SafeOunce
Product

IRA-Eligible Silver Bars: Refiners, Sizes and Purity (2026 Premiums for 4 Bar Sizes)

Silver bars are IRA-eligible at .999 fine from a maker your custodian accepts. Which brands pass, 2026 premiums for 4 sizes, storage and round trips.

  • Reviewed
  • 38 sources
  • 30 min read

Key takeaways

  • An IRA-eligible silver bar is a bar of at least .999 fine silver, made by a refiner your custodian accepts, and held in a depository for your IRA's trustee.
  • Custodians accept .999 silver bars from makers on their own lists: exchange-approved refiners, LBMA-listed refiners, ISO 9000-certified mints and national mints.
  • IRA silver bars come in 5 common sizes, from a 1 oz bar worth about $61 to a 1,000 oz bar worth about $61,340 (September 29, 2026).
  • As of September 29, 2026, generic silver bars cost 6.3% to 8.0% over spot at a large online dealer, and brand-name bars cost up to 25.9%.
  • IRA silver bars sit in a depository your custodian works with, and most are stored commingled.

Yes. Silver bars are IRA-eligible when they are at least .999 fine and held by your IRA's trustee, under the bullion clause of 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B). "IRA-eligible" means an IRA can buy the bar without the purchase being taxed as a withdrawal. The harder questions are which bars your custodian will take, and how much silver your money actually buys.

The spot price is today's market price of 1 troy ounce of silver. As of September 29, 2026, a generic 100 oz bar cost 6.3% over spot at SD Bullion, a large online dealer. A brand-name 10 oz Engelhard bar cost 25.9%. Silver bars are one of the product groups checked in our database of IRA-eligible precious metals.

Are Silver Bars IRA-Eligible?#

An IRA-eligible silver bar is a bar of at least .999 fine silver, made by a refiner your custodian accepts, and held in a depository for your IRA's trustee. Fineness is purity: .999 means 99.9% pure. Bullion is metal valued for its weight and purity, not as a collector item. The trustee, or custodian, is the bank or trust company that holds your IRA.

The law names no silver bar; the only silver product it names is the 1 oz American Silver Eagle (408(m)(3)(A)(ii), 31 U.S.C. 5112(e)). Anything outside both routes is a collectible: its cost counts as a withdrawal (408(m)(1)), and a 10% additional tax may apply before age 59 1/2 (IRS Publication 590-A).

The table compares the 2 legal routes, which SafeOunce calls Route A and Route B.

Route Statute What qualifies Purity test Custody Silver examples
A: named coin 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A)(ii) The named US silver coin None A trustee must still hold it (McNulty v. Commissioner, 2021) American Silver Eagle (1 oz only)
B: bullion 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B) Silver bullion At least .999 (COMEX) "In the physical possession of a trustee" Silver bars from 1 oz to 1,000 oz, .999 rounds, Maple Leaf, Philharmonic, 2013 and later Britannia

Sources: 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3); COMEX Rule 112101 (silver, 999 fineness).

Bars have qualified only for tax years beginning after December 31, 1997 (Pub. L. 105-34, sec. 304). From 1987 to 1997, the Silver Eagle was the only silver an IRA could hold. Sellers and searchers call these products "IRA-approved", but the legal term is IRA-eligible. Every coin, bar and round on the list of IRA-approved silver follows one of these two routes.

Where Does the .999 Silver Rule Come From?#

The .999 silver rule comes from COMEX, the US futures exchange, and not from the IRS: the tax code simply borrows the exchange's delivery minimum. The law calls COMEX a "contract market", which means a regulated US futures exchange.

The 3 custodians we checked use the same .999 minimum (custodian table below). Why gold stops at .995 while silver needs .999 is explained on .999 silver and the other purity minimums.

One COMEX silver contract is 5,000 troy ounces, delivered as five 1,000-oz bars (plus or minus 10%). Bars produced from January 1, 2025 must show their "month and year of production". These delivery rules govern the exchange, not your IRA: only the purity number carries over. Sterling silver (.925) and 90% coin silver fail it.

Is Any Silver Bar "IRS-Approved"?#

No: the IRS keeps no list of approved silver bars, so no bar is "IRS-approved"; a bar is IRA-eligible because it meets the fineness test in the statute. The IRS says so itself: "Although there is no list of approved investments for retirement plans..." (IRS Retirement Plan Investments FAQs, updated April 8, 2026). A bar that fails the test falls under the IRS collectibles rule in 408(m).

IRS Publication 590-A (2025) says your IRA "can also invest in certain platinum coins and certain gold, silver, palladium, and platinum bullion". The only approval list the IRS keeps names nonbank trustees: companies other than banks that may hold IRAs. It had 73 names on April 1, 2026.

A dealer's "IRA approved" category is a dealer label, not a custodian decision or a legal status. One large dealer's 100 oz bar page uses that label for a mint (read September 29, 2026).

The full rulebook for IRA-approved precious metals covers gold, platinum and palladium too.

Which Silver Bar Brands Do IRA Custodians Accept?#

Custodians accept .999 silver bars from makers on their own lists: exchange-approved refiners, LBMA-listed refiners, ISO 9000-certified mints and national mints. The tax code itself says nothing about brands.

A refiner is the company that pours or mints the bar. Accredited means listed or certified by an exchange, the LBMA (the London Bullion Market Association) or a quality body. A national mint is a government mint, such as the Royal Canadian Mint.

The table compares the silver bar rules of 3 custodians, as published on September 29, 2026.

Rule GoldStar Trust Equity Trust STRATA Trust
Minimum silver fineness ".9990" ".999+" "Minimum 99.9% pure"
Maker rule NYMEX, COMEX, NYSE/Liffe, LME, LBMA, LPPM, TOCOM, ISO 9000 or national mint Same list, plus CBOT Not stated on the page: ask in writing
Silver bars named "Various bars and rounds .999" "Bars and rounds" (footnote) Not named ("and more")
Brand refused by name None for bars None "LBMA Germania Mint"
Segregated silver storage Delaware Depository: only 1,000-oz bars; also offered at IDS, TPMD and AMGL Not stated for silver on this page Delaware Depository: gold, platinum and palladium only

Custodian policy is contract terms, not tax law, but a refused bar cannot settle into your IRA.

A seller can ship only what your custodian will book. Fees and storage options at all the IRA custodians we profile are compared side by side.

Which Refiners Are on the LBMA Silver Good Delivery List?#

The LBMA's silver Good Delivery list named 86 refiners on September 29, 2026, including the Royal Canadian Mint, Valcambi, PAMP, the Perth Mint and Asahi. Eight familiar bar brands are not on it by name, including Sunshine Minting and Engelhard.

The Good Delivery list names the refiners whose large bars London banks accept. It changes: the LBMA marked 4 Chinese refiners "SUSPENDED" between May and August 2026. Each accredited refiner on a custodian's list got there through an exchange, the LBMA, ISO 9000 or a national mint.

The table checks 17 makers and brands, in 12 rows, against the LBMA silver list as read on September 29, 2026, with SD Bullion prices from the same morning.

Maker or brand On LBMA silver list? Other path on custodian lists Example premium, SD Bullion, Sept 29, 2026
Royal Canadian Mint (Ottawa) Yes National mint 10 oz 16.1%; 100 oz 8.8%
Valcambi SA (Balerna): Valcambi bars in an IRA Yes (Incident Review invoked June 16, 2026; still listed) None needed Not captured
MKS PAMP SA (Castel San Pietro): PAMP Suisse bars in an IRA Yes None needed Not captured
The Perth Mint (Gold Corporation) Yes None needed Not captured
Asahi Refining (Salt Lake City; Brampton) Yes None needed Not captured
Metalor USA, Heraeus, Argor-Heraeus, Japan Mint Yes None needed Not captured
Johnson Matthey (older bars) Not by that name (refining sold to Asahi, 2015) Ask your custodian Kilo 9.6%; 100 oz 8.0%
Engelhard (older bars) No Ask your custodian 10 oz 25.9%
Royal Mint (UK) No National mint Not captured
Sunshine Minting No COMEX or ISO 9000 status not verified: ask your custodian Not captured
Scottsdale Mint, SilverTowne, Elemetal No ISO 9000 status not verified: ask your custodian Not captured
Germania Mint No Refused by name at STRATA Not captured

A snapshot of one list on one day. "Not captured" means the bar was not in our dated price read. Not a ranking or a recommendation.

Not on the LBMA list does not mean refused. The Royal Mint qualifies as a national mint, and a private mint can qualify through COMEX approval or ISO 9000 certification. SafeOunce did not verify either status for Sunshine, Scottsdale, SilverTowne or Elemetal, so ask your custodian in writing.

Retail IRA bars are never Good Delivery bars, even when a listed refiner pours them. A Good Delivery bar is a 750-1,100 oz bar traded between London banks.

One listed refiner is under review. The LBMA invoked an Incident Review Process for Valcambi SA on June 16, 2026, and says "Valcambi SA remains a Good Delivery Refiner". No outcome was published as of September 29, 2026.

What Happened to Johnson Matthey and Engelhard Silver Bars?#

Both names now live on mainly as older bars that dealers resell. Johnson Matthey sold its gold and silver refining business to Asahi in 2015, and Engelhard became part of BASF in 2006.

Johnson Matthey's release of March 5, 2015 says: "Johnson Matthey has completed the sale of its Gold and Silver Refining business to Asahi Holdings, Inc." The LBMA silver list now shows Asahi refineries in Salt Lake City and Brampton.

Engelhard became a BASF subsidiary under a merger agreement executed May 30, 2006 (Engelhard's SEC Form 8-K). SD Bullion says its 100 oz Engelhard bar "hasn't been manufactured in almost three decades" (product page read September 29, 2026).

Dealers still charge extra: a Johnson Matthey kilo cost 9.6% over spot against 6.3% for a generic kilo (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026).

Generic "Design Our Choice" Bars: Who Made Your Bar?#

The cheapest silver bars are often sold as "design our choice", which means the dealer picks the maker after you pay, while your custodian accepts only makers on its list. On September 29, 2026, SD Bullion sold a "1 oz silver bar, design our choice" for $66.22, or 8.0% over spot. Its "100 oz Silver Bar - Design Our Choice" cost 6.3%, or as little as 4.7% at volume.

So you do not know the refiner when you order. SafeOunce found no documented case of a refused generic bar, but the 3 steps below close the gap before you pay.

  1. Ask the dealer, before it invoices, which refiners it may ship.
  2. Check each name against your custodian's accreditation list.
  3. Get the custodian's yes in writing, or pay for a named maker.

Why Would a Custodian Refuse a Silver Bar?#

A custodian refuses a silver bar when it is below .999 fine, comes from a maker outside its list, or carries a brand the custodian names as unacceptable. The 4 refusal reasons found in custodian documents are listed below.

  • Purity below .999: sterling silver (.925) and 90% coin silver fail the test.
  • An unlisted maker: a bar from a maker outside the custodian's accreditation list (GoldStar and Equity Trust lists, read September 29, 2026).
  • A brand named on a refusal list: STRATA lists "LBMA Germania Mint" among products it does not accept.
  • A dealer label mistaken for approval: a dealer's category page is marketing, not a custodian decision.

The full list of coins and bars you cannot hold in an IRA groups them by reason.

What Sizes Do IRA Silver Bars Come In?#

IRA silver bars come in 5 common sizes, from a 1 oz bar worth about $61 to a 1,000 oz bar worth about $61,340 (September 29, 2026). A troy ounce is 31.1 grams, the unit for precious metals; it is about 10% heavier than a kitchen ounce. A kilo bar weighs 1 kilogram, which is 32.15 troy ounces.

The table gives each size's weight, silver value and premium.

Size Troy ounces Weight Silver value at $61.34 (Sept 29, 2026) Retail premium (Sept 29, 2026) Typical use
1 oz 1 31.1 g $61.34 8.0% Small purchases, piece-by-piece sales
10 oz 10 311 g (0.69 lb) $613.40 7.1% Divisible withdrawals in metal
Kilo 32.15 1 kg (2.2 lb) $1,972.13 6.3% Mid-size holdings
100 oz 100 3.11 kg (6.86 lb) $6,134 6.3% (4.7% at volume) Lowest cost per ounce
1,000 oz 1,000 31.1 kg (68.6 lb) $61,340 Not priced in our read COMEX delivery bar; the only silver the Delaware Depository segregates for GoldStar clients

Values computed from SD Bullion's spot ask of $61.34 at 05:47-05:55 EDT; premiums are generic bars at the same dealer. Silver moves daily.

Dealers also sell 5 oz bars, such as SilverTowne's; the same .999 and maker rules apply. Bigger bars cost less per ounce, but a bar is sold, shipped or taken out of the IRA whole. A 100 oz bar is one $6,134 unit, and you cannot sell half of it.

How Much Do Silver Bars Cost Over Spot in 2026?#

As of September 29, 2026, generic silver bars cost 6.3% to 8.0% over spot at a large online dealer, and brand-name bars cost up to 25.9%. The dealer is SD Bullion. These are its check or wire prices from one morning (05:47-05:55 EDT), against its spot ask of $61.34.

Premium over spot is what you pay above the silver's melt value (its worth at spot), as a percent of that value. The table lists each bar in size order.

Bar (SD Bullion, Sept 29, 2026) Price Price per troy oz Premium over $61.34 spot
1 oz generic ("design our choice") $66.22 $66.22 8.0%
10 oz generic $657.20 $65.72 7.1%
10 oz Royal Canadian Mint $712.20 $71.22 16.1%
10 oz Engelhard $772.20 $77.22 25.9%
Kilo generic $2,096.87 $65.22 6.3%
Kilo Johnson Matthey $2,161.11 $67.22 9.6%
100 oz generic $6,521.95 $65.22 6.3%
100 oz generic, volume price ("as low as") $6,421.95 $64.22 4.7%
100 oz Royal Canadian Mint $6,671.95 $66.72 8.8%
100 oz Johnson Matthey $6,621.95 $66.22 8.0%

One dealer, one morning (05:47-05:55 EDT), check or wire prices; card prices are higher. Premiums move daily. Not a ranking of dealers or brands.

Each premium over spot buys no extra silver. So why does the name on the bar change the price so much?

Brand Premiums: What a Famous Name Costs You#

A famous name on a silver bar adds cost but no silver. On September 29, 2026, $10,000 bought $9,405 of silver in generic 100 oz bars but only $7,944 in 10 oz Engelhard bars. The table shows what $10,000 bought in each bar that morning.

Product (SD Bullion, Sept 29, 2026) Price per troy oz Silver value bought with $10,000 Lost to premium
100 oz generic, volume price $64.22 $9,552 $448
100 oz generic $65.22 $9,405 $595
Kilo generic $65.22 $9,405 $595
10 oz generic $65.72 $9,334 $666
1 oz generic $66.22 $9,263 $737
100 oz Johnson Matthey $66.22 $9,263 $737
100 oz Royal Canadian Mint $66.72 $9,194 $806
Kilo Johnson Matthey $67.22 $9,126 $874
10 oz Royal Canadian Mint $71.22 $8,613 $1,387
10 oz Engelhard $77.22 $7,944 $2,056

Silver value at $61.34 spot. SafeOunce computation: $10,000 times spot, divided by the price per ounce.

The brand choice alone moved $1,461 of silver per $10,000, or $1,608 against the volume price. We did not find a published buyback price per brand: SD Bullion's sell page lists one bid per size.

In shared storage you may not even get the name back. Equity Trust warns that commingled storage returns "the weight and general type of metals you purchased but may not receive the same brand, year, or condition." The Delaware Depository's storage agreement for non-IRA customers holds most bullion "as fungible bulk holdings, without regard to the year of mintage, manufacturer, condition".

Insurance does not pay for the name either. At the Delaware Depository and the Texas Bullion Depository, vault insurance pays the metal's spot value unless a declared value is on file. The Delaware Depository's shipping cover (up to $100,000 per package) pays spot "without regard to premiums" (Shipping FAQ, effective November 18, 2024).

In plain English: a 10 oz Engelhard bar cost $115 more than a generic 10 oz bar that morning. The vault need not give that Engelhard back, and a loss claim pays only for the silver.

Round-Trip Cost: Buying and Selling Silver Bars Back#

Buying a 100 oz silver bar and selling it back the same day cost 15.3% on September 29, 2026 (bids from the dealer's sell page, which may lag). That is about three times the 5.39% round trip on a 1 oz Gold Eagle at the same dealer, SD Bullion.

The bid is what the dealer pays you. The round trip is what you lose if you buy and sell back at once, and the break-even rise is how far silver must climb to recover it. The table compares 6 silver products with a Gold Eagle.

Product (SD Bullion, Sept 29, 2026) Ask Bid Round-trip loss Rise needed to break even
1 oz bar $66.22 $54.27 18.0% 22.0%
10 oz bar $657.20 $542.73 17.4% 21.1%
Kilo bar $2,096.87 $1,777.10 15.2% 18.0%
100 oz bar $6,521.95 $5,527.34 15.3% 18.0%
Generic 1 oz round $64.22 $53.27 17.1% 20.6%
Silver Eagle (random year) $68.22 $58.27 14.6% 17.1%
1 oz Gold Eagle (for scale) $4,280.53 $4,049.93 5.39% 5.69%

SD Bullion, September 29, 2026. Bids come from the dealer's sell page and may lag the live quote. Round row: SafeOunce computation. One morning, not a ranking.

The silver bar bids sat 9.9% to 11.5% under spot that morning (the Silver Eagle bid was 5.0% under). The 100 oz bid worked out to $55.27 an ounce, against the $61.34 spot.

Bars bought more silver, but the random-year Eagle lost less on a same-day round trip (14.6% vs 15.3% for a 100 oz bar), because its bid was higher.

Bids differ by dealer. An archived Monex price page (captured August 13, 2026) showed a 3.16% gap between its buy and sell prices for a 100 oz bar (a 3.26% break-even). That was before commissions and charges Monex does not publish. Ask for the buyback bid in writing before you buy.

Run your own price and bid through the break-even calculator.

Silver Bars vs Silver Eagles and Other Coins: What $10,000 Buys#

Large bars buy more silver per dollar than Silver Eagles: on September 29, 2026, $10,000 bought $9,405 of silver in 100 oz bars and $8,991 in random-year Silver Eagles. The table adds 4 other silver products from the same dealer and morning.

Product (SD Bullion, Sept 29, 2026) Price per troy oz Premium over spot Silver value bought with $10,000
2026 Silver Britannia $63.22 3.1% $9,703
Generic 1 oz round $64.22 4.7% $9,552
100 oz generic bar $65.22 6.3% $9,405
Silver Maple Leaf, random year $66.22 8.0% $9,263
Silver Eagle, random year $68.22 11.2% $8,991
2026 Silver Eagle $71.22 16.1% $8,613

One dealer, one morning; SafeOunce computation at $61.34 spot. Not a ranking.

The 2026 Britannia and generic rounds bought the most silver that morning. The Silver Eagle, the only silver coin named in the law (Route A), carried a higher bid: $58.27 against $55.27 an ounce for a 100 oz bar.

A second dealer points the same way on a different date. APMEX prices quoted in an SEC filing (Gratus Reserve, January 14, 2026) put 100 oz bars at 8.23% over COMEX and Silver Eagles at 13.27%.

Why the Eagle needs no purity test is explained on American Silver Eagle in an IRA.

Seller Spreads and Markups on IRA Silver Bars#

A 100 oz silver bar worth $6,134 cost $6,522 at an online dealer on September 29, 2026. One IRA seller's contract allows a bullion spread that would make the same bar about $7,667.

A spread is the seller's cut as a share of the price you pay. A markup is the price above the metal's value as a share of that value. To convert, divide the spread by 1 minus the spread: a 19.99% spread equals a 25.0% markup.

The contract is American Hartford Gold's Shipping and Transaction Agreement (September 2026). It allows bullion spreads from 1.00% "up to" 19.99%. American Bullion's agreement (October 2024) says its spread is typically 7% to 23% of the selling price.

The table prices one 100 oz bar under 3 price rules.

Price rule Invoice for one 100 oz bar Premium over the $6,134 of silver Source
Online dealer price $6,521.95 6.3% SD Bullion, Sept 29, 2026
AHG bullion cap, up to 19.99% spread About $7,667 25.0% AHG agreement, Sept 2026
Top of American Bullion's disclosed range, 23% spread About $7,966 29.9% American Bullion agreement, Oct 2024

Contract caps are maximums, not what any customer paid. SafeOunce computation assumes dealer cost equals spot.

At the AHG cap, the bar would cost $1,145 more than the online price. How to turn a quote into a percentage is shown on our guide to gold IRA markups and spreads.

Where Are IRA Silver Bars Stored, and Do You Get the Same Bars Back?#

IRA silver bars sit in a depository your custodian works with, and most are stored commingled. You get back the same weight and type of silver, not necessarily the same bars. A depository is the vault that holds the metal for your custodian.

Commingled means your bars are pooled with identical items from other owners, but the metal is still allocated to your account. Segregated means your exact bars sit on their own shelf. Locations, insurance and audits at the main IRA depositories are compared on the depository hub.

Whether you can segregate silver depends on the depository. GoldStar says the Delaware Depository provides "Segregated Storage for all Gold, Platinum, Palladium and 1000 oz. silver bars". It adds: "Segregated storage is not available for Silver products smaller than 1000 oz. bars." Other vaults do segregate smaller silver.

The table shows where segregated silver storage was offered.

Custodian and depository Commingled silver Segregated silver
GoldStar at the Delaware Depository Yes Only 1,000-oz bars
STRATA at the Delaware Depository Yes No (gold, platinum, palladium only)
Entrust at the Delaware Depository Yes No (gold, platinum, palladium only)
GoldStar at IDS or AMGL Yes Yes
GoldStar or STRATA at TPMD (Shiner, Texas) No (segregated only) Yes, including silver coins: "segregated, marked, and stored with your name and IRA account number" (STRATA)
Equity Trust at the Texas Bullion Depository Not stated Yes, including silver coins

Custodian and depository pages read September 29, 2026; the TPMD quote is from STRATA's help page. Equity Trust is the only custodian named for IRA storage at the Texas Bullion Depository. Ask your custodian which depository your dealer will ship to.

If you want your own bars back, compare segregated vs commingled storage before you choose a depository.

Why Only 1,000-oz Silver Bars Get Their Own Shelf at the Delaware Depository#

GoldStar says the Delaware Depository segregates silver only as 1,000-oz bars, and the depository's own non-IRA agreement treats those bars as non-fungible items tracked "by their serial numbers". Each bar is worth about $61,340 at $61.34 and weighs 68.6 pounds (31.1 kg).

That agreement lists "Non-fungible Bullion products, i.e., 400-oz and 100-oz gold bars, 1,000-oz silver bars, 50-oz platinum plates, and 100-oz palladium plates". Its non-IRA fee schedule (R220301) charges $102 a year per 1,000-oz silver bar; that is not an IRA fee.

At GoldStar, segregated storage costs at least $225 a year (GTC Rev. 01/2026, as of September 29, 2026). A $61,340 bar is also one unit you cannot split.

"Fully insured" has a limit there too. The depository's exchange-grade metal alone, including 16,539,505 oz of COMEX silver on September 28, 2026, is worth about $1.77 billion at SafeOunce worked-example prices. Its all-risk cover is $1 billion per claim, plus $100 million contingent (September 29, 2026). Fees, insurance and locations are profiled on our Delaware Depository review.

Does Silver's Weight Raise Your Storage Fees?#

No, not at the 3 custodians we checked: they charge the same flat storage fee for silver as for gold. Yet $100,000 of silver is 1,630.3 troy ounces and weighs about 111.8 pounds (50.7 kg) at $61.34.

As of September 29, 2026, Equity Trust charges $110 non-segregated or $160 segregated a year (schedule FS-0004-05, Rev. 081726). STRATA charges $115 commingled or $175 segregated. GoldStar charges $125 commingled or at least $225 segregated (the segregated fee becomes 0.18% of value above $125,000).

In plain English: at these custodians, 112 pounds of silver costs the same to store as about 24 troy ounces of gold. That is $100,000 of gold at $4,155 an ounce, SafeOunce's worked-example gold price for September 29, 2026.

Fees charged as a percent of value work differently. Fidelity bills 0.125% a quarter (about 0.50% a year, minimum $3.75 a quarter), or about $500 a year on $100,000 of silver (fee schedule FA-FEES-0926). A dealer-run vault can charge more for silver than gold: Gainesville Coins' IRA storage agreement (February 9, 2022; may be superseded) lists 0.25% a year for silver and 0.20% for gold. Every custodian's storage fees for 2026 are listed in one table.

Silver Bars, Silver Eagles or Rounds: Which Fits Your IRA?#

For silver IRA buyers who plan to hold for years, kilo and 100 oz bars buy the most silver per dollar, while Silver Eagles lost less on resale (September 29, 2026). Ten-ounce bars and 1 oz coins fit anyone who will take withdrawals in metal. The table matches common situations to a better fit; it is general information, not personal advice.

If you... Better fit Why (SD Bullion and custodian pages, Sept 29, 2026)
Want the most silver per dollar and plan to hold for years Kilo or 100 oz bars, if you accept a lower bid 6.3% over spot (4.7% at volume for 100 oz); bid 9.9% under spot, vs 5.0% for random-year Eagles
Expect to take required withdrawals in metal or sell in small pieces 10 oz bars or 1 oz coins, not 100 oz bars A 100 oz bar is one $6,134 unit; six 10 oz bars came within $94 of a $3,773.58 withdrawal (example below)
Want the one silver coin the law names and a higher dealer bid Silver Eagle, random year 11.2% over spot; bid $58.27 vs $55.27 an ounce for 100 oz bars
Want the lowest entry price and accept a lower bid Generic 1 oz rounds: see silver rounds in an IRA 4.7% over spot; bid $53.27 (17.1% round trip)
Want segregated storage for your own silver A depository that segregates silver (IDS, TPMD, AMGL, Texas Bullion Depository), or 1,000-oz bars at the Delaware Depository through GoldStar Custodian and depository terms
Are offered a brand-name or "collector" bar at a higher price The generic bar of the same size, unless your custodian and depository will keep your exact bar Engelhard 10 oz 25.9% vs 7.1% generic; commingled storage may return a different brand

The buy price and the sell price pull in opposite directions, as the 5-year example shows.

Bars win on price per ounce, Eagles won on resale in this snapshot, and small units win when you split a withdrawal. Decide how the money will come out before you choose a size.

The same trade-off for gold is weighed on coins vs bars in an IRA.

What Silver IRA Sales Pitches and Enforcement Cases Show#

The largest silver IRA fraud cases involved small "premium" silver coins, not bars. Plain silver bars cost 4.7% to 8.0% over spot on September 29, 2026, at or below the CFTC's 5% to 10% benchmark for bullion (release 8215-20, August 4, 2020).

Every case is dated in our tracker of precious metals IRA enforcement cases.

The 4 pitch lines below come up in silver IRA sales, each with the fact that answers it.

  • "IRS-approved silver bars": the IRS says "there is no list of approved investments".
  • "Our bars are IRA approved": that is a dealer label; only your custodian's maker list counts.
  • "Collector" or brand-name bars "hold value better": we found no published buyback price per brand, and commingled storage may return a different brand.
  • "Premium" or "exclusive" silver coins instead of bars: the 2 cases below involved exactly those coins.

The table sets out the 2 cases. The TMTE figures are what the CFTC alleges in a pending case; the Red Rock figures are what a consent order found.

Case Silver product Markup Status
CFTC and 30 states v. TMTE (Metals.com, Barrick Capital), N.D. Tex. 3:20-cv-02910 (CFTC release 8254-20) 1/2 oz silver Polar Bear coins (4.1 million units, over $102.4 million); 1/10 oz Silver Britannias Alleged 213% and 287% average markups over market price Pending; civil trial set for March 1, 2027
CFTC v. Red Rock Secured (CFTC release 8898-24) 1/2 oz silver Royal Canadian Mint Red-Tailed Hawk coins 91.89% to 129.97% over cost (consent order) Order entered April 23, 2024

Allegations are unproven until judged.

How Do Silver Bars Fit Into the Rest of a Silver IRA?#

A silver bar's eligibility is settled by fineness and maker, but the account rules around it (withdrawals, statements, custody and contributions) decide what the bar is worth to you. A self-directed IRA can buy silver bars through a custodian. Fidelity's own IRA list includes bars, but it does not say which metals (see below).

Whether a silver IRA suits you at all is weighed with 6 numbers on the metal hub. Custody, statements and withdrawals follow the same IRS rules for precious metals IRAs for every metal.

Taking Silver Bars Out: RMDs When a Bar Cannot Be Split#

A 100 oz silver bar cannot be split, so taking an RMD in metal from a bars-only IRA usually means taking more than you must or selling a bar first. A required minimum distribution (RMD) is the amount you must take out each year from age 73 (born 1951-1958) or 75 (born 1960 or later). For people born in 1959, proposed IRS regulations set 73. Taking the bars themselves is an in-kind distribution: their fair market value (their sale price that day) counts as ordinary income on Form 1099-R. Ages, divisors and deadlines for required minimum distributions apply to bars too.

The worked example below holds silver at $61.34 (September 29, 2026). It is a SafeOunce computation, not a forecast.

  1. Value on December 31: $100,000 of silver bars, about 1,630 oz at $61.34.
  2. RMD at age 73: $100,000 divided by the IRS divisor of 26.5 = $3,773.58 (IRS Publication 590-B).
  3. In bars: one 100 oz bar is $6,134, or $2,360 more income than required. Two kilo bars are $3,944.25 ($171 over). Six 10 oz bars are $3,680.40, so you add $93.18 in cash; seven are $4,293.80.
  4. Fees at Equity Trust (FS-0004-05, Rev. 081726, as of September 29, 2026): $125 per in-kind distribution plus shipping cost and $10 (minimum $50), or $30 per sale if you sell and take cash.

Ten-ounce bars came closest to the amount due. Try your own balance and bar sizes in the RMD calculator.

Why Your Silver IRA Statement Shows Less Than You Paid#

Your first statement values your silver bars at the silver price, not at what you paid. So $50,000 of 100 oz bars bought on September 29, 2026 would show about $47,025. Equity Trust values metal "based upon the previous day's metal type value", which "does not include any markups, commissions or premiums from the precious metals dealer".

Each line of an IRA statement is explained with the custodian's valuation rule.

Can You Keep IRA Silver Bars at Home?#

No: silver bars qualify only while they are "in the physical possession of a trustee", and the Tax Court taxed an IRA owner who kept her IRA's silver at home. In McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (November 18, 2021), Mrs. McNulty's IRA-owned company bought 2,000 Silver Eagles for $37,380 in 2016 and kept them at home.

In plain English: keeping IRA silver at home counts as a withdrawal of its cost. Every home storage pitch fails the same custody test.

The full facts of McNulty v. Commissioner include 320 Gold Eagles bought in 2015.

Can You Put Silver Bars You Already Own Into an IRA?#

No: IRA contributions must be cash under 26 U.S.C. 408(a)(1), so bars you already own cannot be deposited; the IRA must buy its own bars through the custodian. For 2026 the limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at age 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67). Cash deposits count against the IRA contribution limits for the year.

Does the IRS Know About the Silver Bars in Your IRA?#

Yes: your custodian reports the IRA's year-end value to the IRS on Form 5498 and every distribution, in cash or in bars, on Form 1099-R (26 U.S.C. 408(i)). Form 5498 is the yearly value report. Dealer reporting of silver bought outside an IRA is a separate question this page does not cover. Form 5498 figures follow the rules on how IRA metals are valued.

Can You Buy Silver Bars in a Fidelity IRA?#

Possibly: Fidelity's IRA list includes "Bullion Quality Bars" but does not say which metals or sizes, so ask Fidelity whether silver bars are offered before you plan around one. As of September 29, 2026 (fee schedule FA-FEES-0926), it charges 2.90% to 0.99% to buy and 2.00% to 0.75% to sell ($44 minimum). Storage is 0.125% a quarter (about 0.50% a year), minimum $3.75 a quarter, and the IRA minimum purchase is $1,000. The costs of metals in a Fidelity IRA are compared with a specialist custodian.

Are Gold Bars Held to the Same Rules?#

Mostly yes: gold bars follow the same bullion clause and maker lists, but the purity minimum is .995 instead of .999. COMEX Rule 113101 sets "a minimum of 995 fineness" for gold. Gold bars also carried much lower premiums: 1.31% for a 10 oz bar and 1.07% for a 100 g bar (SD Bullion, September 29, 2026). Gold bar sizes, refiners and premiums are listed on IRA-eligible gold bars.