement tells IRA buyers to "complete the IRA application" instead. The fee-offer footnote adds: "Portfolio packages subject to available inventory and current retail pricing."

Ask USMR to email the IRA purchase terms and an itemized quote before you sign. The FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule requires phone sellers to tell you the total cost and quantity before you pay (16 CFR 310.3(a)(1)(i)).

How long you have to cancel a U.S. Money Reserve order and get money back#

USMR's User Agreement lets you cancel "at any time prior to midnight of the third business day" after you receive the notice, with a refund within ten business days. Section 7 also allows cancellation "within three days of your receipt of any Products". Three business days is longer than the 24 hours at Lear Capital and Preserve Gold.

Two narrower exits are listed below.

  • Certified coins: a full refund within 30 days of purchase, "excluding shipping, handling and insurance costs" (§5). A certified coin is one graded and sealed in a plastic holder.
  • Bullion: "There is no money back guarantee on bullion purchases" (§5). Once you get a confirmation number, "you have a binding contract", and any market loss is yours (§9).

These are cash-purchase terms. The certified-coin refund is a cash-order benefit only, because Equity Trust, USMR's IRA custodian, does not accept graded, slabbed coins. Cancellation is the fastest route when you need to get your money back from a gold IRA company; the other routes are on how to get your money back from a gold IRA company.

Delivery time, the 28-day line and how to check delivery#

USMR's agreement says it "will typically deliver Bullion (non-Numismatic) Product within 28 calendar days", and it may delay delivery up to 28 calendar days from the expected shipping date. Orders are typically processed 3 business days after payment clears, and registered mail typically takes 5 to 10 business days.

Why does 28 days matter? The CFTC uses 28 days as its "actual delivery" test for financed metals sales (CFTC release 8215-20, 2020). Washington's regulator applied the same line to IRA deliveries in a 2022 order against Rosland Capital. USMR's agreement is one of several that name the 28-day line, along with Lear Capital, Preserve Gold and American Bullion.

Check your Equity Trust statement 28 days after the money leaves your IRA. The steps to check delivery of IRA metal are on our delivery checklist.

Arbitration, the 30-day opt-out and the liability cap#

USMR's User Agreement requires private arbitration, but you can opt out by mail within 30 days of first agreeing, and any hearing takes place where you live. Arbitration is a private hearing instead of a court case, and a class waiver means you give up joining a group lawsuit. Section 12 says the opt-out must be sent "WITHIN 30 DAYS FROM THE DATE THAT YOU FIRST CONSENT" to P.O. Box 170340, Austin, TX 78717. The hearing takes place in your "metropolitan statistical area", under Texas law.

USMR is one of the few dealers whose agreement lets you opt out of arbitration entirely within 30 days. Advantage Gold also allows 30 days; Lear allows 30 days but may then cancel your purchase; American Bullion allows only a 15-day opt-out from its class-action waiver. In 2019, a federal magistrate judge also recommended refusing to hold a customer to USMR's packing-slip arbitration clause, finding USMR had not shown she ever agreed to it.

Section 13 caps what USMR owes at "the amount actually paid by you for the items in dispute minus the item's fair market value". That value is measured "as of the date of the commencement of the arbitration". Suppose you paid $250,000 for coins worth $62,500 on that date. The most USMR would owe is $187,500, the premium you paid, with no consequential or punitive damages unless a statute requires them.

The date cuts both ways: if gold rises before you file, the cap shrinks. $100,000 of Gold Eagles bought at 12.4% over spot holds $88,934 of gold. After a 12.4% rise in gold, that metal is worth about $100,000, so the cap falls to about $0.

U.S. Money Reserve Gold IRA Fees in 2026#

U.S. Money Reserve does not publish its gold IRA fees; the yearly account fees are Equity Trust's, and USMR's own charge is the markup built into each coin's price. The markup is the part of the price that is not metal: about 12.4% over spot on a 1 oz Gold Eagle on September 29, 2026.

So you pay two layers: USMR's markup once when you buy, and Equity Trust's account fees every year. Account fees are the smaller part of the cost; every custodian and seller is compared on gold IRA fees.

What Equity Trust fees apply to a U.S. Money Reserve IRA#

Equity Trust publishes four fee schedules, and USMR does not say which one its IRA customers get. Segregated storage keeps your own coins apart and returns the same pieces. Non-segregated storage is shared: you get the same type and amount back, maybe not the same pieces.

The table shows Equity Trust's precious-metals-only schedule and its Universal IRA schedule at $100,000.

Schedule Setup Yearly fee Storage a year Year 1 total Later years
Precious metals only (FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726) $50 $125 $110 non-segregated / $160 segregated $285 / $335 $235 / $285
Universal IRA (FS-0001-01 Rev. 110625, direct clients), at $100,000 n/a n/a n/a n/a $860 non-segregated / $910 segregated

Equity Trust schedules read September 29, 2026. Which schedule applies to USMR customers is not confirmed.

Ask for the Equity Trust fee schedule, with its revision number, before you sign. The four schedules are explained on our page about Equity Trust fees.

Fees U.S. Money Reserve does not list: selling, moving and closing#

USMR lists no exit costs, but Equity Trust charges to sell metal, move it or close the account. The 4 exit costs on the metals-only schedule are listed below.

  • $30 per liquidation (sale of metal inside the IRA).
  • $125 per in-kind distribution or transfer out.
  • $250 for full termination of the account.
  • Shipping cost plus $10, with a $50 minimum.

The same schedule also charges $30 per wire and $60 a year for paper statements. Other custodians charge gold IRA termination fees too, such as $150 at GoldStar and $250 at STRATA (2026 schedules). Every custodian's exit charges are compared on gold IRA termination fees.

U.S. Money Reserve Minimum Investment: None Published, $200,000 for the Fee Offer#

U.S. Money Reserve publishes no minimum for a regular gold IRA, but its "Fees for Life" offer requires a $200,000 rollover, effective April 1, 2026. The table shows who says what about USMR's minimum, with dates.

Source Figure shown Date
usmoneyreserve.com IRA page "$200,000" rollover for the fee offer Read September 29, 2026
USMR User Agreement Wire orders "$1,000.00 minimum" (cash, not IRA) March 27, 2026
goldirablueprint.com First-year fees waived at "$25,000 or more" (outdated) February 3, 2026
yourgoldiraguide.com "$250" annual fee, no source given for a minimum January 2026

The IRS sets no minimum for a gold IRA. It does cap new money: the 2026 IRA contribution limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at age 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67). That cap is why most IRA orders start with a rollover.

A $200,000 threshold is high next to published gold IRA minimums by company, such as $5,000 at Birch Gold Group and $25,000 at Goldco (September 29, 2026). Every published figure is compared on gold IRA minimums by company.

For cash orders outside an IRA, the User Agreement (March 27, 2026) sets the payment limits in the table below.

Payment Limit (User Agreement §2) Note
Bank wire $1,000 minimum, $100,000 maximum 3% cheaper than card
Credit card $10,000 per calendar month 1 oz Gold Eagle $4,805.07 by card vs $4,665.12 by wire (16:45 UTC, September 29, 2026)
Check Up to $50,000 n/a
Every order "All sales are then verified with you by telephone" (§1.a) USMR may record calls (§14.i)

Wires must arrive within one business day, or "administrative fees/market loss policy will apply and be billed without any exceptions made" (§2.a).

U.S. Money Reserve Prices and Markups: What Its Own Website Charged on September 29, 2026#

On September 29, 2026, U.S. Money Reserve's website sold a 1 oz Gold Eagle for $4,664.94 by bank wire, about 12.4% above the spot price of gold. USMR shows these cash prices online, and its IRA packages use the same "current retail pricing". The premium over spot is how much more than the raw metal value you pay. A tier is a lower price per coin for a larger order.

The table shows USMR's posted cash prices at 12:46 p.m. Eastern (16:46 UTC) on September 29, 2026, with spot at $4,146.60-$4,148.70.

Product Wire price (1-unit tier) Best tier Card price Over spot (wire, 1 unit)
1 oz Gold Eagle $4,664.94 $4,648.35 (20+ coins) $4,805.07 12.4%
1/10 oz Gold Eagle $530.79 $522.49 (100+ coins) $546.71 27.9% per ounce
1 oz Gold Maple Leaf "As low as" $4,571.39 n/a n/a 10.2%
1 oz gold bar "As low as" $4,566.81 n/a n/a 10.1%
1 oz Gold Buffalo "As low as" $4,700.22 n/a n/a 13.3%
Iwo Jima and Pearl Harbor gold coins "Call-in required" n/a n/a Not shown

Prices change through the day and lock when added to the cart. One snapshot, not an average. Spot from gold-api.com at 16:45-16:46 UTC. The 1 oz card price was read at 16:45 UTC, when the wire price was $4,665.12.

Posted prices let you check a quote before you call, and they show a high level: even at the 20-coin tier, the 1 oz Gold Eagle was about 12.0% over spot. Every published spread range is on gold IRA markups and spreads.

How the 1 oz Gold Eagle price compares with other dealers the same day#

The same 1 oz Gold Eagle cost 2.7%-8.7% over spot at six other dealers on the morning of September 29, 2026, against about 12.4% at USMR that afternoon. USMR's price sat about 3.8 points above the highest of the six and 9.8 points above the lowest.

The table compares the one-coin check or wire price of a 1 oz Gold Eagle on September 29, 2026.

Dealer Price Over spot
Blanchard $4,259.61 2.69%
Pacific Precious Metals $4,278.56 3.15%
Summit Metals $4,351.02 4.89%
Fisher Precious Metals about $4,352.10 4.92%
Orion Metal Exchange Posted premium 5.90%
Texas Precious Metals $4,508.06 8.68%
U.S. Money Reserve $4,664.94 12.4%

Six dealers at 10:16-10:41 UTC against the Kitco bid of $4,148.10; Orion at about 09:54 UTC; USMR at 16:46 UTC against $4,146.60-$4,148.70. Spot moved about $5 between the readings ($4,143.60 at Orion's reading to $4,148.70 at USMR's). One day, not a ranking over time.

The 1/10 oz Gold Eagle: about 28% over spot per ounce#

USMR's 1/10 oz Gold Eagle cost $530.79 by wire on September 29, 2026, which is $5,307.90 per ounce of gold, about 27.9% over spot. By card, the same coin was about 31.8% over spot. In the 2011 case, as reported by Coin World, the State alleged USMR advertised this coin with "no dealer mark-up" to start sales calls.

Small coins cost more per ounce at every dealer. Orion's 1/10 oz Gold Eagle was 21.95% over spot the same day, another dealer's price used here as a market proxy.

How much gold must rise before you break even#

At about 12.4% over spot, gold must rise about 12.4% before USMR bullion is worth what you paid, before any fees or buyback discount. The rise you need equals the price you paid divided by the metal value, minus 1.

Fees push that line higher. Add 10 years of Equity Trust metals-only fees ($2,400 non-segregated) and a $280 cost to sell and close. Gold must then rise about 15.5% to break even on $100,000, selling at spot. A buyback bid is the price a dealer pays to buy coins back. USMR publishes no buyback bid, and each 1% the bid sits below spot costs about $889 more per $100,000.

Test your own quote in the gold IRA break-even calculator.

What a $100,000 U.S. Money Reserve Gold IRA Costs: Year 1 and 10 Years#

A $100,000 U.S. Money Reserve gold IRA in 1 oz Gold Eagles buys about $88,934 of gold at spot on day one, at the prices posted on September 29, 2026. Account fees then add about $285 in year one and $2,400 over ten years, if Equity Trust's metals-only schedule applies. The total cost over ten years is about $13,746, with the gold price flat.

The table breaks the $100,000 into year-one and ten-year costs.

Cost Year 1 10 years
Price above metal value (12.4% over spot) $11,066 $11,066
Equity Trust setup $50 $50
Equity Trust annual fee $125 $1,250
Storage, non-segregated $110 $1,100
Account fees total (segregated: $335 / $2,900) $285 $2,400
Exit (sell $30 + close $250) n/a $280
Total cost (segregated: $11,401 / $14,246) $11,351 $13,746

USMR posted prices September 29, 2026, 16:46 UTC; Equity Trust FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726; the schedule for USMR clients is not confirmed.

The table prices the same $100,000 of the same coin at three other dealers that day.

Seller Over spot Gold at spot on day one Difference vs USMR
U.S. Money Reserve 12.4% $88,934 n/a
Texas Precious Metals 8.68% $92,013 +$3,080
Orion Metal Exchange 5.90% $94,429 +$5,495
Blanchard 2.69% $97,380 +$8,447

Buying the same coin at the lowest same-day price would put $8,447 more gold in the account on day one, more than three times the ten years of account fees. Run your own amount in the gold IRA fee calculator.

Your first Equity Trust statement values metal at market value, not at what you paid. Equity Trust's disclosure says statement values "do not include any markups, commissions or premiums from the precious metals dealer". At USMR's September 29 price, $100,000 shows as about $88,900.

That drop is the markup becoming visible, not a loss in the gold itself. Why a gold IRA statement shows less than you paid is explained on our statement guide.

"Fees for Life" Costed: The $200,000 Offer and Its 60% Proof-Coin Rule#

U.S. Money Reserve's "Fees for Life" pays up to $300 a year of Equity Trust fees, but only on a $200,000 rollover that is at least 60% proof coins. Footnote 3 on USMR's IRA page (read September 29, 2026) says the fees USMR covers "are limited for up to $300 per year".

The offer's 6 conditions are listed below.

  • A $200,000 minimum precious metals rollover (effective April 1, 2026).
  • Proof coins of "no less than 60%" of the package.
  • Equity Trust accounts only.
  • Setup, annual maintenance and non-segregated storage only; "Special service fees and fees associated with shipping and transit insurance" are not included.
  • First-time customers only.
  • An offer "valid for 30 days" and "subject to change without notice".

The table compares a $200,000 Fees-for-Life package with $200,000 of plain 1 oz Gold Eagles elsewhere, valued at spot on day one (September 29, 2026 prices).

Route Price basis Gold at spot on day one
USMR Fees for Life package $120,000 of proofs at 13.38% over spot (proxy) = $105,839; plus $80,000 of Gold Eagles at USMR's 12.44% = $71,147 $176,986 (88.5%); fees covered up to $300 a year
Plain bullion elsewhere $200,000 of Gold Eagles at 5.90% over spot (Orion) $188,857 (94.4%); you pay your own fees ($285 year 1, $2,400 over 10 years on the metals-only schedule)
Gap $11,872 of gold on day one = 39.6 years of the maximum $300 waiver

USMR does not publish proof prices. The 13.38% proof and 5.90% bullion figures are Orion Metal Exchange's posted prices that day, used as a market proxy.

The package needs gold to rise about 13.0% ($200,000 ÷ $176,986, minus 1) before it is worth what you paid, before any buyback discount. The proof portion alone tells the same story: $120,000 in proofs buys $105,839 of gold, against $113,314 in bullion Eagles at 5.90%, a $7,476 gap. That gap equals 24.9 years of the maximum waiver, and 20 years of waivers ($6,000) are worth only 3.0% of $200,000. What other waivers are worth is on our page about fees paid for life offers.

Against USMR's own bullion price, the proof rule itself adds little: about $882 on $120,000 at these figures. The bigger cost is USMR's price level. On the metals-only schedule, the waiver covers the $50 setup and all $235 a year of non-segregated fees, worth $2,400 over ten years.

The $300 cap leaves 3 costs unpaid, listed below.

  • Segregated storage: the waiver covers non-segregated storage only, so the $160 a year segregated fee is yours ($1,600 over 10 years).
  • A costlier schedule: Equity Trust's Universal IRA schedule costs $860 a year at $100,000, already $560 above the cap.
  • A withdrawn offer: it is "subject to change without notice", and Equity Trust's disclosure says unpaid fees may trigger liquidation and forced distribution.

Proof coins are allowed in an IRA but cost more to buy and sell; what custodians accept is on our page about proof coins in an IRA.

U.S. Money Reserve Buyback: What the IRA Buyback Advantage Covers at RMD Time#

U.S. Money Reserve says it buys back metal it sold you, but its "IRA Buyback Advantage" price floor covers only proof and exclusive coins, up to your yearly RMD. That floor pays the greater of market value or your purchase price. An RMD, or required minimum distribution, is the amount the IRS makes you take out each year, starting at age 73, or 75 if you were born in 1960 or later.

Footnote 2 on USMR's IRA page (read September 29, 2026) says the program is "Strictly limited to Required Minimum Distributions (RMDs)". It adds: "This guarantee only applies at the time your RMD is taken. Outside of this timeframe, qualifying inventory will be priced at Fair Market Value".

The program's 4 limits are listed below.

  • Proof and exclusive coins only; all bullion is excluded.
  • Only USMR's qualifying inventory, priced against your original purchase price.
  • Only up to the annual RMD amount, and only when the RMD is taken.
  • A policy "subject to change without notice".

At 73, a $200,000 traditional IRA has a required minimum distribution of about $7,547 ($200,000 ÷ 26.5, the IRS Uniform Lifetime divisor in Treas. Reg. 1.401(a)(9)-9). That year, the price floor covers at most $7,547 of proof coins, 3.8% of the account. How the yearly amount is figured is on our page on RMD rules for precious metals.

For all other sales, footnote 1 says USMR "is available to liquidate any and all precious metals we have provided to our clients, according to our liquidation policy". That policy is not published.

Sellers word these terms very differently. What each seller's contract says is on gold IRA buyback programs compared.

U.S. Money Reserve Products: Bullion, Proof and "Exclusive" Gold Coins#

U.S. Money Reserve sells bullion coins and bars, proof coins and its own "exclusive" coins, and for an IRA only bullion has a public price to compare. Bullion means coins and bars priced by their metal weight. The 3 product types, with the IRA rule for each, are listed below.

  • Bullion coins and bars: the American Gold Eagle is eligible by name under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A) despite its .9167 purity. Bars and other coins need gold of at least .995 fineness under 408(m)(3)(B).
  • Proof coins: custodians such as STRATA and GoldStar accept American Eagle proofs in their original packaging (custodian policies, September 29, 2026). Equity Trust, USMR's custodian, accepts ungraded proofs in original packaging with a certificate, but not graded, slabbed coins. USMR does not post proof prices, and certified coins show "View Product" only.
  • "Exclusive" coins: USMR's own Tuvalu issues, covered in the next section.

Ask whether any coin quoted for your IRA is slabbed; if it is, Equity Trust will not take it. Why the American Gold Eagle in an IRA is allowed at .9167 purity is on its product page.

USMR's IRA page lists coins under the heading "IRS-approved precious metals". The IRS keeps no approved-coin list; eligibility comes from 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3). USMR's shop also sells the Krugerrand, which is not IRA-eligible: it is .9167 gold and not named in the statute.

For an IRA, ask for 1 oz bullion and the percent over spot. Premiums for every coin are on our list of IRA-eligible gold coins.

The Iwo Jima and Pearl Harbor "exclusive" coins#

USMR's "exclusive" Iwo Jima and Pearl Harbor gold coins are 1 oz, .9999 gold, $100 legal tender of Tuvalu struck by the Perth Mint. USMR's product pages call them "Exclusively available only through U.S. Money Reserve". Both are listed as "EXCLUSIVE" on USMR's IRA metals page (September 29, 2026).

The table shows what USMR's product pages list.

Coin Year Issuer and mint Fineness Price shown
1 oz Iwo Jima Gold 2020 Tuvalu, Perth Mint .9999 "Call-in required for live pricing"
1 oz Pearl Harbor Gold 2016 (75th anniversary) Tuvalu, Perth Mint .9999 Call for price

Gold of .995 or finer can qualify as IRA bullion under 408(m)(3)(B), if the trustee holds it and the custodian accepts it.

U.S. Money Reserve Custodian and Depository: Equity Trust and AMGL#

U.S. Money Reserve's IRA offers run through Equity Trust Company, and its website names A-M Global Logistics (AMGL) as the depository it prefers, as of September 29, 2026. AMGL is owned by Gold.com, Inc. (NYSE: GOLD, formerly A-Mark), with vaults in Las Vegas and Irving, Texas. Equity Trust also works with other vaults, including Delaware Depository, Brink's, IDS and the Texas Bullion Depository. Every custodian's charter and fees, from Equity Trust to STRATA and GoldStar, are compared on gold IRA custodians.

USMR's depository page makes 2 claims that need correcting, listed below.

  • USMR says AMGL "has been in business for more than half a century". Gold.com's fiscal 2026 annual report (10-K) says AMGL was developed from 2015; it is the parent company that dates from 1965.
  • USMR says depository practices are "closely monitored by the federal government". No federal agency approves IRA depositories; the law only requires the metal to be in a trustee's physical possession (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B)).

Gold.com's fiscal 2026 annual report describes a group insurance program of $50 million primary plus excess cover up to $500 million, shared across all locations. It does not say how much of that covers customer IRA metal. FDIC and SIPC never cover IRA metal, and vault insurance pays metal value, not the premium you paid.

The 3 questions to ask about storage are listed below.

  1. Ask which depository holds the metal, and whether the account is titled to your IRA.
  2. Ask whether storage is segregated or non-segregated, and at what yearly price.
  3. Ask whether you can choose a different depository.

Fees and locations are on our page about A-Mark Global Logistics.

U.S. Money Reserve Pros and Cons#

U.S. Money Reserve's six strengths are about openness on cash prices and contract terms; its six weaknesses are about price level, private IRA terms and proof-coin promotions. The table lists both sides.

Pros Cons
Posts live online cash prices with quantity tiers, rare among IRA sellers 1 oz Gold Eagle about 12.4% over spot (September 29, 2026), against 2.7%-8.7% at six other dealers
Public User Agreement with a 30-day arbitration opt-out and a hearing where you live IRA purchase terms and IRA prices not published
3-business-day cancellation and 30-day returns on certified coins (cash orders) Fee offer needs $200,000 and 60% proof coins
Bullion delivery "typically" within 28 days Buyback floor limited to proof and exclusive coins at RMD time
Names its custodian (Equity Trust) and depository (AMGL) 2011 Texas settlement over bullion-to-proof upsells ($5 million restitution, as reported)
BBB A+ (September 29, 2026), accredited since April 2020; no regulator action found since 2011 24.4 BBB complaints per 100 reviews, the highest of the 11 sellers in our table

Who U.S. Money Reserve Suits, and Who Should Walk Away#

U.S. Money Reserve suits a buyer who already knows today's spot price, buys only 1 oz bullion and gets every IRA price and term in writing. It does not suit anyone who wants the lowest price per ounce, or anyone offered Fees for Life without proof-coin prices in writing.

The table gives a verdict by reader situation (September 29, 2026).

If you... Verdict Why
Want plain bullion at the lowest cost Look elsewhere USMR's 1 oz Eagle was about 12.4% over spot vs 2.7%-8.7% at six dealers
Are offered "Fees for Life" ($200,000+) Take it only with every coin priced in writing Worth at most $300 a year; the package held about $11,900 less gold on day one than plain Eagles at 5.90%
Are near RMD age and hold proof coins Do not count on the buyback floor It covers only the yearly RMD (about 3.8% of a $200,000 IRA at 73)
Are over 75 and get repeated calls Protect yourself Ask to be put on the company's do-not-call list; mail the 30-day arbitration opt-out
Want the IRA contract first Ask before the call ends Request the IRA purchase terms by email; they are not on the website
Have under $25,000 Look at other options Fixed fees plus a 12% markup take a large share of a small account

A low-cost gold ETF (a fund that tracks the gold price) in an existing IRA costs far less. SafeOunce's comparison puts the 10-year cost of $100,000 in GLDM (0.10% a year) at about $1,035, with the gold price flat. The USMR route above costs about $13,746. For that choice, see gold IRA vs gold ETF.

Ask U.S. Money Reserve the 5 questions below before you pay.

  1. Ask the price per coin and percent over spot for each IRA item, including every proof coin.
  2. Ask what USMR would pay for the same coins tomorrow.
  3. Ask for the IRA purchase terms and the invoice by email before paying.
  4. Ask which Equity Trust fee schedule applies, with its revision number.
  5. Ask how many days you have to cancel an IRA order, and from when.

These 5 questions come from a longer checklist of 12 on how to choose a gold IRA company.

How SafeOunce Rates U.S. Money Reserve#

SafeOunce rates U.S. Money Reserve on 7 criteria worth 100 points, from documents and a written price quote, and any item it does not disclose scores zero. The build computes the rating card above from methodology version 1.0. It shows "Rating pending" until SafeOunce has a written IRA quote and USMR's IRA purchase agreement.

The table shows each criterion, its weight and the U.S. Money Reserve inputs as of September 29, 2026.

Criterion (methodology v1.0) Points U.S. Money Reserve inputs Status
A1 Measured bullion premium 15 Posted cash price about 12.4% over spot; written IRA quote for a $50,000 order not yet received Pending
A2 Price disclosure 10 Live cash prices with tiers and card/wire split; IRA packages not priced online; proof and exclusive coins "call for price" Partly known
A3 Buyback terms 5 IRA Buyback Advantage published (proof/exclusive, RMD-only, changeable); general liquidation policy not published Partly known
B1 Published account fees 4 No IRA fees published by USMR Known
B2 10-year account cost at $100,000 4 $2,400-$2,900 plus $280 exit if the metals-only schedule applies Partly known
B3 Promotions not tied to premium products 2 Fees for Life requires at least 60% proof coins Known
C1-C4 Contract fairness 15 Cash User Agreement public with 3-business-day cancel, 30-day opt-out, local hearing, liability cap, no claim deadline stated; IRA agreement not public Partly known
D Regulatory and legal record 20 Texas settlement 2011; no action found since; Kagan dismissed 2019; Faber 2021 outcome not public Known
E Complaint record 10 29 BBB complaints in 3 years, 24.4 per 100 reviews; Trustpilot 2 reviews Partly known
F Product mix and sales pressure 10 Default recommendation for a $50,000 IRA not yet tested; fee offer and buyback steer to proof Pending
G Custody, delivery, disclosure 5 Custodian and depository named; bullion "typically" within 28 days Known

U.S. Money Reserve triggers none of the exclusion gates (closed, sanctioned, watch) as of September 29, 2026. It has 10 business days from a documented request to send a written IRA quote and its IRA purchase agreement; if it does not, it is listed as "Not rated: would not disclose". Weights and evidence rules are on how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.

How Does U.S. Money Reserve Compare With Other Gold IRA Companies?#

U.S. Money Reserve shows more of its prices than most gold IRA sellers, but its prices were higher and its BBB complaint rate is higher than any of the five rivals compared here. Its fee offer also has the highest entry point: $200,000. The table compares it with five rivals, as of September 29, 2026.

Company IRA minimum Account fees published Online prices Spread range in contract BBB complaints per 100 reviews
U.S. Money Reserve None published ($200,000 for fee offer) No (Equity Trust's apply) Yes, cash prices No 24.4
Goldco $25,000 Yes No No 4.2
Augusta Precious Metals $50,000 per its FAQ (company-published) Yes, $285 then $235 per its FAQ No Not readable 0.7
American Hartford Gold Not published No No Yes, bullion up to 19.99% 13.9
Birch Gold Group $5,000 About $235 a year No No 4.0
Lear Capital Not published No No Yes, 2%-35% 22.1

Rankings by real cost, with the markup counted, are on best gold IRA companies.

U.S. Money Reserve TV commercials and endorsements#

Some U.S. Money Reserve TV commercials, such as "Former Mint Director on Physical Gold", feature its president, Philip N. Diehl, a former Director of the U.S. Mint (iSpot, September 29, 2026). SafeOunce found no celebrity spokesperson in the spots it checked.

The CFTC warns in general that fraudulent dealers "target their ads to political or religious programming just to gain your trust" (CFTC release 8881-24). This is not an allegation against U.S. Money Reserve.

Other sellers use paid endorsements from famous names. Who speaks for which seller is tracked on our page about celebrity gold IRA endorsements.

Who pays the review sites that rank U.S. Money Reserve?#

The two review sites that rank for "U.S. Money Reserve reviews" carry commission disclosures, and both send readers to Augusta Precious Metals through tracked links, as of September 29, 2026. One, goldirablueprint.com, says "We may earn a commission" and links to Augusta with affiliate codes. The other, yourgoldiraguide.com, also carries a disclosure and promotes Augusta.

The table checks claims from three review sites against the records, read September 29, 2026.

Claim on a review site What the records show
Diehl is "President & CEO" (goldirablueprint.com, February 2026) Angela Roberts is CEO; Diehl is president (BBB)
First-year fees waived at "$25,000 or more" (goldirablueprint.com) The current offer needs a $200,000 rollover and 60% proof coins
A "class-action lawsuit in 2019" (goldirablueprint.com) The 2019 case found, Kagan, was individual; the only docket described as a class claim, Stux, closed in 2015
"Annual Gold IRA Fee $250" (yourgoldiraguide.com, January 2026) USMR publishes no IRA fee
Card limit "$10,000 per order"; checks "up to $5,000" (yourgoldiraguide.com) $10,000 per calendar month; checks up to $50,000 (User Agreement)
"Several hundred complaints" (rateschaser.com, July 2026) 29 BBB complaints in 3 years
Bullion markup "3-8% above spot" (rateschaser.com) USMR's own site: 12.4% on a 1 oz Gold Eagle
"IRS-approved" depositories (goldirablueprint.com, yourgoldiraguide.com) The IRS approves no depository

SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page. Many review pages are paid when you contact a company; see who pays SafeOunce.

Is U.S. Money Reserve gold real?#

Yes: U.S. Money Reserve sells U.S. Mint coins such as the American Gold Eagle and Perth Mint coins such as its Tuvalu "exclusive" issues. Real gold is not the same as a fair price, so check the percent over spot.

Does U.S. Money Reserve buy back gold outside an IRA?#

Yes, under its liquidation policy, but the User Agreement warns "you may receive less than what you originally paid", and there is no money-back guarantee on bullion.

Can you keep U.S. Money Reserve IRA gold at home?#

No: IRA bullion must be in the physical possession of a trustee, so metal bought through a U.S. Money Reserve IRA goes to a depository, not your home. The Tax Court applied this rule in McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021). One review site (yourgoldiraguide.com, January 2026) lists home storage as an option; that applies only to cash purchases outside an IRA.

A home storage gold IRA fails the trustee test, as the court case on home storage gold IRA shows.

Is buying gold from U.S. Money Reserve a good investment?#

It depends on price: gold pays no interest, and at about 12.4% over spot (September 29, 2026), USMR's bullion needs a bigger rise in gold before you are ahead. Bullion bought at 3% to 6% over spot starts much closer to even.

Whether a gold IRA fits you at all depends on your age, savings and costs. That wider question, is a gold IRA a good investment, is weighed on our pros and cons page.

SafeOunce rating

Rating pending · How we rate

What you pay (price) 30 pts
pending
Account costs and fee transparency 10 pts
pending
Contract fairness 15 pts
pending
Regulatory and legal record 20 pts
pending
Complaint record 10 pts
pending
Product mix and sales pressure 10 pts
pending
Custody, delivery, disclosure 5 pts
pending

U.S. Money Reserve, Inc. has not been scored yet. Scores out of 100 come from contracts, fee schedules, regulator and court records and written quotes. Ratings are never for sale.

Quick facts

Status
Active
Business started
2001-09-21 (BBB)

SafeOunce records, as of Sep 29, 2026.