GoldenCrest Metals is an operating gold IRA seller, legally GoldenCrest Metals LLC of Calabasas, California. The BBB dates its start to November 18, 2023, and lists one complaint; SafeOunce found no lawsuit (November 6, 2026). It publishes account fee figures, but not its coin prices or its markup. The markup is the part of the price that is not metal. So the real question is what you pay and what its documents promise.
A gold IRA is an IRA that holds physical gold through a custodian, a trust company that keeps the account. GoldenCrest is one of the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks with the same records and contract questions. This review finds a seller under three years old, a $25,000 IRA minimum and fee figures that clash with its custodian's schedule. In our worked example, its free silver beats plain bullion bought at a 5% spread elsewhere only if its own spread is below about 13%. Searches spell it "GoldenCrest" and "Golden Crest"; both mean GoldenCrest Metals LLC.
The 13 facts below come from GoldenCrest's website, the BBB, Trustpilot, Entrust and a federal court index, each dated.
| Quick fact | GoldenCrest Metals |
|---|---|
| Legal name | GoldenCrest Metals LLC (BBB); "GoldenCrest Metals, LLC" in its terms |
| Address | 24151 Ventura Blvd, Suite 220, Calabasas, CA 91302 (BBB and company site, November 6, 2026) |
| Business started (BBB) | November 18, 2023; BBB-accredited since January 12, 2024 |
| Owner and CEO (BBB) | Rich Jacoby, listed as "CEO/Owner" (November 6, 2026) |
| IRA minimum | $25,000; cash purchases $10,000 (company IRA FAQ, updated October 2026) |
| Account fees (company figures) | $125 custody + $125 storage a year; homepage says storage is free 5 or 10 years by purchase size (November 6, 2026) |
| Custodian and depository named | The Entrust Group and Delaware Depository (company site, November 6, 2026) |
| Coin prices and markup published | No (November 6, 2026) |
| Terms | AAA arbitration in your county, 30-day opt-out; last updated October 8, 2026 |
| BBB | A; 1 complaint in 3 years, 0 in 12 months; 8 reviews (November 6, 2026) |
| Trustpilot | 4.3 from 17 reviews; 1 one-star review (November 6, 2026) |
| Lawsuits and regulator actions found | 0 (searches on November 6, 2026) |
| Free silver | "up to 10%", capped at $25,000 (homepage, November 6, 2026) |
| Official site | goldencrestmetals.com. Ratings are never for sale. |
Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.
Is GoldenCrest Metals Legit? Our Verdict#
Yes, GoldenCrest Metals is a real dealer with a clean but short record and published fee figures. The one large cost it keeps off its website is the markup on its coins. The BBB gives it an A, with one complaint in three years. SafeOunce found no lawsuit and no regulator action on November 6, 2026. What does a record of under three years prove? That nothing serious has surfaced yet, not that nothing will.
So is GoldenCrest Metals legit? On the public record, yes. The 3 things to get in writing before you send money are listed below.
- The price of each coin and its percent over spot. The spot price is today's market price for one ounce of raw metal.
- The buyback terms, because GoldenCrest's own terms say it is "not obligated to buy back".
- The custodian's fee schedule and its date. GoldenCrest's $125 custody figure is below the $219 minimum on Entrust's published schedule (Rev. 01/09/2026).
Two groups should wait: anyone with less than $25,000 for an IRA, and anyone who wants many years of complaint history.
What Is GoldenCrest Metals? Legal Name, Age and Owner#
GoldenCrest Metals is a California precious metals dealer that sells gold and silver for delivery and arranges self-directed gold IRAs. The IRAs are held by The Entrust Group, with metal at Delaware Depository. Its terms (October 8, 2026) say it is "not your fiduciary" and its specialists "are salespeople, not licensed financial advisors". Its site claims "20+ years of combined experience in precious metals" and phone hours of Monday to Friday, 6am to 4pm Pacific time (November 6, 2026).
GoldenCrest Metals LLC: the name, address and start date to check#
The BBB lists the company as GoldenCrest Metals LLC at 24151 Ventura Blvd, Suite 220, Calabasas, with a business start of November 18, 2023, as of November 6, 2026. The BBB opened its file on December 22, 2023, and shows "Years in Business: 2", counting whole years only. Complaints, court indexes and your order documents use the legal name, not the brand.
One review site lists a different Calabasas address; the BBB and GoldenCrest's own site both give Ventura Blvd. SafeOunce has not read the California Secretary of State record. Our guide shows how to check a gold IRA company by its legal name.
Who owns GoldenCrest Metals?#
The BBB lists Rich Jacoby as GoldenCrest Metals' "CEO/Owner", and the company's website calls him its Founder and CEO, as of November 6, 2026. SafeOunce has not seen a state filing that shows ownership shares.
How a GoldenCrest gold IRA works, step by step#
A GoldenCrest gold IRA works in 5 steps, from opening an account at The Entrust Group to metal arriving at Delaware Depository in your IRA's name. A self-directed IRA can hold assets other than funds, such as metal. The depository is the vault. The 5 steps are listed below.
- Open a self-directed IRA with The Entrust Group; GoldenCrest handles the paperwork.
- Move money by transfer or rollover; GoldenCrest says this takes "About 10 business days on average".
- Ask for the price of each coin and its percent over spot, in writing.
- Approve the order. Entrust pays GoldenCrest from your IRA once it has the funds.
- Check that the metal appears on your Entrust statement.
The tax code requires IRA bullion to be in the "physical possession" of a trustee (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B)). A gold IRA transfer between custodians has no 60-day clock and no once-a-year limit.
Is GoldenCrest a custodian?#
No: GoldenCrest's own terms say it is not an IRA custodian or trustee; The Entrust Group administers the IRA and Delaware Depository stores the metal. The custodian is The Entrust Trust Company of Tennessee, "a passive, non-discretionary custodian". The SEC warns that such custodians "generally do not evaluate the quality or legitimacy of any investment".
GoldenCrest Metals Complaints, Reviews and Legal Record#
GoldenCrest Metals' record shows 1 BBB complaint in three years, 1 one-star Trustpilot review, no lawsuit and no regulator action found, as of November 6, 2026. The record is clean but covers less than three years. The table sums it up in six rows.
| Record item | GoldenCrest Metals | Date and source |
|---|---|---|
| BBB grade and accreditation | A; accredited since January 12, 2024 | BBB, November 6, 2026 |
| BBB complaints and reviews | 1 complaint in 3 years, 0 in 12 months; 8 reviews | BBB, November 6, 2026 |
| Trustpilot | 4.3 from 17 reviews; 94% five-star, 6% one-star | Trustpilot, November 6, 2026 |
| Lawsuits naming GoldenCrest | 0 found | CourtListener search, November 6, 2026 |
| CFTC, SEC and state regulator actions | None found | Regulator searches, November 6, 2026 |
| Settled pricing or disclosure case | None found | Same searches, November 6, 2026 |
BBB and Trustpilot numbers for a company under three years old#
GoldenCrest Metals has an A grade from the BBB, 1 complaint in three years and 8 BBB reviews, as of November 6, 2026. BBB accreditation is a paid membership. In the BBB's method, 90 of 100 positive points relate to complaints, time in business is worth up to 10, and reviews are not used. GoldenCrest has an A, not an A+, and its profile shows 2 years in business.
On Trustpilot, GoldenCrest has 4.3 from 17 reviews, 9 in the last 12 months (November 6, 2026). The profile says "No recent history of asking for reviews". Trustpilot adds seven 3.5-star reviews to every score as a starting weight.
One complaint on 8 reviews is 12.5 complaints per 100 reviews. That looks close to American Hartford Gold's 13.8, but on one complaint the rate tells you almost nothing. The table sets GoldenCrest beside 11 other sellers.
| Company | Complaints per 100 BBB reviews | Complaints / reviews |
|---|---|---|
| U.S. Money Reserve | 24.2 | 29 / 120 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
| Lear Capital | 22.1 | 33 / 149 (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| American Hartford Gold | 13.8 | 111 / 804 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
| GoldenCrest Metals | 12.5 (base too small to compare) | 1 / 8 (Nov. 6, 2026) |
| Priority Gold | 5.9 | 38 / 648 (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Goldco | 4.2 | 72 / 1,710 (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Birch Gold Group | 3.9 | 9 / 230 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
| Preserve Gold | 1.6 | 2 / 123 (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Noble Gold | 1.2 | 3 / 243 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
| Augusta Precious Metals | 0.7 | 1 / 136 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
| Freedom Gold USA | 0 | 0 / 5 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
| Advantage Gold | 0 | 0 / 9 (Sept. 29, 2026) |
How far to trust BBB and Trustpilot ratings is covered on our ratings page.
What the one-star GoldenCrest review says, and the company's reply#
GoldenCrest's only one-star Trustpilot review, posted February 7, 2026, says a representative called unprompted and pressed for a purchase. The reviewer says the call ended when they asked for written premiums and buyback spreads; SafeOunce has not verified these statements. Rich Jacoby's reply, last updated February 8, 2026, called the behavior "completely unacceptable" and announced mandatory retraining on requests for written quotes and buyback spreads.
The BBB shows no text for the one complaint. Ask for the same written quote the reviewer asked for, and judge the answer. Our calls guide explains how to stop gold IRA cold calls and texts.
GoldenCrest lawsuits and regulator actions: none found#
SafeOunce found no lawsuit naming GoldenCrest Metals on CourtListener and no CFTC, SEC or state regulator action, in searches on November 6, 2026. The court search covered both spellings. Cases can take years to become public, so check again before you buy. Every case SafeOunce tracks is in our list of precious metals IRA enforcement actions.
Paid endorsers, sponsored shows and "best" rankings#
GoldenCrest names four paid endorsers on its own website: Ben Shapiro, Dr. Laura Schlessinger, AJ Gentile of The Why Files and Kevin Harrington, as of November 6, 2026. It also sponsors the show "Striking Gold with Kenny Michaels" and produces "The Crest Report", hosted by its CEO. Its Disclaimer, updated October 8, 2026, says: "Treat all of this content as advertising for GoldenCrest." Who is paid to recommend which seller is tracked on celebrity gold IRA endorsements.
The FTC's Endorsement Guides, 16 CFR 255.5(a), say a material connection "must be disclosed clearly and conspicuously". The CFTC warns that fraudulent dealers "target their ads to political or religious programming just to gain your trust" (release 8881-24, 2024). This is a general regulator warning, not an allegation against GoldenCrest.
IncomeInsider.org named GoldenCrest "Best Overall Gold IRA Company" on July 22, 2025. The same publisher's release of May 20, 2025, had ranked GoldenCrest's affiliate program first. Neither release discloses a relationship.
Ranking pages repeat 7 claims about GoldenCrest that its own pages, the BBB or the tax code contradict. The table lists each one.
| Claim on a ranking page | Where (date) | What the record shows (November 6, 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| BBB grade "A-" | goldinvestment.us.com (May 27, 2026), investingingold.com (August 2026), gold401k.com (undated) | A (BBB profile) |
| Custody "around $199" | goldinvestment.us.com (May 27, 2026) | Entrust publishes $219 (one asset type) or $329 under $50,000 (Rev. 01/09/2026) |
| "No investment minimums" | gold401k.com (undated) | $25,000 for an IRA, $10,000 cash (GoldenCrest IRA FAQ, October 2026) |
| IRA metal "99.9% gold; 99.99% silver" | gold401k.com (undated) | Gold .995 and silver .999 fine (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B)) |
| 10 years of free storage at "$250K+" | goldinvestment.us.com (May 27, 2026) | 10 years above $100,000 (GoldenCrest homepage FAQ) |
| Fees, minimums, custodian and depository "not confirmed" | investingingold.com (August 2026) | All four are on GoldenCrest's own pages |
| "Low markups" and "transparent pricing" | IncomeInsider.org release (July 22, 2025) | No coin prices or spread published (GoldenCrest site and terms) |
How gold IRA review sites earn money is explained on our reviews guide.
GoldenCrest's Terms and Conditions: What Changed on October 8, 2026#
GoldenCrest rewrote its website terms on October 8, 2026. Disputes now go to arbitration in your own county, you can opt out within 30 days, and the one-year claim deadline is gone. Arbitration means a private judge decides a dispute instead of a court. The table compares GoldenCrest's website terms as read on September 29, 2026 with the version last updated October 8, 2026.
| Term | Before (read Sept. 29, 2026) | Now (updated Oct. 8, 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Informal step before a claim | At least 90 days of negotiation | Written notice, then 60 days |
| Arbitration | AAA, in California | AAA Consumer Arbitration Rules, single arbitrator, in your county or by video or phone |
| Who pays AAA fees | Not stated in our notes | GoldenCrest, "to the extent required by the AAA Consumer Arbitration Rules or applicable law" |
| Class actions | Waived | Waived |
| Opt-out | None | 30 days, by email or letter |
| Small claims court | Not recorded | Allowed |
| Claim deadline | 1 year | None stated |
| Liability cap | Amount paid "during the one (1) month period prior" | "the amount you paid for that purchase"; $100 for other claims |
| Court venue | Not recorded | Los Angeles County, unless your state requires otherwise |
These are website terms. If they conflict with a purchase's "Order Documents", "your Order Documents control", and no sample is public. The changes favor buyers; read the version dated the day you sign.
Other sellers' arbitration and claim terms are compared on gold IRA company contracts.
Arbitration in your county, with a 30-day opt-out#
GoldenCrest's terms send most disputes to binding individual arbitration under the AAA's Consumer Arbitration Rules, held in the county where you live or by video or phone. The AAA (American Arbitration Association) caps the consumer filing fee at $225, and GoldenCrest pays the rest "to the extent required". The terms add: "You may opt out of this arbitration agreement by sending written notice ... within 30 days after you first agree to these Terms."
Decide about the opt-out before you fund, and keep a copy of the email. What arbitration and refunds can and cannot do is explained on how to get your money back from a gold IRA company.
The liability limit, and the claim deadline that was removed#
GoldenCrest's terms cap its liability for a purchase at the amount you paid for that purchase, and no longer set a one-year deadline for claims. The terms say: "OUR TOTAL LIABILITY FOR ANY CLAIM RELATING TO A PURCHASE WILL NOT EXCEED THE AMOUNT YOU PAID FOR THAT PURCHASE". The cap does not limit liability "for fraud or willful misconduct".
Order documents, cancellation and delivery: what you see only after you call#
GoldenCrest's cancellation window, delivery deadline and fees appear only in the order documents for each purchase, and no sample is published, as of November 6, 2026. Order documents are the confirmation, invoice and agreement for one purchase. The terms say "Delivery times are estimates", and after a cancellation "you may be responsible for any market loss and fees".
Phone sellers must tell you the total cost and quantity before you pay (16 CFR 310.3(a)(1)(i)). The 3 documents to request before you fund are listed below.
- The order confirmation with the price per coin and its premium
- The cancellation terms and any cancellation fee
- The delivery date to Delaware Depository
Check your Entrust statement 28 days after payment, the CFTC's line for actual delivery (release 8215-20, August 4, 2020). The steps to check delivery of IRA metal are on our delivery checklist.
GoldenCrest Metals Fees in 2026: $125 Custody and $125 Storage, as the Company States Them#
GoldenCrest says its gold IRA costs $125 a year for custody at Entrust Group and $125 a year for storage at Delaware Depository, as of November 6, 2026. Its homepage says storage is free for 5 or 10 years on larger accounts. The markup on the coins, covered below, is the larger cost. The homepage FAQ adds: "Those are the standard annual figures and they are published on this page rather than disclosed later."
| Fee | GoldenCrest figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Custody (Entrust) | $125 a year | Homepage FAQ |
| Storage (Delaware Depository) | $125 a year | Homepage FAQ |
| Free storage | 5 years at $50,000 to $100,000; 10 years above $100,000 | Homepage FAQ |
| Setup | Not stated by GoldenCrest | Homepage FAQ |
| Total after the free period | $250 a year | Homepage FAQ |
GoldenCrest is one of seven sellers SafeOunce checked that publish account fees, with Goldco, Noble Gold, Birch Gold, Augusta, Allegiance Gold and American Bullion (September 2026). Every custodian's and seller's account charges are compared on gold IRA fees.
GoldenCrest fees vs The Entrust Group's own fee schedule#
GoldenCrest's $125 custody figure is lower than the $219 minimum yearly fee on The Entrust Group's published schedule. Its $125 storage figure matches neither of Entrust's Delaware storage prices. Entrust's Master Account Fee Schedule (Rev. 01/09/2026) charges $219 a year under $50,000 for one asset type and $329 for two or more. Above $50,000 it adds 0.17% of the value over $50,000. The table sets GoldenCrest's figures against Entrust's published documents.
| Item | GoldenCrest says | Entrust publishes |
|---|---|---|
| Account setup | Not stated | $50 (Rev. 01/09/2026) |
| Yearly fee under $50,000 | $125 | $219 one asset type; $329 two or more |
| Yearly fee at $100,000 | $125 | $304 one asset type; $414 two or more |
| Yearly fee cap | None stated | $2,299 |
| Storage at Delaware Depository | $125 | $100 allocated; $150 segregated (forms Rev. 3/7/2024) |
| Metals trades | Not stated | $0 |
| Account termination | Not stated | $250 |
Entrust's schedule example counts 1998 Gold Eagles, 2019 Gold Eagles and 2019 Platinum Koalas as "three asset types". It counts many units of one product and year as "only one asset type". On that example, gold coins plus bonus silver can count as two asset types, which moves the yearly fee from $219 to $329 under $50,000.
So one coin type from one year keeps you at the one-type fee on that example; mixing years or products, or adding silver, can add a type. SafeOunce has not confirmed which figure applies to a GoldenCrest account.
Entrust's full schedule is explained on our page about Entrust Group fees.
Free storage: 5, 10 or 25 years? Three answers on one website#
GoldenCrest's website gives three different free-storage promises, from 5 years to "up to 25 years", as of November 6, 2026. The three pages and their words are listed below.
- Homepage FAQ: "Free storage runs 5 years on purchases of $50,000 to $100,000 and 10 years above $100,000."
- IRA FAQ: "Qualifying GoldenCrest accounts can receive up to 10 years of free storage."
- About page: "Free storage for up to 25 years on qualifying accounts."
On GoldenCrest's $125 figure, 5 free years are worth $625 and 10 free years $1,250, for storage only, not custody. Exactly $100,000 falls in the 5-year band on the homepage wording. A promotion can end "at any time without notice", except one "confirmed in your Order Documents", so get the free years in writing there.
What each custodian and vault charges after any free period is on gold IRA storage fees.
Fees GoldenCrest does not list: setup, selling and closing#
GoldenCrest's fee answer leaves out the custodian's setup, wire and closing charges, which Entrust publishes. GoldenCrest's terms say custodians and depositories "charge their own setup, annual, storage and transaction fees". The 4 charges below are on Entrust's published schedule (Rev. 01/09/2026).
- $50 account setup
- $0 per metals trade
- $30 per wire
- $250 account termination processing fee
Entrust's $0 trade fee beats STRATA's $75 per trade and Equity Trust's $30 per liquidation (September 2026). Every custodian's exit charges are compared on gold IRA termination fees.
GoldenCrest Metals Minimum Investment: $25,000 for an IRA, $10,000 for Cash#
GoldenCrest's minimum for a gold IRA is $25,000, and its minimum for a cash purchase is $10,000, as of November 6, 2026. Its IRA FAQ, marked "Updated October 2026", says: "GoldenCrest IRAs start at $25,000. Direct cash purchases of gold and silver start at $10,000." On September 29, 2026, its homepage listed a "$10,000 minimum" with no split, which is why review sites disagree.
| Source | Minimum shown | Date |
|---|---|---|
| GoldenCrest IRA FAQ | $25,000 IRA; $10,000 cash | November 6, 2026 |
| GoldenCrest About page and homepage | $25,000 IRA | November 6, 2026 |
| GoldenCrest homepage | $10,000 | September 29, 2026 |
| silveriras.com | $25,000 IRA; $10,000 cash | November 1, 2026 |
| goldinvestment.us.com | $10,000 | May 27, 2026 |
| gold401k.com | "No investment minimums" | Undated |
The IRS sets no gold IRA minimum. The 2026 IRA contribution limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at age 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67). That is why most accounts start with a rollover. GoldenCrest says "Most of the accounts we open are IRA and 401(k) rollovers in the $100,000 range." Every published figure is compared on gold IRA minimums by company.
What $250 a year means at the $25,000 minimum#
At GoldenCrest's $25,000 IRA minimum, its stated $250 a year in account fees equals 1.0% of your balance every year, before any markup. Free storage does not start until $50,000. The table shows yearly account fees as a share of the balance on both bases (Entrust's schedule plus GoldenCrest's $125 storage).
| Balance | GoldenCrest figures | Entrust, one asset type | Entrust, two or more |
|---|---|---|---|
| $25,000 | $250 = 1.0% | $344 = 1.38% | $454 = 1.82% |
| $50,000 (storage free) | $125 = 0.25% | $219 = 0.44% | $329 = 0.66% |
| $100,000 (storage free) | $125 = 0.13% | $304 = 0.30% | $414 = 0.41% |
GoldenCrest's own blog, published September 23, 2026, uses "$300/year in combined fees" on a $25,000 account: "a 1.2% annual drag". Cheaper routes for smaller balances are on best gold IRA companies for small investors.
GoldenCrest Prices: A "Lowest Price Guarantee" Without Published Prices#
GoldenCrest publishes no coin prices and no spread, so the largest cost of a GoldenCrest IRA appears only on your order confirmation, as of November 6, 2026. The spread is the share of your price that is not metal. The premium is the price above the metal's spot value. The bid is what a dealer pays you back.
GoldenCrest's homepage says pricing is "Quoted before you commit, with a lowest price guarantee". Its terms say prices shown "are indications only and are not an offer to sell at that price." They add: "Every coin and bar is sold at a premium (markup) above the spot price of the metal." GoldenCrest does not publish what its guarantee compares against or how to claim it.
Of 15 operating sellers SafeOunce checked, 4 publish live prices and 4 a spread range; 0 of 17 publish the exact spread before an order (October 2, 2026). The CFTC says legitimate spreads are often "less than 20 percent", and fraudulent ones "more than 300 percent". GoldenCrest's terms give the right advice: "Ask for the price and premium of each product before you buy."
Every published spread range is on gold IRA markups and spreads.
How much gold must rise before you break even#
At a 20% spread, gold must rise about 31% before a customer who sells back gets back to even. The extra rise comes from the dealer's buyback bid, which sits below its own cost. The table shows four spreads.
| Spread | Rise needed to reach dealer cost | Rise needed including the buyback gap |
|---|---|---|
| 5% | 5.3% | 10.4% |
| 10% | 11.1% | 16.6% |
| 20% | 25.0% | 31.1% |
| 30% | 42.9% | 49.9% |
Test your own spread in the gold IRA break-even calculator.
What a $100,000 GoldenCrest Gold IRA Costs: Year 1 and 10 Years#
A $100,000 GoldenCrest gold IRA costs $125 in account fees in year one and $1,875 over ten years on GoldenCrest's own figures, or $3,665 on Entrust's published schedule. If you sell back, a spread of 5% to 30% adds $9,453 to $33,281 more. The first table shows ten years of account fees on the two bases.
| Cost | GoldenCrest figures, 10 years | Entrust published schedule, 10 years |
|---|---|---|
| Custody or recordkeeping | $1,250 ($125 x 10) | $3,040 ($304 x 10, one asset type; $4,140 with two or more) |
| Storage | $625 (5 years at $125 after 5 free years) | $625 (GoldenCrest's storage figure) |
| Dealer spread | Not published | Not published |
| Total account fees | $1,875 | $3,665 ($4,765 with two or more asset types) |
The second table adds the spread and buyback gap to the account fees, with the metal price held flat.
| Spread | Day-one sale value of $100,000 | Spread and buyback-gap loss | 10-year total on GoldenCrest figures | 10-year total on Entrust's schedule |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | $90,547 | $9,453 | $11,328 | $13,118 |
| 10% | $85,781 | $14,219 | $16,094 | $17,884 |
| 20% | $76,250 | $23,750 | $25,625 | $27,415 |
| 30% | $66,719 | $33,281 | $35,156 | $36,946 |
Your first Entrust statement values metal at melt, without the dealer premium, so at a 20% spread $100,000 shows as about $80,000. Our guide explains why a gold IRA statement shows less than you paid.
Run your own amount in the gold IRA fee calculator.
GoldenCrest's Free Silver Offer, Costed#
GoldenCrest does give bonus silver of "up to 10%" on qualifying purchases, capped at $25,000. The silver is worth having only if the price of the main purchase is fair. Its Disclaimer adds: "'Up to' amounts are maximums that most purchases will not reach." GoldenCrest does not publish which purchase sizes earn which percentage, or which coins qualify (November 6, 2026).
The terms say promotions are "subject to minimum purchase amounts, eligibility rules, product restrictions". If you cancel, promotional metal "must be returned or their value repaid". The table compares $100,000 at GoldenCrest with the full 10% bonus against plain bullion bought elsewhere at a 5% spread, valued at the buyback bid on day one.
| Route | Spread assumed on the main purchase | Day-one value |
|---|---|---|
| GoldenCrest + $10,000 bonus silver (bonus at a 20% spread) | 10% | $85,781 + $7,625 = $93,406 |
| GoldenCrest + $10,000 bonus silver | 13% | $90,547 |
| GoldenCrest + $10,000 bonus silver | 20% | $76,250 + $7,625 = $83,875 |
| Plain bullion elsewhere | 5% | $90,547 |
The full 10% bonus leaves you ahead of plain 5% bullion only if GoldenCrest's spread on your main purchase is about 13% or less. Above $250,000 the $25,000 cap shrinks the bonus. On $500,000 it is 5%, and the break-even spread falls to about 9%.
The custodian's fee can shrink the bonus further. On Entrust's own example, bonus silver can count as a second asset type, adding $110 a year ($304 to $414 at $100,000), or $1,100 over 10 years. The bonus is then worth about $6,525 net, not $7,625, and the break-even spread falls to about 12%.
The FTC's Guide Concerning Use of the Word "Free" says a seller should not recover the cost of a free item by raising the price of what you must buy (16 CFR 251.1(b)(1)). GoldenCrest publishes no prices, so a buyer cannot check this before the quote. It says it sells no private-label coins, the usual way a bonus is paid for, so the check left is the price per coin. How other sellers fund free silver gold IRA promotions is explained on our promotions guide.
GoldenCrest Buyback: "Zero Buyback Fees" vs "Not Obligated to Buy Back"#
GoldenCrest's homepage says "Sell back to us at any time with no liquidation fee". Its terms say it is "not obligated to buy back any product unless we agree in writing". Both are true at once: there is no fee, and there is no promise to buy. Its IRA FAQ says it "buys back metals with zero buyback fees".
If GoldenCrest buys, the price is "our then-current bid price", which "will generally be lower than the price you paid". Its Disclaimer says "easy to sell" wording is "not a promise that GoldenCrest or anyone else will buy your metals back at any particular price." Five dealers' contracts say the law stops them from promising a repurchase: American Hartford Gold, Lear Capital, Preserve Gold, Goldline and American Bullion.
On a 1-ounce bullion coin, a fair same-day round trip costs about 5% to 7%; at SD Bullion it was 5.39% on September 29, 2026 (single snapshot). At a 20% spread with the template bid, the loss is about 24%, or $23,750 on $100,000. What each seller's contract says is on gold IRA buyback programs compared.
GoldenCrest Products: Bullion, "Premium Coins" and IRS-Approved Wording#
GoldenCrest sells gold, silver, platinum and palladium bullion and what it calls "premium coins", and says it sells no private-label or "exclusive" products. Its homepage FAQ says such products "carry high margins" because "almost nobody else is bidding on them when you go to sell." One review site says GoldenCrest sells no platinum or palladium; its terms say it sells both. The About page says "never hard-to-sell collector coins", while the homepage lists "bullion and premium products". The three product types and the rule for each are listed below.
- Bullion coins and bars: the American Gold Eagle is eligible by name under 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(A); other gold must be .995 fine and silver .999 under 408(m)(3)(B). Fineness means metal purity.
- "Premium coins": GoldenCrest's word. Its terms say premiums run higher "for proof, numismatic, semi-numismatic and collectible products". A proof coin is a collector finish sold at a higher price.
- Platinum and palladium: allowed in an IRA at .9995 fineness.
Why the American Gold Eagle in an IRA is allowed despite .9167 purity is explained on its product page.
Some of GoldenCrest's own wording is wrong or out of date. Its IRA FAQ says a gold IRA holds "IRS-approved gold" stored "At an IRS-approved, insured depository". The IRS says "there is no list of approved investments", and it approves no coin or depository. Its blog of September 23, 2026 says a Gold Eagle costs "roughly $2,100 to $2,200". The LBMA PM gold price was $4,144.55 an ounce on September 28, 2026, and a 1-ounce Gold Eagle holds one ounce of gold.
Other answers are right, such as the homepage warning that IRA metal cannot be stored at home. For an IRA, ask for 1-ounce bullion coins or bars and the percent over spot for each. Which metals the tax code allows is set out in IRA-approved precious metals.
GoldenCrest Custodian and Depository: Entrust Group and Delaware Depository#
GoldenCrest names The Entrust Group as the IRA custodian and Delaware Depository as the vault, as of November 6, 2026. It says metals are "fully insured and segregated in your name", and its terms say neither firm is "owned or controlled by GoldenCrest". The Entrust Group, of Oakland, California, dates to 1981; it has a BBB A+ with 1 complaint but 1.8 on Trustpilot from 17 reviews (September 29, 2026). Vault insurance, audits and fees are covered on our Delaware Depository page.
"Fully insured" has limits. Delaware Depository states $1 billion of all-risk cover plus $100 million of contingent cover (Delaware Depository FAQ, September 2026). It pays spot or melt value, not the premium you paid, and excludes war, terrorism, cyber-attack and confiscation. The FDIC and SIPC never cover IRA metal, as GoldenCrest's own terms say. The 3 custody questions to ask are listed below.
- Which Entrust fee schedule applies to my account, and what is its revision date?
- Is my metal segregated or allocated, and at what yearly price?
- Will my bonus silver be stored the same way as my gold?
Every custodian's charter and fees are compared on gold IRA custodians.
Can GoldenCrest's free silver be stored segregated?#
Not at Entrust's Delaware Depository option: Entrust offers segregated storage there for gold, platinum and palladium only, so silver is held allocated. Segregated means your own coins are kept apart. Allocated means a set amount and type is held for you in shared storage. GoldenCrest says metals are "segregated in your name", and its free silver is silver.
Ask GoldenCrest in writing how your silver will be stored. The difference is explained on segregated vs commingled gold IRA storage.
GoldenCrest Metals Pros and Cons#
GoldenCrest's six strengths are about openness on fees, custody and endorsements; its six weaknesses are about prices, conflicting figures and a record under three years long. The table lists the GoldenCrest Metals pros and cons (November 6, 2026).
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Publishes account fee figures and names its custodian and depository | No coin prices or spread published |
| Terms of October 8, 2026: arbitration in your county, 30-day opt-out, no claim deadline | $125 custody figure conflicts with Entrust's $219 minimum |
| Says it sells no private-label or "exclusive" coins | Three different free-storage promises |
| Names its paid endorsers | "Not obligated to buy back" despite "sell back to us at any time" |
| No lawsuit or regulator action found | $25,000 IRA minimum, with no free storage below $50,000 |
| Correct home-storage warning | BBB business start only November 18, 2023 |
Who GoldenCrest Metals Suits, and Who Should Wait#
GoldenCrest suits a buyer moving $50,000 or more into plain bullion who gets the price per coin, the buyback terms and Entrust's fee schedule in writing first. It does not suit anyone below $25,000 for an IRA or anyone who needs a long track record. The table gives a verdict for six situations.
| Your situation | Verdict | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Under $25,000 | Below the IRA minimum | A low-cost gold ETF in your existing IRA costs less. For balances under $25,000, see gold IRA vs gold ETF. |
| $25,000 to $49,999 | Workable, but no free storage | Fees run 1.0% to 1.82% a year at $25,000, falling to about 0.5% to 0.9% near $50,000 (company figures to Entrust schedule) |
| $50,000 to $100,000 | Workable with written prices | Storage free 5 years on the homepage wording; take the bonus only with the per-coin price; break-even spread about 13% |
| Over $100,000 | Workable with written prices | 10 years of free storage on the homepage wording; the bonus caps at $25,000, so above $250,000 it shrinks below 10% |
| You want a long record | Look further | Under 3 years since the BBB business start; older sellers have more history to read |
| You want the contract first | Ask before funding | Get the order documents; decide on the 30-day arbitration opt-out |
Put the 6 questions below to GoldenCrest by email, and keep the replies.
- Ask the price per coin and the percent over spot for each item.
- Ask what GoldenCrest would pay for the same coins tomorrow, in writing.
- Ask which Entrust fee schedule applies, with its revision date.
- Ask which free-storage promise applies, and for how many years.
- Ask how your silver will be stored.
- Ask for the order documents, including cancellation terms, before you fund.
The full list of 12 questions is on how to choose a gold IRA company.
How SafeOunce Rates GoldenCrest Metals#
GoldenCrest Metals shows "Rating pending": SafeOunce has not yet opened an evidence file for it under method v1.1, so no points are counted yet. SafeOunce rates every company on 7 criteria worth 100 points, from public records and a written quote requested the way a buyer would. The table lists what public records show for each criterion (November 6, 2026).
| Criterion (method v1.1) | Points | GoldenCrest inputs known from public records (Nov. 6, 2026) | Data source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 Measured bullion premium | 15 | No written quote yet | Buyer-style written quote test | Not yet checked |
| A2 Price disclosure | 10 | No live prices online; no spread cap in public terms; "lowest price guarantee" without terms | Website, terms, quote | Not yet checked |
| A3 Buyback terms | 5 | "Zero buyback fees"; bid = "our then-current bid price"; no obligation to buy back; time to pay not stated | Terms, homepage | Not yet checked |
| B Account fees | 10 | Company figures $125 + $125; free storage 5 or 10 (or "up to 25") years; conflicts with Entrust schedule | Homepage, Entrust schedule | Not yet checked |
| C Contract fairness | 15 | Terms of Oct. 8, 2026: AAA consumer rules, your county, 30-day opt-out, no claim deadline, cap = amount paid; order documents not public | Terms; order documents | Not yet checked |
| D Legal record | 20 | No lawsuit (CourtListener) and no regulator action found | CourtListener; CFTC, SEC, state searches | Not yet checked |
| E Complaints | 10 | 1 BBB complaint (text not shown); 1 one-star Trustpilot review with company reply | BBB, Trustpilot | Not yet checked |
| F Product mix and sales pressure | 10 | Says no private-label or "exclusive" coins; "premium products" offered; approval wording for coins and vaults on its FAQ | Website, quote | Not yet checked |
| G Custody and delivery | 5 | Custodian and vault named; delivery "estimates", deadline in order documents; segregated storage claimed | Website, terms | Not yet checked |
A gate is a pass-or-fail check made before any points are counted. GoldenCrest triggers none of the 5 gates as of November 6, 2026: it is operating and not sanctioned, with no settled pricing or disclosure case and no non-delivery complaint at the BBB or a regulator. BBB grade, Trustpilot score and paid endorsers are shown but not scored. No company can pay to change its rating or its place. Weights and evidence rules are on how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.
How Does GoldenCrest Compare With Other Gold IRA Companies?#
GoldenCrest publishes more about its account fees and custody than most rivals, the same as most about its prices (nothing), and has the shortest record of the group. The table compares five other sellers, each dated from its SafeOunce review.
| Company | BBB business start | IRA minimum | Account fees published | Spread range published | BBB complaints (3 years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GoldenCrest Metals | Nov. 18, 2023 | $25,000 | Yes, $250 after free period (conflicts with Entrust) | No | 1 (Nov. 6, 2026) |
| Freedom Gold USA | Nov. 22, 2022 | Not published | No | No | 0 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
| Goldco | Oct. 26, 2011 (company says 2006) | $25,000 | Yes, $275 a year segregated | No | 72 (Sept. 29, 2026) |
| Augusta Precious Metals | Jan. 1, 2012 | $50,000 per its FAQ | Yes, $285 then $235 a year | No | 1 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
| Birch Gold Group | Jan. 26, 2011 | $5,000 | About $235 a year | No | 9 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
| Noble Gold | May 14, 2016 | $20,000 | Yes, two pages disagree | No | 3 (Oct. 2, 2026) |
Which company is the best for a gold IRA? SafeOunce ranks sellers by total cost, contract terms and legal record, not by marketing. Rankings by real cost are on best gold IRA companies.
GoldenCrest vs Freedom Gold USA and other young companies#
GoldenCrest and Freedom Gold USA both started in the last four years, but only GoldenCrest publishes fee figures, a minimum and full terms. Its BBB start is November 22, 2022, with 0 complaints (October 2, 2026). What a younger seller publishes is on our Freedom Gold USA review.
A young seller's clean record is short, not proven. Oxford Gold Group was BBB-accredited until the BBB revoked that status in 2024. Customers then forced it into Chapter 7 liquidation on August 28, 2024 (Bankr. C.D. Cal. No. 2:24-bk-16947-NB), still open on October 2, 2026. They allege IRA money paid to Oxford bought metal that never reached their vault accounts.
A dealer's failure does not touch metal already in your IRA's vault account. The money at risk is what you pay before delivery, which is why the 28-day statement check matters.
GoldenCrest vs Goldco and Augusta Precious Metals#
GoldenCrest's $25,000 IRA minimum matches Goldco's and is half of Augusta's $50,000, and all three publish account fees but no coin prices. Goldco has 72 BBB complaints on a record that starts in 2011 (September 29, 2026); see our Goldco review. Augusta has 1 BBB complaint (October 2, 2026); its FAQ figures are in our Augusta Precious Metals review. Goldco's one-star reviews and court cases are summarized on Goldco complaints.
Does GoldenCrest pay review sites?#
Yes: GoldenCrest runs an affiliate program on the Everflow platform. The agreement posted there on September 29, 2026 named Everflow, Inc., its software vendor, as the contracting party instead of GoldenCrest. It read: "This is a contract between you (the 'Affiliate') and us ('Everflow')". An affiliate is a site paid when its readers contact a company.
SafeOunce takes no money from any company named on this page. See who pays SafeOunce and what money cannot buy.
Is the free GoldenCrest info guide worth requesting?#
The free GoldenCrest guide (a "2027 edition", 28 pages) is a sales document: requesting it gives GoldenCrest your phone number and email, and GoldenCrest says your information "is never sold". Expect a sales call after you ask for it. What arrives with free gold IRA kits, and who calls next, is on our kits guide.
Does GoldenCrest sell silver, platinum and palladium for IRAs?#
Yes: GoldenCrest's terms say it sells gold, silver, platinum and palladium coins and bars for IRAs, and IRA silver must be .999 fine, platinum and palladium .9995. Those fineness rules come from 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)(B). The rules and costs are on our silver IRA guide.
Can you keep GoldenCrest IRA gold at home?#
No: IRA bullion must be in the physical possession of a trustee. GoldenCrest's own FAQ says "IRS rules do not permit metals held inside an IRA to be stored at home". The Tax Court confirmed the rule in McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021). The court case is covered on home storage gold IRA.
What are the downsides of a gold IRA with GoldenCrest?#
The main downside is cost: about $250 to $454 a year in account fees at the minimum, plus a spread GoldenCrest does not publish. Gold also pays no interest or dividends. The second downside is a record of under three years. The general case is on gold IRA pros and cons.