Freedom Gold USA is an operating gold and silver dealer in Los Angeles, legally Freedom Gold USA LLC. The BBB dates its start to November 22, 2022, and shows an A+ grade with no complaints on file, as of October 2, 2026. It publishes no fees in dollars, no minimum and no prices. So the question is less whether the company is real and more how much you can check before you send money.
A gold IRA is an IRA that holds physical gold through a custodian, a trust company. A dealer is the company that sells you the metal. Freedom Gold USA is one of the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks with the same records, fees and contract questions. This Freedom Gold USA review covers its legal name and age, its review and court record, and its terms with their blanks. It then covers fees, the minimum, prices, a $100,000 cost example, the buyback wording and who it suits. This review covers Freedom Gold USA LLC (freedomgoldusa.com), not gold buyers or coin shops with similar names.
The 13 facts below come from Freedom Gold USA's website, the BBB, Trustpilot and a federal court docket, each dated. The last two rows show the company's phone numbers and its own site.
| Quick fact | Freedom Gold USA |
|---|---|
| Legal name | Freedom Gold USA LLC (BBB; federal docket) |
| Address | 12121 Wilshire Blvd., Ste. 250, Los Angeles, CA 90025 (company terms, read October 2, 2026) |
| Business started | November 22, 2022 (BBB); incorporated January 2, 2023 (BBB); BBB-accredited since June 21, 2023 |
| Company's own description | "family-owned business with over three decades of experience" (website footer, October 2, 2026) |
| Management named by the BBB | Christopher Solton, listed under "Business Management" (October 2, 2026) |
| IRA minimum | Not published (October 2, 2026) |
| Account fees | No fee schedule published; the site says "No IRA setup or transfer fees"; two state pages give general ranges only (October 2, 2026) |
| Prices | "Call For Pricing"; no spread published (October 2, 2026) |
| Customer agreement | Website terms only; page data shows an update on December 22, 2025; 4 blank fields |
| BBB | A+, 0 complaints in 3 years, 5 reviews (October 2, 2026) |
| Trustpilot | 4.8 from 43 reviews, 100% five-star (October 2, 2026) |
| Court cases found | 1: Freedom Gold USA LLC v. Bank of America, N.A., C.D. Cal. No. 2:24-cv-08360, company as plaintiff against its bank, dismissed July 31, 2025 |
| Regulator actions found | 0 (searches on October 2, 2026) |
| Phone numbers | 888-901-5214 on the site; 888-411-1845 and 877-749-7738 in the terms; 888-411-1845 at the BBB, which also lists 888-901-5214 (October 2, 2026) |
| Official site | freedomgoldusa.com. Ratings follow our published method and are never for sale. |
Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.
Is Freedom Gold USA Legit? Our Verdict#
Freedom Gold USA is a real, operating company with a clean but short public record, as of October 2, 2026. It has no complaints at the BBB, no regulator action found and one court case that it filed itself. What it lacks is paper. No fee, minimum, price or cancellation window is published, and the BBB dates the business to November 2022.
So is Freedom Gold USA legit? On the public record, yes. A clean record is a real plus. But under four years is a short record when the money is a retirement account. The review base is small too: 43 Trustpilot reviews and 5 BBB reviews, as of October 2, 2026. The website terms require arbitration, set a one-year claim deadline and leave four fields blank.
What should a careful buyer ask before sending money? Ask for four things in writing, by email. The first is the price per coin and its percent over spot. The spot price is today's market price for one ounce of raw metal. The second is the custodian's name and its fee schedule. The third is the cancellation window. The fourth is the buyback formula, meaning how the company sets the price it pays you back.
What Is Freedom Gold USA? Legal Name, Age and People#
Freedom Gold USA is a precious metals dealer in Los Angeles that sells gold, silver, platinum and palladium coins and bars for home delivery or inside a self-directed IRA. Its terms say: "We help our customers acquire physical precious metals ... for home delivery or with in a Self Directed IRA." Its Service Areas page says it serves "all 50 states" (October 2, 2026). Why does the legal name matter? Complaints, court cases and your contract use the legal name, not the brand.
Freedom Gold USA LLC: the name and address to check#
The BBB and a federal court docket both list the company as Freedom Gold USA LLC, at 12121 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 250, Los Angeles, California 90025. Its website terms call it "Freedom Gold USA ... a company registered in California", without "LLC". The BBB lists the business as a limited liability company incorporated on January 2, 2023 (October 2, 2026). SafeOunce has not pulled the California state filing, so this page states no entity number.
Other businesses with similar names rank for the same searches, so check a gold IRA company by its full name. Search "Freedom Gold USA LLC" in records, and confirm that the number you were called from matches one the company publishes. Its site, its terms and the BBB show three different numbers (October 2, 2026). The address differs too. The company's terms give 12121 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 250, while its Trustpilot profile shows 12100 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 800 (October 2, 2026). Ask the company which address is current. The step-by-step way to check a gold IRA company by its legal name is on our verification guide.
When did Freedom Gold USA start?#
The BBB lists Freedom Gold USA's business start as November 22, 2022, which makes the company 3 years and 10 months old on October 2, 2026. Its website describes it as a "family-owned business with over three decades of experience". The BBB accredited it on June 21, 2023. The table shows the three experience statements on the company's own pages, beside the BBB dates.
| Statement | Where it appears | Date read |
|---|---|---|
| "over three decades of experience in the precious metals industry" | Footer of every page | October 2, 2026 |
| "30+ years of combined experience" | "Why Freedom Gold" page | October 2, 2026 |
| "20+ Years Combined Industry Experience" | Homepage counter | October 2, 2026 |
| Business started November 22, 2022; accredited June 21, 2023 | BBB profile | October 2, 2026 |
SafeOunce has not found a record of the business before 2022. That does not make the experience statements wrong. Staff can bring long careers to a young firm. It does mean the company's own track record covers 2022 to 2026 only.
Who runs Freedom Gold USA?#
The BBB lists Christopher Solton under "Business Management" for Freedom Gold USA, as of October 2, 2026; the company's website names no owner, founder or officer. The BBB also lists him as the principal contact and the customer contact. It gives him no job title. The site calls the business "family-owned" without naming the family. Freedom Gold USA does not publish who owns it.
How a Freedom Gold USA gold IRA works, step by step#
A Freedom Gold USA gold IRA works in 5 steps, and the first is a phone call, because the site has no online ordering and no posted prices. The homepage shows "3 Simple Steps": schedule a call, invest, deliver. It also says "first-time customers must call and speak with a specialist". The 5 steps below add the parts that matter for your money.
- Call a specialist, and write down the name and the date.
- Open a self-directed IRA at a custodian the company works with, and ask which one in writing. A self-directed IRA is an IRA that can hold assets such as metal. The custodian is the trust company that legally holds the IRA and sends your statements.
- Move money by a direct transfer or a rollover. A rollover moves money from a plan such as a 401(k).
- Choose coins or bars, and get the price per coin and the percent over spot before you agree.
- Check that the metal shows on your custodian statement at a depository, which is the vault.
RetirementLiving's review says a transfer can take "as little as three business days". That is its figure, not one SafeOunce has tested. Federal law requires that IRA bullion stay "in the physical possession of a trustee" (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B)). The SEC's investor alert on self-directed IRAs adds a warning. It says custodians "generally do not evaluate the quality or legitimacy of any investment".
A gold IRA transfer between custodians has no 60-day clock and no once-a-year limit, so ask for one.
Freedom Gold USA Complaints, Reviews and Legal Record#
Freedom Gold USA's record shows 0 BBB complaints in three years and 43 Trustpilot reviews, all five-star, as of October 2, 2026. It also shows one court case the company filed itself and no regulator action found. The record is clean, and it is also small. Readers who search for Freedom Gold USA complaints find very little, because very little exists. The table sums up the legal record and the review numbers, each with its date and source.
| Record item | Freedom Gold USA | Date and source |
|---|---|---|
| BBB grade and accreditation | A+; accredited since June 21, 2023 | BBB profile, October 2, 2026 |
| BBB complaints and reviews | 0 complaints in 3 years; 5 reviews | BBB profile, October 2, 2026 |
| Trustpilot | 4.8 from 43 reviews; 100% five-star | Trustpilot profile, October 2, 2026 |
| ConsumerAffairs | 5.0 from 10 reviews, per its search listing; SafeOunce could not open the page | Search listing, October 2, 2026 |
| Court cases | 1: Freedom Gold USA LLC v. Bank of America, N.A., C.D. Cal. No. 2:24-cv-08360; company as plaintiff; dismissed July 31, 2025 | CourtListener docket, October 2, 2026 |
| CFTC, SEC and state regulator actions | None found | SafeOunce searches, October 2, 2026 |
BBB and Trustpilot numbers, and their limits#
Freedom Gold USA has an A+ BBB grade with 0 complaints and 5 customer reviews, and a 4.8 Trustpilot score from 43 reviews, as of October 2, 2026. BBB accreditation is a paid membership. The BBB's own rating overview says 90 of 100 positive points relate to complaints, and customer reviews do not count.
Why 4.8 and not 5.0? Trustpilot adds seven reviews of 3.5 stars to every company's score. With 43 five-star reviews that works out to 4.79. Trustpilot marks the profile as having no recent history of asking for reviews, and no one-star to three-star review was visible. The latest review visible on October 2, 2026 was dated September 18, 2026.
Zero complaints on 5 BBB reviews is good news, but the base is too small to compare with sellers that have hundreds. The table sets Freedom Gold USA's BBB numbers beside the ten largest gold IRA sellers, by complaints per 100 BBB reviews.
| Company | BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews | Complaints / reviews, where counted |
|---|---|---|
| Lear Capital | 22.1 | |
| American Hartford Gold | 13.9 | 111 / 798 |
| Priority Gold | 5.9 | 38 / 641 |
| Goldco | 4.2 | 72 / 1,710 |
| Birch Gold Group | 4.0 | 9 / 227 |
| Preserve Gold | 1.6 | |
| Noble Gold | 1.2 | 3 / 242 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | 0.7 | |
| Patriot Gold Group | 0 | |
| Advantage Gold | 0 | 0 / 9 |
| Freedom Gold USA | 0 | 0 / 5 |
How far BBB and Trustpilot ratings can be trusted for gold IRA companies is covered on our ratings page.
Freedom Gold USA's own numbers: 25,000 clients and 98% satisfaction#
Freedom Gold USA's homepage states "25,000+ Clients Helped" and a "98% Customer Satisfaction Rate", and gives no source for either number. A third counter reads "80% Clients Report Feeling More Financially Secure" (October 2, 2026).
From the BBB start date to October 2, 2026 is 1,410 days. So 25,000 clients would mean about 18 new clients every day. The three review sites show 58 reviews in total: 43 on Trustpilot, 5 at the BBB and 10 on ConsumerAffairs, per its search listing. The figure may count the careers of its staff before 2022. SafeOunce could not verify it either way.
Court cases: one, with Freedom Gold USA as the plaintiff#
One federal case names Freedom Gold USA LLC, and the company was the one suing: it sued its bank, not a customer. The plaintiff is the side that files a lawsuit.
Freedom Gold USA LLC v. Bank of America, N.A., C.D. Cal. No. 2:24-cv-08360 reached federal court on September 27, 2024, when the case was moved there from state court. The case was dismissed on July 31, 2025.
As read on October 2, 2026, the docket also lists three steps in between. An amended complaint is dated February 3, 2025. The bank's answer and a third-party complaint are dated February 18, 2025. A settlement notice is dated June 30, 2025. The docket does not show the terms, and SafeOunce has not read the complaint.
No lawsuit by a customer against Freedom Gold USA was found in federal dockets on October 2, 2026. State-court and arbitration filings are not fully searchable.
Regulator actions: none found#
SafeOunce found no CFTC, SEC or state regulator action against Freedom Gold USA LLC in searches on October 2, 2026. Regulator actions can take years to become public. A company under four years old has had little time to build a record, good or bad. Every case SafeOunce tracks is in our list of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.
Freedom Gold USA's Terms and Conditions: Arbitration, a One-Year Deadline and Blanks#
Freedom Gold USA publishes one contract document, its website terms and conditions, and they say nothing about spreads, delivery times or cancellation. What they do set is binding arbitration, a class-action waiver and a one-year deadline for any claim. The terms run to 26 sections and about 5,960 words. The page prints no date, but page data shows an update on December 22, 2025.
The terms also name no custodian or depository, set no payment deadline and carry no risk disclosure. The table compares Freedom Gold USA's published terms with three sellers' contracts, each dated.
| Term | Freedom Gold USA (website terms, read Oct. 2, 2026) | American Hartford Gold (agreement, Sept. 2026) | Lear Capital (terms, Dec. 2025) | Preserve Gold (agreement, June 2025) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sale agreement public | Website terms only; a separate customer agreement, if one exists, is not public | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Spread range stated | No | Bullion 1.00% to 19.99%; other items up to 39.99% and 59.99% | 2% to 35% | Bullion up to 20%; IRA generally up to 34.99% |
| Cancellation window | Not stated; points to a "Return Policy" SafeOunce did not find | 7 days, non-bullion items only | 24 hours after invoice | 24 hours |
| Arbitration | AAA; class waiver; place left blank | JAMS | JAMS; 30-day opt-out | JAMS |
| Claim deadline | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year and 1 day | 1 year and 1 day |
| Delivery time | Not stated | 4 to 8 weeks after good funds | Non-IRA orders within 28 days | Within 28 days of cleared funds |
| Buyback wording | "no fee buyback commitment"; no terms | Says the law prohibits a guarantee | Says the law prohibits a guarantee | Says the law prohibits a guarantee |
The largest sellers are compared clause by clause on gold IRA company contracts.
Arbitration, the class waiver and the one-year claim deadline#
Freedom Gold USA's terms send every dispute to binding arbitration under American Arbitration Association rules. They also ban class actions and bar any claim brought more than one year after the problem arose. Binding arbitration means a private judge decides, and you cannot appeal to a jury. A class-action waiver means you cannot join a group lawsuit. Section 16 of the terms (read October 2, 2026) says three things.
- "YOU UNDERSTAND THAT WITHOUT THIS PROVISION, YOU WOULD HAVE THE RIGHT TO SUE IN COURT AND HAVE A JURY TRIAL."
- "there is no right or authority for any Dispute to be arbitrated on a class-action basis"
- "In no event shall any Dispute ... be commenced more than one (1) years after the cause of action arose."
Three kinds of dispute are exempt from arbitration: intellectual property claims, theft or privacy claims, and requests for a court order.
One line favors the customer: "If such costs are determined by the arbitrator to be excessive, we will pay all arbitration fees and expenses." The AAA caps a consumer's filing fee at $225. JAMS, the service the three peers use, caps it at $250 (September 29, 2026). Section 19 cuts the other way. It says the company will not "BE LIABLE TO YOU ... FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, CONSEQUENTIAL ... DAMAGES ... ARISING FROM YOUR USE OF THE SERVICES".
A one-year deadline and arbitration are common in this industry: American Hartford Gold, Lear Capital and Preserve Gold use similar terms. These terms govern "the Services", meaning the website and related services. If you are sent a separate purchase agreement, its terms may differ. Ask for it before you pay.
Four blanks in the published terms#
Freedom Gold USA's terms leave four fields blank, including which state's law applies and where an arbitration would take place, as read on October 2, 2026. The four blanks are listed below, each with its quote.
- Governing law: "the laws of the State of __________"
- Negotiation period: "informally for at least __________ days before initiating arbitration"
- Arbitration place: "the arbitration will take place in __________"
- Court venue: "the state and federal courts located in __________"
Blank fields are a sign of a template that was never finished. The site has two others, as of October 2, 2026. One is a block of filler text under "Specialization". The other is a product card that credits a Credit Suisse gold bar to "The Royal Mint".
Cancelling an order: no posted return policy found#
Freedom Gold USA's terms tell buyers to "review our Return Policy posted on the Services", but SafeOunce found no return or cancellation policy on the site on October 2, 2026. The terms state no cancellation window. Section 5 adds that the company can "correct any errors or mistakes in pricing, even if we have already requested or received payment".
Federal law gives you a separate right, called revocation. Revocation means cancelling a new IRA and getting the money back. The rule is 26 CFR 1.408-6(d)(4)(ii), and it gives you at least 7 days after the IRA is set up.
The right runs against the custodian, not the dealer, and it covers a newly opened IRA. How it applies to metal already bought is untested, so ask the custodian. For comparison, Lear Capital and Preserve Gold give 24 hours; American Hartford Gold gives 7 days on non-bullion items only. How to cancel a gold IRA under the 7-day rule is explained step by step on our cancellation page.
Freedom Gold USA Fees: None Published in Dollars#
Freedom Gold USA publishes no fee schedule: no set setup, annual or storage fee in dollars, as of October 2, 2026. Its own FAQ says only: "Storage is via third-party depositories and may involve custodian/depository fees. We'll outline all costs and any minimums during your consultation." Two of its state pages give general ranges, not a price list. The Florida page (SafeOunce earns nothing from this link.) calls a custodian setup fee of $50 to $150, an annual fee of $75 to $300 and storage of $100 to $300 a year typical. The Tennessee page (SafeOunce earns nothing from this link.) says: "Combined annual fees generally range from $150 to $300 or more" (both read October 2, 2026). So Freedom Gold USA fees are not published, and a custodian's fee schedule is the nearest guide.
Two storage terms appear on those schedules. Commingled storage is shared space. You get back the same type and amount of metal, maybe not the same pieces, and it is still recorded as yours. Segregated storage keeps your pieces apart. The table shows the published metals fees of the two custodians that RetirementLiving links to Freedom Gold USA, plus two others for comparison. Freedom Gold USA's own Texas page names Horizon Trust and GoldStar Trust as examples (October 2, 2026).
| Custodian | Setup | Annual | Per trade | Storage | Exit | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Direction Trust Company | $30 application | At least $220 a year ($185 with online trading) | $130 per purchase or sale | Passed through from the vault | $150 transfer out | ndtco.com/fees, read September 29, 2026 |
| Horizon Trust | Year-1 fee not shown (cell blank on the Rev. 1.2025 schedule) | $395 a year after year 1 | Free | Not published | $500 termination | Schedule Rev. 1.2025, archived copy |
| Equity Trust, metals-only (benchmark) | $50 | $125 | $30 per sale | $110 shared or $160 segregated | $250 | Schedule Rev. 081726 |
| GoldStar Trust (named on the Texas page) | $50 | $90 | None | $125 commingled | $150 | Schedule Rev. 01/2026 |
These are the custodians' prices, not Freedom Gold USA's. The company's Texas gold IRA page (SafeOunce earns nothing from this link.) names three custodians as examples: "GoldStar Trust Company, Strata Trust, or Horizon Trust" (October 2, 2026). The other pages SafeOunce read name none, and no page says which one the company uses by default. So ask which one it will use and request that custodian's dated fee schedule. Every custodian and seller is compared on gold IRA fees.
What "no IRA setup or transfer fees" can mean#
Freedom Gold USA's gold IRA page lists "No IRA setup or transfer fees", but the IRA is opened at a custodian, and the custodian sets those fees. The same list promises "Lowest, transparent pricing", "Fast and insured delivery" and a "No- Fee Buyback Commitment" (October 2, 2026).
Two readings are possible. The dealer itself adds no setup charge, or the dealer pays the custodian's setup fee for you. The site does not say which, for how long or on what order size. New Direction Trust Company, for one, charges a $30 application fee, $130 per trade and $150 to transfer out (September 29, 2026). What each custodian charges to open and run an account is on gold IRA custodian fees.
No such written promise appears on the site. What such promises are worth is worked out on no-fee gold IRA offers.
Freedom Gold USA Minimum Investment: Not Published#
Freedom Gold USA publishes no minimum for a gold IRA or a cash purchase, as of October 2, 2026. RetirementLiving calls it a "lower minimum investment than competitors" without giving a number. The IRS sets no minimum either. It sets only a yearly limit on new contributions: $7,500 for 2026, plus $1,100 at age 50 and over (IRS Notice 2025-67).
Other sellers publish gold IRA minimums. As of September 29, 2026, Birch Gold lists $5,000, GoldenCrest $10,000, Noble Gold $20,000 and Goldco $25,000. Augusta's FAQ lists $50,000. The table shows what a $220 yearly custodian fee, the lowest New Direction Trust Company charges, takes from accounts of five sizes, before storage and trade fees.
| Account size | $220 a year as a share of the account |
|---|---|
| $5,000 | 4.40% |
| $10,000 | 2.20% |
| $25,000 | 0.88% |
| $50,000 | 0.44% |
| $100,000 | 0.22% |
A low minimum is only good news if the flat fees do not eat the account. Below about $25,000, at least $220 a year plus storage takes roughly 1% or more each year.
Every published figure is compared on gold IRA minimums by company.
Freedom Gold USA Prices: "Call For Pricing" and the Spread#
Freedom Gold USA lists no prices: each product page ends with "Call For Pricing", so the spread you pay appears only on your quote. The spread is the share of your price that is not metal. In exact terms, it is the dealer's price minus the dealer's cost, as a share of what you pay. The bid is what a dealer pays you back. Percent over spot is how far a coin's price sits above the raw metal price.
The site promises "Lowest, transparent pricing" and "Clear, competitive pricing". Its FAQ also admits that physical gold "typically includes a dealer markup". Gold IRA markups and spreads are rarely public. Of 15 operating sellers SafeOunce checked on September 29, 2026, 4 publish a spread range and 4 publish live prices. Every published spread range is on gold IRA markups and spreads.
The CFTC's 2024 advisory on metals says legitimate dealers' spreads are often under 20%, while fraudulent ones exceed 300%. The table shows how far gold must rise before a buyer who sells back gets even, at four spreads.
| Spread | Rise needed to reach dealer cost | Rise needed including the buyback gap |
|---|---|---|
| 5% | 5.3% | 10.4% |
| 10% | 11.1% | 16.6% |
| 20% | 25.0% | 31.1% |
| 30% | 42.9% | 49.9% |
A federal rule backs that request. Sellers by phone must tell you the total cost and the quantity before you pay (16 CFR 310.3(a)(1)(i)). Test your own quote in the gold IRA break-even calculator.
What $100,000 With Freedom Gold USA Could Cost: Year 1 and 10 Years#
Freedom Gold USA publishes no costs, so this example uses New Direction Trust Company's schedule: at least $380 in custodian fees in year one and at least $2,490 over ten years, before storage. If you sell back, a spread of 5% to 30% adds $9,453 to $33,281. The first table shows the custodian fees on a $100,000 gold IRA, line by line.
| Cost | Year 1 | 10 years |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $30 | $30 |
| Annual metals fee (at least $220 a year) | $220 | $2,200 |
| Purchase trade fee | $130 | $130 |
| Sale trade fee | None | $130 |
| Storage | Passed through from the vault, not published (benchmark: $110 to $175) | Passed through from the vault, not published (benchmark: $1,100 to $1,750) |
| Dealer spread | Not published | Not published |
| Total custodian fees before storage (a floor) | $380 | $2,490 ($2,640 with the $150 transfer-out fee) |
The second table adds the spread and buyback gap to those custodian fees, with the metal price held flat.
| Spread | Day-one sale value of $100,000 | Spread and buyback-gap loss | 10 years of custodian fees | 10-year total cost | Share of $100,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | $90,547 | $9,453 | $2,490 | $11,943 | 11.9% |
| 10% | $85,781 | $14,219 | $2,490 | $16,709 | 16.7% |
| 20% | $76,250 | $23,750 | $2,490 | $26,240 | 26.2% |
| 30% | $66,719 | $33,281 | $2,490 | $35,771 | 35.8% |
Your first custodian statement values metal at market value, not at what you paid. At a 20% spread, $100,000 shows as about $80,000 of metal before any buyback gap. For comparison, a same-day round trip on a 1-ounce Gold Eagle at a large online dealer cost about 5% to 7% in late September 2026. One snapshot at SD Bullion on September 29, 2026 showed 5.39%. Run your own amount and custodian in the gold IRA fee calculator.
Freedom Gold USA Buyback: What a "No-Fee Buyback Commitment" Covers#
Freedom Gold USA's terms offer a "no fee buyback commitment", but the company publishes no buyback price formula, payment time or written terms, as of October 2, 2026. No fee does not mean no cost: the cost of selling back is the gap between what you paid and the dealer's bid. Its "Why Freedom Gold" page says: "When you're ready to sell, our no-fee buyback makes it fast, fair, and easy."
A commitment is not a promise to buy at a set price. Five other dealers' contracts say the law stops them from promising a repurchase. American Hartford Gold's 2026 agreement, paragraph 6, reads: "applicable laws currently prohibit AHG from guaranteeing to repurchase". Lear Capital, Preserve Gold, Goldline and American Bullion use the same idea. Freedom Gold USA's terms hold no buyback clause at all beyond the phrase itself.
What each contract actually promises is on gold IRA buyback programs compared.
Freedom Gold USA Products and Its IRA Rule Claims#
Freedom Gold USA features six products on its homepage, all plain bullion, as of October 2, 2026. They are the American Gold Eagle, Gold Maple Leaf, Gold Buffalo and Silver Eagle coins, plus a 1 oz gold bar and a 10 oz silver bar. Its full products page (SafeOunce earns nothing from this link.) is longer: it lists 31 products, 13 gold and 18 silver (October 2, 2026). Two are proof coins, a 1 oz proof Gold Eagle and a 1 oz proof Silver Eagle. Five are gold coins of 1/4 or 1/3 ounce. The silver list includes Morgan and Peace dollars and 90% silver half dollars from before 1965. Nine of the 31 product pages carry the words "IRA-eligible", and all nine are bullion coins, bars or rounds. None of the proof, small or collector coins carries those words. Bullion means coins and bars priced close to their metal value. A proof coin is a collector finish sold at a higher price. Fineness is purity: .995 means 99.5% gold. The six products and their rule paths are listed below.
- American Gold Eagle: eligible by name under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A), at .9167 fineness
- Gold bar, 1 oz: bullion route under 408(m)(3)(B), at .995 or finer
- Canadian Gold Maple Leaf: bullion route, .9999
- American Gold Buffalo: bullion route, .9999
- Silver bar, 10 oz: bullion route, .999
- American Silver Eagle, 1 oz: eligible by name
Why the American Gold Eagle in an IRA is allowed at 91.67% purity is explained on its product page. The table sets four statements from Freedom Gold USA's pages beside the rule.
| Freedom Gold USA's statement (read October 2, 2026) | The rule |
|---|---|
| "IRS-approved gold and silver coins and bars" | The IRS has no list of approved coins or bars. The tax code names some coins and sets fineness for bullion (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)). |
| "stored in an IRS-approved depository, such as the Delaware Depository" | The IRS approves no depository. Bullion must be "in the physical possession of a trustee" (408(m)(3)(B)). |
| "the IRS requires that any gold held in an IRA must be at least 99.5% pure" | True for bars and most coins. The American Gold Eagle is 91.67% gold and allowed by name, as the company's own Gold Eagle page says. |
| FAQ: "well-known issues like Sovereigns and Britannias" | Fine outside an IRA. A Gold Sovereign (.9167) is not IRA-eligible, and Britannias qualify only from 2013 (see whether gold Sovereigns are IRA-eligible). |
Exactly which coins and bars the tax code allows is on IRA-approved precious metals.
Two answers on its FAQ are right and matter. It says IRA metals "must be held at a third-party depository", and that you can take delivery only "when you take a distribution". Its line that a gold IRA was "authorized by the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997" is accurate for bullion. Gold and Silver Eagles were allowed from 1987. On any sales call, the product offered is what counts, not the product on the site. The CFTC calls "semi-numismatic" coins "a made-up industry term".
Freedom Gold USA Custodians and Depositories#
Freedom Gold USA's website names three IRA custodians and two depositories as examples, and does not say which it uses by default, as of October 2, 2026. Its Texas gold IRA page (SafeOunce earns nothing from this link.) says: "Choose an IRS-approved custodian such as GoldStar Trust Company, Strata Trust, or Horizon Trust". The same page names the Texas Bullion Depository as a storage option. Its gold IRA page says "such as the Delaware Depository". RetirementLiving lists Horizon Trust and New Direction Trust Company as custodians. It lists the Delaware Depository, International Depository Services and Brink's as vaults. Freedom Gold USA's site also names Horizon Trust and the Delaware Depository. The pages SafeOunce read do not name New Direction Trust Company, International Depository Services or Brink's. Every custodian's charter and fees are compared on gold IRA custodians.
The site also says "your holdings are segregated, audited, and accessible". Segregation is a storage choice that the custodian prices, and segregated silver is not always on offer. The 3 questions below settle the custody facts.
- Which custodian will hold the IRA, and may I choose another?
- Which depository will hold the metal, and is the account titled to my IRA?
- Is storage segregated or commingled, and at what yearly price?
New Direction Trust Company's fee page says "NDTCO does not select the depository" (read September 29, 2026).
Two limits apply at any of the gold IRA depositories. FDIC and SIPC never cover IRA metal. Vault insurance pays the metal's value, not the premium you paid, and it has exclusions. One example is the Delaware Depository. It states $1 billion of all-risk cover plus $100 million of contingent cover. It excludes war, terrorism, cyber-attack and government confiscation (its FAQ and agreement, September 29, 2026). Vault insurance and locations are compared on gold IRA depositories.
Taking coins out later costs money too. New Direction charges $150 for a distribution that is not a required minimum distribution, plus $75 to re-title the metal (ndtco.com/fees, read September 29, 2026). A required minimum distribution is the yearly withdrawal the law requires in later life. It pays only the movement and re-titling fees.
Fees and terms are on our page for New Direction Trust Company. The other custodian RetirementLiving names is covered on Horizon Trust.
Freedom Gold USA Pros and Cons#
Freedom Gold USA's six strengths start with a clean record; its six weaknesses are a short history and almost no numbers in writing. The table lists the Freedom Gold USA pros and cons side by side, as of October 2, 2026.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| BBB A+ with 0 complaints in 3 years | No fees, minimum or prices published |
| No regulator action found | BBB start date of November 2022 against "three decades" wording |
| The nine products its site labels "IRA-eligible" are all bullion | Terms with four blank fields |
| FAQ correctly says IRA metal stays in a depository until distribution | No cancellation or return policy found |
| Terms say the company pays arbitration costs an arbitrator finds excessive | One-year claim deadline with a class-action waiver |
| Street address and a named BBB contact are public | "IRS-approved" wording used for coins and depositories |
Who Freedom Gold USA Suits, and Who Should Wait#
Freedom Gold USA can suit a buyer of plain bullion who gets the price, the custodian's fee schedule and the cancellation terms by email before paying. It does not suit a buyer who wants to compare costs before making a phone call, because nothing is published. The table gives a verdict for six reader situations.
| Your situation | Verdict | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You want to compare before calling | Wait or look elsewhere | No fee, minimum or price is online (October 2, 2026) |
| You have under about $25,000 | Check the flat fees first | At least $220 a year is 0.88% of $25,000 and 2.2% of $10,000 before storage. A low-cost gold ETF in an IRA you already have may cost less. For small balances, see gold IRA vs gold ETF. |
| You have $25,000 to $100,000 for plain bullion | Workable | Only if the quote shows percent over spot and you hold the custodian's schedule |
| You want a long track record | Decide for yourself | The BBB start date is November 2022; under four years may not be enough for you |
| You need the money within 5 years | Be careful | At a 20% spread, gold must rise about 31% for you to break even |
| You are buying for home delivery, with no IRA | Outside this review | The same price questions apply |
Cheaper routes for smaller balances are on best gold IRA companies for small investors.
You should put the 6 questions below to Freedom Gold USA by email, and keep the replies.
- Ask the price per coin and the percent over spot for each item. Good answer: a figure in writing. For scale, a retail round trip on a Gold Eagle cost about 5% to 7% in late September 2026, and the CFTC says legitimate spreads are often under 20%.
- Ask what the company would pay for the same coins today. Good answer: a dollar figure per coin.
- Ask which custodian and depository it uses, and for the custodian's dated fee schedule. Good answer: two names and a schedule with a date on it.
- Ask who pays the custodian's setup and transfer fees, and for how long. Good answer: the payer, the fees covered and the period.
- Ask how many days you have to cancel, from when, in writing. Good answer: at least the 24 hours that Lear Capital and Preserve Gold give.
- Ask which state's law and which city apply to a dispute, since the terms leave both blank. Good answer: one state and one city.
The full list of 12 questions is on how to choose a gold IRA company.
How SafeOunce Rates Freedom Gold USA#
Freedom Gold USA's SafeOunce result is provisional: it earned 31 of the 43 points checked so far (October 2, 2026). SafeOunce rates Freedom Gold USA on 7 criteria worth 100 points, and any item a company will not show a buyer scores zero. The other 57 points are not yet checked: 19 need our written quote test, and 38 need documents or checks we have not finished. A provisional result has no band and is not a score out of 100. The rating card above is computed from methodology version 1.1, not written by hand. The table lists each criterion and Freedom Gold USA's inputs as of October 2, 2026.
| Criterion (methodology v1.1) | Points | Freedom Gold USA inputs as of October 2, 2026 | Data source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 Measured bullion premium | 15 | No written quote yet ($50,000 IRA order, 1 oz Gold Eagle and Maple Leaf) | Written quote vs logged spot | Not yet checked |
| A2 Price disclosure | 10 | "Call For Pricing", no prices online: 0 of 4. Spread limit in a purchase agreement not yet checked; itemized quote not yet checked | freedomgoldusa.com; written quote | Partly checked |
| A3 Buyback terms | 5 | "no fee buyback commitment" (terms): 1 of 1 for no buyback fee. No written bid method: 0 of 2. No stated payment time: 0 of 1. Same-day bid not yet checked | Site; agreement; same-day bid | Partly checked |
| B1 Published account fees | 4 | No fee schedule; "No IRA setup or transfer fees" without terms; two state pages give general ranges only: 0 of 4, labeled "not disclosed" | Site | Checked |
| B2 10-year account cost at $100,000 | 4 | Depends on the custodian; the Texas page names three as examples and no page states a default | Custodian schedule | Not yet checked |
| B3 Promotions not tied to premium products | 2 | No free-metal promotion found on the site: 2 of 2 | Site | Checked |
| C1-C4 Contract fairness | 15 | Website terms: AAA arbitration, class waiver, 1-year deadline, 4 blanks, no cancellation window; purchase agreement not seen | Terms; agreement | Not yet checked |
| D Regulatory and legal record | 20 | No regulator action found; 1 case as plaintiff, dismissed July 31, 2025: 20 of 20 | CFTC, SEC, state sites; CourtListener | Checked |
| E Complaint record | 10 | 0 BBB complaints (3 years); 43 Trustpilot reviews, none below five stars visible. Checked October 2, 2026: complaint rate 5 of 5; answered or resolved not yet checked; trend 2 of 2 | BBB, Trustpilot | Partly checked |
| F Product mix and sales pressure | 10 | Six plain bullion products on the homepage; the products page lists 31, including 2 proof coins and 5 gold coins under 1 oz; phone recommendation not yet tested; "IRS-approved" wording and experience statements. Checked October 2, 2026: default recommendation not yet checked; IRA catalog not yet checked; rule errors on its site 1 of 2 | Site audit; phone test | Partly checked |
| G Custody, delivery, disclosure | 5 | Texas page names GoldStar Trust, Strata Trust and Horizon Trust as example custodians, and the Texas Bullion Depository; gold IRA page says "such as the Delaware Depository"; no default stated; no delivery time in the terms | Site; custodian forms | Not yet checked |
Freedom Gold USA is not closed, not sanctioned by a regulator and not on SafeOunce's watch list, so none of the three automatic exclusions applies (October 2, 2026). Freedom Gold USA does not have to answer SafeOunce to be scored: since method version 1.1, the score comes from public records and from a written quote requested the way a buyer would request it. Until that quote test is done, the rating card shows a provisional result with no band. Years in business, BBB grade and star scores are shown but not scored. No company can pay to change its rating or its place. Weights and evidence rules are on how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.
How Does Freedom Gold USA Compare With Other Gold IRA Companies?#
Freedom Gold USA publishes no fees, no minimum and no spread range, where each of the five sellers in the table below publishes at least one of the three. On complaints it has none, on a far smaller base. The table compares Freedom Gold USA with five other sellers; peers are as of September 29, 2026.
| Company | BBB business start | IRA minimum | Account fees published | Spread range published | BBB complaints per 100 reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freedom Gold USA | Nov. 2022 | Not published | No | No | 0 (5 reviews; Oct. 2, 2026) |
| Goldco | Oct. 2011 | $25,000 | Yes ($275 a year, segregated) | No | 4.2 |
| Birch Gold Group | 2011 | $5,000 | About $235 a year | No | 4.0 |
| Noble Gold | May 2016 | $20,000 | Yes, two pages disagree ($80 + $275 a year or $50 + $285 a year) | No | 1.2 |
| American Hartford Gold | March 2015 | Not published | No | Yes: bullion up to 19.99%; other items up to 39.99% and 59.99% | 13.9 |
| American Bullion | March 2009 | $10,000 recommended | Yes | Yes: typically 7% to 23% (Oct. 2024 agreement) | 0 (12 reviews) |
Rankings by real cost are on best gold IRA companies.
Other gold IRA companies added to the SafeOunce list in 2026#
Freedom Gold USA is one of four smaller gold IRA sellers SafeOunce reviews with the same checklist, beside Bishop Gold Group, Monetary Gold and Sanctuary Metals. The three sister reviews are listed below.
- Bishop Gold Group review
- Monetary Gold review
- Sanctuary Metals review
Who writes the Freedom Gold USA reviews you find online?#
Two of the pages that rank for "Freedom Gold USA reviews" are paid press releases: one from IRAEmpire dated August 23, 2024, and one from WireDaily dated April 29, 2025. The IRAEmpire title promises "Complaints" and lists none. The EIN Presswire footer says the content is "the sole responsibility of the author". The WireDaily release praises "competitive, clearly disclosed fees", yet states no fee. Each release names the review site as its source, not Freedom Gold USA.
The company's terms cover reviews posted on its own site: "We may accept, reject, or remove reviews in our sole discretion." How to tell whether gold IRA reviews are paid is on our reviews guide.
Many review pages are paid when you contact a company; see who pays SafeOunce. SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page.
Can you take Freedom Gold USA IRA gold home?#
No: IRA bullion must stay in the physical possession of a trustee. Freedom Gold USA's own FAQ says metals can be shipped to you only "when you take a distribution". The Tax Court confirmed the rule in McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021). The court case is covered on home storage gold IRA.
Home delivery, which the company also sells, is for metal bought with savings outside an IRA. No federal limit applies to gold you own outside an IRA. A distribution from a traditional IRA is taxable. Taking coins out later is explained on gold IRA distributions.
Does the IRS know if you buy gold through Freedom Gold USA?#
Yes for an IRA: the custodian reports the account to the IRS every year on Form 5498 and reports withdrawals on Form 1099-R. Each form is explained on does the IRS know about your gold.
What is the downside of a gold IRA with a young company?#
The main downside is that there is less to check. As of October 2, 2026, Freedom Gold USA has under four years of BBB history, 58 public reviews and no published prices. Gold itself pays no interest or dividends. Once delivered, your metal is held by the custodian and the vault, not the dealer. How to check delivery of IRA metal is on our delivery checklist. The general case is on gold IRA pros and cons.