Goldco publishes its gold IRA account fees, $275 in year one for pooled storage, and Priority Gold publishes none, as of October 2026. Account fees are the yearly bills for holding the account and storing the metal. Pooled storage means your coins are stored with other people's coins. Priority Gold publishes other things Goldco does not: a buyback policy, state refund notices and price ranges for plain bullion. Which of these matters for your money?
The biggest cost at both companies is one neither fully publishes: the markup on the coins you buy. The markup is the amount the company adds above the metal's value. Both are among the gold IRA companies SafeOunce checks with the same records, fee pages and policy documents.
This comparison covers fees and free silver, the $25,000 and $10,000 minimums, buyback and cancellation wording, then complaints and court records. It ends with a verdict by reader situation. We do not name an overall winner.
The five key numbers are listed below, each with its check date.
- IRA minimum: $25,000 at Goldco vs $10,000 at Priority Gold, per Priority Gold's FAQ (as of Oct. 2, 2026).
- Account fees in year one: $275 pooled or $325 segregated at Goldco vs not published at Priority Gold (as of Oct. 2, 2026).
- Free silver: up to 10% in "Goldco premium coins" vs "up to $15,000" at Priority Gold, with terms by phone (as of Oct. 2, 2026).
- Selling back: Goldco says "guaranteed at the highest price" and publishes no terms; Priority Gold names a wholesale bid or an 18% consignment fee (as of Oct. 2, 2026).
- BBB complaints closed in three years: 72 for Goldco vs 38 for Priority Gold (as of Sept. 29, 2026).
Goldco vs Priority Gold at a Glance: 19 Facts Side by Side#
The table below compares the same 19 facts for Goldco and Priority Gold, each from the company's own page, a court record or the BBB, with its check date. The BBB is the Better Business Bureau. Five terms in the table are defined below.
- Custodian: the trust company that holds the IRA.
- Depository: the vault that stores your coins.
- Segregated storage: your coins kept apart from other people's coins.
- BBB accreditation: a paid membership, separate from the BBB grade.
- Consignment: the company sells your coins for you and keeps a fee.
| # | Fact | Goldco (official site) | Priority Gold (official site) | As of / source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Legal name | Goldco Direct LLC (federal court; BBB) | Priority Gold LLC (its refund page); "Priority Gold, LLC" (BBB) | govinfo.gov; prioritygold.com/refund; BBB, 2026-10-02 |
| 2 | Business start | 2011-10-26 (BBB); Goldco says it has operated since 2006 | 2001-11-27 (BBB); its About page says "For more than a decade" | BBB, 2026-10-02 |
| 3 | Offices | Calabasas, California | Dallas, Texas; the BBB also lists Beverly Hills, California | BBB; prioritygold.com, 2026-10-02 |
| 4 | IRA minimum | $25,000 ("we generally require") | "typically ... $10,000 for IRAs, but this may vary"; Forbes Advisor reports $25,000 from a company spokesperson | goldco.com and prioritygold.com/reviews, 2026-10-02; Forbes Advisor, 2026-07-20 |
| 5 | Setup fee | $50 | Not published | Goldco fee article, 2026-10-02; prioritygold.com, 2026-10-02 |
| 6 | Yearly custodian / admin fee | $125 (an older Goldco FAQ line says about $80) | Not published | same |
| 7 | Yearly storage | $100 pooled / $150 segregated | Not published; "complimentary" storage offered to qualifying new IRA clients, terms by phone | same; prioritygold.com/special-offers, 2026-10-02 |
| 8 | Year one / later years | $275 / $225 pooled; $325 / $275 segregated | Not published | computed from Goldco's figures, 2026-10-02 |
| 9 | Promotion | Up to 5% free silver on $50,000 to $99,999, 10% on $100,000 or more, only in "Goldco premium coins" | "Up to $15,000 in FREE Silver"; the amount "scales with the size of your investment"; tiers not published | goldco.com; prioritygold.com/special-offers, 2026-10-02 |
| 10 | Markup (spread) | Not published | Bars "usually 2-4% over spot"; bullion coins "typically run 4-7% over spot"; proofs "significantly higher"; no dollar prices | goldco.com, 2026-10-02; prioritygold.com/precious-metals/gold, 2026-09-29 |
| 11 | Custodian named | Not named on its site | Not named on its site | company pages, 2026-10-02 |
| 12 | Depository named | Not named on its fee page | "typically Delaware Depository, Brink's, or International Depository Services" | goldco.com, 2026-10-02; prioritygold.com/precious-metals, 2026-09-29 |
| 13 | Delivery time | "5-14 business days after receipt of good funds" or "up to 45 business days" (website terms) | IRA: "generally completed within 10 to 14 business days after account setup" | goldco.com/terms-and-conditions, 2026-09-29; prioritygold.com/reviews, 2026-10-02 |
| 14 | Cancellation | Not published | State notices for 37 states and Guam: 3 business days to 14 days; 13 states not listed | goldco.com, 2026-10-02; prioritygold.com/refund, 2026-09-29 |
| 15 | Buyback wording | "Buy Back program guaranteed at the highest price"; no terms published | "we cannot promise you a set price"; a wholesale bid, or an 18% consignment fee on non-bullion coins held 60 months or longer | goldco.com; prioritygold.com/buy-back-policy, 2026-10-02 |
| 16 | Customer agreement public? | No (the promotion footnote cites "your customer agreement") | No (the refund page refers to "the Customer Agreement") | company pages, 2026-09-29 |
| 17 | BBB | A+; accredited since 2011-12-09; 72 complaints closed in 3 years; 1,710 reviews | A+; Dallas profile accredited since 2023-12-18, Beverly Hills profile "Not BBB Accredited"; 38 complaints closed in 3 years; 648 reviews | bbb.org: accreditation 2026-10-02, counts 2026-09-29 |
| 18 | Trustpilot | 4.4 from 1,790 reviews, 3% one-star | 4.9 from 380 reviews, 2% one-star (invites reviews) | trustpilot.com, 2026-09-29 |
| 19 | Court and regulator record | One text-message class settlement (W.D. Wis. No. 3:23-cv-00238, alleged texts after "stop", final approval 2026-03-26, Goldco denied wrongdoing) and one earlier TCPA class action (C.D. Cal. No. 2:19-cv-06798, alleged TCPA violations, final approval reported 2021, order not read by SafeOunce); no regulator action found | One customer suit sent to arbitration 2026-02-19 (Collin County, Texas, No. 493-08644-2025, according to the court docket as summarized by Trellis; outcome not found); no regulator action found | Goldco court records 2026-09-29; Hamilton 2026-10-02; regulator searches 2026-09-29 |
Company website links in this table: SafeOunce earns nothing from these links.
Table T1: Goldco vs Priority Gold: 19 facts, checked September 29 to October 2, 2026. Each row carries its own date.
Where a cell says "not published", we looked on the company's website and found nothing. We will add the figure when the company puts it in writing. Our Goldco review covers the company alone.
Goldco puts its account fees in writing. Priority Gold puts its buyback policy, state refund notices and bullion price ranges in writing. Neither publishes the markup on the coins it promotes, and neither publishes its customer agreement.
The one ranking page that compares the two lists Goldco with "No purchase minimums" and Priority Gold with a $0 setup fee. Goldco's own pages say $25,000, and Priority Gold publishes no setup fee at all. We checked that page on October 2, 2026 and found at least 11 values that differ from the companies' own pages, the BBB or Trustpilot. The Priority Gold review does the same for Priority Gold.
How Do Goldco and Priority Gold Fees Compare?#
Goldco lists $225 to $275 a year in account fees after year one, while Priority Gold lists no account fees, as of October 2, 2026. So a like-for-like comparison of gold IRA fees needs a written quote from Priority Gold. What would a Priority Gold account likely cost, and what are the two free silver offers worth?
Two kinds of cost matter: the flat yearly account fees and the one-time markup built into the price of each coin. Our guide to gold IRA fees lists every cost layer, from setup to exit.
The markup is the larger of the two. One percentage point of markup on a $100,000 purchase is $1,000. That is more than three years of Goldco's $275 fee.
Account fees: Goldco lists $275 in year one, Priority Gold lists none#
In year one Goldco lists $275 in account fees for pooled storage or $325 for segregated storage, and Priority Gold publishes no fee schedule, as of October 2, 2026. A fee schedule is the printed list of what an account costs. Goldco's fee article names "a one-time fee of $50", an administration fee of "$125 per year" and storage of "$100 per year" or "$150 a year". It sums these to "about $225 total per year" and "about $275-325 in the first year".
These are flat fees: the same dollar amount at any account size. Goldco's article says it was "originally published in March 2023" and "updated in February 2025". Goldco's FAQ, read September 29, 2026, still shows "around $80" for the yearly fee, so we use the fee article's $125.
Priority Gold's homepage, reviews page and special offers page show no setup, custodian or storage fee. Two outside reviewers name a custodian for it: Forbes Advisor names Equity Trust and LendEDU names STRATA Trust. Priority Gold names neither on its own site. The table below sets Goldco's fees next to those two custodians' published schedules.
| Fee line | Goldco (its own page) | Equity Trust schedule (if that is Priority Gold's custodian) | STRATA schedule (if that is Priority Gold's custodian) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Setup | $50 | $50 | $0 with e-signature ($50 otherwise) |
| Yearly custodian / admin | $125 | $125 | $150 |
| Yearly storage, pooled | $100 | $110 | $115 |
| Yearly storage, segregated | $150 | $160 | $175 |
| Year one (pooled / segregated) | $275 / $325 | $285 / $335 | $265 / $325, plus $75 per trade |
| Each later year | $225 / $275 | $235 / $285 | $265 / $325, plus $75 per trade |
| 10 years without exit fees | $2,300 / $2,800 | $2,400 / $2,900 | $2,725 / $3,325 (one purchase included) |
| 10 years, segregated, with sale and closing | Not published (custodian not named) | $3,180 | $3,650 |
Table T2: Account fees on the same basis. Goldco figures as of October 2, 2026. Custodian schedules as published on September 29, 2026 (Equity Trust FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726; STRATA fee page modified August 31, 2026). Priority Gold names no custodian on its site.
Exit fees are not in the first six rows. If your custodian is Equity Trust (named by Forbes Advisor), its metals-only schedule (FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726) charges $30 to sell, $125 to transfer metal out and $250 to close. Its Universal IRA schedule costs more. The full Equity Trust precious metals IRA fees include exit charges.
Outside reviewers also report a first-year fee waiver at Priority Gold. Forbes Advisor (July 20, 2026) ties it to a $25,000 account, and LendEDU (February 9, 2026) describes different terms. Priority Gold's own site does not confirm either version.
If your custodian is STRATA (named by LendEDU), each purchase or sale costs $75 and closing costs $250. STRATA Trust precious metals IRA fees add a charge per trade.
Free silver: 10% at Goldco vs up to $15,000 at Priority Gold#
Goldco's free silver is a stated percentage tied to its premium coins, and Priority Gold's is a $15,000 cap with unpublished tiers, as of October 2, 2026. Premium coins are coins sold above plain bullion prices, such as proof or limited-mintage coins. Goldco's homepage states: "Get up to 5% back in FREE Silver when you purchase $50,000 - $99,999 in Goldco premium coins. Get 10% in FREE Silver when you purchase $100,000 or more in Goldco premium coins."
Priority Gold's special offers page advertises "Up to $15,000 in FREE Silver". It adds: "The amount of free silver scales with the size of your investment." Its footnote says offers "require a minimum qualifying investment in a Priority Gold precious metals IRA".
The hypothetical table below shows what each order would fetch if you sold it back the same day. The markup here is the dealer's share of the price you pay. The bid is the price a dealer pays you. The spread is the full gap between the two.
| Order (hypothetical) | Same-day sale value |
|---|---|
| Assumptions | Plain bullion at a 5% dealer markup; bonus silver at a 20% markup; bid at 95.3125% of dealer cost (industry template); Priority Gold rows assume the full $15,000 comes with the order shown, which Priority Gold does not state |
| $100,000 plain bullion at 5% | $90,547 |
| $100,000 coins at 15% + Goldco 10% bonus | $88,641 |
| $100,000 coins at 30% + Goldco 10% bonus | $74,344 |
| $100,000 coins at 15% + $15,000 Priority Gold silver | $92,453 |
| $100,000 coins at 30% + $15,000 Priority Gold silver | $78,156 |
| $250,000 plain bullion at 5% | $226,367 |
| $250,000 coins at 30% + Goldco $25,000 bonus | $185,859 |
| $250,000 coins at 30% + $15,000 Priority Gold silver | $178,234 |
Table T3: Free silver costed. Illustration only, not a quote from Goldco or Priority Gold; offers as of October 2, 2026.
A bonus pays off only when the coins that come with it carry a small enough markup. For Goldco the line is 13% or less for the 10% bonus and 9% or less for the 5% bonus. If Priority Gold's full $15,000 came with a $100,000 order, the line is 17%. With a $250,000 order it is about 9.8%.
Goldco's 10% equals Priority Gold's $15,000 maximum at a $150,000 order. Above that, Goldco's stated bonus is larger: $25,000 against at most $15,000 on $250,000. Below $50,000, Goldco pays none.
A federal guide covers the word "free". Under 16 CFR 251.1(b)(1), a seller may not recover the cost of a free item by marking up the item you must buy. We do not say either company breaks that guide. Neither publishes the markup on the coins that qualify, so ask for it in writing before you accept either bonus.
How free silver gold IRA promotions are paid for is explained step by step.
The markup: the cost neither company publishes for the coins it promotes#
Goldco publishes no markup at all, and Priority Gold publishes price ranges only for plain bullion, so the largest cost of either gold IRA is one you must ask for. The spot price is the market price of the raw metal. The premium over spot is what you pay above it. Goldco's site showed no product prices or spreads on October 2, 2026.
The table below shows what a $100,000 purchase would fetch if sold back the same day at three markups.
| Dealer markup (share of your price) | Same-day sale value of $100,000 | Rise needed to break even |
|---|---|---|
| 5% | $90,547 | 10.4% |
| 15% | $81,016 | 23.4% |
| 30% | $66,719 | 49.9% |
Table T4: Illustration using the industry buyback template (the dealer bid is about 4.7% below its cost). Not a quote from either company.
The sale value falls by more than the markup alone. The dealer's bid is also about 4.7% below its own cost, so a 5% markup leaves a gap of about 9.5%. Our explainer on gold IRA markups and spreads shows how to get the number in writing.
Priority Gold's gold catalog, read September 29, 2026, gives ranges. Bars are "usually 2-4% over spot" and bullion coins "typically run 4-7% over spot". Proofs and "limited-issue commemoratives" carry "significantly higher premiums". The page shows no dollar prices and says "Call us for a live quote". "Over spot" is measured on the metal price, not on the price you pay. At 4% to 7% over spot, $100,000 of bullion coins buys $96,154 to $93,458 of metal.
The Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) said in release 8215-20 (August 4, 2020) that bullion typically sells 5% to 10% over spot. It put collector coins at 40% to 200%. A retail 1 oz Gold Eagle cost about 5.4% to buy and sell back at SD Bullion, in one snapshot of its prices on September 29, 2026.
How much must gold rise to cover the markup?#
At a 15% markup, gold must rise about 23% before a same-day sale gets your money back; at 30%, about 50%. The formula in words: take 1 minus the markup and multiply by 0.953, the buyback rate. Divide 1 by that result, then subtract 1. At a 5% markup the answer is about 10.4%. No one can say when, or whether, gold rises that much.
Minimum Investment: $25,000 at Goldco vs $10,000 at Priority Gold#
Goldco generally requires $25,000 to open a gold IRA, and Priority Gold's FAQ says its minimum is typically $10,000 for IRAs, as of October 2, 2026. Goldco's fee article says: "we generally require a minimum of $25,000 to start a gold IRA". Priority Gold's reviews-page FAQ says: "Our minimum investment is typically $5,000 for cash purchases and $10,000 for IRAs, but this may vary based on product selection and account type."
Priority Gold's minimum has three statements, and we judge none of them. The FAQ says $10,000. Forbes Advisor (July 20, 2026) reports a $25,000 IRA minimum "according to a Priority Gold spokesperson". Priority Gold's promotions need a "minimum qualifying investment" that it does not publish. We list the gold IRA minimum investment for every company we track.
The IRS sets no minimum; these are company rules. The 2026 IRA contribution limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at age 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67). So most people meet either minimum with a transfer or rollover, not with one year's contribution.
What each minimum means for fee drag#
Goldco's yearly fees take 0.90% to 1.10% of a $25,000 account, while a $10,000 Priority Gold IRA with a $235 to $325 custodian bill loses 2.35% to 3.25% a year. Fee drag is the share of your account the yearly fees take. Goldco frames it the same way: "the $225 in fees works out to an 0.90% annual fee". The table below applies the fee schedules from Table T2, as of September 29, 2026.
| Account | Yearly fee | Fee drag a year |
|---|---|---|
| Goldco, $25,000 | $225 pooled / $275 segregated | 0.90% / 1.10% |
| Priority Gold, $10,000, if Equity Trust | $235 pooled / $285 segregated | 2.35% / 2.85% |
| Priority Gold, $10,000, if STRATA | $325 segregated | 3.25% |
| Priority Gold, $25,000, either custodian | $235 to $325 | 0.94% to 1.30% |
Table: Fee drag at each minimum, computed from Goldco's fee article (October 2, 2026), Equity Trust's metals-only schedule FS-0004-05 Rev. 081726 and STRATA's fee page (both September 29, 2026). Priority Gold rows depend on the custodian, which Priority Gold does not name.
Less than $10,000? A gold ETF may cost less#
With less than $10,000, neither company's published minimum fits, and a gold ETF in an IRA you already have usually costs less per year. An ETF is a fund that trades like a stock. Its expense ratio is the yearly fee, taken as a percent of your holding. Three large gold ETFs charged 0.10% (GLDM), 0.25% (IAU) and 0.40% (GLD) as of September 29, 2026. On $10,000 that is $10 to $40 a year. The costs are set out in gold IRA vs gold ETF.
Buyback and Cancellation: What Each Company Puts in Writing#
Priority Gold publishes a buyback policy and state refund notices, while Goldco publishes a one-line buyback promise and no cancellation window. A buyback is the company purchasing your metal when you want to sell. Why does the written wording matter more than the sales call?
Disputes are decided on the documents you sign, not on what a salesperson said. Neither company's customer agreement is public. So the public pages below are the only wording you can read before you call.
Buyback wording: "guaranteed at the highest price" vs "we cannot promise you a set price"#
Goldco's homepage says its buyback is "guaranteed at the highest price" without publishing terms, while Priority Gold's policy promises no set price but names three ways to sell. The table below quotes each company, as read on October 2, 2026. Bullion means plain coins and bars priced close to metal value. Numismatic coins are collector coins. A wholesale bid is what a wholesaler pays.
| Company | Exact wording | Source and date | What it means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goldco | "Goldco offers a Buy Back program guaranteed at the highest price." | goldco.com homepage, 2026-10-02 | No terms published; the page does not say highest compared with what |
| Priority Gold | "While we cannot promise you a set price, we can promise you a market under one of our three buy back avenues." | prioritygold.com/buy-back-policy, 2026-10-02 | No set price; three routes to sell |
| Priority Gold, avenue 1 | Open-market sale by you | same | You find the buyer |
| Priority Gold, avenue 2 | "we will buy back your metal at the current wholesale bid price"; "usually the best avenue for bullion products" | same | You get what a national wholesaler pays |
| Priority Gold, avenue 3 | Consignment for "Investment Grade and or Numismatic products ... held for 60 months or longer"; "consignment fee of 18%" | same | After five years, Priority Gold sells collector coins for you and keeps 18% |
Table T5: Buyback wording at Goldco and Priority Gold, as of October 2, 2026.
Priority Gold words it differently on other pages. Its About page mentions "our standing buyback commitment". Its catalog FAQ says pricing is "the current spot price plus a competitive bid premium" (both read September 29, 2026).
The worked example below puts the three exits in dollars for $100,000 paid.
| What you bought (hypothetical) | How you sell | You receive |
|---|---|---|
| Plain bullion at a 5% markup | Wholesale bid | About $90,547 |
| Collector coins at a 35% markup | Consignment after 60 months, retail price unchanged, buyer found | $82,000 |
| The same collector coins | Wholesale bid | About $61,953 |
Table T6: Selling back $100,000. The 35% markup is an assumption, not Priority Gold's figure. Collector coins here means coins such as proof and graded coins. Retail must rise about 22% for consignment to return $100,000.
Why collector coins sell back for less is covered in proof and graded coins in an IRA.
Five other firms' contracts say the law prohibits a promise to repurchase: American Hartford Gold, Lear Capital, Preserve Gold, Goldline and American Bullion, as of September 29, 2026. Other firms' wording is in gold IRA buyback programs compared.
Cancellation: no published window at Goldco, 3 business days to 14 days by state at Priority Gold#
Goldco publishes no cancellation window, and Priority Gold publishes refund notices for 37 states and Guam that run from 3 business days to 14 days, as of September 29, 2026. A refund notice is the written statement of how long you have to cancel. Priority Gold's longest window, 14 days, is Kentucky's, for unsolicited phone sales.
Priority Gold lists no notice for 13 states: Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Washington. Residents of those states may still have a right to cancel. Priority Gold's page states none for them.
Two more lines on Priority Gold's pages matter. For IRA purchases, its refund page says "receipt" is "the date that Priority issues a notice of transfer to Customer (regardless of when Customer obtains actual knowledge of receipt)". Its disclaimer says it accepts no returns "other than counterfeit coins returned in their original holders within ninety (90) days of purchase".
For Goldco, a court record shows one cancellation. In Goldco Direct, LLC v. Wilson (N.D. Ala. No. 4:18-cv-00850, opinion of March 27, 2019), Goldco was the plaintiff, suing a competitor. A customer had placed three orders from October 2016 to March 2018 "exceeding $400,000". The court recited Goldco's account that it refunded the last one, $159,901.72, after she sought to cancel within 24 hours. Goldco did not agree to cancel or repurchase the two earlier orders, the larger part of the total. The court granted Goldco a permanent injunction and made no finding on Goldco's prices.
A separate IRS rule gives you at least 7 days to revoke a new IRA (Treasury Regulation 1.408-6(d)(4)(ii)). To revoke means to cancel a new IRA and get your deposit back. That right runs against the custodian, not the dealer. Our page on how to cancel a gold IRA separates the IRS right from the dealer's terms.
Contracts, custodians and depositories#
Neither Goldco nor Priority Gold publishes the customer agreement you sign, so the terms that decide disputes cannot be read before you call. The customer agreement is the contract for your purchase. Goldco's promotion footnote says: "For additional details, please see your customer agreement". Goldco's website terms, read September 29, 2026, hold no arbitration clause. Arbitration is a private hearing instead of court. The same terms say: "we are not licensed financial advisors".
Priority Gold's refund page says: "YOU ARE NOT OBLIGATED TO PAY ANY MONEY UNLESS YOU SIGN THE CUSTOMER AGREEMENT". Its website terms, read September 29, 2026, choose California law and courts for use of the site. Our table of gold IRA company contracts compared shows the clauses at firms that do publish them.
One court record hints at what Priority Gold's agreement holds. A Texas court granted Priority Gold's motion to compel arbitration in Hamilton v. Priority Gold, LLC and Bayside Metal Exchange (Collin County, Texas, No. 493-08644-2025), according to the court docket as summarized by Trellis; the outcome was not found. This suggests Priority Gold's customer agreement contains an arbitration clause. That is our inference. We have not read the agreement.
Neither company names its custodian. Priority Gold's catalog, read September 29, 2026, names three depositories it "typically" uses: Delaware Depository, Brink's and International Depository Services. Depository insurance pays the metal's value, not the premium you paid, and it has exclusions. FDIC and SIPC coverage never applies to IRA metal. Delaware Depository storage and insurance terms are on its own page.
Ask each company to email the agreement before you move any money.
Complaints, Lawsuits and Regulatory Records Compared#
Goldco has 72 BBB complaints closed in three years and Priority Gold has 38, as of September 29, 2026. Each company also has a court record, and we found no regulator action against either.
The Goldco complaints, lawsuits and BBB record page lists each case.
BBB and Trustpilot: 72 vs 38 complaints in three years#
Measured per 100 BBB reviews, Goldco shows 4.2 complaints and Priority Gold 5.9, as of September 29, 2026. We call this complaint density: complaints closed in three years per 100 reviews. The table below gives the counts behind it.
| Measure | Goldco | Priority Gold |
|---|---|---|
| BBB grade | A+ | A+ on both profiles |
| BBB accreditation | Since 2011-12-09 | Dallas profile since 2023-12-18; Beverly Hills profile "Not BBB Accredited" |
| Complaints closed in 3 years | 72 | 38 (32 resolved, 6 answered) |
| Complaints closed in the last 12 months | Not recorded | 13 |
| BBB reviews | 1,710 | 648 |
| Complaints per 100 reviews | 4.2 | 5.9 |
| Trustpilot score | 4.4 | 4.9 |
| Trustpilot reviews | 1,790 (89% five-star, 3% one-star) | 380 (93% five-star, 2% one-star) |
| Invites reviews | Not stated | Yes |
Table T7: BBB and Trustpilot records. Accreditation re-read October 2, 2026; counts as of September 29, 2026.
Priority Gold's 38 complaints fall into seven BBB categories: product 17, service or repair 8, sales and advertising 5, customer service 3, delivery 3, billing 1 and order 1. The BBB does not say why the two Priority Gold profiles differ. Each category is broken down on Priority Gold complaints, lawsuits and BBB record.
Three limits apply to these counts. Counts grow with sales: Goldco's homepage, read October 2, 2026, says it has placed "over $3 Billion", and Priority Gold publishes no volume. Arbitration keeps disputes out of public view. The BBB counts only closed complaints.
The BBB grade says little about price. Under the BBB's own method, 90 of 100 points relate to complaints, reviews are not used, and accreditation is paid. Goldco's homepage, read October 2, 2026, also says it is "Rated Triple A by Business Consumer Alliance" (BCA). We have not yet recorded a BCA rating for Priority Gold. Why star ratings barely separate these firms is covered in BBB, BCA and Trustpilot ratings.
Goldco's one-star Trustpilot reviewers, read October 2, 2026, report being steered to limited-mintage coins and slow callbacks. One reviewer reports losing about $38,000 on a $123,000 rollover, about 31%, close to the 30% line of Table T4. These are reviewer statements we have not verified, not findings.
Lawsuits: Goldco's TCPA settlements and Priority Gold's arbitration order#
A court gave final approval on March 26, 2026 to a Goldco class settlement over marketing texts allegedly sent to about 19,280 people after they replied "stop". Goldco denied wrongdoing. A class action is one lawsuit for a large group. Final approval is the judge's last sign-off on a settlement. An allegation is a claim that no court has proven. The TCPA is the federal law on robocalls and texts (47 U.S.C. 227).
The table below lists the four court records we found for the two companies.
| Case | Court and number | Filed / decided | What it was about | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Summerton v. Goldco Direct LLC | W.D. Wis. No. 3:23-cv-00238-wmc | Preliminary approval 2025-12-12; final approval 2026-03-26 | Alleged texts after "stop" to numbers on the Do-Not-Call Registry (47 U.S.C. 227); class of "approximately 19,280 persons" (preliminary approval order) | Settlement; $2,000,000 fund per the court-approved class notice; unclaimed money returns to Goldco; "Defendant denies the allegations and any wrongdoing" |
| Judson v. Goldco Direct, LLC | C.D. Cal. No. 2:19-cv-06798 | Final approval reported 2021 | Alleged TCPA violations | Final approval reported in 2021 by other sources; SafeOunce has not read that order |
| Goldco Direct, LLC v. Wilson | N.D. Ala. No. 4:18-cv-00850 | Opinion 2019-03-27 | Goldco as plaintiff against a competitor | Permanent injunction for Goldco |
| Hamilton v. Priority Gold, LLC and Bayside Metal Exchange | Collin County, Texas, No. 493-08644-2025 | Filed 2025-10-28 as a general commercial case | Allegations not described here because SafeOunce has not read the petition | Priority Gold's motion to compel arbitration granted 2026-02-19 and the case abated (paused), according to the court docket as summarized by Trellis; outcome of the arbitration not found |
Table T8: Court records for Goldco and Priority Gold. Goldco cases as of September 29, 2026; Hamilton re-confirmed October 2, 2026.
A settlement is not a court ruling that Goldco broke the law. The third record is a case Goldco brought and won.
Priority Gold's terms, read September 29, 2026, ask you to agree to contact by "pre-recorded message, ringless voicemail, or automated telephone technology". They also allow "up to 4 SMS/text messages per month". The TCPA allows $500 per violation, and up to three times that if willful (47 U.S.C. 227(b)(3)). Your rights are set out in gold IRA cold calls and robocalls.
Use a separate email address with both companies and reply STOP in writing.
Regulator actions: none found for either company#
We found no CFTC, SEC, FTC or state regulator action against Goldco or Priority Gold in searches on September 29, 2026. Every case we track is in our list of gold IRA enforcement actions. The SEC is the Securities and Exchange Commission, and the FTC is the Federal Trade Commission.
We searched CFTC press releases, SEC litigation releases and California's financial regulator, the DFPI. We also searched the Texas and California attorney general and securities regulator sites. The sweep does not cover all 50 states. One California DFPI consent order names "Priority Wealth Advisors, Inc.", a different firm. For scale, in our review of CFTC releases through September 25, 2026, the last new CFTC complaint against a retail metals dealer was Regal Assets, filed September 27, 2023.
Marketing claims vs the record: awards, purity rules and an "IRA eligible" Krugerrand#
Both companies' websites carry claims that the underlying record does not support, from award dates to which coins an IRA may hold. The table below lists nine. Fineness means purity. A named coin is a coin the tax code lists by name.
| Claim | Where, date read | What the record shows |
|---|---|---|
| "Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service" | Goldco homepage, 2026-10-02 | Goldco is not among the eight editorial picks on Money's list published 2026-09-25; it left the list at the 2026-05-29 republish |
| Operating "since 2006" | Goldco, 2026-10-02 | The BBB lists a business start of 2011-10-26 for Goldco Direct LLC; we present both dates and judge neither |
| "any coin or bar minted to 99.5% purity (.995 fineness)" qualifies | Goldco fee article, 2026-10-02 | Gold .995, silver .999, platinum and palladium .9995; the Gold Eagle qualifies only by name (26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3)) |
| Contributions "limited to $7,000 in 2024"; yearly fee "around $80" | Goldco FAQ, 2026-09-29 | The 2026 limit is $7,500, plus $1,100 at age 50 or older (IRS Notice 2025-67); Goldco's own fee article says $125 |
| "IRA ELIGIBLE" badge on the 1 oz Gold South African Krugerrand; a FAQ lists "Krugerrands" | Priority Gold catalog, 2026-09-29 | The Krugerrand is .9167 fine and is not a named US coin, so it meets neither route of 26 U.S.C. 408(m)(3) |
| "A+ accredited by the BBB"; "fully accredited"; "IRS-approved depositories" | Priority Gold pages, 2026-09-29 and 2026-10-02 | Two BBB profiles, one "Not BBB Accredited"; the IRS approves no depository, and its only approval list covers nonbank trustees (Treas. Reg. 1.408-2(e)) |
| "Live spot prices, plainly stated spreads, no 'limited-time' tricks" | Priority Gold reviews page, 2026-10-02 | Its gold catalog shows no dollar prices and says "Call us for a live quote" (2026-09-29); its offers are "subject to change or cancellation without notice" (2026-10-02) |
| "For more than a decade" (About page); "almost 20 years" (its Trustpilot company text); "about 25 years" (Forbes Advisor) | Read 2026-09-29; Forbes dated 2026-07-20 | The BBB lists a business start of 2001-11-27 for Priority Gold, LLC; we present all four and judge none |
| "4.8 average on Trustpilot" and "4.9-star average" on the same page | Priority Gold reviews page, 2026-09-29 to 2026-10-02 | Trustpilot itself showed 4.9 from 380 reviews on 2026-09-29 |
Table T9: Marketing claims vs the record at Goldco and Priority Gold.
None of this shows intent. Both websites need the same checking as any sales call. The exact gold IRA purity requirements differ by metal.
Goldco's purity line matters most for silver: a silver coin that is only .995 fine fails the rule.
The tax code gives a coin two routes into an IRA: being named, or meeting the purity standard. The gold Krugerrand that Priority Gold's catalog labels IRA eligible meets neither. Why the coin fails is explained in can you put Krugerrands in an IRA.
Goldco or Priority Gold: Which Company Fits Your Situation?#
Neither company is better for everyone: the right one depends on how much you are moving, which coins you want, and what you can get in writing. The table below matches nine reader situations to the fact that decides each one.
| If you... | What the records point to | Deciding fact (as of) |
|---|---|---|
| Have under $10,000 | Neither published minimum fits; compare a gold ETF | Goldco $25,000; Priority Gold FAQ $10,000 (2026-10-02) |
| Have $10,000 to $24,999 | Priority Gold is the only one of the two that publishes a minimum that low; get the minimum for your order in writing | Flat fees take 2.35% to 3.25% a year at $10,000, depending on the custodian (2026-09-29) |
| Have $25,000 to $49,999 and want plain bullion | Both open accounts; ask both for the percent over spot the same day | Goldco's fees are known ($225 to $275 a year); Goldco pays no bonus below $50,000 (2026-10-02) |
| Want to know the yearly bill before you call | Goldco | Goldco publishes its fees; Priority Gold does not (2026-10-02) |
| Are offered free silver | Either, only with the markup in writing | Goldco's bonus pays off at a premium-coin markup of 13% or less (10% bonus) or 9% or less (5% bonus); ask Priority Gold for the tier table and the qualifying coins (2026-10-02) |
| May sell collector coins back | Priority Gold's policy prices the exit | Wholesale bid, or 18% consignment after 60 months; Goldco publishes no terms (2026-10-02) |
| Want a written right to cancel | Priority Gold, if your state is listed | Windows for 37 states and Guam, with the clock starting at its transfer notice; ask Goldco for its agreement (2026-09-29) |
| Dislike sales calls and texts | Either, with care | Goldco has one text-message class settlement (W.D. Wis. No. 3:23-cv-00238, alleged texts after "stop", final approval 2026-03-26, Goldco denied wrongdoing) and one earlier TCPA class action (C.D. Cal. No. 2:19-cv-06798, alleged TCPA violations, final approval reported 2021); Priority Gold's terms ask consent to automated calls and ringless voicemail (2026-09-29) |
| Want to read the contract first | Neither yet | Neither publishes it; ask both to email it before you fund (2026-09-29) |
Table T10: Verdict by reader situation, from company pages, BBB records and court records, checked September 29 to October 2, 2026.
SafeOunce scores companies only on documents and written quotes. We hold neither company's customer agreement nor a written quote from either. Until we do, both carry a provisional result, not a full score, and we name no overall winner. No company can pay to change its rating or its place. The scoring rules are in how SafeOunce rates gold IRA companies.
If you are asking which gold IRA company is best overall, our ranked list is on best gold IRA companies.
What Should You Ask Goldco or Priority Gold Before You Sign?#
Ask both companies the same six questions in writing, on the same day, before you move any retirement money. The six questions are listed below.
- Ask for the price of each coin and its percent over spot.
- Ask what the company would pay you for the same coins today.
- Ask which custodian and depository it uses, and for every yearly and exit fee.
- Ask for the free silver terms: the tier table and which coins qualify.
- Ask for the cancellation window in your state and the day it starts.
- Ask for the customer agreement by email before you pay.
All 12 questions are in how to choose a gold IRA company.
The Telemarketing Sales Rule, 16 CFR 310.3(a)(1)(i), requires a telemarketer to disclose the total cost before you pay. Section 310.6(b)(5) keeps investment sales such as precious metals under the rule even when you called first.
Put both written quotes side by side in our gold IRA company comparison tool.
How are review sites paid to compare Goldco and Priority Gold?#
Both Goldco and Priority Gold run affiliate programs that pay websites for referrals, and neither publishes what it pays. Goldco's affiliate page, read September 29, 2026, says a site gets credit for 90 days after your click and is paid on the 15th of each month. Priority Gold's affiliate terms, dated "05.01.2026", pay on a "Net 30 basis, subject to meeting the minimum threshold and validation of leads".
Many review pages are paid when you contact a company. That does not make their facts wrong, but check each number against the company's own page. We explain the whole system in are gold IRA reviews paid.
Three documented facts about pages that compare these two companies are listed below.
- Disclosure on the one ranking pair page: its reviews "may not be neutral or independent". It names Goldco the winner and prints "No purchase minimums" against Goldco's own $25,000 (read October 2, 2026).
- Money's partner disclosure: "Research and financial considerations may influence how brands are displayed". On September 29, 2026, both companies appeared in Money's paid "Partner" block, and neither was an editorial pick.
- A pending lawsuit: in Orion Metal Exchange v. Money Group (C.D. Cal. No. 2:26-cv-07092, filed June 29, 2026), Orion alleges money.com was paid to rank companies. It names Goldco and Priority Gold among them. These are allegations only. The case is pending, with no ruling known as of September 29, 2026.
See who pays SafeOunce and what money cannot buy.
Who are the celebrity spokespeople for Goldco and Priority Gold?#
Goldco's website names Sean Hannity, Donald Trump Jr., Lara Trump, Tom Selleck and Dennis Quaid, and Priority Gold names Robert Kiyosaki as its "Official Partner", as of October 2, 2026. Priority Gold's About page calls him "A real financial voice, not a paid actor." That line does not say he is unpaid. Priority Gold's terms say people who give testimonials "MAY be affiliated with COMPANY as Marketing Affiliates" paid "Commissions". Endorsers with a material connection must disclose it (16 CFR 255.5). Who is paid by whom is listed under celebrity gold IRA endorsements.
How do Goldco and Priority Gold compare with other gold IRA companies?#
Each company has its own head-to-head pages against the other large gold IRA sellers. All of them sit in our gold IRA comparisons. The ten pairs that include Goldco or Priority Gold are listed below.
- Augusta Precious Metals vs Goldco
- Augusta Precious Metals vs Priority Gold
- Goldco vs American Hartford Gold
- Lear Capital vs Priority Gold
- Goldco vs Lear Capital
- Noble Gold Investments vs Priority Gold
- Goldco vs Birch Gold Group
- American Hartford Gold vs Priority Gold
- Birch Gold Group vs Priority Gold
- Goldco vs Noble Gold Investments
Is Goldco trustworthy?#
Goldco is an operating, BBB-accredited company with published account fees, one text-message class settlement, one earlier TCPA class action and no regulator action found. The settlement is W.D. Wis. No. 3:23-cv-00238 (alleged texts after "stop"; final approval March 26, 2026; Goldco denied wrongdoing). The earlier case is C.D. Cal. No. 2:19-cv-06798 (alleged TCPA violations; final approval reported in 2021; SafeOunce has not read that order). Goldco publishes no markups and ties its bonus to premium coins. Everything else is in our Goldco review 2026.
Is Priority Gold reputable, and does it have complaints?#
Priority Gold is an operating company with an A+ BBB grade and 38 BBB complaints closed in three years, all answered or resolved, as of September 29, 2026. One BBB profile is accredited and one is not. One customer suit (Collin County, Texas, No. 493-08644-2025) went to arbitration, according to the court docket as summarized by Trellis; outcome not found. It publishes no fees and no customer agreement. Our full take on Priority Gold reviews is on the review page.
Who owns Priority Gold?#
Priority Gold LLC does not publish its owners; the BBB lists Michael Anderson as chief operating officer and Jennifer Warner as director of operations, as of October 2, 2026.
Can you keep Goldco or Priority Gold metals at home?#
No: metals in a gold IRA must stay with the trustee, and taking them home is a taxable distribution under McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (2021). Priority Gold's FAQ, read October 2, 2026, also says IRA metals must be stored in a depository. The ruling is explained under home storage gold IRA.