Preserve Gold is an operating gold IRA seller, legally Preserve Gold Group, Inc. of Woodland Hills, California, in business since July 2022. It has an A+ grade from the Better Business Bureau (BBB), and SafeOunce found no regulator action against it (September 29, 2026). Its own contract allows spreads of up to 34.99% on IRA purchases, even on plain bullion. The spread is the share of your price that is the seller's margin, not metal. So the real question is not whether Preserve Gold exists, but how much of each dollar becomes metal.
A gold IRA is an individual retirement account that holds physical gold through a custodian, a trust company that holds the account for you. Gold IRA companies, such as Preserve Gold, Goldco and Augusta, are the dealers that set one up and sell you the metal. Preserve Gold is one of the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks with the same records, fees and contract questions.
This Preserve Gold review covers the company's legal name, owner and short record, then its public contract clause by clause. It prices the spread caps, the fee waiver, the 1% bonus and the buyback wording on a $100,000 account, and says who Preserve suits. It covers Preserve Gold Group, Inc. (preservegold.com), not nature preserves or other businesses with "Preserve" in their names.
The 12 facts below come from Preserve Gold's contract and website, the BBB, Trustpilot (a public review website) and the U.S. trademark office, each dated. The last row links to Preserve's own site.
| Quick fact | Preserve Gold |
|---|---|
| Legal name | Preserve Gold Group, Inc. (contract) |
| Address | 21700 Oxnard St, Suite 430, Woodland Hills, CA 91367 (BBB, contract) |
| Business started (BBB) | July 6, 2022 |
| Leaders (BBB) | Daniel Boston, Owner; Jennifer Reubel, CEO (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Gold IRA minimum | Not published (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Spread caps (contract, June 2025) | Bullion up to 20%; numismatic and exclusive coins up to 34.99%; IRA purchases of all types generally up to 34.99% |
| Account fees published | No; custodian and storage fees waived "for up to 5 years depending on your starting investment size" (homepage, Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Cancellation | 24 hours after the written invoice |
| Customer agreement public | Yes (Shipping and Transaction Agreement, June 2025) |
| BBB | A+, accredited since Sept. 6, 2022; 2 complaints in 3 years; 123 reviews (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Trustpilot | 4.9 from 175 reviews; 0% one-star (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Legal record found | 0 court cases, 0 regulator actions; 1 USPTO trademark case Preserve filed (2024-2025) |
| Official site | preservegold.com |
Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.
Our Preserve Gold Verdict: A Young Seller That Prints a High Markup Cap#
Preserve Gold is a real, young company with a short complaint record and an open contract that allows up to about a third of an IRA purchase as margin. Preserve Gold complaints at the BBB number 2 in three years, and SafeOunce found no court case or regulator action (September 29, 2026). The complaint details and records are on the page about Preserve Gold complaints.
Markup is how much more than the dealer's cost you pay. A 34.99% spread equals a 53.8% markup over Preserve's cost. Still, publishing any spread range is more than most rivals do: only 4 of 15 operating sellers SafeOunce checked print one (September 29, 2026).
What should a careful buyer ask Preserve Gold before sending money? Ask for three things in writing: the spread percent on each coin, the fee-waiver years for your amount, and today's buyback bid. Put all three into the invoice or the Shipping and Transaction Agreement, because that contract says only written terms count.
Look elsewhere if you need more than 24 hours to decide, or if Preserve will not write the spread on your IRA order. The fee waiver, the 1% free-metal bonus and the "zero-fee buyback commitment" live on the website, not in the agreement.
Who Is Preserve Gold? Legal Name, Owner and How It Works#
Preserve Gold is a precious metals dealer that sells gold, silver, platinum and palladium and arranges gold IRAs, operating legally as Preserve Gold Group, Inc. of Woodland Hills, California. Its IRA page offers "bars, bullion coins, and rounds that meet specific purity requirements" (September 29, 2026). The same page lists the accounts it takes money from, such as traditional and Roth IRAs, 401(k), Roth 401(k), TSP, 403(b), 457(b), SEP and SIMPLE plans. Why does the legal name matter? Your contract, the BBB file and any court or regulator record use the legal name, not the brand.
Preserve Gold Group, Inc.: the name on the contract#
The company you sign with is Preserve Gold Group, Inc., the name in the first line of its Shipping and Transaction Agreement. The brand and the BBB listing use "Preserve Gold". The agreement and the BBB give the same address: 21700 Oxnard St, Suite 430, Woodland Hills, CA 91367.
The brand name is easy to confuse. On September 29, 2026, a Google search for "preserve gold reviews" returned 7 unrelated or off-topic results in its top 9, such as nature preserves and hiking trails. The top result was a spam post on a government forum. Search the legal name and the Woodland Hills address when you check records.
Our verification guide shows how to check a gold IRA company by its legal name in free public records.
How long has Preserve Gold been in business?#
Preserve Gold has been in business for about four years: the BBB lists its start as July 6, 2022, and accredited it on September 6, 2022. That is about 4 years and 2 months before September 29, 2026. It makes Preserve the youngest of the ten largest gold IRA sellers SafeOunce tracks. By BBB dates, American Hartford Gold started in 2015 and Lear Capital in 1997.
Who owns Preserve Gold?#
The BBB lists Daniel Boston as Preserve Gold's owner and Jennifer Reubel as its CEO, as of September 29, 2026. Preserve Gold Group, Inc. does not publish its ownership shares or its funding. Mr. Boston's LinkedIn profile says he previously worked at Lear Capital as a senior account executive; that is his own description. Some review pages name other people as Preserve's leaders, and those names do not appear in the BBB listing.
How a Preserve Gold IRA works, step by step#
A Preserve Gold IRA works in 5 steps, from choosing a custodian to metal arriving in a vault in your IRA's name. A self-directed IRA is an IRA that can hold assets other than funds, such as metal. The custodian is the trust company that legally holds the IRA and sends your statements. The depository is the vault. The 5 steps are listed below.
- Choose a self-directed IRA custodian. Preserve's contract makes you "solely responsible for selecting" it (paragraph 11).
- Move the money by a direct transfer or a rollover. Preserve's IRA page says funds can move "in as little as a few days" (September 29, 2026).
- Pick coins or bars, and ask the spread percent on each one.
- Read the written invoice. Your 24-hour cancellation clock starts when you receive it.
- Check your custodian statement. Preserve ships to the depository within 28 days after your funds clear, so the metal should appear there.
IRA bullion must be in the physical possession of a trustee under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B), so the coins go to a vault, not to your home.
Ask for a gold IRA transfer rather than a check made out to you. A gold IRA transfer between custodians has no 60-day clock and no once-a-year limit.
Is Preserve Gold a custodian?#
No: Preserve Gold is the dealer that sells the metal, while a separate trust company is the custodian that holds your IRA and a vault stores the coins. Preserve's contract "expressly disclaims any and all responsibility" for your custodian and storage company (paragraph 11). The SEC warns that "self-directed IRA custodians generally do not evaluate the quality or legitimacy of any investment" (SEC investor alert).
Preserve Gold's Complaint and Regulatory Record#
Preserve Gold's record shows 2 BBB complaints in three years, no court case and no regulator action found, as of September 29, 2026. A short record is partly a short history, because the company is about four years old. Has Preserve Gold been in a lawsuit? SafeOunce found no court case naming Preserve Gold Group, Inc. The only legal proceeding found is a trademark case Preserve itself filed with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).
The table sums up the complaint record and regulatory record, with the date and source of each item.
| Record item | Preserve Gold | Date and source |
|---|---|---|
| BBB grade and accreditation | A+; accredited since Sept. 6, 2022 | BBB, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| BBB complaints and reviews | 2 complaints closed in 3 years; 123 reviews | BBB, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| Complaints per 100 BBB reviews | 1.6 | SafeOunce calculation, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| Trustpilot | 4.9 from 175 reviews; 96% five-star; 0% one-star | Trustpilot, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| Court cases found | 0 | SafeOunce searches, Sept. 29, 2026 |
| USPTO proceedings | 1, filed by Preserve (Cancellation No. 92085333) | USPTO, 2024-2025 |
| CFTC, SEC and state regulator actions | None found | SafeOunce searches, Sept. 29, 2026 |
The table gives Preserve Gold complaints and its BBB record only as numbers. Each complaint and record is summarized on Preserve Gold complaints and BBB record.
BBB and Trustpilot numbers, and their limits#
Preserve Gold has 2 BBB complaints closed in three years against 123 BBB reviews, or 1.6 complaints per 100 reviews, as of September 29, 2026. It holds an A+ grade and has been accredited since September 6, 2022. BBB accreditation is a paid membership. The BBB says 90 of the 100 points behind a grade relate to complaints, and reviews are not used.
The table ranks the ten largest gold IRA sellers by BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews (September 29, 2026).
| Company | BBB complaints per 100 BBB reviews |
|---|---|
| Lear Capital | 22.1 |
| American Hartford Gold | 13.9 |
| Priority Gold | 5.9 |
| Goldco | 4.2 |
| Birch Gold Group | 4.0 |
| Preserve Gold | 1.6 |
| Noble Gold | 1.2 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | 0.7 |
| Patriot Gold Group | 0 |
| Advantage Gold | 0 (9 reviews) |
Preserve's affiliate page said in December 2025 that it had "ZERO Better Business Bureau complaints". The BBB showed 2 complaints closed in three years on September 29, 2026. The BBB page does not show the complaint dates, so SafeOunce cannot say when they arrived.
On Trustpilot, Preserve scores 4.9 from 175 reviews, with 96% five-star and 0% one-star (September 29, 2026). Preserve invites customers to review it, so those reviews are partly prompted. Trustpilot adds seven 3.5-star reviews to every company's score, and the ten largest sellers all show 89% to 99% five-star shares.
Our ratings page explains why BBB and Trustpilot ratings rarely separate gold IRA companies.
Court and trademark records: one USPTO case Preserve filed#
The only legal proceeding SafeOunce found for Preserve Gold Group, Inc. is a trademark cancellation it filed in 2024 and withdrew in 2025.
Preserve Gold Group, Inc. v. Lynch Mining, LLC, USPTO Trademark Trial and Appeal Board, Cancellation No. 92085333. Preserve filed it on June 3, 2024 against the registered slogan "GOLD YOU CAN HOLD" (Reg. No. 6616738). It withdrew the petition on January 31, 2025. The Board then denied the cancellation with prejudice and closed the case on February 7, 2025 (TTAB docket).
No court case brought by a customer or a regulator was found in searches on September 29, 2026.
Regulator actions: none found#
SafeOunce found no CFTC, SEC or state regulator action against Preserve Gold Group, Inc. in searches on September 29, 2026. The CFTC (Commodity Futures Trading Commission) polices fraud in metals sales, and the SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) polices securities. Regulator actions can take years to become public, so check again before you buy.
What a real case looks like is shown in our list of precious metals IRA enforcement actions against other sellers.
Preserve Gold's Contract: What the Shipping and Transaction Agreement Says#
Preserve Gold publishes the agreement you sign, a nine-page Shipping and Transaction Agreement dated June 2025, so you can read every term before you call. That openness is a real strength, although several of the terms favor the company. The PDF is linked from preservegold.com, and its file data show it was created on May 30, 2025 and changed on June 11, 2025 (the agreement).
The table compares the contract terms of four sellers, from documents read on September 29, 2026.
| Term | Preserve Gold (agreement, June 2025) | American Hartford Gold (agreement, Sept. 2026) | Lear Capital (terms, Dec. 2025) | Goldco (website terms) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agreement public | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| Spread range stated | Bullion up to 20%; IRA generally up to 34.99% | Bullion 1%-19.99%; up to 39.99% and 59.99% | 2%-35% | Not published |
| Cancellation | 24 hours after invoice | 7 days, non-bullion only | 24 hours | Not published |
| Arbitration | JAMS, nearest office; each side pays own lawyers | JAMS | JAMS, 30-day opt-out | None in website terms |
| Claim deadline | 1 year + 1 day | 1 year | 1 year + 1 day | Not public |
| Buyback wording | Law "prohibits" a guarantee | Same | Same | "Guaranteed at the highest price", no terms |
| Do-Not-Call consent | Yes | Yes | Yes | n/a |
Gold IRA company contracts differ most on the cancellation window and the claim deadline; all ten sellers are compared on gold IRA company contracts.
The 24-hour cancellation window and how to cancel#
You have 24 hours from Preserve Gold's written invoice to cancel without penalty, and changing your order within 7 days does not restart that clock.
You can cancel by email to info@preservegold.com or by mail. A mailed notice counts "if postmarked on the business day after a customer receives a written invoice". The contract adds: "Certain states require longer cancellation periods, which Preserve Gold Group honors." After the window, "ALL SALES ARE FINAL."
Cancellation is one way to get your money back from a gold IRA company; arbitration and restitution are the others.
Pay within 2 business days, or Preserve Gold keeps any gain#
Preserve Gold's contract gives you 2 business days to pay. If you do not, it can resell your order, charge you any loss and keep any gain.
Liquidated damages are a set amount the contract lets one side keep instead of proving its loss. The loss side runs the other way: you pay any shortfall, plus incidental damages.
American Hartford Gold's contract has the same clause with 2 business days, and Lear Capital's with 5. Start the IRA transfer before you place the order, so the money arrives in time.
Delivery within 28 days, and how to check delivery#
Preserve Gold's contract promises delivery within 28 days after it verifies your funds, which matches the 28-day line federal regulators use for "actual delivery". The clause reads "within twenty-eight (28) days after PGG's verification that the Purchase Funds are backed by good funds" (paragraph 2A). Good funds means money that has cleared, and for a bank check that "may take up to twelve (12) business days".
Two backstops follow. If Preserve cannot deliver to your IRA's storage within 28 days, it may "nullify and cancel the transaction and will refund the full purchase price" (paragraph 11). If a shipment is lost, Preserve refunds or replaces it within 60 days, at its choice (paragraph 2A).
The CFTC uses the same 28 days as its test of "actual delivery" (CFTC release 8215-20, August 4, 2020). Goldco's website terms, by comparison, allow "up to 45 business days".
How do you check delivery? Ask for the ship date in writing, then check your custodian statement 28 days after your funds clear. Our checklist shows how to check delivery and what to do if metal never arrives.
Arbitration, a one-year claim deadline and a liability cap#
Any dispute with Preserve Gold goes to private arbitration, must be filed within one year and one day, and can recover at most what you paid. Arbitration is a private hearing before a hired decision-maker instead of a court. JAMS is a private company that runs these hearings. The 4 terms below come from paragraphs 10 and 12 of the June 2025 agreement.
- Place and panel: the JAMS office closest to your home, one retired judge, and no joined or group claims (paragraph 12).
- Lawyer costs: each side pays its own lawyers, "subject to" remedies under state or federal law (paragraph 12).
- Claim deadline: "ANY CLAIM OR LEGAL PROCEEDING HEREUNDER SHALL BE FILED WITHIN ONE YEAR AND ONE DAY OF ITS ACCRUAL" (paragraph 12).
- Liability cap: Preserve's liability is "LIMITED SOLELY TO THE AMOUNT CUSTOMER ACTUALLY PAID", with no indirect or consequential damages (paragraph 10).
Where the JAMS consumer minimum standards apply, the only fee you must pay is $250. The hearing office is near you, not in Los Angeles as in Lear Capital's terms.
Do-Not-Call consent: signing lets Preserve Gold call you#
The first clause of Preserve Gold's contract lets it call you even if your number is on the National Do-Not-Call Registry. Paragraph 1 allows calls "regardless of whether those numbers are listed on any state or federal 'Do Not Call' registry." American Hartford Gold and Lear Capital contracts carry the same consent.
Signing this consent or requesting a guide can lead to sales calls. Our calls guide explains how to stop gold IRA cold calls and what your Do-Not-Call rights cover.
Only the written agreement counts: the integration clause#
Preserve Gold's contract says only its written terms count. So the fee waiver, the 1% bonus and the "zero-fee buyback commitment" bind the company only if they are in your paperwork. An integration clause is the clause that says the written contract is the whole deal. None of those three website offers appears in the June 2025 agreement.
Some review pages also list a "price-matching guarantee" as a Preserve perk. SafeOunce found no price match on the Preserve pages or in the agreement it read (September 29, 2026). If a salesperson offers one, ask for the matched price on the invoice.
The same agreement says sales representatives are "compensated on commission based at least partially on the volume and profit margin" and "are not licensed" (paragraph 4E). It also says "no fiduciary relationship exists" (paragraph 6). A fiduciary is someone legally bound to act in your best interest. Preserve may also amend the agreement "by written notice" (paragraph 14).
One federal rule helps you here. The FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule requires a phone seller to disclose the total cost and quantity before you pay (16 CFR 310.3(a)(1)(i)).
Preserve Gold Spread Caps: Up to 20% in Cash, Up to 34.99% in an IRA#
Preserve Gold's contract says its spread was up to 20% on bullion, up to 34.99% on numismatic and exclusive coins, and generally up to 34.99% on every IRA purchase. The contract defines the spread as the gap between Preserve's purchase price and the retail price quoted to you (paragraph 4A).
Numismatic coins are collector coins priced above their metal value, and exclusive coins are coins sold by only one dealer. The contract also says "The Spread may vary significantly and may be negotiable" (paragraph 4A). The actual spread "may be outside the stated typical ranges" (paragraph 4B).
Few sellers print a range at all; every published one is compared on gold IRA markups and spreads.
The table converts each cap into a markup over Preserve's cost and the metal left from $100,000.
| Contract cap (June 2025) | Markup over Preserve's cost | Metal at Preserve's cost from $100,000 |
|---|---|---|
| 20% (cash bullion) | 25.0% | $80,000 |
| 34.99% (numismatic, exclusive and IRA purchases) | 53.8% | $65,010 |
For comparison, the CFTC and FINRA say spreads at legitimate dealers are often "less than 20 percent" (CFTC, "10 Things", 2024). This is not an allegation against Preserve Gold, and a cap is a maximum, not every price. Buying and selling a 1-ounce Gold Eagle the same day at SD Bullion, a large online dealer, cost 5.39% on September 29, 2026 (one snapshot).
What about Preserve Gold prices? No coin prices are listed on preservegold.com as of September 29, 2026, so ask for a written quote.
Why the same bullion coin can cost more inside an IRA#
Preserve Gold's contract lets it charge a wider spread on bullion bought inside an IRA, up to 34.99%, than on the same bullion bought with cash, up to 20%.
At the caps, $100,000 of bullion leaves $80,000 of metal at Preserve's cost when bought with cash. Inside an IRA, it leaves $65,010. That means $14,990 more of your money can go to margin in the IRA.
How much gold must rise before you break even#
At Preserve Gold's 34.99% IRA cap, gold must rise about 61% before a customer who sells back gets back to even. The extra rise is needed because Preserve's buyback bid sits below its own cost. The bid is the price a dealer pays when you sell.
The table shows the rise needed at four spreads, with years at a steady 4% or 7% a year (an illustration, not a forecast).
| Spread | Rise to reach Preserve's cost | Rise including the buyback gap | Years at 4% a year | Years at 7% a year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | 5.3% | 10.4% | 2.5 | 1.5 |
| 10% | 11.1% | 16.6% | 3.9 | 2.3 |
| 20% (cash bullion cap) | 25.0% | 31.1% | 6.9 | 4.0 |
| 34.99% (IRA cap) | 53.8% | 61.4% | 12.2 | 7.1 |
Test your own spread in the gold IRA break-even calculator.
"No hidden fees": what the website says vs the contract#
Preserve Gold's IRA page says "We don't charge account setup, liquidation, or hidden fees", but its contract says your price "includes PGG's profit margin" of up to 34.99%. That cap applies to IRA purchases. The IRA page wording was read on September 29, 2026; the contract wording is paragraph 4A of the June 2025 agreement.
Unlike most rivals, Preserve at least tells you in writing how large that margin can be.
Preserve Gold Fees in 2026: Custodian, Storage and the Fee Waiver#
Preserve Gold publishes no account fees of its own: your yearly costs are the custodian's and depository's fees. Preserve says it waives them "for up to 5 years depending on your starting investment size" (homepage, September 29, 2026). Those account fees are the small part of the cost; the spread is the large part.
Gold IRA fees have three layers: the dealer's spread, the custodian's yearly fee and the vault's storage fee. Every custodian and seller is compared on gold IRA fees.
What Preserve Gold's no-fee offer is worth#
A full five-year fee waiver is worth about $1,100 to $1,600, depending on the custodian and storage type. The table prices five waived years at two custodians' published schedules (setup plus five years).
| Custodian schedule | Setup + 5 years | Waiver value |
|---|---|---|
| Equity Trust metals-only, segregated | $50 + 5 x $285 | $1,475 |
| Equity Trust metals-only, non-segregated | $50 + 5 x $235 | $1,225 |
| GoldStar Trust, segregated at $100,000 | $50 + 5 x $315 | $1,625 |
| GoldStar Trust, commingled | $50 + 5 x $215 | $1,125 |
These values assume the waiver also covers the $50 setup fee. Preserve's homepage names only "IRA storage and custodian fees", so without setup the four values are $1,425, $1,175, $1,575 and $1,075.
Put in spread terms, the whole waiver equals 1.1 to 1.6 points of spread on $100,000. A 2-point difference in the spread on your order is worth more.
How many years will you actually get? Preserve's homepage says "up to 5 years", but Preserve publishes no tier table. RetirementLiving, Clutejournals and Comparisun print the same shorter tiers, priced below at Equity Trust's segregated schedule.
| Amount (tiers printed by review sites, not by Preserve) | Waiver printed | Worth at Equity Trust, segregated |
|---|---|---|
| $20,000 or more | Setup only | $50 |
| $50,000 to $99,999 | 1 year | $335 |
| $100,000 to $249,999 | 2 years | $620 |
| $250,000 or more | 3 years | $905 |
| Preserve homepage ("up to 5 years") | 5 years | $1,475 |
On $100,000, those tiers imply a waiver worth $620, less than half the $1,475 the "up to 5 years" headline suggests. Ask for your years in writing. What other sellers' no-fee gold IRA offers are worth is compared on our fee-waiver page.
Preserve Gold custodian fees: the Equity Trust and GoldStar Trust schedules#
Preserve Gold names no custodian on its website, so your yearly fees after any waiver depend on the custodian you choose. Equity Trust fees on its precious-metals-only schedule (FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726) are $50 to set up and $125 a year, plus storage of $110 non-segregated or $160 segregated. The metals-only schedule is explained on our page about Equity Trust fees.
Segregated storage keeps your own coins apart and returns the same pieces. Commingled or non-segregated storage returns the same type and amount, and both are allocated to you. Review sites name Equity Trust, GoldStar Trust and Horizon Trust as Preserve's custodians; SafeOunce has not confirmed which ones Preserve uses.
GoldStar Trust fees (GTC Rev. 01/2026) are $50 to set up, $90 a year, and $125 for commingled storage. Segregated storage costs a $225 minimum plus $1.80 per $1,000 above $125,000, so $315 a year in total at $100,000. The value-based segregated fee is explained on our page about GoldStar Trust fees.
Fees the waiver may not cover: gold IRA termination fees and selling costs#
Preserve's waiver covers storage and custodian fees, and no document SafeOunce read says it covers the custodian's charges to sell, move or close the account. The 3 exit costs below apply when you sell, move or close.
- Equity Trust (metals-only schedule): $30 per liquidation, $125 per in-kind distribution or transfer out, $250 full termination.
- GoldStar Trust: no fee to buy or sell, $75 partial transfer or in-kind, $150 full termination, $50 wire.
- Preserve Gold itself: a "zero-fee buyback" on its homepage (marketing, not in the contract).
Sellers rarely mention exit charges; every custodian's are compared on gold IRA termination fees.
Preserve Gold Minimum Investment: Not Published#
Preserve Gold does not publish a minimum investment for a gold IRA, as of September 29, 2026. Its website quotes only industry ranges of "$5,000 to more than $50,000". Review sites print their own figures, and the table shows who says what.
| Source | Minimum shown | Date |
|---|---|---|
| preservegold.com | None published | Sept. 29, 2026 |
| RetirementLiving | $25,000 | October 2025 |
| Clutejournals | $25,000 | June 17, 2026 |
| Comparisun | "$10,000 (reported by most sources)" or $25,000 | April 29, 2026 |
The IRS sets no minimum for a gold IRA. The 2026 IRA contribution limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at age 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67). That is why most gold IRAs start with a transfer or rollover of older savings.
The amount you move still matters without a minimum. Preserve ties its fee waiver to "starting investment size", so a smaller account may get fewer waived years.
Gold IRA minimums by company differ, and 6 of the ten largest sellers publish none. Every published figure is compared on gold IRA minimums by company.
What a $100,000 Preserve Gold IRA Costs: Year 1 and 10 Years#
A $100,000 Preserve Gold IRA bought at its 34.99% IRA cap is worth about $61,963 at Preserve's own buyback bid on day one, before any account fees. At a 5% spread, the same day-one value is $90,547. In year one, account fees are $335 at Equity Trust's segregated schedule. With the waiver they are $0, or $50 if it does not cover setup.
The table shows ten years of account fees at Equity Trust's metals-only schedule with segregated storage, with and without Preserve's waiver.
| Cost | No waiver | 5-year waiver |
|---|---|---|
| Setup | $50 | $0 |
| Custodian and storage ($285 a year) | 10 x $285 = $2,850 | 5 x $285 = $1,425 |
| Exit (one liquidation $30 + termination $250) | $280 | $280 |
| Total account fees, 10 years | $3,180 | $1,705 |
The table adds the spread and buyback gap to the fees under those assumptions.
| Spread | Day-one value at buyback bid | Spread + gap loss | 10-year total, 5-year waiver | 10-year total, no waiver |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | $90,547 | $9,453 | $11,158 | $12,633 |
| 10% | $85,781 | $14,219 | $15,924 | $17,399 |
| 20% (cash bullion cap) | $76,250 | $23,750 | $25,455 | $26,930 |
| 34.99% (IRA cap) | $61,963 | $38,037 | $39,742 | $41,217 |
The spread decides the total cost. Moving from a 5% to a 34.99% spread adds $28,584, while the full waiver saves $1,475.
Run your own amount, spread and years in the gold IRA fee calculator.
The gap also shows up on paper. Equity Trust's disclosure says custodian statement values "do not include any markups, commissions or premiums from the precious metals dealer".
Your first gold IRA statement values metal at market value, not at what you paid. At a 34.99% spread, $100,000 can show as about $65,000 of metal. Why a gold IRA statement shows less than you paid is explained on our statement guide.
That lower value also sets your required minimum distributions (RMDs), the yearly withdrawals a traditional IRA must make from age 73 (born 1951-1958) or 75 (born 1960 or later). Each RMD is the prior December 31 market value divided by an IRS life-expectancy factor: 26.5 at age 73 (Treas. Reg. 1.401(a)(9)-9).
Preserve Gold's Free Gold and Silver Offer, Costed#
Preserve Gold offers new clients 1% of their purchase in free metals, up to $20,000, which is $1,000 on a $100,000 purchase. Its guide page headline reads "Get Up To $20,000 In FREE Gold & Silver" (September 29, 2026).
The $20,000 maximum needs a $2,000,000 purchase. On $100,000, the $1,000 bonus offsets one point of spread, while the contract allows up to 34.99 points on an IRA purchase. So the bonus matters far less than the spread on your order.
The page read does not say whether the bonus applies to bullion or only to certain coins. The bonus is also not in the agreement, which says only written terms count (paragraph 14). Ask whether the bonus applies to bullion, and get it on the invoice.
The FTC's Guide Concerning Use of the Word "Free" covers this trade-off (16 CFR 251.1(b)(1)). It says a seller should not recover the cost of a "free" item by raising the price of the item you must buy. Preserve does not publish the spread on your order, so check it before you accept.
How sellers fund free silver gold IRA promotions is explained on our promotions guide.
Preserve Gold Buyback: What the "Zero-Fee Buyback Commitment" Means#
Preserve Gold's homepage promises a "zero-fee buyback commitment ... at the highest market prices available". Its contract, under the heading "NO GUARANTEED BUYBACK", says it makes no promise to buy back at all. The homepage wording was read on September 29, 2026.
When Preserve does buy back, the contract says "PGG will offer the highest list bid price ... offered by its wholesaler". That bid "will always be lower than its wholesale ask price", which is the wholesaler's selling price.
The contract is honest about this; the homepage wording is marketing. Five dealer contracts SafeOunce read, including Preserve's, say the law prohibits a guaranteed buyback.
Do you pay a fee when selling gold? Preserve advertises no selling fee, but your custodian can charge for the sale and for closing the account (see the exit-fee list above).
What each seller's contract says is on gold IRA buyback programs compared.
Preserve Gold Products: Bullion, Exclusive and Numismatic Coins#
Preserve Gold sells bullion, its own "exclusive" coins and numismatic coins, and its contract allows up to 34.99% spread on the last two even in a cash sale. The 3 product types below carry different contract spreads and different IRA rules.
- Bullion coins and bars: cash spread cap 20%. The American Gold Eagle in an IRA is eligible by name under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A). Why the American Gold Eagle in an IRA is allowed despite its .9167 purity is explained on its product page. Bars qualify at .995 gold or finer under 408(m)(3)(B).
- Preserve "exclusive" and semi-numismatic coins: up to 34.99%. The contract says "The Spread on PGG exclusive coins is the same as for semi-numismatic coins" (paragraph 4B). The CFTC calls "semi-numismatic" "a made-up industry term".
- Numismatic coins: up to 34.99%. Most are collectibles and not IRA-eligible under 26 U.S.C. 408(m). Only named US coins or coins that meet the fineness rule qualify, and custodians may refuse some.
The fineness floors for bullion are .995 for gold, .999 for silver, and .9995 for platinum and palladium. Preserve says a coin's classification "is an expression of its professional opinion only" (paragraph 4D). Graded coins are graded by PCGS, NGC or ANACS (paragraph 8).
For an IRA, ask for 1-ounce bullion coins or bars and the spread for each item.
Proof coins in an IRA are a special case: a proof coin has a specially struck collector finish and usually costs more than bullion. What custodians accept for proof coins in an IRA is on our proof coin page.
Why exclusive and numismatic coin upsells cost more#
Exclusive and numismatic coins carry Preserve's highest contract spread, up to 34.99%, and they are often bought back near metal value, so the loss comes twice. You pay the wide spread going in and get a bid close to metal value going out.
How numismatic coin upsells work in gold IRAs is explained on our bait-and-switch page.
Steering buyers to premium or exclusive coins is a common complaint pattern across the gold IRA industry. SafeOunce found no Preserve complaint of this type (September 29, 2026).
Preserve Gold Custodians and Depositories#
Preserve Gold's IRA page names three depositories but no custodian, as of September 29, 2026. The three are the Texas Precious Metals Depository, the Delaware Depository and International Depository Services. Its contract says you alone choose both, and Preserve takes no responsibility for them. Gold IRA custodians differ in charter and fees, and every one is compared on gold IRA custodians.
The table lists the vaults Preserve's IRA page names (September 29, 2026).
| Depository | Location | SafeOunce page |
|---|---|---|
| Texas Precious Metals Depository | Shiner, Texas; private vault of the dealer Texas Precious Metals | Texas Precious Metals Depository |
| Delaware Depository | Wilmington, Delaware | Delaware Depository |
| International Depository Services | New Castle, Delaware; Dallas, Texas | International Depository Services |
Some review pages add Brink's, which Preserve's IRA page does not name. The Texas Precious Metals Depository is private and is not the state-run Texas Bullion Depository. FDIC and SIPC insurance never cover IRA metal. Vault insurance pays metal value, not the premium you paid.
The 3 questions below help you pin down custody before you sign.
- Which custodian do you suggest, and may I choose another?
- Which depository, and is the account titled to my IRA?
- Segregated or commingled storage, and what does it cost after the waiver?
Vault insurance, audits and locations are compared on gold IRA depositories.
Preserve Gold Pros and Cons#
Preserve Gold's six strengths are about openness in writing and a short record; its six weaknesses are about how much the written terms allow it to charge and keep. The table sets them side by side (September 29, 2026).
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Publishes its full customer agreement with spread caps | IRA spreads generally up to 34.99%, even on bullion |
| 28-day delivery written into the contract | Only 24 hours to cancel |
| Cancellation by email | Own-lawyer arbitration, a one-year deadline and liability capped at what you paid |
| BBB A+ with 2 complaints in 3 years | Website offers (waiver, bonus, buyback) are outside the contract |
| No court or regulator action found | No minimum, fee schedule or waiver tiers published |
| Custodian and storage fee waiver of up to 5 years (as advertised) | Only about four years in business |
Who Preserve Gold Suits, and Who Should Walk Away#
Preserve Gold suits a buyer moving $50,000 or more who buys plain bullion and gets the spread, the waiver years and the buyback bid written into the paperwork. It does not suit anyone who expects the spread on an IRA order to match a cash purchase without asking. The table gives a verdict by reader situation.
| Your situation | Verdict | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Under $50,000 | Look at other options first | Fee waiver likely shorter (tiers unpublished); a low-cost gold ETF in an existing IRA can cost less. See gold IRA vs gold ETF. |
| $50,000 to $250,000, using the waiver | Workable with conditions | Only if the invoice shows a bullion spread near the cash rate; the waiver is worth about $1,100 to $1,600 |
| Want bullion near retail premiums | Compare first | Hold the quoted spread against the 5.39% same-day round trip at an online dealer (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Buying with cash outside an IRA | Better contract terms | The contract's bullion cap is 20%, not 34.99% |
| Want dispute-friendly terms | Look elsewhere | One-year deadline and own-lawyer arbitration; compare sellers that offer an arbitration opt-out |
You should put five questions to Preserve Gold before any money moves. The 5 questions are listed below.
- Ask the spread percent on each item of your IRA order, in writing.
- Ask what Preserve would bid for the same coins tomorrow.
- Ask how many waiver years your amount earns, and get it on the invoice.
- Ask which custodian and depository, and their fee schedules after the waiver.
- Ask for the invoice time, because your 24 hours start there.
These questions are the core of how to choose a gold IRA company. The full list of 12 questions is on how to choose a gold IRA company.
How SafeOunce Rates Preserve Gold#
SafeOunce rates Preserve Gold on 7 criteria worth 100 points, from documents and a written price quote, and any item Preserve does not disclose scores zero. The rating card above is computed from methodology version 1.0, not written by hand. No written quote request to Preserve is documented yet, so the card shows the rating as pending. The table lists each criterion, its points and Preserve's inputs as of September 29, 2026.
| Criterion (methodology v1.0) | Points | Preserve Gold inputs (Sept. 29, 2026) | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| A1 Measured bullion premium | 15 | No written quote yet for a $50,000 IRA order of 1-ounce Gold Eagles and Maple Leafs | Pending (unknown items score 0) |
| A2 Price disclosure | 10 | No live prices online; spread range published in the agreement (bullion up to 20%, IRA generally up to 34.99%); itemized quote before payment not yet tested | Partly known |
| A3 Buyback terms | 5 | Bid method written ("highest list bid price" of its wholesaler); no payment time; no guarantee; "zero-fee" only in marketing | Known |
| B1 Published account fees | 4 | No account fees published; waiver "up to 5 years", tiers not published | Known (not published) |
| B2 10-year account cost at $100,000 | 4 | $1,705 (Equity Trust example, 5-year waiver) to $3,180 (no waiver), including $280 to exit | Partly known |
| B3 Promotions not tied to premium products | 2 | 1% free metals up to $20,000; whether it applies to bullion is not stated | Partly known |
| C1-C4 Contract fairness | 15 | Public agreement: 24-hour cancellation; JAMS nearest office, own lawyers, no joined claims; 1 year + 1 day; liability capped at amount paid; default clause keeps gains; amendable by notice | Known |
| D Regulatory and legal record | 20 | No regulator action or court case found; USPTO cancellation 92085333 filed by Preserve | Known |
| E Complaint record | 10 | 2 BBB complaints in 3 years; Trustpilot 0% one-star, invites reviews | Partly known |
| F Product mix and sales pressure | 10 | Default recommendation for a $50,000 IRA not yet tested; exclusive coin line exists; reps paid on volume and margin | Pending |
| G Custody, delivery, disclosure | 5 | Depositories named; custodian not named; 28-day delivery clause; custodian and vault responsibility disclaimed | Known |
Preserve Gold triggers none of the exclusion gates (closed, sanctioned, watch) as of September 29, 2026. If it does not send a written quote within 10 business days of a documented request, it is listed as "Not rated: would not disclose". Weights and evidence rules for how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies are on how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.
How Does Preserve Gold Compare With Other Gold IRA Companies?#
Preserve Gold publishes more of its contract than most rivals and has one of the lowest complaint rates, but its IRA spread cap is among the highest written down. The table compares six sellers (all as of September 29, 2026).
| Company | IRA minimum | Account fees published | Spread range published | BBB complaints per 100 reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preserve Gold | Not published | No (waiver up to 5 years) | Yes: bullion up to 20%, IRA up to 34.99% | 1.6 |
| Goldco | $25,000 | Yes ($275 a year segregated) | No | 4.2 |
| American Hartford Gold | Not published | No | Yes: bullion 1%-19.99%, up to 39.99% and 59.99% | 13.9 |
| Lear Capital | Not published | No | Yes: 2%-35% | 22.1 |
| Augusta Precious Metals | $50,000 per Augusta's FAQ (Sept. 23, 2026) | Yes, per the same FAQ ($285 year 1, $235 after) | No | 0.7 |
| Noble Gold | $20,000 | Yes, two pages disagree ($80 + $275 or $50 + $285) | No | 1.2 |
The best gold IRA companies are ranked on the same records, with the spread counted. Rankings by real cost are on best gold IRA companies.
Preserve Gold's contract vs Lear Capital and American Hartford Gold#
Preserve Gold's buyback example is word for word the one in Lear Capital's December 2025 terms, and its spread wording closely follows American Hartford Gold's 2023 agreement. The $40 coin, the 20% spread, the $32 cost and the $30.50 bid also appear in Rosland Capital's 2024 agreement. These agreements come from a shared industry template, so judge the numbers, not the wording. SafeOunce has not asked Preserve why the texts match.
Lear Capital's terms carry the same buyback example. The same example appears in the terms covered in our Lear Capital review.
American Hartford Gold's 2023 agreement used 19.99% and 34.99% caps. How those caps changed from 2023 to 2026 is in our American Hartford Gold review.
Preserve Gold's spokespeople and celebrity endorsements#
Preserve Gold's homepage features Dr. Phil McGraw, Kirk Cameron, Chuck Holton, Erick Stakelbeck and Pastor Allen Jackson, as of September 29, 2026. These endorsements are marketing, and a famous name tells you nothing about prices. Celebrity gold IRA endorsements are common across sellers.
The CFTC warns in general that fraudulent dealers "target their ads to political or religious programming just to gain your trust" (CFTC release 8881-24). This is not an allegation against Preserve Gold. Who endorses which seller is tracked on celebrity gold IRA endorsements.
Does Preserve Gold pay review sites?#
Preserve Gold runs an affiliate program that pays the websites that join it, such as publishers and review sites, per lead, per qualified lead or by a share of sales. It sets the amounts on a private call. According to its affiliate page (December 28, 2025 capture), the program runs on a platform called Everflow. A qualified lead is one "contacted by a representative", and the revenue share is paid on "Total Sales". Affiliates also earn 1% on sales by affiliates they recruit, and payouts are made 15 business days after a sale.
How gold IRA review sites are paid is explained on our reviews guide.
SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page. See how SafeOunce is paid on who pays SafeOunce.
What happens after you request Preserve Gold's free guide?#
You give Preserve Gold your contact details and should expect a sales call, because the guide is how the company finds IRA buyers. The same guide page advertises the 1% free-metal bonus (September 29, 2026). Free gold IRA kits work as lead forms across the industry. What happens after you request one is covered on free gold IRA kits.
Can you keep Preserve Gold IRA metal at home?#
No: IRA bullion must be in the physical possession of a trustee, so metal in a Preserve Gold IRA stays in a depository. The Tax Court applied this rule in McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021). A home safe is only for metal you own outside an IRA, and a home storage gold IRA fails this test. The court case is covered on home storage gold IRA.
Does Preserve Gold sell gold outside an IRA?#
Yes: Preserve Gold also sells coins and bars for delivery to your home, and its contract caps the cash spread on bullion at up to 20%. The same 28-day delivery clause applies after your funds clear.
Is Preserve Gold a publicly traded company?#
No stock listing for Preserve Gold was found: it operates as Preserve Gold Group, Inc. and publishes no financial statements. Crunchbase describes it as privately held; SafeOunce has not yet confirmed this with California's Secretary of State.
What is the downside of a gold IRA with Preserve Gold?#
The main downside is cost: Preserve's contract allows IRA spreads up to 34.99%, custodian fees return after any waiver, and gold pays no interest or dividends. At that cap, gold must rise about 61% before you break even. Every gold IRA has pros and cons beyond Preserve's. The general case is on gold IRA pros and cons.