American Hartford Gold, LLC of Los Angeles is an operating gold IRA seller: A+ at the BBB, no regulator action found, and a contract allowing a spread of up to 59.99% of your price (September 29, 2026). The spread is AHG's margin, the share of your price above its own cost. So the question is not whether AHG exists, but which coins you buy and at what spread. The BBB is the Better Business Bureau, a private group that grades how companies handle complaints.
A gold IRA is an individual retirement account that holds physical metal. A custodian (a trust company) holds the account, and a vault stores the coins. American Hartford Gold (AHG for short) is one of the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks with the same records, fees and contract questions.
This American Hartford Gold review covers the seller at americanhartfordgold.com, also called Hartford Gold Group. It is not The Hartford insurance company.
The 13 facts below come from AHG's own contract and website, the BBB, Trustpilot and federal court records, each dated. A final row links to AHG's own site.
| Quick fact | American Hartford Gold |
|---|---|
| Legal name | American Hartford Gold, LLC (2026 agreement); also American Hartford Gold Group, LLC (website terms) and The Hartford Gold Group, LLC (court cases 2020, 2023) |
| Address | 11755 Wilshire Blvd, 11th Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90025; offices in Woodland Hills, CA and West Palm Beach, FL (BBB; AHG site) |
| Business started (BBB) | March 30, 2015 |
| Leaders | Sanford Mann, founder and CEO (AHG site); Scott Gerlis, Executive Chairman; Max Baecker, President (BBB) |
| Gold IRA minimum | $10,000 "minimum order size" (AHG FAQ, September 29, 2026) |
| Account fees published by AHG | No; its named custodian, Equity Trust, publishes $50 setup and $235-$285 a year on its precious-metals-only schedule (FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726), if that schedule applies to your account |
| Spread limits published | Yes, 2026 agreement: bullion 1.00%-19.99%; "AHG exclusive" and semi-numismatic up to 39.99%; limited numismatic up to 59.99% |
| Coin prices published | No ("Call for pricing", September 29, 2026) |
| Cancellation | 7 days from signing, non-bullion orders only (2026 agreement) |
| Claim deadline | 1 year, JAMS arbitration (2026 agreement) |
| BBB | A+, accredited since June 3, 2016; 111 complaints closed in 3 years (September 29, 2026) |
| Trustpilot | 4.8 from about 1,900 reviews; 2% one-star (September 29, 2026) |
| Court cases and regulator actions found | Mathys (N.D. Ill. 2020, sent to arbitration); McDougall (C.D. Cal. 2023, telemarketing law); regulator actions: 0 (September 29, 2026) |
| Official site | americanhartfordgold.com |
Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.
Our American Hartford Gold Verdict: An Open Contract With Wide Markup Limits#
American Hartford Gold publishes more of its sales contract than most rivals, and that contract allows a spread of up to 19.99% of your price on plain bullion. That equals a markup of up to 25.0% over AHG's cost. Bullion means plain coins and bars priced mainly by their metal weight. On rarer coins, the spread limit rises to 59.99%, a markup of up to 149.9%.
American Hartford Gold complaints at the BBB number 111 in three years (September 29, 2026). Every case file and complaint category is on the page about American Hartford Gold complaints.
These limits are maximums, and the spread "may be negotiable". What should a careful buyer ask before sending money? Get three things in writing: the exact spread on each coin, whether each item counts as bullion, and the delivery date.
AHG's openness is rare. Only 4 of 15 operating sellers SafeOunce checked publish a spread range, and AHG is one (September 29, 2026). Its contract also says the law prohibits it from guaranteeing a buyback.
Look elsewhere if you want the right to cancel a bullion order or have less than $10,000 to move. Walk away from "exclusive" coins offered without a written price.
Who Is American Hartford Gold? Legal Names, Leaders and How It Works#
American Hartford Gold is a precious metals dealer that sells gold and silver coins and bars and arranges gold IRAs, operating as American Hartford Gold, LLC from Los Angeles, California. It is a seller, not a bank, a fund or an adviser. AHG says it has served "2+ million Americans", delivered "$4 billion" in metals, employs over 200 people and made the Inc. 5000 list "four separate years" (September 29, 2026). SafeOunce has not checked these claims.
Why do the legal names matter? Your contract, complaints and court cases use the legal name, and AHG has used three.
American Hartford Gold, LLC, "Hartford Gold Group" and The Hartford: the names to check#
American Hartford Gold appears under three legal names in its own papers and in court files. The table shows where each name appears.
| Legal name | Where it appears | Date |
|---|---|---|
| American Hartford Gold, LLC | 2026 Shipping and Transaction Agreement; website marketing-consent box | Read September 29, 2026 |
| American Hartford Gold Group, LLC | Website terms; risk disclosure | Terms updated July 1, 2023 |
| The Hartford Gold Group, LLC | Mathys (N.D. Ill.); McDougall (C.D. Cal.) | 2020; 2023 |
None of these is The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc., the Connecticut insurance company that trades as NYSE: HIG.
Search all three names, plus "Hartford Gold Group". The step-by-step way to check a gold IRA company by its legal name is on our verification guide.
When was American Hartford Gold founded?#
The BBB lists American Hartford Gold's business start as March 30, 2015, and AHG says Sanford Mann founded it. The BBB has accredited the company since June 3, 2016. Accreditation is a paid BBB membership, not a license.
Who owns and runs American Hartford Gold?#
AHG names Sanford Mann as its founder and CEO, and the BBB lists Scott Gerlis as Executive Chairman and Max Baecker as President, as of September 29, 2026. American Hartford Gold, LLC does not publish who owns it.
The other leaders named on AHG's about page and the BBB profile (September 29, 2026) are listed below.
- Robert Leff, CFO; Hovik Bakhrdzhyan, CMO; Jeremy Fuchs, CIO; Jassy Jackson, SVP Operations (about page); Jamie Marsh, Director of Customer Relations (BBB).
How an American Hartford Gold IRA transfer works, step by step#
An American Hartford Gold IRA works in 5 steps, from an intake form to metal arriving at a depository in your IRA's name. A self-directed IRA is an IRA that can hold metal; the depository is the vault. The 5 steps are listed below.
- Complete AHG's intake form. AHG says opening the IRA at Equity Trust Company "generally takes one business day".
- Move money by direct transfer from your current IRA or plan ("usually averages one-five business days").
- Choose metals, and ask each coin's price, percent over spot (the raw-metal market price) and whether it is bullion.
- Sign the Shipping and Transaction Agreement; the custodian pays AHG.
- Check your custodian statement after AHG ships to the depository, "within four to eight weeks" of payment.
The vault step is the law: under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B), IRA bullion must be in the "physical possession" of a trustee (26 U.S.C. 408).
Step 2 works best as a direct move between custodians. A gold IRA transfer has no 60-day clock and no once-a-year limit.
Is American Hartford Gold a custodian?#
No: American Hartford Gold is the dealer that sells the metal, Equity Trust Company is the custodian it names, and a separate vault stores the coins. The SEC (the federal investor-protection agency) warns that "self-directed IRA custodians generally do not evaluate the quality or legitimacy of any investment" (SEC investor alert).
American Hartford Gold's Complaint and Regulatory Record#
American Hartford Gold's record shows 111 BBB complaints in three years, one arbitration ruling, one telemarketing lawsuit and no regulator action found, as of September 29, 2026. Its complaint rate is the second highest of the ten gold IRA sellers SafeOunce tracks. The table sums up the record with dates and sources.
| Record item | American Hartford Gold | Date and source |
|---|---|---|
| BBB grade and accreditation | A+, accredited since June 3, 2016 | BBB, September 29, 2026 |
| BBB complaints and reviews | 111 complaints closed in 3 years; 798 reviews | BBB, September 29, 2026 |
| Complaints per 100 BBB reviews | 13.9 | SafeOunce computation, September 29, 2026 |
| Trustpilot | 4.8 from about 1,900 reviews; 91% five-star, 2% one-star; replied to 11% of negative reviews | Trustpilot, September 29, 2026 |
| Court cases | Mathys (sent to arbitration, December 7, 2020); McDougall (telemarketing law, filed May 22, 2023) | N.D. Ill. No. 20 C 3927; C.D. Cal. No. 2:23-cv-03912 |
| CFTC, SEC and state regulator actions | None found | SafeOunce searches, September 29, 2026 |
This is a summary, not the full file. Each complaint category and court filing is on American Hartford Gold complaints and lawsuits.
BBB and Trustpilot numbers, and their limits#
American Hartford Gold has 111 BBB complaints closed in three years against 798 BBB reviews, or 13.9 complaints per 100 reviews, as of September 29, 2026. A closed complaint is one the BBB has finished handling. That is not the same as resolved in your favor.
How much does an A+ grade tell you? In the BBB's own rating method, 90 of the 100 points relate to complaints, and customer reviews do not count (BBB rating overview).
The table ranks the ten gold IRA sellers SafeOunce tracks by BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews (September 29, 2026).
| Company | BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews |
|---|---|
| Lear Capital | 22.1 |
| American Hartford Gold | 13.9 |
| Priority Gold | 5.9 |
| Goldco | 4.2 |
| Birch Gold Group | 4.0 |
| Preserve Gold | 1.6 |
| Noble Gold | 1.2 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | 0.7 |
| Patriot Gold Group | 0 |
| Advantage Gold | 0 (9 reviews) |
Counts grow with sales volume, and AHG says it has served over 2 million Americans. Disputes sent to private arbitration never reach the BBB.
AHG's Trustpilot profile shows 4.8 stars from about 1,900 reviews (September 29, 2026). AHG's own reviews page calls that rating "five out of five". The profile is marked as having no recent history of asking for reviews, and AHG replied to 11% of negative ones.
The ten sellers SafeOunce tracks all show 89%-99% five-star reviews, and Trustpilot's score adds a prior of seven 3.5-star reviews. So the stars barely separate them.
What unhappy customers report about markups, statements and delivery#
AHG's negative reviews and case filings repeat four complaints: markups larger than expected, a first statement worth much less than the purchase, pressure toward premium coins, and slow delivery. About 2% of AHG's roughly 1,900 Trustpilot reviews are one-star (September 29, 2026). The four patterns are listed below.
- Markup shock: "I lost a lot of money ... should be for how much they charge" (Trustpilot reviewer, December 10, 2025).
- Statement value gap: Mr. Mathys alleged his coins were worth "less than half" of what he was told.
- Premium-coin steering: Comparisun, a review site, reports BBB complaints about being "pressured into certain premium coins".
- Slow delivery: the 2026 contract allows 4 to 8 weeks after the money arrives.
Each pattern has a protection: buy bullion only, get the markup percent and delivery date in writing, and compare your first statement with the invoice.
Why a gold IRA statement shows less than you paid is explained on our statement guide.
Court cases: an arbitration ruling and a telemarketing suit#
Two federal cases name The Hartford Gold Group, LLC: an 83-year-old customer's fraud claim that a judge sent to private arbitration, and a 2023 telemarketing suit.
Mathys v. The Hartford Gold Group, LLC, N.D. Ill. No. 20 C 3927, was filed July 6, 2020, and decided December 7, 2020, by Judge Charles P. Kocoras. An 83-year-old Chicago man paid $604,331.83 in four purchases from December 2018 to October 2019. He paid $569,331.83 (94.2%) in October 2019, after messages he says "sounded the alarm" about economic collapse.
He alleged his coins were worth "less than half" of what he was told. The court sent the case to arbitration, a private process with one decision-maker. The clause was in normal-size print, "parts ... bolded and in all capitals", and he had initialed the page (court opinion).
McDougall v. The Hartford Gold Group, LLC, C.D. Cal. No. 2:23-cv-03912, was filed May 22, 2023 (docket). It was brought under the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (47 U.S.C. 227), the federal law on sales calls and texts. A dismissal was reported in 2024; SafeOunce has not read the final docket. The case is about unwanted calls, not gold prices.
No court has ruled that AHG overcharged anyone.
Regulator actions: none found#
SafeOunce found no CFTC, SEC or state regulator action against American Hartford Gold under any of its three names in searches on September 29, 2026. The CFTC is the federal agency that brings most metals fraud cases. Cases can take years to become public, so check again before you buy. Every case SafeOunce tracks is in our list of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.
"Best for low fees" and other labels, and review sites#
Money has called American Hartford Gold "Best for Low Fees" since at least January 2025, but Money's fee figures for AHG cover only account fees, not the spread AHG's contract allows. On Money's September 25, 2026 list, AHG is fourth in the editorial picks but first in a paid "Ads by Money" block. Yahoo Finance called it "Best overall" (May 1, 2026), and CNBC Select lists it first for low fees (September 1, 2026).
Account fees are the small part. On $100,000 over 10 years, Money's AHG account fees total $1,800. A spread at the 19.99% bullion limit adds about $23,700 on a same-day sale, for about $25,500 in all. A low-cost bullion route costs about $8,580 (SafeOunce computation, September 29, 2026).
In Orion Precious Metals v. Money Group, C.D. Cal. No. 2:26-cv-07092, filed June 29, 2026, Orion alleges Money is "paid by these companies to rank their businesses as a top choice", naming AHG. These are allegations against Money, not AHG, and the case is pending.
How gold IRA review sites are paid is explained on our reviews guide.
American Hartford Gold's Contract: What the 2026 Agreement Says#
American Hartford Gold links its Shipping and Transaction Agreement from every page footer, so you can read its spread limits, cancellation rules and dispute terms before you call. This review uses the 2026 agreement (file 0902206, uploaded September 2026) and the 2023 agreement (version V323).
The table compares the contract terms of four sellers, from documents read on September 29, 2026.
| Term | American Hartford Gold (2026) | Lear Capital (T&C Dec 2025) | Preserve Gold (STA June 2025) | Goldco |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agreement public | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Spread range | Bullion 1.00%-19.99%; exclusive and semi-numismatic up to 39.99%; limited numismatic up to 59.99% | 2%-35% | Bullion up to 20%; IRA up to 34.99% | Not published |
| Cancellation | 7 days, non-bullion only | 24 hours after invoice | 24 hours | Not published |
| Arbitration | JAMS office nearest you | JAMS Los Angeles, 30-day opt-out | JAMS | Agreement not public |
| Claim deadline | 1 year | 1 year + 1 day | 1 year + 1 day | Not public |
| Buyback wording | Law prohibits a guarantee | Law prohibits a guarantee | Law prohibits a guarantee | "Guaranteed at the highest price", no terms |
Gold IRA company contracts differ most on cancellation and spread limits. All ten sellers are compared on gold IRA company contracts.
Markup limits: 1% to 19.99% on bullion, up to 39.99% and 59.99% on other coins#
AHG's 2026 agreement says its spread was 1.00% to 19.99% on bullion, with higher limits on two groups of coins. The three limits in paragraph 4B are listed below.
- Bullion: 1.00% to 19.99% of your price.
- "AHG exclusive coins as well as semi-numismatic coins": up to 39.99%.
- "Certain numismatic coins of which the supply is particularly limited": up to 59.99%.
Numismatic coins are collector coins priced above their metal value. The CFTC calls "semi-numismatic" "a made-up industry term that really has no special meaning". Paragraph 4A adds that "The Spread may be negotiable" and "may be different than the Spread charged others in similar transactions".
These are spread limits, a share of your price, so the markup over AHG's cost is higher. A 19.99% spread equals a 25.0% markup over cost; 39.99% equals 66.6%; 59.99% equals 149.9%.
Numismatic coin upsells move a buyer from bullion to rarer coins, which raises the spread limit from 19.99% to 59.99%. How numismatic coin upsells work, and what regulators found, is on our upsell guide.
What changed from the 2023 agreement#
AHG's agreement has become less favorable to buyers since 2023: the top spread limit rose from 34.99% to 59.99%, and the 7-day cancellation right now excludes bullion. The table sets the two versions side by side.
| Term | 2023 agreement (V323) | 2026 agreement |
|---|---|---|
| Bullion spread | Up to 19.99% | 1.00%-19.99% |
| Exclusive and semi-numismatic coins | Up to 34.99% | Up to 39.99% |
| Limited numismatic coins | 34.99% | Up to 59.99% |
| IRA transactions | "Generally up to 34.99%" | Same tiers as cash orders |
| Cancellation | 7 days, for "the transaction" | 7 days, non-bullion only |
| Anti-impostor confirmation | None | Paragraph 9 added |
New paragraph 9 protects against impostor scams. You confirm that no one claiming to be from a government agency, a bank or the police told you to buy.
How long you have to cancel: 7 days, and not for bullion#
You can cancel an AHG order within 7 days of signing only if it is a non-bullion order. You must also return the coins within 3 days of delivery. Bullion orders have no cancellation right in the 2026 agreement.
Paragraph 3 says the 7-day period "shall begin from the execution date of this Agreement regardless of whether the account is fully funded for IRA transactions." You must tell AHG by phone and email. It refunds "within thirty (30) days". Paragraph 2A adds that "all sales are final" except as the agreement states.
The timeline shows how the cancellation clock runs against a typical IRA funding and delivery schedule (illustration).
| When | What happens |
|---|---|
| Day 0 | You sign the agreement |
| Days 1-5 (business days) | The transfer arrives (AHG FAQ: "one-five business days") |
| Day 7 | The cancellation window closes (non-bullion orders only) |
| 4 to 8 weeks after funding | Delivery deadline in the agreement |
| Day 28 after payment | The "actual delivery" line the CFTC uses (release 8215-20, August 4, 2020) |
AHG's about page promises a "100% customer satisfaction guarantee". The agreement limits its satisfaction guarantee to "non-bullion transactions". Paragraph 3 defines non-bullion by pointing back to the bullion spread range, which is hard to follow. Ask in writing whether each item can be cancelled.
Seven days is longer than the 24 hours Lear Capital and Preserve Gold give. After the window closes, getting money back is much harder. What cancellation, arbitration and restitution can do is explained on how to get your money back from a gold IRA company.
Delivery: 4 to 8 weeks, and how to check delivery#
AHG's agreement says it will arrange IRA delivery "within four to eight weeks" after the custodian's funds arrive. For a cash order paid by bank check, the check can take up to 12 business days to clear first. Problems with a package "must be reported within five (5) calendar days of delivery." If delivery to storage fails after 28 days, the agreement lets AHG cancel the order.
That schedule can take up to twice as long as the CFTC's 28-day "actual delivery" benchmark (release 8215-20, 2020). AHG's IRA page says "In as little as 3 days", but the agreement allows four to eight weeks for delivery, so ask which step the 3 days describes. Get the ship date in writing, and check your custodian statement 8 weeks after funding at the latest.
A statement that still shows no metal is a warning sign, so check delivery early. The steps to check delivery of IRA metal, and what to do if it never arrives, are on our delivery checklist.
Arbitration, the one-year claim deadline and the liability cap#
AHG's agreement sends disputes to JAMS arbitration at the office closest to you, bars group claims, and says any claim "SHALL BE FILED WITHIN ONE YEAR OF ITS ACCRUAL". JAMS is a private arbitration company; a retired judge decides the case. JAMS caps consumer filing fees at $250 (as of September 2026).
Paragraph 12 limits AHG's liability to "THE AMOUNT CUSTOMER ACTUALLY PAID FOR THE PRECIOUS METALS AT ISSUE". Paragraph 16 says "AHG may amend this agreement at any time solely by written notice". The website terms (updated July 1, 2023) use a different forum for website disputes: AAA Commercial Rules in Los Angeles.
Courts enforce this clause: the Mathys court sent an 83-year-old's claim to arbitration, noting he had initialed the page.
Smaller clauses that cost money: card fee, late payment, price protection#
Four smaller terms can cost you money: three clauses in AHG's agreement and one in its risk disclosure. They are a 3% card fee, a two-day payment deadline, a price-protection credit paid in coins, and a replacement-only quality remedy, listed below with their dollar effect.
- Card fee: a "three percent (3%) merchant processing fee" on card payments, not refunded. On a $10,000 cash order, that is $300.
- Late payment: money is due "within two (2) business days". If you do not pay, AHG may resell your order. It keeps any gain "as liquidated damages" and charges you any loss.
- Price Protection Guarantee: if AHG cuts its price on semi-numismatic, exclusive or numismatic coins within 7 calendar days, it pays the difference in more coins, not cash. At the 39.99% limit, a $2,500 credit is worth about $1,500 at AHG's cost (hypothetical).
- Quality remedy: AHG's risk disclosure offers a replacement of the same type and grade, not a refund. You must report within 15 calendar days, with the coin still in its unopened holder.
Commissioned, unlicensed salespeople and no fiduciary duty#
AHG's agreement says its sales representatives are paid commission "based at least partially on the volume and profit margin" of what they sell. It adds that they "are not licensed". Paragraph 7 says "no fiduciary relationship exists". A fiduciary is someone legally bound to put your interests first.
Paragraph 7 also says you "should be prepared to hold purchased precious metals for a minimum of five years or more". The risk disclosure says "preferably five to ten years".
What a fiduciary owes you, and why gold salespeople are not one, is in our glossary.
Consent to calls and texts, even on the Do-Not-Call list#
AHG's agreement authorizes calls to your numbers "regardless of whether those numbers are listed on any state or federal 'Do Not Call' registry". Its website form also asks you to consent to calls and texts "by artificial or prerecorded voice or by AI voice technology" (September 29, 2026). The form adds: "Consent is not a condition of purchase."
Use a separate email address, and reply STOP in writing to any text you do not want. How to stop gold IRA cold calls and texts under the Do-Not-Call rules is on our calls guide.
American Hartford Gold Fees in 2026: What Is Published and What Is Not#
American Hartford Gold publishes no account fees; its FAQ says fees "vary based on your account's size" and storage "might be free", as of September 29, 2026. The custodian it names, Equity Trust, publishes $50 to set up and $235 or $285 a year on its precious-metals-only schedule (Rev. 081726), if that schedule applies to your account.
So how much does American Hartford Gold cost? Gold IRA fees come in three layers: the spread when you buy, the custodian and storage fees each year, and the gap when you sell. The spread costs far more, and AHG sets it coin by coin. Every custodian and seller is compared on gold IRA fees.
The custodian AHG names: Equity Trust's fee schedule#
AHG's gold IRA page says clients "enjoy the experienced custodial services of Equity Trust Company". Equity Trust's precious-metals-only fee schedule charges $50 to open and $125 a year, plus storage. Write down which schedule applies, because dealer channels can carry negotiated schedules.
The table shows Equity Trust's precious-metals-only schedule (FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726, read September 29, 2026).
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Setup | $50 |
| Annual fee (not prorated) | $125 |
| Storage, non-segregated / segregated | $110 / $160 a year |
| Total per year | $235 / $285 |
| Year one with setup | $285 / $335 |
| Liquidation (per sale) | $30 |
| In-kind distribution or transfer out | $125 |
| Full termination | $250 |
| Wire | $30 |
Segregated storage keeps your own coins apart. Non-segregated storage returns the same type and amount, but maybe not the same pieces. Both are held for your IRA alone. These figures apply if your account uses this schedule, so ask AHG which schedule and revision date apply to you.
Equity Trust fees differ by schedule, and it has four. Equity Trust's four schedules are explained on our page about Equity Trust fees.
Fee figures on other sites, and why they disagree#
Four review sites give four different American Hartford Gold fee sets, and none cites an AHG document. The table shows what each one says, with its date.
| Source | Setup | Yearly | Waivers | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Money | $50 custodian setup | $75 up to $100,000, $125 above; storage $100 "in most cases" | Not stated | September 25, 2026 |
| Clute Journals | Not stated | $75-$80 under $100,000, $125 above; storage about $100, segregated "extra $150" | First year over $50,000; three years over $100,000 | January 16, 2026 |
| OwnX | "$0 setup" | "$200-$250/yr" | First-year waiver | July 3, 2026 |
| Comparisun | About $50 | $180-$250 | 1-3 years | 2026 |
The Money figures come from one source only. OwnX's "$0 setup" and "$200-$250/yr" do not match Equity Trust's precious-metals-only schedule (Rev. 081726): $50 setup and $235 or $285 a year. No fee waiver appears on AHG's own pages, so treat every waiver above as a review-site claim.
Fees American Hartford Gold does not list: selling, moving and closing#
AHG says it charges no liquidation fee, but the custodian charges to sell metal, move it or close the account. The four exit costs on Equity Trust's precious-metals-only schedule are listed below.
- $30 per liquidation (a sale of metal).
- $125 per in-kind distribution (coins sent to you) or transfer out.
- $250 for full termination of the account.
- $30 per wire.
To sell everything and close the account costs $280: $30 for the sale plus $250 to close. Gold IRA termination fees differ by custodian. Every custodian's exit charges are compared on gold IRA termination fees.
American Hartford Gold Minimum Investment: $10,000#
American Hartford Gold's minimum for a gold IRA is $10,000, as of September 29, 2026. Its FAQ says: "The minimum order size for our self-directed Gold IRA is $10,000." Here the review sites and AHG agree. The table shows each source with its date.
| Source | Minimum shown | Date |
|---|---|---|
| AHG FAQ | $10,000 order size | September 29, 2026 |
| Clute Journals | $10,000 IRA; $5,000 cash | January 16, 2026 |
| OwnX | $10,000 | July 3, 2026 |
| Comparisun | "Around $10,000" | 2026 |
The IRS sets no minimum for a gold IRA. The 2026 IRA contribution limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at age 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67). So most AHG accounts start with a transfer or rollover, not a new contribution.
The $5,000 cash minimum is reported by review sites only, not on the AHG pages SafeOunce read. Published gold IRA minimums by company range from $5,000 at Birch Gold to $50,000 at Augusta (September 2026). Every published figure is compared on gold IRA minimums by company.
What account fees mean for small investors at the $10,000 minimum#
At AHG's $10,000 minimum, Equity Trust's $285 a year for segregated storage equals 2.85% of your balance every year, before any markup. The same yearly fee is only 0.285% on $100,000. The other fee levels at $10,000 are shown below.
- Non-segregated storage, $235 a year: 2.35%.
- Year one with setup, $335: 3.35%.
- Money's reported AHG fees, $175 a year: 1.75%.
The spread weighs more. At the 19.99% bullion limit, $10,000 buys coins worth about $7,626 if sold back on day one (industry buyback template).
For small investors, both costs matter at once. Cheaper routes for balances near $10,000 are on best gold IRA companies for small investors.
The Markup You Pay: American Hartford Gold's Spread and Prices#
The markup is the largest cost of an American Hartford Gold IRA, and AHG's contract caps its spread at 19.99% of your price on bullion and 59.99% on rare coins. Those caps equal markups of up to 25.0% and 149.9% over AHG's cost. AHG does not show your exact number before you order. Percent over spot, the number to ask for, compares your price with the raw-metal price. The bid is what a dealer pays when you sell back.
How big is that cost? It depends on the coin. The CFTC says legitimate dealers' spreads are often under 20%, while fraud cases run over 300% (2024 advisory). Bullion usually sells for 5%-10% over spot, and numismatic coins for 40%-200% over (CFTC release 8215-20, 2020).
Review sites repeat a smaller figure: AHG markups of "3% to 5% above spot for gold and 8% to 12% for silver" (Clute Journals, January 16, 2026). Clute bases it on customer "feedback", and AHG publishes no such figure. Its 2026 agreement allows 1.00%-19.99% on bullion and up to 39.99% or 59.99% on other coins, so a low figure is possible but not promised. Get yours in writing for each coin.
Gold IRA markups and spreads are rarely published. AHG is one of only 4 of 15 operating sellers that publish a spread range (September 29, 2026), and only 1 of the 15 publishes live prices. Every published spread range is compared on gold IRA markups and spreads.
How much gold must rise before you break even#
At AHG's 19.99% bullion limit, gold must rise about 31% before a customer who sells back is even; at the 59.99% limit, it must rise about 162%. The table shows the rise needed at six spreads within AHG's contract range.
| Spread | Rise to reach dealer cost | Rise including the buyback gap | Day-one sale value of $100,000 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1% (AHG floor) | 1.0% | 6.0% | $94,359 |
| 5% | 5.3% | 10.4% | $90,547 |
| 10% | 11.1% | 16.6% | $85,781 |
| 19.99% (bullion limit) | 25.0% | 31.1% | $76,260 |
| 39.99% (exclusive limit) | 66.6% | 74.8% | $57,197 |
| 59.99% (limited numismatic limit) | 149.9% | 162.2% | $38,135 |
Illustration using the industry buyback template (bid 4.69% below dealer cost; Lear T&C Dec 2025, Preserve STA June 2025). AHG does not publish its bid method.
The gold IRA break-even calculator uses the same formula. Test your own spread in the gold IRA break-even calculator.
Why "call for pricing" matters#
AHG's product pages show "Call for pricing" instead of a price, so the only way to learn your markup is on the phone or on the invoice. The Telemarketing Sales Rule says sellers must tell you the total cost and quantity before you pay (16 CFR 310.3(a)(1)(i), eCFR). Ask for the price per coin, the spot price at that minute and the percent difference, by email, before you sign.
What a $100,000 American Hartford Gold IRA Costs: Year 1 and 10 Years#
A $100,000 American Hartford Gold IRA on Equity Trust's precious-metals schedule costs $335 in account fees in year one and $2,900 over ten years, plus $280 to sell and close. If you sell back, the spread and buyback gap add $5,641 to $61,865 more, depending on the coins. The first table shows the account fees with segregated storage.
| Cost | Year 1 | 10 years |
|---|---|---|
| Setup | $50 | $50 |
| Annual fee | $125 | $1,250 |
| Segregated storage | $160 | $1,600 |
| Exit (liquidation + termination) | $0 | $280 |
| Total | $335 | $3,180 |
| Non-segregated storage instead | $285 | $2,680 |
| Money's reported AHG fees (single source, exit not included) | $225 ($50 setup + $175) | $1,800 |
The table adds the spread and the buyback gap to the custodian fees, with the metal price held flat.
| Spread | Day-one sale value | Spread + gap loss | + 10 years of fees with exit | 10-year total | % of $100,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1% | $94,359 | $5,641 | $3,180 | $8,821 | 8.8% |
| 5% | $90,547 | $9,453 | $3,180 | $12,633 | 12.6% |
| 10% | $85,781 | $14,219 | $3,180 | $17,399 | 17.4% |
| 19.99% | $76,260 | $23,740 | $3,180 | $26,920 | 26.9% |
| 39.99% | $57,197 | $42,803 | $3,180 | $45,983 | 46.0% |
| 59.99% | $38,135 | $61,865 | $3,180 | $65,045 | 65.0% |
The spread, not the yearly fee, decides most of your cost. Moving from 5% bullion to 39.99% coins adds $33,350 to the ten-year total. Run your own amount in the gold IRA fee calculator.
Your custodian statement values metal at market value, not at what you paid. Equity Trust says its statement values "do not include any markups, commissions or premiums from the precious metals dealer".
At the 19.99% limit, $100,000 shows as about $80,010 of metal, before any buyback gap. That first statement reflects the spread, not lost coins.
For comparison, buying and selling a 1-ounce Gold Eagle the same day at a large online dealer cost about 5%-7% on September 29, 2026 (single snapshot). The lowest total cost comes from bullion at a low spread. Sellers ranked by lowest total cost are on our low-cost list.
"Up to $15,000 in Free Silver": What the Offer Leaves Out#
AHG's homepage offers "Up To $15,000 in FREE Silver On Qualifying Purchases" but publishes no terms: no minimum order, no list of qualifying coins and no silver price. SafeOunce read it on September 29, 2026; Clute Journals still reports an older "Up to $10,000".
What could the silver cost you? Say you put $100,000 into coins at the 39.99% exclusive limit instead of bullion at 5%. The coins would carry $34,990 more spread, more than twice the largest bonus. This is a hypothetical, because AHG's qualifying terms are not published.
The FTC's Guide on the word "Free" sets the standard (16 CFR 251.1). Under 251.1(b)(1), buyers may assume the seller will not recover the cost of the free item "by marking up the price of the article or service which must be purchased". Under 251.1(c), the terms should be "set forth clearly and conspicuously at the outset of the offer".
If the qualifying coins carry a bullion-level spread, the bonus is real value. Ask for the per-coin price and the bonus terms in writing. How other sellers fund free silver gold IRA promotions is explained on our promotions guide.
American Hartford Gold Buyback: No Guarantee, No Liquidation Fee#
AHG's agreement says "applicable laws currently prohibit AHG from guaranteeing to repurchase precious metals it sells", and its about page promises no liquidation fee. Paragraph 6 of the 2026 agreement covers both "actual repurchase" and "repurchase at a particular price".
The about page says: "While we cannot legally guarantee that we will repurchase metals, we never charge any additional liquidation fees." Product pages carry "Price Match Guarantee" and "Buy-Back Commitment" badges (September 29, 2026), yet paragraph 6 "makes no such guarantee".
The same "law prohibits" line appears in the Lear Capital, Preserve Gold and American Bullion agreements. Oxford Gold Group's agreement used it too (failed; involuntary Chapter 7 filed August 28, 2024). Goldco and Noble Gold market "guaranteed" buybacks without published terms.
On a 1-ounce bullion coin, a fair same-day round trip costs about 5%-7% (September 29, 2026). On a coin bought at the 39.99% limit, a buyback at the template bid loses about 43% (from the $100,000 table above). Gold IRA buyback programs differ mainly in their contract wording. What each contract says is on gold IRA buyback programs compared.
American Hartford Gold Products: Bullion, Fractional Coins and "Exclusive" Coins#
American Hartford Gold sells standard bullion such as the American Gold Eagle, but its homepage gold menu showed only quarter-ounce coins from named series (September 29, 2026). The four were the Britannia and Liberty, Mythical Creatures Griffin, Queen Elizabeth and Lion, and Saint Helena Sovereign coins. Their pages say "Call for pricing".
AHG's products fall into three types, each with its own rule, listed below.
- Bullion coins and bars: the American Gold Eagle is eligible by name under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A); other gold must be .995 fine under 408(m)(3)(B).
- Fractional coins: coins under one ounce cost more per ounce. A 1/10 oz Gold Eagle carried a 13.82% retail premium, against 3.03% for 1 oz, at one large online dealer (September 29, 2026).
- "AHG exclusive", semi-numismatic and limited coins: limited mintage means a small run sold at a higher price. Contract limits: 39.99% and 59.99%.
Why the American Gold Eagle in an IRA is allowed despite .9167 purity is explained on its product page.
A British gold Sovereign (.9167) is not IRA-eligible. Ask AHG, and your custodian, about any coin with "Sovereign" in its name.
Proof coins are polished collector versions of bullion coins. What custodians accept for proof coins in an IRA is on our proof coin page.
For an IRA, ask for 1-ounce bullion coins or bars and the percent over spot for each.
American Hartford Gold Custodian and Depositories#
AHG names Equity Trust Company as its custodian and Brink's Global Services and the Delaware Depository as the vaults it "likes", as of September 29, 2026. Gold IRA custodians run the account, and the depository stores the metal. Every custodian's charter and fees are compared on gold IRA custodians.
AHG's IRA page lists vaults in Texas, Delaware, Salt Lake City, New York and Los Angeles, "Segregated or Non-Segregated". Mr. Mathys's metals "were held with International Depository Services of Delaware" in 2018. Ask the three questions below before you fund the account.
- Which custodian and fee schedule apply, with its revision date?
- Which depository, and is the account titled to my IRA?
- Segregated or non-segregated storage, and at what yearly price?
FDIC and SIPC insurance never cover IRA metal. Vault insurance pays the metal's market value, not the premium you paid over spot. Gold IRA depositories differ in cover and location, and both are compared on gold IRA depositories.
The Delaware Depository, for example, carries $1 billion of all-risk cover plus $100 million contingent (Delaware Depository FAQ, September 29, 2026). It pays metal value, with exclusions for war, terrorism, cyber and government confiscation.
AHG's IRA page names the Delaware Depository first. Fees and insurance at the Delaware Depository are on its profile.
Where American Hartford Gold's Website Gets IRS Rules Wrong#
Five statements on AHG's gold IRA pages are out of date or wrong under current IRS rules, as read on September 29, 2026. The table quotes AHG's words, then the rule and its source.
| AHG statement | What the rule says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| "The maximum annual contribution for 2025 is $7,000, or $8,000 if you are 50 or older" | Out of date: the 2026 limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at 50 or older ($8,600) | IRS Notice 2025-67 |
| "subject to required minimum distributions once you turn 72" | Out of date: 73 if born 1951-1958, 75 if born 1960 or later; 1959 is 73 under proposed regulations | 26 U.S.C. 401(a)(9)(C)(v) |
| "IRS-approved coins and bars", "IRS-approved depository" | The IRS approves no coin or vault; metal must be IRA-eligible and in a trustee's possession | 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3) |
| "These rollovers are tax-free" | Direct transfers are not taxed. A 60-day rollover from a plan has 20% withheld, and IRA-to-IRA 60-day rollovers are limited to one per 12 months | 26 U.S.C. 3405(c); 408(d)(3)(B); Announcement 2014-15 |
| FAQ, 60-day rollover: "You then simply mail the check to American Hartford Gold" | The money must be deposited into the new IRA within 60 days | 26 U.S.C. 408(d)(3) |
A safer route than mailing a check: ask for a direct rollover paid to the new custodian for your benefit. It has no 60-day clock, and from a plan it has no 20% withholding (26 U.S.C. 401(a)(31); IRS Publication 590-A).
A required minimum distribution (RMD) is the yearly withdrawal the law requires from a traditional IRA once you reach a set age.
AHG's FAQ does warn buyers away from "Home Storage IRAs": it calls them "buyer beware" and "Not worth it". The Tax Court went further in McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021). Coins an IRA owner kept at home were a taxable distribution. The court case is covered on home storage gold IRA: the IRS rules and the McNulty ruling.
American Hartford Gold Pros and Cons#
AHG's six strengths are about openness in writing and a long record; its six weaknesses are about what that writing allows. The table lists American Hartford Gold pros and cons side by side (September 29, 2026).
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Publishes its full sales agreement with spread ranges (one of 4 of 15 sellers) | Spread limits up to 39.99% and 59.99% on non-bullion coins |
| Says the spread "may be negotiable" | No cancellation right on bullion |
| No guaranteed-buyback claim, and no liquidation fee | No coin prices online ("Call for pricing") |
| Names its custodian and depositories | One-year claim deadline and mandatory arbitration |
| 7-day cancellation on non-bullion (longer than Lear or Preserve) | 13.9 BBB complaints per 100 reviews |
| BBB A+ (September 29, 2026), accredited since June 3, 2016; no regulator action found | Website repeats out-of-date IRS figures |
Who American Hartford Gold Suits, and Who Should Walk Away#
American Hartford Gold suits a buyer with $10,000 or more who wants only 1-ounce bullion and gets the markup for each coin in writing before signing. It does not suit anyone who wants to change their mind after buying bullion, or who is offered "exclusive" coins without a written price. The table gives a verdict for six reader situations.
| Your situation | Verdict | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Under $10,000 | Below the minimum | A low-cost gold ETF inside an existing IRA costs less |
| $10,000-$50,000, bullion only | Workable | Custodian fees are 0.57%-2.85% a year ($285 on $50,000 down to $10,000) |
| Offered exclusive, semi-numismatic or limited coins | Walk away unless the markup is in writing | At the 39.99% limit, gold must rise about 75% to break even |
| Offered the free silver | Take it only with terms in writing | Get the bonus terms and per-coin prices in writing |
| Need a cooling-off period | Decide before you sign | Bullion orders have none |
| Moving money you need within 5 years | Think twice | At 19.99%, gold must rise about 31% to break even; AHG itself says to hold five years or more |
A gold ETF is a fund that tracks the gold price and trades like a stock. For balances under $10,000, see gold IRA vs gold ETF.
You should ask these 5 questions before you pay American Hartford Gold anything.
- Ask the price per coin and the percent over spot for every item.
- Ask whether each item is "bullion" under the agreement, and so cannot be cancelled.
- Ask for the agreement, the invoice and the custodian fee schedule by email before paying.
- Ask the delivery date and which depository, in writing.
- Ask what AHG would bid for the same coins tomorrow.
These 5 questions are a short version of how to choose a gold IRA company. The full list of 12 questions is on how to choose a gold IRA company.
How SafeOunce Rates American Hartford Gold#
SafeOunce rates American Hartford Gold on 7 criteria worth 100 points, from documents and a written price quote, and any item AHG does not disclose scores zero. The score appears in the rating card at the top of this page. It is computed at build from methodology v1.0. Until AHG sends a written quote, the card shows "Rating pending".
The table lists each criterion, its points and what SafeOunce knows about AHG (September 29, 2026).
| Criterion (methodology v1.0) | Points | AHG inputs as of September 29, 2026 | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| A1 Measured bullion premium | 15 | No written quote yet for a $50,000 IRA order of 1 oz Gold Eagle and 1 oz Maple Leaf | Pending (unknown scores 0) |
| A2 Price disclosure | 10 | No prices online; spread range published in the agreement | Partly known |
| A3 Buyback terms | 5 | No guarantee; no liquidation fee; bid method and payment time not published | Partly known |
| B1 Published account fees | 4 | Not published by AHG; custodian named, and its schedule is public | Known |
| B2 10-year account cost at $100,000 | 4 | $3,180 with exit on Equity Trust's schedule if it applies; Money reports $1,800 without exit | Partly known |
| B3 Promotions not tied to premium products | 2 | "Up To $15,000 in FREE Silver" with no published terms | Pending |
| C1-C4 Contract fairness | 15 | 7-day cancellation, non-bullion only; JAMS, no group claims; 1-year deadline; liability capped; amend by notice | Known |
| D Regulatory and legal record | 20 | No regulator action found; McDougall filed 2023 (dismissal reported 2024); Mathys sent to arbitration 2020 | Known (McDougall outcome reported) |
| E Complaint record | 10 | 111 BBB complaints in 3 years; one-star reviews not yet sorted by topic | Partly known |
| F Product mix and sales pressure | 10 | Homepage gold menu shows four 1/4 oz series coins; crisis-themed webinar; default recommendation not yet tested | Pending |
| G Custody, delivery, disclosure | 5 | Custodian and depositories named; delivery 4-8 weeks after funds; segregated storage offered | Known |
AHG triggers none of the exclusion gates (closed, sanctioned, watch) as of September 29, 2026. If it does not send a written quote within 10 business days of a documented request, it is listed as "Not rated: would not disclose". Weights and evidence rules are on how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.
How Does American Hartford Gold Compare With Other Gold IRA Companies?#
American Hartford Gold publishes more about its spreads than most rivals but less about its account fees. Among the seven sellers below, only Lear Capital has more BBB complaints per review (September 29, 2026). The table compares them on four fields.
| Company | IRA minimum | Account fees published | Spread range published | BBB complaints per 100 reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Hartford Gold | $10,000 (FAQ) | No (custodian named) | Yes: 1%-19.99% bullion; 39.99% and 59.99% other coins | 13.9 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | $50,000 (Augusta FAQ, updated September 23, 2026) | Yes: $285 year one, $235 after (Augusta FAQ) | No | 0.7 |
| Goldco | $25,000 | Yes ($275 a year, segregated) | No | 4.2 |
| Birch Gold Group | $5,000 | About $235 a year | No | 4.0 |
| Noble Gold | $20,000 | Two pages disagree ($80 + $275, or $50 + $285) | No | 1.2 |
| Lear Capital | Not published | No | Yes: 2%-35% | 22.1 |
| Priority Gold | Qualifying minimum not published | No | No | 5.9 |
Rankings on the same records, with the spread counted, are on best gold IRA companies.
American Hartford Gold vs Augusta Precious Metals, Goldco and others#
AHG's $10,000 minimum is a fifth of Augusta's and 40% of Goldco's, but it has 13.9 BBB complaints per 100 reviews against Augusta's 0.7 and Goldco's 4.2 (Sept. 29, 2026). Augusta publishes account fees; AHG publishes spread limits.
The side-by-side table is on Augusta Precious Metals vs American Hartford Gold.
AHG appears in five other side-by-side pairs, listed below.
- Goldco vs American Hartford Gold
- American Hartford Gold vs Lear Capital
- American Hartford Gold vs Birch Gold
- American Hartford Gold vs Noble Gold
- American Hartford Gold vs Priority Gold
American Hartford Gold's celebrity spokespeople and endorsements#
AHG's homepage features Bill O'Reilly, Kim Iversen, Rick Harrison and Liz Wheeler, and its reviews page also names Roman Balmakov, as of September 29, 2026. Its about page says Mr. O'Reilly "exclusively" trusts and recommends AHG. Celebrity endorsements are marketing; a famous name says nothing about prices.
The CFTC warns that fraudulent dealers "target their ads to political or religious programming just to gain your trust" (CFTC release 8881-24). This general warning is not an allegation against AHG. Who endorses which seller is tracked on celebrity gold IRA endorsements.
Fear marketing: can your IRA be frozen or seized?#
AHG's homepage promotes a webinar called "Gold & Silver 101: When the Financial System Cracks", with Bill O'Reilly and Emily Wilson (September 29, 2026). The Mathys complaint says earlier AHG messages "sounded the alarm" that the government might seize bank assets. That is an allegation, as the court recited it.
Whether an IRA or 401(k) can be frozen or seized is answered on our fear-pitch guide.
Does American Hartford Gold pay review sites?#
AHG runs affiliate and partner channels, but it publishes no affiliate terms or payouts, as of September 29, 2026. An affiliate is a website paid for sending customers. AHG's "offers" affiliate landing page and its "AHG Partner Portal" both ranked in Google's top ten for brand searches on September 29, 2026.
No company can pay to change its rating or its place on SafeOunce; see who pays SafeOunce. SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page.
Is American Hartford Gold a publicly traded stock?#
No: American Hartford Gold is a private company (an LLC) with no stock listing found, and it is not The Hartford (NYSE: HIG), an insurance company with a similar name. Check the name before you act on any share quote.
Does American Hartford Gold sell gold outside an IRA?#
Yes: AHG sells coins and bars for home delivery with free insured shipping, paid by check or wire, and a 3% fee applies to card payments. Outside an IRA, the metal is yours to keep where you like.
Can you keep American Hartford Gold IRA metal at home?#
No: IRA bullion must be held by a trustee, and AHG's own FAQ says the IRS requires shipment "to your choice of an approved depository". The IRS approves no vault, though. The rule is trustee possession under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B).
What is the status of the American Hartford Gold lawsuit?#
The best-known case, Mathys v. The Hartford Gold Group, was sent to private arbitration on December 7, 2020, and no public ruling on its merits exists. A 2023 telemarketing suit was reported dismissed in 2024. Every filing is on the American Hartford Gold lawsuit and complaints page.
What is the downside of a gold IRA with American Hartford Gold?#
The main downside is cost: a spread of up to 19.99% of your price on bullion (a markup of up to 25.0% over AHG's cost) and more on other coins. Custodian fees add about $235-$285 a year on Equity Trust's precious-metals-only schedule (Rev. 081726), if that schedule applies to your account. Gold also pays no interest or dividends, so it earns only if its price rises.
Every gold IRA has pros and cons beyond AHG's. The general case is on gold IRA pros and cons.